Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To the cyclist's who keep crashing !!!!

• 24-11-2009 10:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or is everyone falling off their bikes.??
    What do yous be doing to end up landing miles away from your bikes,
    sommersaults galore, broken hips a plenty, broken arms and legs bike and hearts, getting hit by cars, trucks buses, walkers joggers ducks and in some cases boats???????????????????????
    Comming back from Mount Andrew yesterday in the soaks, 27mph+ over alot of esb covers, moss cement and manhole covers even on a lean at a good speed. Ive never come off,!! seriously im getting annoyed the more i try and crash the more i don't,,What do yous be doing,? Is there a special nack or is it because im using mtb tires, or i actually know to keep my bike under control.?????????????????:confused:
    from what ive sen over the last few weeks, Gatorskins should be called graftskins, from the amount of skin they will take from your ass to redo your face:rolleyes:344606-md.jpg

Commuter races, cause you just have to win

240165-1FalseFalse.jpgthe wheel was there a minute ago ??motor_cycle_crash.jpgmake an entrance into work from the bike rack!!

LADS & LADIES IF YOU KEEP CRASIN GET THE FCKING
    RESEARCH_X-Dublin-Bus_20080811124234.jpg

OTHERWISE YOUS WILL BE Cake_Handicapped.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

You really are tempting fate.

Don't mock the reaper, mockler :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mockler007

But whos gonna eat the cake:rolleyes::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I just missed getting creamed by a bus yesterday. He flew out from a sideroad without looking properly, straight into my intended path. I feel like I have a 6th sense for these things now as I just knew he was going to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

... maybe it's the amount of drugs you take or your super natural ability and amazing skillz that make you such a great brilliant cyclist that you are. I am amazed you never fell into that canal you cycle so fast besides!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

The only question that needs answering - What type of cake is it?

Raam wrote: »
    I feel like I have a 6th sense for these things now as I just knew he was going to do it.

Do you see dead people?

thesixthsense1.jpg

Lumen wrote: »
    Do you see dead people?

thesixthsense1.jpg

I was once in the crypt at St. Michan's and I saw those skeletons that they have. Apart from that, no.

I just missed getting creamed by a bus yesterday. He flew out from a sideroad without looking properly, straight into my intended path. I feel like I have a 6th sense for these things now as I just knew he was going to do it.

+1 raam:D

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    The only question that needs answering - What type of cake is it?

its the best csake ever,
    the cake of a thousand sugars:eek:

overview of the cake in question ha:D322823472_20f1b099d1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

... maybe it's the amount of drugs you take or your super natural ability and amazing skillz that make you such a great brilliant cyclist that you are. I am amazed you never fell into that canal you cycle so fast besides!

Don't be silly, he's going so fast and has such great traction he'll simply cycle across the canal Jesus style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Was nearly creamed by a garda car yesterday in Blanchardstown.

At the junction at the top of Blanch village ... 5 way junction ...

I was coming from the village and going straight across to the shopping centre. Garda car coming from right ... no sirens ... just the flashing lights ... was green for me and I was half way across the junction before the garda car brakes 2 feet from me ... and then takes a right to go to the garda office ....

Must be rushing to get back to a cake or doughnuts ... but nearly soiled my shorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I fell off this morning in Inchicore at the lights. Cleat was loose and wouldn't disengage till I was on the ground. I love crashing at 0 miles an hour.

If and when this happens to me again, I'm hoping I have the togetherness to realise that I ain't getting out and try ride on a bit more. Easy to say that now of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

jeez friday gets earlier every week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Just to introduce some seriousness.

I was out for a short training spin yday morning. Horribly wet and windy descended from Molls Gap to Kenmare. Hit 60.5k despite side wind.
    Road covered in water andleaves.

Was using conti GP400S black chilli compound.

Best grip in crap weather that I have tried on the Roadbike. Glued to the road. Great for cornering.
    Would recommend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 iercepa

jinx_portal_the-cake-is-a-lie.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

If and when this happens to me again, I'm hoping I have the togetherness to realise that I ain't getting out and try ride on a bit more. Easy to say that now of course.
    I'd have had to cycle into the Luas. Which on balance is probably more embarassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Try that on one of these for kicks...
    transalp.jpg
    Stopped at lights,stuck left leg down and the bike fell to the right.
    Thank god I was wearing my helmet,not for the safety aspect but to hide the colour my face went with embarrassment.:o :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Categories.aspx?CategoryID=1049&CurrentPageIndex=0&SortExpression=RATING_DESC

can you boys and girls recommend a winter tyre for commuting (700x23 or thereabouts)? ive felt the bike wash out on certain road surfaces with my current tyres and wonder if there are better options available especially for the coming snow and ice conditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭morninwood

poochiem wrote: »
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Categories.aspx?CategoryID=1049&CurrentPageIndex=0&SortExpression=RATING_DESC

can you boys and girls recommend a winter tyre for commuting (700x23 or thereabouts)? ive felt the bike wash out on certain road surfaces with my current tyres and wonder if there are better options available especially for the coming snow and ice conditions?

In 23mm, Conti GP4000S. There is a GP4000 available in 28mm.

I thought the S was the only one with "Black Chilli" but not so according the descriptions. I have no idea if this is true, or significant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Reminds me of school, when we were dumb and used to shout " yoooooooooooou fell oooooooooooova!" at everybody who fell.

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

l'm just amazed there isn't a poll to go along with this thread :rolleyes:

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    l'm just amazed there isn't a poll to go along with this thread :rolleyes:
    so am i since i love my polls like haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

ROK ON wrote: »
    Just to introduce some seriousness.

I was out for a short training spin yday morning. Horribly wet and windy descended from Molls Gap to Kenmare. Hit 60.5k despite side wind.
    Road covered in water andleaves.

Was using conti GP400S black chilli compound.

Best grip in crap weather that I have tried on the Roadbike. Glued to the road. Great for cornering.
    Would recommend.

Thanks be to elvis, just fitted a pair but haven't been out on them yet.
    l was hoping they'd be something special, sounds like they are.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

I was coming down the Long Hill by Sugar Loaf today on wet roads and really strong tail/cross winds on my Gatorskins thinking if all those other feckers are falling off their Gatorskins then it's only a matter of time until I go on my ass at 60kph. I really thought I was going to end up in the ditch. Happily I didn't ....yet. Fingers and toes were numb from hanging on when I got to the bottom.