Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

some good under armour gear deals

• 21-11-2009 4:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭

I was up in the square earlier and I noticed they have some long sleeved under armour gear for this cold weather for 31 euro, same gear is 50 in lifestyle, I picked up a nice long sleeved nike top for 24.50 also for the cold weather which seemed like good value.

Forgot to say where :D, JJB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Woddle wrote: »
    I was up in the square earlier and I noticed they have some long sleeved under armour gear for this cold weather for 31 euro, same gear is 50 in lifestyle, I picked up a nice long sleeved nike top for 24.50 also for the cold weather which seemed like good value.

Forgot to say where :D, JJB

Sounds good but the Square? Not only is it far from where I live, it's far from civilisation in general :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

christeb wrote: »
    Sounds good but the Square? Not only is it far from where I live, it's far from civilisation in general :D

Thats a tad harsh!! I saw lots of athletes and runners up there judging by the amount of people in tracksuits and runners.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

Very good price for underarmour me thinks !!!
    As im from that area im just a little bit offended Christie B:(
    There is a running track 6mins jog from the square and i think it has a bigger population than Limerick also:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭leana

i have to agree with thirstywork, there is a great tradition of athletics there. you will regularly see young lads in tracksuits running 20 feet in front of security guards. i presume they are acting as pacers.

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

There is a running track 6mins jog from the square and i think it has a bigger population than Limerick also:eek:

That must be an extra large running track :D

Good price for the underarmour gear. Paid 50 for the same top last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭estariol

arnotts are doing a 20% discount, picked up some underarmour gear and prob get some runners tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

could have been the national 400m champion or the runner up today in the natioanl cross country champs:eek:(both from tallaght)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Any good sites online for buying running and cycling gear that anyone can point me to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Sub430

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I've often got stuff from Wiggle as well, also some voucher codes to get some more money off for that site were posted here yesterday.

Any suggestions on gear for training in the winter time?

I assume there's little or no difference between the upper body wear for running vs cycling, while you'd be looking for padded bottoms for the cycling which you wouldn't need for the running right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

leana wrote: »
    i have to agree with thirstywork, there is a great tradition of athletics there. you will regularly see young lads in tracksuits running 20 feet in front of security guards. i presume they are acting as pacers.
    P

This year
    2 National Titles (Road and Track)
    2 Team National Silvers (Road Relays and 10k championships)
    2 Individual National Silver (track and XC)
    1 Dublin Individual title (XC)
    1 Over 45 Marathon Title

Maybe the unique security guard fartlek session works:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭aero2k

keane2097 wrote: »
    Any suggestions on gear for training in the winter time?
    I assume there's little or no difference between the upper body wear for running vs cycling, while you'd be looking for padded bottoms for the cycling which you wouldn't need for the running right?

You need a lot more layers on the bike due to the windchill effect. That said, the gear can be pretty similar, but you won't need pockets on the back of your running top.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Bike gear will tend to come down lower in the back on tops.

I didn't spot any of the UnderArmour gear in the JJB in Blanch today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Sub430 wrote: »

http://www.johnbuckleysports.com/

Cork based running shop. Good prices, fast delivery and the owner is a well known runner and supports the Irish racing scene.

Nothing wrong with purchasing from an Irish business if the quality is there.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

robinph wrote: »
    Bike gear will tend to come down lower in the back on tops.

I didn't spot any of the UnderArmour gear in the JJB in Blanch today.

The sale (20%) ended on Sun. Got a few bits and bobs meself. So no excuses for winter runs now. Cheers to Woodle.

Damn it, only seen that it was a bumped old thread now.

T runner wrote: »
    http://www.johnbuckleysports.com/

Cork based running shop. Good prices, fast delivery and the owner is a well known runner and supports the Irish racing scene.

Nothing wrong with purchasing from an Irish business if the quality is there.:)

Thanks for the link - I'd prefer to buy from an Irish dealer if I had the option.

What gear do you guys have for running and cycling in the winter time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

keane2097 wrote: »
    Thanks for the link - I'd prefer to buy from an Irish dealer if I had the option.

What gear do you guys have for running and cycling in the winter time?

Long tights, long sleeve running top, running jacket, hat (gloves sometimes). Rain Jacket.

There is a very good Craft running Jacket in runways (Parnell St, Dublin) for 35 at the moment if it suits. I got one at marathon expo. Stretchy, great pockets and keeps out the worst of the weather.

A tight micro fleece as a mid layer for easy runs on the really cold days.
    Get that in sales in outdoor shops or TK Maks.