Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the story with all the burglaries?!?!

• 21-11-2009 12:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

Read a couple of threads on here over the last few days about people's houses being broken into. It wasn't just the OP's but loads of other posters contributing horror stories of burglaries.

Then earlier this evening my next door neighbour knocked in to let me know someone tried to break into his house this morning at around 9 or 10am. There were 2 lads. Luckily his son was home and managed to scare them and chase them off. Unfortunately the scum were long gone by the time the Gardai arrived (even though he said they only took about 3 mins to get there).

Apparantly they knocked on the front door, but the young lad who lives there must have still been in bed or something, so didn't answer. Next thing he hears someone trying to force the back door! B**tards.

What's going on with all the burglaries lately??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Pre-Stephen anyone could get a good job that paid really well.

Now some folks have decided to revert to crime as the dole doesn't pay enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Knacker christmas shopping season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

The Recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Read a couple of threads on here over the last few days about people's houses being broken into. It wasn't just the OP's but loads of other posters contributing horror stories of burglaries.

Then earlier this evening my next door neighbour knocked in to let me know someone tried to break into his house this morning at around 9 or 10am. There were 2 lads. Luckily his son was home and managed to scare them and chase them off. Unfortunately the scum were long gone by the time the Gardai arrived (even though he said they only took about 3 mins to get there).

Apparantly they knocked on the front door, but the young lad who lives there must have still been in bed or something, so didn't answer. Next thing he hears someone trying to force the back door! B**tards.

That exact same story happened to my cousin this morning, its probably the same incident. Bunch of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

We all know who's to blame!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Burglary should be against the law IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

squod wrote: »
    Burglary should be against the law IMO.

A wishful dream, apparently we have to be nice to the scumbags when they break into our homes, in this country, it's a more serious crime to defend your hard earned possessions.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I know there are all the usual tips & pieces of advice to make your home more un-attractive. Some are obvious, and some not so.

Anyone here got any novel ways to deter potential burglars? Any Home-Alone-esque ideas to keep the thieving scum at bay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I know there are all the usual tips & pieces of advice to make your home more un-attractive. Some are obvious, and some not so.

Anyone here got any novel ways to deter potential burglars? Any Home-Alone-esque ideas to keep the thieving scum at bay?

Legalise abortion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Trapdoor into an Alligator Pit.