Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How good is your get-out-of-jail-free card?

• 20-11-2009 5:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

Often wondered this. I got very sick (mentally ill) a few years ago. The mental health service was a joke. They literally tried to convince the Guards that I was a danger to society because I had complained about one of their consultants. Luckily, I had lived in the village for over thirty years, went to the local National School and then the Secondary and most importantly had been serving the local Gardai slippy late pints at two o clock in the mornimg for three years when I worked in the local GAA club.

The guards brought in their own doctor (after a rather embarrassing underpants burning incident:o) and suddenly my consultant was changed, my diagnosis was changed, and the original consultant "went away" while the hospital chaplain asked me to forgive him. I don't want to Godwin this by comparing my lucky escape with the horrors of the Ryan report,but I have often wondered what would have happened to a person who might have had a bad background or wasn't known to the guards in a good way.

I was literally one good guard away from being sent to prison by an American Multinational to protect their balance sheet.:eek:

So back OT, has anyone's solid contribution to a community ever saved them and also do you think the longer you have never been in a court of law does your get-out-of-jail-free card improve?

I'm forty, and have been in a court 3 times in my life.

1) When the mental health service tried to have me arrested (having refused to see me while out of my mind on their drugs! Grrr:mad:). Go on the guards.:)

2) As a witness for the guards. (Got robbed working in a service station.)

3) Cycled through a red light. (Got fined £85 while the judge was letting burglars and shoplifters off. Reckon a cyclist must have hit his grandchild.)

Anyway, tired and emotional, any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I was literally one good guard away from being sent to prison by an American Multinational to protect their balance sheet

What?

I've had experience with the mental health system + the Gardai and can only praise them for their handling of very tricky situations. The mental health service is a joke in this country, but that's not the Gardai's fault.

TBH none of your post makes any sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

ive hidden a kilo of heroin and a handgun in a public park,when im arressted il offer the gun and drugs to them for a reduced sentence,they look good and i get out early,everybodies happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Yup. I reported a few speeding cars through lights outside the local school over the years and reported seeing a man wave a shotgun out a window one Saturday night.

Got into a drunken brawl and it was yer mans word against mine as to who started it. They pulled up my history and compared it to his. I walked. He didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

I got mine from the community chest, Ill sell it for $100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Confab wrote: »
    What?

I've had experience with the mental health system + the Gardai and can only praise them for their handling of very tricky situations. The mental health service is a joke in this country, but that's not the Gardai's fault.

TBH none of your post makes any sense.

Seems to make perfect sense, once taken at face value.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Hairiest moment for me recently was when the cops came round to my gaff with a warrant, nabed me with a quantity of Canabis and a few other sundries on a third strike

AAAANYWAY, we get to Court and it turns out that the Judge knew my lawyer well, then it turned out that the Judge and my Boss have been buddies for years, found out later that I had supplied the Floors and Decks for his daughters house, my Lawyer and the judge cracked a few jokes had a brief chat about my Boss and what I did for a livin.

got a $150 fine and had No Conviction Recorded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I was literally one good guard away from being sent to prison by an American Multinational to protect their balance sheet.:eek:

Yeah, I think you're living in the plot of some straight-to-video sh*t action movie
    Hairiest moment for me recently was when the cops came round to my gaff with a warrant, nabed me with a quantity of Canabis and a few other sundries on a third strike

AAAANYWAY, we get to Court and it turns out that the Judge knew my lawyer well, then it turned out that the Judge and my Boss have been buddies for years, found out later that I had supplied the Floors and Decks for his daughters house, my Lawyer and the judge cracked a few jokes had a brief chat about my Boss and what I did for a livin.

So it really is a case of 'who you know' ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I love this country:D;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

If you get off because a judge knows your boss,is it any wonder that the bigwigs who have embezzled the country for millions over the year don't even get to court.

I once asked my garda brother in law for a reference for a visa and he said he wasn't allowed,so I guess if the worst comes I'm going down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭jum4

what on earth are you on about!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Once shot a man in the back like a dog in my front yard but managed to ride a wave of prejudicial public opinion to an acquittal, thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

ive hidden a kilo of heroin and a handgun in a public park,when im arressted il offer the gun and drugs to them for a reduced sentence,they look good and i get out early,everybodies happy

That was yours??

I must thank you for one of the greatest Sunday afternoons ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Often wondered this. I got very sick (mentally ill) a few years ago. The mental health service was a joke. They literally tried to convince the Guards that I was a danger to society because I had complained about one of their consultants. Luckily, I had lived in the village for over thirty years, went to the local National School and then the Secondary and most importantly had been serving the local Gardai slippy late pints at two o clock in the mornimg for three years when I worked in the local GAA club.

The guards brought in their own doctor (after a rather embarrassing underpants burning incident:o) and suddenly my consultant was changed, my diagnosis was changed, and the original consultant "went away" while the hospital chaplain asked me to forgive him. I don't want to Godwin this by comparing my lucky escape with the horrors of the Ryan report,but I have often wondered what would have happened to a person who might have had a bad background or wasn't known to the guards in a good way.

So back OT, has anyone's solid contribution to a community ever saved them and also do you think the longer you have never been in a court of law does your get-out-of-jail-free card improve?

I'm forty, and have been in a court 3 times in my life.

1) When the mental health service tried to have me arrested (having refused to see me while out of my mind on their drugs! Grrr:mad:). Go on the guards.:)

2) As a witness for the guards. (Got robbed working in a service station.)

3) Cycled through a red light. (Got fined £85 while the judge was letting burglars and shoplifters off. Reckon a cyclist must have hit his grandchild.)

Holy feck, it's Sean Grisham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I've never been caught doing anything so I guess my record would be on my side. Its not something I like thinking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

TomCo wrote: »
    I got mine from the community chest, Ill sell it for $100.

Do not pass go, go directly to jail. That's all mines good for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

EPM wrote: »
    I love this country:D;):D

Austrailia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

FIFA wants my country in the world cup so I can do what I like.

Sincerely,

T. Henry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

stovelid wrote: »
    Once shot a man in the back like a dog in my front yard but managed to ride a wave of prejudicial public opinion to an acquittal, thank god.

Good man Padraig. Do the rest of 'em now!!!

I'd have no chance if I went to court. I have never been arrested and I am not known to the guards, but my brother and sister are VERY well known to them, they would look at their rap sheets and assume I am the same!