Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A new idea that has many benefits to the Nation at present...

• 20-11-2009 2:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭

I was in a conversation with a couple of friends when the following topic came up. It was in relation to the dreadful image that the Gardai have at the moment. Basically, the arguement was that the Force had lost its grass root information from the general public as a backlash to the implementation of road offences. ie silly speed traps (not the proper speed captures but the shooting fish in a barrell ones!!), next morning drink driving, Tax and Insurance production and bald tyres etc.
    Now, I am not saying that these offences are not serious and should be clamped down on but have we any idea what it costs to put a graduate through Templemore. Trained to crack crime and solve murders etc. Yet here they are clogged up on a job that any ginnit could do!
    The plan was that the State set up a seperate Dept with ONLY traffic and vehicle incompliance their brief. Not the Traffic Corp but a State Trooper type of model. This corp would be easier to train and cheaper to put in place creating some much needed employment and freeing up these highly trained Gardai to do the job that they are suppossed to be doing.
    Opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Do that and the Garda will get the flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

kincsem wrote: »
    Do that and the Garda will get the flu.

Do that & the Guards will be out of a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

I fear Kincsem could be right. Also the bond between Gardai and average people is worsening. It is becoming an us and them mentality which saddens me. Also I think, the best guards like the best teachers are just at the point of saying "Ah, fcukit do I need this?" which just leaves you with the crap you can't get rid of and newbies with no direction.

Just my 2c.

Do that & the Guards will be out of a job.

I'd give everything I don't have to feel your belief Star.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'd give everything I don't have to feel your belief Star.

I don't get what you mean by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Title of thread reminds me of: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan Ireland.

I don't get what you mean by that.

Sorry mate. What I meant was, it isn't that easy to get rid of poor staff in big organisations, public or private. Legalese comes into it which it wouldn't if both parties were equally fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

For the size of the country, its probably better to have ever member of the Garda capable of dealing with any situation that could arise.

If the plan was to set-up a separate entity to deal with traffic offence, then yes it would work great, leaving the present level of member to deal with more important Garda duties. But that would require money, something Ireland aint got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

The Gardaí need to be disbanded,they just changed RIC to An Garda Siochana and have remained a secretive freemason like organisation since then

yes they deal with scum and junkies all day long,its a hard job etc but they are not just disliked but hated by many for what they represent both historically and in a modern context

blueshirts whos great great grandfathers took the saxon coin and got farmland in Mayo for their pension

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Matt Santos for President! Boo Vinick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The Gardaí need to be disbanded,they just changed RIC to An Garda Siochana and have remained a secretive freemason like organisation since then

yes they deal with scum and junkies all day long,its a hard job etc but they are not just disliked but hated by many for what they represent both historically and in a modern context

blueshirts whos great great grandfathers took the saxon coin and got farmland in Mayo for their pension

lol
    Farm land in Mayo for retirement?
    Sounds like a Cromwellian punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

My general dislike of the Gardai has nothing to do with road offences, just the fact that every experience I've had with them has been a negative one.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Terry wrote: »
    Farm land in Mayo for retirement?
    Sounds like a Cromwellian punishment.

All ye dubs say that and yet ye keep heading to Westport every weekend. It's not that fecking nice you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

All ye dubs say that and yet ye keep heading to Westport every weekend. It's not that fecking nice you know.
    Train loads of them go down every Friday for stags and hens. Sloshed by the time they get to Athlone, then get off the train in Westport wearing their pink cowboy hats and sucking on their penis straws, and thats just the fellas!

What was this thread about again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

a big problem with the gaurds is they do nothing when it comes to big offences....there was a massive brawl in waerford the other night when about 8 or more bouncers proceded to beat 4 of my mates,kickingthem on the ground and stuff.im trying to the bouncers of one of my mates and i get cracked twice by 2 bouncers.gaurds came and treated us like criminals.when the bouncers were the ones thattotally exceded their duty, im a bouncer to,so i should know plus at to that the fact i was sober but yet the guards treate me like a criminal and basically theykept telling me to go away.....theyll crack down on you if you dont have a full license but then wont do anything when it comes to serious stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Sirsok wrote: »
    a big problem with the gaurds is they do nothing when it comes to big offences....there was a massive brawl in waerford the other night when about 8 or more bouncers proceded to beat 4 of my mates,kickingthem on the ground and stuff.im trying to the bouncers of one of my mates and i get cracked twice by 2 bouncers.gaurds came and treated us like criminals.when the bouncers were the ones thattotally exceded their duty, im a bouncer to,so i should know plus at to that the fact i was sober but yet the guards treate me like a criminal and basically theykept telling me to go away.....theyll crack down on you if you dont have a full license but then wont do anything when it comes to serious stuff.
    Fight da powah!!

They probably wont take sides in a ruck like that, and there's no way they are going to arrest everyone. They'll probably always take the side of the bouncers too in any case, due to the fact that the punters have booze taken (even though you were sober-but they didnt know that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

ive been a bouncer for near 2 years now and ive never reacted as badly as these lads did...and if the guards let them get away with it then what message is that giving?i could just go puck the head of any punter for them given a bit of stick when they wrongly refused from a nightclub.its bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Whats Westport??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

slipss wrote: »
    Whats Westport??

Judging by the name I'd say its a port located on the West Coast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

a lot of guards like an easy target

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Having a seperate traffic corps is not a new idea.

ive been a bouncer for near 2 years now and ive never reacted as badly as these lads did...and if the guards let them get away with it then what message is that giving?i could just go puck the head of any punter for them given a bit of stick when they wrongly refused from a nightclub.its bull

No offence but I've often seen bouncers doing stuff like this. Its hardly news to you ? Saw a bad incident during the summer outside spy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I thought of a brilliant idea earlier two, probably isn't worth a new thread though.

Right, so there are like 6 month waiting lists for people to get a driving test, giving the impression that whoever runs the thing needs more staff.*

There are thousands unemployed. Get them working for the driving test people. More people on the roads = more tax. Recession solved.

*/waits to be shot down as someone explains a different reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

great idea , it sickens me to see so many natural pohlease wasted on hand to hands and traffics stops..
    we should be working cases and trying to get up on a few wires