Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bushido

• 17-11-2009 1:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

I used to do Bushido Martial Arts in Leixlip untill a few years ago on a mon and a sat but due to other commitments I cant go on a mon and a wed in Confey s such a small class...does anyone know of any around the area...and what time there at and that sort of stuff??? I'm looking for beginers classes as I wouldnt be able to go back to where I was....NO WAY!!! out of it for too long!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 me_arse

Join a local dance club nearby, it will be as relevant to martial arts as Bushido is........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

me_arse wrote: »
    Join a local dance club nearby, it will be as relevant to martial arts as Bushido is........

Drop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Well Grand Master me_arse please enlighten us with your great wisdom and knowledge of the arts and let us know how you come to that decision.

siochain wrote: »
    Well Grand Master me_arse please enlighten us with your great wisdom and knowledge of the arts and let us know how you come to that decision.

Well I'm not going to get into too much detail as the moderator might slap my hand however I will say this:

I've trained for over 25 years and have also competed with and trained under some of the best Irish and International Karateka around so I feel I'm qualified to give a critique to what I see is a poor martial art. I am basing my opinion on the standard of fighting/forms I've seen at bushido open style tournaments which is extremely poor and I dont really hold the style/organisation in much regard. Their techniques have no form/kime and when I see referees wearing jeans, competitors wearing flag embossed pants and lunging into superman puches it really makes me laugh (I'm also amazed at how many so called world champions there are in Ireland - Are they just so good or are the whole wako iaska organistion a joke). When you compare how difficult and rare it is for Irish Judoka, Karateka and boxers to win medals at OFFICIAL tournaments you really must question the standard of the international organisations these guys are affilliated to.

Thats my tuppence worth, not trying to piss anybody off, just saying it as I see it.

Oss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Well I'm not going to get into too much detail as the moderator might slap my hand however I will say this:

I've trained for over 25 years and have also competed with and trained under some of the best Irish and International Karateka around so I feel I'm qualified to give a critique to what I see is a poor martial art. I am basing my opinion on the standard of fighting/forms I've seen at bushido open style tournaments which is extremely poor and I dont really hold the style/organisation in much regard. Their techniques have no form/kime and when I see referees wearing jeans, competitors wearing flag embossed pants and lunging into superman puches it really makes me laugh (I'm also amazed at how many so called world champions there are in Ireland - Are they just so good or are the whole wako iaska organistion a joke). When you compare how difficult and rare it is for Irish Judoka, Karateka and boxers to win medals at OFFICIAL tournaments you really must question the standard of the international organisations these guys are affilliated to.

Thats my tuppence worth, not trying to piss anybody off, just saying it as I see it.

Oss.

I think to be fair you're not clued up on what you're talking about.

Firstly at present AKAI have one junior world champion, Tony Stephens from Cork who won gold at the WAKO world championships recently. The standard at the WAKO's is second to none, and with them recently receiving GAIF recognition the standard there has quadrupled.

BMA are a predominantly semi-contact kickboxing organisation, those super man punches as you call them are an effective way of scoring points for that style of sport fighting.
    As for referee's wearing jeans, yeh I get your point there, but they are mostly small regional tournaments. Flag embossed pants? Whats the problem with that?

Have you yourself competed at any BMA or AKAI events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Oss.
    i understand what you meen,over the years i have seen many [un- comfortable]martial arts, but i have put this down to the sporting styles,the traditional styles make more sense to me,

Bushido don't train to compete in forms but do have it on at one of the event's they run The Irish Open and its open to all types of forms, traditional, extreme, etc.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Lqqy4mIunM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zd3wjJ7dtgA

Open style tournaments is exactly what it says on the tin open to all styles of MA and not just the old traditional styles. Bushido can’t be responsible for the style and technique of every competitor that turns up. Each year the Irish open is run over 3 days and attracts an average of 2,000 competitors from all over the world and raises thousands for charity with live audiences of between 1,000 and 1,500. How can all these people be wrong.
    Bushido train in sports karate and not traditional karate so are you comparing like with like?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tapSUioDsVI

Obviously with your far superior form you have had a lot of success at the Bushido events, me arse? After 25 years maybe its time to expand the mind.

Don’t forget these tournaments are to cater of all levels

Beginner -> intermediate -> senior.

And I can assure you many of the bushido team in partnership with other clubs have done a lot to bring on MA in Ireland and give people a platform to compete and express their styles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

thanks me_arse for that but I loved it at the time so I'd prefer to go back to what i know then something new!!!

so.....i take it no one has an answer to my question so??? haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

What's wrong with referees wearing jeans? I'm more concerned with their ability to safely and fairly apply the rules than if they have a blazer on.

Next thing they'll try to stop me wearing my "two girls one cup" tshirt! ;)

Bushido train in sports karate and not traditional karate so are you comparing like with like?

quote]

Sports Karate???????? Give me a break will u!!
    Sport karate is WKF Karate - end of story. Here is a video to show you guys what real sport karate is (Irish team).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0RUcB12LAE

Can somebody confirm whether Bushido is karate or kickboxing as the posters here are saying its both. I'm not trying to discredit any Bushido practitioners as its obvious that they are good athletes eg Roy Baker however the point I'm making is that the whole freestyle type kickboxing is a bit of a farce in comparison to officially recognised Karate, Judo, Taekwondo etc.

Finally here is a clip of traditional karate for anyone that is interested,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDt6wTWH7Rw

There is a big difference in traditional and WKF sport Karate however both styles require strict criteria for scoring (timing, power, control, aggression etc) unlike the sloppy, unfocused striking of Bushido.

I'm not trying to discredit any Bushido practitioners as its obvious that they are good athletes eg Roy Baker
    unlike the sloppy, unfocused striking of Bushido.
    Make your mind up or better still why not come down and see how they train and make an informed judgement.
    I'm making is that the whole freestyle type kickboxing is a bit of a farce in comparison to officially recognised Karate, Judo, Taekwondo etc.

Again as stated before the idea behind the open style tournaments is so students from all styles can test their skills in a safe regulated environment. AKAI run many successful tournaments every year as do the clubs with their independent tournaments all those competitors can’t wrong.
    You obviously can’t open your eyes to this.
    With you so called many years of experience you should know the voluntary time and effort that goes into running tournaments. It’s this type of petty bull***t politics and ego’s that hold up MA in this country. If don’t like the tournaments (or lack of success) don’t turn up.

Make your mind up or better still why not come down and see how they train and make an informed judgement.

Again as stated before the idea behind the open style tournaments is so students from all styles can test their skills in a safe regulated environment. AKAI run many successful tournaments every year as do the clubs with their independent tournaments all those competitors can’t wrong.
    You obviously can’t open your eyes to this.
    With you so called many years of experience you should know the voluntary time and effort that goes into running tournaments. It’s this type of petty bull***t politics and ego’s that hold up MA in this country. If don’t like the tournaments (or lack of success) don’t turn up.

I appreciate the time and effort required to run a tournament, and the Irish open for example is well run and obviously draws in a lot of competitors/spectators. The point I'm making is that the standard of fighting and the rules/criteria for scoring within Bushido/freestyle events is extremely poor. It simply doesn't compare to other martial arts........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Hideo

Story, WTF has the relevance of our club/art does what and how big that clubs pigeon chest is.

The peson asked where they might find a club to train in, simple :mad:- Could some muppet slander the Art and training i enjoy and force their opinions whether right or wrong.

Every art has something to offer, everyone has the right to enjoy that art !!! nobody has the right to compare someone elses training to "Dancing". Grow up we dont live in the 60s and 70s. the concept of "Whats your style ?" this sort of crap is infuriating:mad:. If its not your kind of training then either politely recommend somewhere for them to train or just say nothing. "ME ARSE" - you should ashamed of yourself !!!

"I_Lik_2_Ski" - the only other bushido club i know of is in clondalkin village. I havent trained there myself but i know a few people that do and hear good things. If you call them i'm sure they can sort you out with more club options.

Bushido don't train to compete in forms but do have it on at one of the event's they run The Irish Open and its open to all types of forms, traditional, extreme, etc.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Lqqy4mIunM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zd3wjJ7dtgA

Open style tournaments is exactly what it says on the tin open to all styles of MA and not just the old traditional styles. Bushido can’t be responsible for the style and technique of every competitor that turns up. Each year the Irish open is run over 3 days and attracts an average of 2,000 competitors from all over the world and raises thousands for charity with live audiences of between 1,000 and 1,500. How can all these people be wrong.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tapSUioDsVI

Obviously with your far superior form you have had a lot of success at the Bushido events, me arse? After 25 years maybe its time to expand the mind.

By the way, I just had a link at the links you provided, fell off my chair laughing. Are you seriously suggesting that those forms (dance moves) were any good?? I personally think they belong to a gymnastic mat routine rather than a martial arts tournament.

I'd love to see the Bunkai (application) of some of those moves......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

"Officially recognised karate" HA HA HA HA HA HA etc. What in the name of god is "Officially recognised karate"? Officially recognised by your particular organisation? What about the knock-down styles that would consider what you've shown in your videos to be a glorified game of tag?

(To all the WKF/Shotokan people out there getting ready to flame me, I'm not taking a knock at you with the dancing thing. I'm just pointing out that there is no consensus on what "real" karate is.)

The point I'm making is that the standard of fighting and the rules/criteria for scoring within Bushido/freestyle events is extremely poor. It simply doesn't compare to other martial arts........

offical wako scoring\rules are used and to most its straight forward unless of course competitors have trouble with English, Maths or practice an ineffective art that’s useless outside of their own style. Not scoring which I can imagine would be frustrating.

WAKO semi & light scoring
    Punch 1 pt
    Kick to the body 1 pt
    Foot sweep leading the opponent to touch the floor
    with any other part of the body apart from feet) 1 pt
    Kick to head 2 pts
    Jumping kick to body 2 pts
    Jumping kick to head 3 pts

Ok everyone take a deep breath.

The OP here was looking for information about BMA, at no point were they looking for opinions, so with that; me_arse - you need to calm down with your argument that your style is better than xyz. Those arguments are juvenile at this stage. Any other posts poking ridicule will have you banned, simple as that.

Unless anyone can contribute to the thread information that the OP was looking for I'll lock it up.

"Officially recognised karate" HA HA HA HA HA HA etc. What in the name of god is "Officially recognised karate"? Officially recognised by your particular organisation? What about the knock-down styles that would consider what you've shown in your videos to be a glorified game of tag?

(To all the WKF/Shotokan people out there getting ready to flame me, I'm not taking a knock at you with the dancing thing. I'm just pointing out that there is no consensus on what "real" karate is.)

WKF Karate is THE ONLY Karate recognised by the International Olympic Council. I think that counts as officially recognised don't you?

yomchi wrote: »
    Ok everyone take a deep breath.

The OP here was looking for information about BMA, at no point were they looking for opinions, so with that; me_arse - you need to calm down with your argument that your style is better than xyz. Those arguments are juvenile at this stage. Any other posts poking ridicule will have you banned, simple as that.

Unless anyone can contribute to the thread information that the OP was looking for I'll lock it up.

Sorry, I know its started to get a bit heated alright. No offence meant to anybody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭YamaMotoYama

WKF Karate is THE ONLY Karate recognised by the International Olympic Council. I think that counts as officially recognised don't you?

WKF rules were put in place to get Karate into the Olympics by standardizing the rules, scoring and equipment (a lot like what the TKD governing body did to get TKD into the Olympics)...

Olympic recognition is nice... but it doesn't mean that other older styles (older than the WKF rule book) should be discounted.

I train WKF btw.

WKF rules were put in place to get Karate into the Olympics by standardizing the rules, scoring and equipment (a lot like what the TKD governing body did to get TKD into the Olympics)...

Olympic recognition is nice... but it doesn't mean that other older styles (older than the WKF rule book) should be discounted.

I train WKF btw.

I totally agree with you however I was just responding to the previous poster who was questioning who karate is recognised by.

oss.

sorry op for off track, times are on their website

Leixlip Amenities Centre Leixlip, Co Kildare 7 - 8.30pm Monday
    Leixlip Amenities Centre Leixlip, Co Kildare 12 - 1pm Saturday
    Scoil San Carlos Captains Hill, Leixlip. 7-8.30pm Wednesday
    Church of Ireland Parish Hall Main Street, Lucan 12 - 1pm Saturday
    Community Hall Lucan 8 - 9pm Monday 0868446786
    The Mill Celbridge Main Street Celbridge 7 - 8.30pm Friday
    Blanchastown Institute Of Technology ( Students Only) Blanchardstown IT

BMA Full Time Academy, Clondalkin.

Beginner kids (6-12yrs) Advanced kids (6-12yrs)
    every Tuesday and Thursday 4.00-4.45 and 5.00-5.45 every Monday ,Wednesday and Friday 3.30-4.15
    Teenagers class (12-16yrs) Beginners Adults
    every Monday ,Wednesday and Friday 5.30-6.20 every Monday ,Wednesday and Friday 7.00-7.55
    Intermediate Adults Advanced Adults
    every Monday & Wednesday 9.30-10.30 and Friday 8.15-9.15 every Monday & Wednesday 8.15-9.15 and Friday 8.15-9.45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

yomchi wrote: »
    The OP here was looking for information about BMA, at no point were they looking for opinions

i totally agree with that...and i was sick of getting emails!!! lol
    sorry op for off track, times are on their website

Leixlip Amenities Centre Leixlip, Co Kildare 7 - 8.30pm Monday
    Leixlip Amenities Centre Leixlip, Co Kildare 12 - 1pm Saturday
    Scoil San Carlos Captains Hill, Leixlip. 7-8.30pm Wednesday
    Church of Ireland Parish Hall Main Street, Lucan 12 - 1pm Saturday
    Community Hall Lucan 8 - 9pm Monday 0868446786
    The Mill Celbridge Main Street Celbridge 7 - 8.30pm Friday
    Blanchastown Institute Of Technology ( Students Only) Blanchardstown IT

BMA Full Time Academy, Clondalkin.

Beginner kids (6-12yrs) Advanced kids (6-12yrs)
    every Tuesday and Thursday 4.00-4.45 and 5.00-5.45 every Monday ,Wednesday and Friday 3.30-4.15
    Teenagers class (12-16yrs) Beginners Adults
    every Monday ,Wednesday and Friday 5.30-6.20 every Monday ,Wednesday and Friday 7.00-7.55
    Intermediate Adults Advanced Adults
    every Monday & Wednesday 9.30-10.30 and Friday 8.15-9.15 every Monday & Wednesday 8.15-9.15 and Friday 8.15-9.45

thanks a million...i can deffo fit bushido back into my schedule...say Roy Baker is going to be amazed to see me back...only i wont be brown 2 anymore!!! :(

and to all the people who were giving out about it...i just want to keep fit and stay in shape so i dont really care if its not a good as others!!! :D:D:D

Roy is one of the best in the business and a former WAKO world champion himself. You could do a whole lot worse.

There will also be a WAKO world title fight in the GAA club in Leixlip on Saturday night. Say hello if you're there!

Enjoy the training.