Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O2 Dublin Alcohol regulations.

• 17-11-2009 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

I just wanted to clarify that you CANNOT bring drink into the standing areas in the O2 arena.

I went to my first gig in the revamped venue to see Fleetwood Mac and was well p****d off with people constantly coming and going with trays of pints! Its unbelievable that the normal health and safety regulations allow this to go on!

I go to concerts to appreciate the music and the couple of pints I would have before the gig is perfect,then I enjoy the concert and maybe have another couple after the gig. Many people must spend their gigs ,eating,drinking, going to the loo and maybe hearing a few songs!They are just inconveniencing the majority who want to sit down and enjoy the concert.

Anyhow,my reason for checking is that I am going to the Paul McCartney gig and will be standing and HOPE that there is no drink allowed into that area!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭HBK

Widescreen wrote: »
    Hi Folks,

I just wanted to clarify that you CANNOT bring drink into the standing areas in the O2 arena.

I went to my first gig in the revamped venue to see Fleetwood Mac and was well p****d off with people constantly coming and going with trays of pints! Its unbelievable that the normal health and safety regulations allow this to go on!

I go to concerts to appreciate the music and the couple of pints I would have before the gig is perfect,then I enjoy the concert and maybe have another couple after the gig. Many people must spend their gigs ,eating,drinking, going to the loo and maybe hearing a few songs!They are just inconveniencing the majority who want to sit down and enjoy the concert.

Anyhow,my reason for checking is that I am going to the Paul McCartney gig and will be standing and HOPE that there is no drink allowed into that area!

What are you on about? Of course you can bring beer into the standing area. For any gig I've been to there, this is an open area anyway? So you buy beer at the back bar, and walk forward towards the stage, you cant ban beer from the standing area, as the whole area is the bar/standing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Widescreen

Scien wrote: »
    Seriously, if you can't handle people "coming and going with trays of pints" at a Concert, i don't think they are for you.

Try a CD Player.

BTW I have been to more concerts than most worldwide since the early 80's.This "drink thing" in the o2 is stupid. Not purely because it is drink, but because of the constant interruptions it creates.

Wait till someone tips a trayload over someone! Hope it ain't me! Naw the O2 can't be a proper music venue when they allow constant disruption of patrons whilst they are watching a concert.I attended Barbra Streisand in Kildare and got half my money back because "of the constant interruptions"during the gig!

Surely some people agree with my point here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I attended Barbra Streisand in Kildare and got half my money back because "of the constant interruptions"during the gig!

I'm pretty sure that people were refunded money from the Barbara Streisand gig because of the lack of organisation, poor planning and handling of the gig, not because people were walking around with pints every now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

Is this a joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

I agree - in fact going to the toilet, talking with friends and clapping except at the end of songs should be banned also!

Seriously get a life OP! it's pop and rock concerts you're going to here not the bloody national symphony orchestra!!
    Pints and shenanigans is all part of the craic.
    I'll try to tip a tray of pints over you if I run into you at a concert in the future :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

BTW I have been to more concerts than most worldwide since the early 80's.

Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭celticwe

BTW I have been to more concerts than most worldwide since the early 80's.This "drink thing" in the o2 is stupid. Not purely because it is drink, but because of the constant interruptions it creates.

Wait till someone tips a trayload over someone! Hope it ain't me! Naw the O2 can't be a proper music venue when they allow constant disruption of patrons whilst they are watching a concert.I attended Barbra Streisand in Kildare and got half my money back because "of the constant interruptions"during the gig!

Surely some people agree with my point here.

Double legend

You've all missed my point,not worth continuing for the moment. Maybe someone with a different angle may contribute later.

All I am saying is that it ain't worth paying the extortionate ticket prices (and drink prices by the way) and missing large chunks of the gig. Its crazy.In my view the drink beforehand (an maybe the interval if there is one) and after the show is what its all about. I want to be able to fully savour any concert I can afford to go to in its entirety.

If you think thats a problem I give up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

If you are seated I can see how it would annoy you. At the UFC last year there was a constant stream of people coming to and from the bar.

For Muse everyone in the seating area around me was standing so people going to the bar was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Widescreen wrote:

First of all, that's not true. Don't spur falsehood based on how you think things should operate.
    Widescreen wrote:
    All I am saying is that it ain't worth paying the extortionate ticket prices (and drink prices by the way) and missing large chunks of the gig. Its crazy.In my view the drink beforehand (an maybe the interval if there is one) and after the show is what its all about.

That's your perspective. Plenty of people are there to be out, for the social aspect or to hear that "one song", etc. If they decide to pay the price tag, if they choose to purchase beverages, if they are prepared to miss a portion of the concert for a smoke, then so be it.
    Widescreen wrote:
    I want to be able to fully savour any concert I can afford to go to in its entirety.

Now, I can empathise if people are interrupting you by, say, having to continually clear the aisle to let people through for whatever reason; I know Fleetwood Mac was fully seated. Understandably, this would annoy anyone if this was constantly going on. Perhaps the best thing to do in the future is snap up seats right in the middle of a section? Seems to me you were either in a shít aisle/area or you chose to fixate on the nunsense that is "casual concert-goers" rather than enjoy the concert.

McCartney afaik will have standing downstairs and yes, drink will be allowed. If that bothers you then you should probably retire from going to gigs. Surely people headed back-and-forward towards the bar at gigs in the 80s?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

You've all missed my point,not worth continuing for the moment. Maybe someone with a different angle may contribute later.

All I am saying is that it ain't worth paying the extortionate ticket prices (and drink prices by the way) and missing large chunks of the gig. Its crazy.In my view the drink beforehand (an maybe the interval if there is one) and after the show is what its all about. I want to be able to fully savour any concert I can afford to go to in its entirety.

I don't think it's a problem,
    nor do I think what the other people are doing is problem,
    everyone has there own rituals to be honest.
    If you think that's a problem, I give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

Hi Folks,

i hope im standing beside u at the gig i will have my naggan of morgans and a i will have a pint in each hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Decuc500

I kind of agree. Sitting at the O2 to watch a gig you're constantly aware of a stream of people leaving the seats to go to the bar and, yes, it is off putting, especially I would imagine, if you are sitting near an exit.

What really annoys me is people shoving past you to get to the bar. At Yo La Tengo recently I was shoved a couple of times by boozed up idiots desperately trying to get back to the bar. They seem to think that the quickest way to the back is straight through people. I know it happens at every gig but it's always annoying.

Obviously there's a balance at gigs and you can't expect everyone to be there just to enjoy the music but if you can't watch a band without shoving your way to the bar to get drink in you, listen to the cd at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

First off, I dunno why you are singling out the O2, this is certainly not unique to them.
    my reason for checking is that I am going to the Paul McCartney gig and will be standing and HOPE that there is no drink allowed into that area!
    Checking what? why are you hoping?
    This statement infers you already contacted the O2 and were told there is definitely no drink allowed....

constantly coming and going with trays of pints! Its unbelievable that the normal health and safety regulations allow this to go on!
    I find these trays are great, and they have lids on the pints like a mc donalds. I wish more venues would get them. It allows for far less interuption. I was seated at kings of leon and loads of lads were getting 4 pints at a time and storing them under their seat, so less movement overall.

At a pat short gig in vicar street he asked for the bar to be closed during the gig duration (open before & after).
    I want to be able to fully savour any concert I can afford to go to in its entirety.

And many people like to have a pint to fully enjoy the concert experience. If you think thats a problem....

Personally I smuggle spirits in, no queing, cheaper and no constant trips to the loo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭ArthurGuinness

Ill see ya there, Ill buy you a pint. There will probably be a few on you to tho by the end of the night :D

Probably been a slight over reaction to my comments. I like a drink as much as everyone else believe me:D.

Someone referred to the Fleetwood Mac gig which I was at and maybe we were unlucky with the location and got loads of interruptions.

I'll give it the benefit of the doubt for now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Maybe it's more noticible in the seated area because you might have to stand up a few times to let people in and out. It's no problem in the standing area, in fact it's brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭pistonsvox

Prob dont allow you out with beers for the seated gigs? they sometimes have a bit standing and seating the rest of the way up, easy enough, when the seats are folded up and its all standing, to get a beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mr.benn

If it was not permitted to bring drink into the standing area why would there be a bar for the standing area!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

Why wouldn't you be allowed to bring drink into the standing area? It's a gig not an opera....get over it. You sound like the kind of person I would hate to be beside at a gig, like those who go mad if you jump in the pit...talk about absolute killjoys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kei_jo

Scien wrote: »
    Seriously, if you can't handle people "coming and going with trays of pints" at a Concert, i don't think they are for you.

Try a CD Player.

Haha, I chuckled at that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Was at a gig in the O2 recently(sitting) and to be honest it amazed me how some people were so obsessed at keeping the pints stacked up. Some people around me missed at least 50% of the gig going for pints and bringing them back. Then not knowing where they were sitting and going into wrong rows and stuff. Didn't really bother me, they obviously didnt care about the music it was just a night on the beer for them. Quite sad they can't go an hour without a pint I suppose, like anybody that goes to see muse and then goes for pints during the first song of the encore...well I can't really understand that but whatever floats your boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Billydog

I am in agreement with the OP here. There is far too much emphasis on drink and food at the 02 to allow for a serious concert. I was at both Bob Dylan show earlier this year. I stood for the first one which was grand but was sitting for the second. When sitting there was a constant stream of people going for food/drink. There was even a clown with a coffee machine on his back going up and down, even during the quieter songs. It's a concert not a football match! Consequently I would never sit at another concert at the 02 - I am standing for Paul McCartney and while I would have gone to Fleetwood Mac was not prepared to sit. I agree that the bars and food stalls should close during the concert but absolutely no hope of that given the money that is being earned. The old Point didn’t suffer from this commercialisation and was the better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭macpac26

Ive never really understood why people need to go to the bar every 15mins after they paid money to see the gig. I took my missus to Beyonce last night and we kept having to get up to allow people passed with drink. Most of the people around us were either drunk or halfway there by midpoint. To me anyway, the O2 is a glorified pub. They are more interested in making money from alcohol than escorting drunken idiots out of the venue.

Again this is a minority but when your sat beside people like that it just ruins a lot of the experience. It would not stop me from going to more gigs in the O2 but id definitely choose to stand or sit up near the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭mooeire

It happens everywhere!! I was at the UFC in Manchester last weekend and people were getting up during fights to go to the bar... Defeating the purpose of going!!!! By any chance have they started selling cider in the 02???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

As square as the OP obviously is, some of the people replying that seem absolutely shocked at the notion of not being able to drink in the gig area seem to have short memories - this was the case in the same venue, The Point, before it was done up. No boozing in the standing, tiered seating or balcony areas at all. Your choice was drink out at the bar where you can see nothing, or watch the gig. Brutal but true.

Anyway while we're on the subject of the o2, dont suppose theres a cloakroom is there? I know there is one in the o2 in London and its free, although we'd never get a free one, do we have one at all?

Also has anyone used the shuttlebuses that go to the o2 from the stephens green luas stop (or anywhere)? Are they reliable?

Going to Kasabian on Friday, first time there.

nm wrote: »
    As square as the OP obviously is, some of the people replying that seem absolutely shocked at the notion of not being able to drink in the gig area seem to have short memories - this was the case in the same venue, The Point, before it was done up. No boozing in the standing, tiered seating or balcony areas at all. Your choice was drink out at the bar where you can see nothing, or watch the gig. Brutal but true.

Anyway while we're on the subject of the o2, dont suppose theres a cloakroom is there? I know there is one in the o2 in London and its free, although we'd never get a free one, do we have one at all?

Also has anyone used the shuttlebuses that go to the o2 from the stephens green luas stop (or anywhere)? Are they reliable?

Going to Kasabian on Friday, first time there.

I probably should have named this thread "Food and Drink" regulations instead of Alcohol. All I pointed out was about constant interruptions in the seated areas whilst trying to watch a concert.Nothing wrong with that I would have thought!

Its disappointing to see responses such as the first few words of this one!It certainly ain't the case buddy I can assure you of that!

Let's respect each others opinions-after all that is all they are:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

No offence Widescreen but that post made you sound a little like :
    FrankGrimes.gif

... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

RayCon wrote: »
    No offence Widescreen but that post made you sound a little like...

Or this guy

cosmic wrote: »

No chance!!

Like the humour though lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

if you think the o2 is bad, im just back from vegas where i went to see UFC.
    firstly the rows were so tight together i couldnt believe it.sitting down my legs were squeezed in to the seat in front of me. then the yanks with there 3 course meals of burgers, hot dogs and nachos coming and going! we were up and down for beer, on the edge so not disturbing anyone. an american guy says "you guys really fit the irish stereotyope." he was sat there about 20 stone with nachos dripping in cheese and a 2 litre cup of coke.......POT KETTLE BLACK!!!

The o2 has the best arrangement i feel personally, its big enough that theyre are gaps between crowds u can get through and you can go to the bar easily and still be in the concert area.a lot of the heavier drinkers at kasabian on firday were staying at the back drinking and not disturbing anyone.