Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DS collection: suggestions!

• 16-11-2009 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

Hi all, been collecting DS games for the past while, in terms of the sheer volume of quality games it's my favourite console of all time (just shading the snes & dreamcast!). Anyway I figured I'd come here and look for suggestions as to undiscovered gems I may be missing! Here's what I have to date:

Mario & Luigi : Bowser's Inside Story
    Castlevania (all three of them)
    Zelda Phantom Hourglass
    Lunar Knights
    GTA: Chinatown Wars
    Chrono Trigger
    Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor
    Advance Wars: Dark Conflict
    Big Bang Mini
    Yoshi's Island DS
    Tetris DS
    Wario Ware: Touched
    Broken Sword
    Henry Hatsworth
    Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan
    Elite Beat Agents
    Rocket Slime
    Kirby Superstar Ultra
    Pokemon Platinum
    Jump Ultimate Stars
    Disgaea DS
    Knights In The Nightmare
    New Super Mario Bros
    Yoshi Touch & Go
    Super Mario 64 DS
    Professor Layton (both of them)
    Geometry Wars Galaxies
    Brain Age
    Bangai-O Spirits
    Scribblenauts
    [EDIT] The World Ends With You

Also had some games stolen in a break-in a few months ago, some of which I've managed to replace but these ones I've yet to replace:

Space Invaders Extreme
    The Legendary Starfy
    Puzzle Quest Galactrix
    Mario Kart DS
    Peggle
    Ace Attorney: Justice For All
    Pokemon Diamond
    n+

If anyone's still reading suggestions are more than welcome! I've a few on my radar but no doubt I'm completely oblivious to some games that are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Wobbuffet

Hotel Dusk Room 215
    Mario and Luigi Partners in Time
    Advance Wars: Dual Strike
    Viva Pinata Pocket Paradise
    Super Princess Peach
    42 All Time Classics

Sorry to hear about your stolen games. Thats awful

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,393 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Get a pokemon game. They are so damn addictive. Suikoden Tierkries if you can find a copy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Wow!

Just looking at that list reminds me what a great little machine the ds is.

I don't see soul bubbles on your list. Etrian Odyssey is suppose to be very good as well. Is Knights In The Nightmare any good?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,393 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Have to recommend Etrian Odyssey 1 and 2 as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days
    The World Ends with You
    Any of the Lego games are great
    Fossil Fighters
    Trauma Center: Under the Knife
    Contra 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

Thanks for the replies, sorry left out The World Ends With You from the original list!

Contra 4 is definitely on my list of things to pick up, along with Soul Bubbles (Have had Soul Bubbles in my hands in shops many times, never made it all the way to the register though!)

Hadn't considered Princess Peach or the Etrian Odyssey games, cheers for that.
    I've seen mixed reviews for Suikoden Tierkreis so wasn't sure, suppose it might have been unfairly compared to its predecessors. Will look out for it!

And I've played Knights in the Nightmare for all of 20 minutes, it's near the top of my backlog list though! From what little of it I've played it seems pretty complicated, but the kind of game you could completely lose yourself in.

Final fantasy IV
    dragon quest IV & V
    Shiren the wanderer

Final fantasy IV
    dragon quest IV & V
    Shiren the wanderer

Cheers for that, was verge of buying dragon quest V the other day before thoughts of my poor bank balance crept into my head..is probably next on my list though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Wobbuffet

ghostchant wrote: »
    I've seen mixed reviews for Suikoden Tierkreis so wasn't sure, suppose it might have been unfairly compared to its predecessors.

I'm currently halfway through Suikoden Tierkreis and it's brilliant. I'm really enjoying it. I'd go as far as to say it's better then some of the main entries in the series

Super Robot Taisen OG Saga: Endless Frontier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

It looks to be like you're missing Picross and meteos (the original one!) on that list;).

Wow...just wow. Not many games can lay claim to prestigious "The Superman 64 Award For Worst Game" from NGamer (thanks Wikipedia)

Thanks for the suggestions all (almost bought Super Robot Taisen OG Saga in the states earlier on in the year..might be worth another look)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

Jesus what a console!

Add Anno 1701 to the list, great game.

Zoo keeper - pick it up 2nd-hand for cheap.

very simple bejewelled style game but the game that I play most regularly on ds for a short burst. time attack mode is really addictive - always trying to beat my high score.

another one that's not often mentioned -

"Little Red Riding Hood's Zombie BBQ"

great little shooter. also wins best ds game name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 tentpole

- Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days
    - Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings

tentpole wrote: »
    - Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days
    - Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings

I get the impression from Kingdom Hearts that I'd need to have played the original KH games, which I haven't. Also (and this is really just personal preference) I'm not too keen on 3D-style DS games for the most part, the console seems much better suited to 2D games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

glasso wrote: »
    Zoo keeper - pick it up 2nd-hand for cheap.

very simple bejewelled style game but the game that I play most regularly on ds for a short burst. time attack mode is really addictive - always trying to beat my high score.

lol i thought i was the only 1!!

whats ur high score? mine is about 1.6m.

time attack is a handy little number for sittin on the jacks!! ;)

The_B_Man wrote: »
    lol i thought i was the only 1!!

whats ur high score? mine is about 1.6m.

time attack is a handy little number for sittin on the jacks!! ;)

yep time attack mode is the bomb! my best score just under 4m - 3.98m or something. that's the only mode I play. you need to unlock super hard mode to get better scores. you do this by getting the top score on the high score tables for all modes. the weird test mode can be a bitch to do that on 'cos it's a bit random.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

holy crap!! I already had all the high scores but never bothered going back to check!!

you dont know what you've started!! me missus already has over like 5 million! shes mad like that tho, always gets top global scores in bejewelled on facebook! mad yoke.

but ye, both of us are furiously going at it day and night now....unfrotunately im talking about zookeeper!! :(

better than me then! I have just over 4 mill now.