Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hanging Times for Mallard & Recipes?

• 15-11-2009 12:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

Just a quick one for ye: How long do ye hang yere mallard for?

Also any good recipes for cooking them...not too difficult now, I'll be doing the cooking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭clivej

I didn't read though it yet but I got this link from another site.smile.gif

Looks very good. And its in colour with pretty pictures for the girls. Cos we all know that us lads are the Chefs

http://www.tasteofhomedigital.com/ta...ookbook-dl.pdf

It takes a while to download at 21.1MB but is very good although American quantities/ingredients etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

that link appears to have been mangled in pasting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

i hang for 2 days as i find them the worst of all game birds to clean out.

pluck the bird.

prehaet oven to 190.

paste bird with butter in the inside with salt pepper and stuff with whatever stuffing you like.

then paste butter all over the outside of the bird and put salt pepper and herds over it. place on a baking tray and cook for 1 hour and no more.

the bird then wont dry out as it cooks fast and will be cooked to perfection.

serve with roast spuds or whatever veg of your liking.

and dont invite guests by the way unless youv more than 1!!!!!! enjoy. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭shannonpowerlab

Do you normally hang them and then clean out or do you clean out and then hang?

I read somewhere that some people to seem to clean it out on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Do you normally hang them and then clean out or do you clean out and then hang?

I read somewhere that some people to seem to clean it out on the field.
    the only thing i would clean in the field would be a rabbit but i wouldnt really clean out any birds before i hung them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

In the cold weather it's ok not to clean them out in the field. In the early part of the season though, I'd gut them straight away. I've seen too many ducks go to waste in September when it's just too warm.

I hang my game in a fridge and it can hang for up to two weeks! In fact I only plucked my opening day partridge last Sunday (2 weeks hanging), and ate it yesterday. It was absolutely delicious. That was my first ever partridge and it now ranks as one of my top three eaters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

i stuff my ducks with potatoe stuffing......beautiful!!!! boil the spuds and mash when cooked, add butter (lots:D) chopped raw onion salt and pepper and some nutmeg aswell. stuff the bird and roast. last time i put some goose fat on top of bird to stop him drying out. got some great browney points off herself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Ducks have a stomach bacteria that can spoil the meat and cause food poisoning if the innards have been punctured by shot and the bird hung for too long - apparently. Having said that, I've never met anyone who got poisoned from well hung duck so maybe thats a load of boll*x. Years ago down in south Wexford I remember people hanging widgeon for up to a week and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭shannonpowerlab

Ducks have a stomach bacteria that can spoil the meat and cause food poisoning if the innards have been punctured by shot and the bird hung for too long - apparently. Having said that, I've never met anyone who got poisoned from well hung duck so maybe thats a load of boll*x. Years ago down in south Wexford I remember people hanging widgeon for up to a week and a half.

But then if the rot starts from inside maybe it is not a bad practice to have it cleaned before hanging anyway?

I was also wondering how you deal with plucked feather...
    Do you bury it or does it go into mixed waste.