Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battle for Scandinavia -an alternative to berget

• 15-11-2009 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭

posted on airsoftnews.eu
    details of their 2010 Battle of Scandinavia which will be held on 27-29 Aug 2010 in Sweden (click the “read more” link to see more details of the event):

SSMG has the largest and one of the most unforgiving gaming areas in Sweden (14×6km). The perimeter of the gaming area is 50km. We have so far specialised in advanced Mil.Sim games. We use real airplanes, large
    inflatable boats (RIB), vehicles and real airfields. We arrange two big games every year with 200-300 players so far. SSMG is only one year old since we started and three games have been arranged. We are looking at great bright future with growing numbers and more and more interests in SSMG’s Mil.Sim games. All this only at a cost of 30 GPB.

Gaming area map:

Gaming area location

Youtube keywords: SSMG MilSim, Operation Tango One, Operation Tango Dux, Operation Sierra. (SSMG)

Welcome to SSMGs introduction of Battle Of Scendinavia 2010.

This intro will present you an overview of how Battle Of Scandinavia will be accomplished. Battle Of Scandinavia is a fire fight in airsoft between the following nations: Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland. All against each other in a brutal struggle over the title of the strongest nation. Battle Of Scandinavia is to announce the strongest nation in modern airsoft. All involved shall defend their own nation and pride. The tournament is in a form of Capture the flag. The gaming area is divided in to four sections. One section for each country.

Capture The Flag All are to defend their own flag within its assigned area and protect it from the enemy. Simultaneously the enemy flags are to be gathered and transported to own nation base. Prevent the enemy from retrieving their own flag. The objective is to prevent the enemy from taking own flag and extract it from its nations base. The flags are equipped with GPS trackers. They are monitored and tracked in real time by Host HQ via Google maps. As a player you are always entitled to ask for flag positions to reveal its exact location. This is easily done via sms to Host HQ. You will be replied with map coordinates (X, Y) from the RT90 map system. The flags should always be in a base.

Cheating As a nation you are responsible to check upon your opponents flags. If the GPS tracker is missing on your enemy flag please report this to Host HQ as soon as possible.

Not taking hits: There is no prestige in not taking a hit. The whole concept is based on honest gamers. Victory tastes much better if it’s honest. Always report non taken hits to the Host. If several reports are gathered from different nations against one nation regarding cheating the matter will be investigated immediately. If it’s established that a nation has been cheating, then the whole nation will receive a one hour time penalty. Further reports towards the same nation will result in a second one hour penalty. A third and final report results in disqualification of the whole nation. This automatically leaves a personal responsibility towards our team mates; see to that they do not cheat. Since this affects everyone within the nation. Being marked as dishonest players is a serious, since it’s a hard allegation to get rid of. Have you managed to draw that kind of an attention upon you than people will always assume that you cheat. To be known internationally as dishonest players is not good. If you’re uncertain, be humble and take a hit rather than risking the opposite.

How the winning nation is appointed. As soon as the nation flag exits its own nation area a time penalty is started. Time freezes as soon as the flag enters its home nation area again. Everything is tracked live by Host HQ. The winner in the end is the nation with minimum accumulated time.

Uniform requirements: All nations are to play in their own nations uniforms. Both jacket and pants have to be in the same camouflage. Only boots accepted. E.g. Swede’s play in the M90 uniform etc.

No requirements on the following: Combat/Tactical vest, gloves, headgear, rain clothes

Note: Try not to cover your nation uniform with external wear. Ad clothing underneath if you have to. Exceptions made for rain protection.

Weapons: No classic AK47 in wooden colours. Other than that, weapons free of choice. Please check BB velocity requirements in the rule section before game start.

Game dates: 2010.08.27-29 On site: Gathering and formation nation wise on Laxå Airfield 2719:55 for info and start ceremony. Finishing at Laxå airfield 2910:00 Game time is from fri-sun. With game start 2722:00 to 2909:00

Space
    500 soldiers/nation maximum.

Volunteers It’s accepted that foreigners sign up to fight for the countries involved. You choose your own country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

All nations are to play in their own nations uniforms

Whoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

All that way to play capture the flag? No thanks:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Gatling wrote: »

Weapons: No classic AK47 in wooden colours. Other than that, weapons free of choice. Please check BB velocity requirements in the rule section before game start.

Who's running this event, Richie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Thats look so piss poor its not even funny,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

wow norge against sverige, finns against both and danes against everyone...that going to be fisty cuffs at dawn by some there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Swedish and Danish uniforms are easily got (providing one can afford yet another uniform), but where do you get Norwegian or Finnish?

Added to calendar anyway.

The main story is actually at http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/news2/9428 and SSMG are at http://www.special-forces.se/

Here's a slightly more understandable version of the times...
    Gathering and formation nation wise on Laxå Airfield 19:55 27Aug2010 for info and start ceremony.
    Finishing at Laxå airfield 10:00 29Aug2010.
    Game time is from 22:00 Fri 27Aug2010 to 09:00 Sun 29Aug2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Whilst some elements in the press release raise my eyebrow, I will say this ... the Scandanavians take their airsoft seriously ... so this may actually work well and just suffer from an unfortunate case of "reading" poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

You're talking to airsofters bernard.... ofcourse they can afford another uniform :P

Anyway, as Ireland isnt in Scandanavia (little geography titbit Dave) Irish dpm wont matter will it?

Tbh this event seems either badly translated, badly writen, or other... we don't know enough yet, and as its not at the same time as berget, its hardly an alternative. So why all cry over a glass of milk that has the possibility to get spilt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

I wouldn't bother with the Irish issue uniform as it's rubbish, it keeps ripping when your on the ground.
    Besides it's illegal to posess unless your a serving member!

thermo wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother with the Irish issue uniform as it's rubbish, it keeps ripping when your on the ground.

Well, it's moot anyway since if you want to attend you pick one of the four scandanavian countries as your uniform of choice.

That's moot on top of the whole "illegal" thing which lets face it .... is fairly final by way of argument,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭kjsaw

I have been to one of the games arranged by these guys so far, it was a cool experience, but at the same time, much different from Berget (much more "milsim", very little ingame transport (and it is a massive area), no kiosks, no tents provided, no power.....)

Bear in mind this game is starting on a Friday evening, and finishing on Sunday morning. If you are not in Sweden or one of the nordic countries it is a long way to come for a 35 hour game. As far as I can tell from their forums, with regards to uniform, You need to be wearing the uniform of the country you are fighting for.

If anyone is planning on coming I think I'll be there with my team and we will most likely be on the Finnish side, the game area is about a 2 hour drive west of Stockholm (perhaps longer if you are worried about speeding tickets).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Smokerkl

thermo wrote: »

Only if it has the Tricolour on the sleeve?? And I bought mine of Ebay when I lived in NZ.. ( I dont skirmish in it just wear it day to day general use)
    S..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Smokerkl wrote: »
    Only if it has the Tricolour on the sleeve?? And I bought mine of Ebay when I lived in NZ.. ( I dont skirmish in it just wear it day to day general use)
    S..

Incorrect dude. The pattern is property of the Defense Forces.

Sorry to disappoint but its not incorrect I did buy a smock of ebay in I think 2001 maybe 02 and its Irish DPM. I was told buy a serving soldier that if it dont have the flag on the sleeve then its not technically illegal.. Thats me anyway!!
    S..

S..

That's not strictly true as not all the issued gear has a flag!

Lemming I was not argueing was only pointing out the uniform is rubbish quality and they rarely stand up to much abuse.

So is it illegal to wear the damn smock or not? Ive been wearing pretty uch every cold day (363 of them a year!!!):) since I got it? Never been nicked yet or had anybody say anything to me at all? I reckon its a load of old cobblers..
    S..
    P.S. It wasn't ebay it was <snip>!! Sorry but same thing anyway.. Guessing an ex squaddie moved to NZ and sold his smock?? I got it for something like 30 dollars NZ if I remember correctly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Tommyboy71 wrote: »
    Incorrect dude. The pattern is property of the Defense Forces.
    Sorry to disappoint but its not incorrect I did buy a smock of ebay in I think 2001 maybe 02 and its Irish DPM. I was told buy a serving soldier that if it dont have the flag on the sleeve then its not technically illegal.. Thats me anyway!!
    S..

Tommys right flag or no flag all irish dpm is property of the minister of defence even if you served or not its illegal to posses or wear unless your on duty with the defence forces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

It is illegal to wear Irish DPM, tricolor or no tricolor.

Didn't mean to start a war like calm down lads will ya's??
    Just one thing cos forums seem to be full of this lark who can actually prove it? Example one day last year I got a 10 day producer off the gards(no licence on me when stopped irrelevant I know) anyway went in to said station couple days later with documents wearing my smock and not a word was said? Surely if they are that strict about it then a Geordie with a thick accent in Ireland wearing irish DPM would be the first to get pulled? Also when you see the soldiers and Gards doing the money run thing wth securicor no soldier ever told me to take it off? Might go up to Collins' Barracks in morning and ask the MP's eh??
    S..

Mods please lock thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭hitman_

Just one thought on "Irish" DPM -
    I assume it's against the Defense Acts etc to wear or deal in ACTUAL issue uniform i.e. DPM. These being the property of the State as such.

Is a made up copy of the uniform illegal to obtain/wear - i.e. is the actual design pattern of the DPM the property of the state also or what ???

I wear various Army pullovers/shirts/smocks etc and have never had an issue either with Guards or military ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

they probably didnt say anything because they may have assumed you were issued it

and yeah i do believe the pattern is the state's (open to correction:o)

just dont do it to be safe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

The Flag is actually the only bit you are ALLOWED to have on the BDU., lol

The uniform, although you may have bought it from ebay is actually the property of the minister of defense.
    You might not have had any hassle from anyone on the street yet, but theres a strong possibility you might in the future.
    There were strict warnings given the serving members a few weeks ago "allegedly" after a commandant was offered a hand changing a puncture from a guy on the street, who was wearing an Irish DPM jacket. The commandant was in civvies from what I've heard and asked the bloke where he got the jacket.
    Noting happened to him as far as i know but you could find yourself in a similar situation. :)

hitman_ wrote: »
    Is a made up copy of the uniform illegal to obtain/wear - i.e. is the actual design pattern of the DPM the property of the state also or what ???

Thats a good question. I can have it made over in Vietnam in whatever pattern i like if i bring a template but the only possible complication i can see there is "Imitating a soldier" in the same fashion as Imitating a Garda but I'm not sure if such a charge actually exists. :)

Would it really be worth the hassle though? you'd probably get snotty looks from people who mistake it for actual DPMs.

Rules are nothing without enforcement.

Y'all are wandering off topic... and I'm pretty sure this was discussed in detail before, with citations of the relevant legal Sections an' all.

Back on topic, did I read it correctly 500 players per team max? If they got a full house it would be mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

So is it illegal to wear the damn smock or not? Ive been wearing pretty uch every cold day (363 of them a year!!!):) since I got it? Never been nicked yet or had anybody say anything to me at all? I reckon its a load of old cobblers..
    S..
    P.S. It wasn't ebay it was trademe.co.nz!! Sorry but same thing anyway.. Guessing an ex squaddie moved to NZ and sold his smock?? I got it for something like 30 dollars NZ if I remember correctly..

Dont want to bring this off topic again but people should know, I have arrested people for having Irish issue kit when they shouldn't have and charged them with possession of stolen property. A representitive from the DF is only too happy to come to court as a witness. Every Garda might not know/care about it but some do. Wear/possess/use it at your own risk.

OzCam wrote: »
    Swedish and Danish uniforms are easily got (providing one can afford yet another uniform), but where do you get Norwegian or Finnish?
    [/I]

The Finnish camo is not a million miles from cadpat from what I remember, and I got a set of norweigen stuff in cork.

here's one about the Danish M84 camo as quoted you wear your own country specific camo ,
    the Danish M84 is also illegal to have outside of the Danish defence forces which means the danes arent wearing there national camo either,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

- The wearing of Irish DPM pattern gear while not on duty, or any other clothing and equipment issued by the Irish Defence Forces is illegal under the Defence Act 1954 and it's subsequent amendments.

its even in the forum charter, they may not care about a few random people hear and there they may not even know about the law or remember it at the time to be honest, but pictures of guys running around in irish dpm playing airsoft are not good and draw attention, they already have, when your under the spot light already you do not jump up and down and draw attention toy yourself and give the opposition ammunition to use against you

irish dpm does turn up on ebay for the very reason it is hard to get hold of and collectors pay good money at time for a set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Sigh...

The charter very clearly states the rules regarding Irish Camo (thanks to Puding for quoting them above)

I'll give this thread one last chance to get back on topic before i lock it.

Any further off-topic posting about Irish "DPM" will earn the poster a ban.

what caught my eye is we use RIBS and Aircraft during games the idea of the slight chance of doing a parchaute jump into a game just makes me droooool
    being inserted by a rib nahhhh them waters off sweden tend to be seriously cold,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

I seriously doubt any parachuting is going to be happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Factually will not happen...

There was supposed to be ingame helicopters in berget and we saw one fly over head, that looked like it could fit two munchkins

Plus to jump out of it they would want to see some serious credentials for insurance reasons, and doing a charity jump wont do

I just thought I'd put links up in case anyone wanted to see what the 4 camos looked like.

Denmark, Pletsløring,
    Finland, M/05
    Norway, Forsvarets
    Sweden, M/90

See also http://www.camotest.de – superb site.

What a stupid idea, limiting the game to certain types of camo, all of which are uncommon types you dont see very often.
    The TA events guys had the right idea with the tannies vs the greenies. :)

Masada wrote: »
    What a stupid idea, limiting the game to certain types of camo, all of which are uncommon types you dont see very often.
    The TA events guys had the right idea with the tannies vs the greenies. :)

The last TA-Events game was very specifically limited as well; DPM and US Woodland.

In short, whatever is required by the scenario is what is required by the scenario. As I experienced with said ta-events game, you begin to rely as much on your uniform as anything else for making identification of friend vs. foe (to make an example). This particular scenario would appear to want a stricter milsim element than most games Irish players for the most part have experienced to date. Nothing right nor wrong in it. It is what it is, and I've heard people argue that limiting milsim games to midcaps is stupid because they don't personally own any midcaps; so the argument of uniform restriction being stupid is a personal one that can be argued any which way 'till Sunday.

Brit DPM and US woodland are filthy cheap stuff that are cheap and really easy to get hold of.

The BDUs of Norway, Finland, Denmark and Sweden, arnt.

They could have made it OD vs Camo, so nobody is stuck wearing a bright uniform that doesnt match the environment.

Brit DPM and US woodland are filthy cheap stuff that are cheap and really easy to get hold of.

True.
    The BDUs of Norway, Finland, Denmark and Sweden, arnt.

Picking up Swedish camo in Sweden (for example) is ridiculously easy. So whilst outside of Scandanavia, i'm sure that above statement is quite true, this game is more aimed at the home crowds than us further afield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

tannies vs the greenies. :)

When I read this first I though you said TRANNIES :eek:

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

kdouglas wrote: »
    I seriously doubt any parachuting is going to be happening.

The op run by these guys that I attended did have a parachute drop, but the guys jumping were "props". They were wearing some cammo, but otherwise were focusing on landing safely.

The ingame objective was that one of the sides needed to clear and capture the LZ.....

It was a cool effect.

Gatling wrote: »
    what caught my eye is we use RIBS and Aircraft during games the idea of the slight chance of doing a parchaute jump into a game just makes me droooool
    being inserted by a rib nahhhh them waters off sweden tend to be seriously cold,

The part of the country this game is run in is not on the coast, the temp of the lake water would probably not be so bad.

My problem with water insertions is safety. I would not want to see someone fall over the side laden with all the crap we usually carry. I was not at the event they used the RHIB at, but I wonder if they used lifejackets and had people not weigh themselves down with heavy vets.