Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Springer.

• 14-11-2009 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

This is the second season I've had my springer she was 2 yrs old back in October sometime. I spent most of last year beating with her only thing was last season she got fed up when out rough shooting and used to sit down in a big sulk if we weren't meeting birds I put it down to one of two things

1. She was meeting too many birds when out beatng and got bored at not meeting the same amount of game.

2. She was too tired on a Sunday after spending the whole day beating on a Saturday.

Anyway I didn't do too much work with her over the summer gave her a few runs out that was it, aside from her walks.

Last Sunday we were out for the first time this season, shot a snipe and a pheasant over her she retrieved both of them to hand beautifully, my shooting partner shot the pheasant when he hit the ground and he ran like feck, he was shot again hit the ground and again picked himself up and ran like feck again into a thick briary ditch. We had 3 springers and a GWP with us it was the end of the day and we said we give them all a run to wear them out a bit. The dogs hunted up along the ditch but couldn't find the bird, we were kinda losing hope.

Then I called my springer, put her in and got her to hunt along the ditch we had just searched sure enough I could hear flapping and out she came with the bird in her mouth..... I was so delighted, I thought my heart was going to burst out of my chest.

Today I went out for a hour and half with the springer again. Hunted a few fields put up one hen, saw a couple of beet fields in the distance and headed for them. Sure enough the springer made burst for the corner of the first beat field and out shot a cock didn't even have a chance to get a shot off.

Hunted the rest of the beet and tried a stubble field for where I thought the cock would be, sure enough the dog found the bird and I shot him. Bird he ran through the ditch into a plantation I wasn't going to find him if he went in there! i sent the dog in after a while i could here the bird flapping but couldn't see the dog. So I called her here she comes out with no bird in her mouth, I nearly had a stroke!:eek: so I told her to go back and fetch up. Took this pic as she returned with the bird looks like its going to be a going to be a good season shooting over her.

14112009346.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Good post deeks lovely dog. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭vermin hunter

i know how you feel pal ive a young springer dog myself and when he puts up a bird and i shoot it and he retreives it theres not a better feeling in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Nice story Deeks, and nicely written. I too know that feeling of pride when the dog performs well, although in my case it's actually my dad's dog, not mine. However, I am just a touch concerned to read the following:
    Hunted a few fields put up one hen, saw a couple of beet fields in the distance and headed for them.

My concern is this; do you make a habit of just making off towards a couple of fields because you happen to see there's beets there. I certainly wouldn't. What I mean by that is that if the fields of beets were in my permission, I'd already know that there was beets in 'em. So, by extension, if I'm out shooting and I happen to spot "a couple of beet fields in the distance" then they are a couple of fields in which I don't have permission.

Am I reading too much into it? If so, I apologise.
    But if I'm not, then you were poaching and I cannot condone it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Nice story Deeks, and nicely written. I too know that feeling of pride when the dog performs well, although in my case it's actually my dad's dog, not mine. However, I am just a touch concerned to read the following:

My concern is this; do you make a habit of just making off towards a couple of fields because you happen to see there's beets there. I certainly wouldn't. What I mean by that is that if the fields of beets were in my permission, I'd already know that there was beets in 'em. So, by extension, if I'm out shooting and I happen to spot "a couple of beet fields in the distance" then they are a couple of fields in which I don't have permission.

No need to patronise me locum-motion. I sourced that dog myself from good working lines, bought her, trained her, brought her on, looked after her every day, had ups and downs, went back to basics on more than one occasion and now she has turned a milestone and is finally hunting exactly the way I want her... how you can come onto this thread and say that you too 'know that feeling of pride when the dog performs well' when its someone else's dog your talking about and not yours at all...:rolleyes:

As for you accusation/insinuation that I was poaching, I have permission to shoot in those fields I hadn't realised until yesterday that there was beet in them this year.:P

This is a hunting forum where board members should feel free to post their experiences or questions on hunting topics. What I posted yesterday was a hunting story that I thought was worth sharing with other like minded individuals who could identify with or possibly learn from my experience.

I find it highly unusual for a moderator even though your not a moderator on this section to attempt to derail/troll a thread.

How the hell is a hunting forum supposed to function if you can't post a hunting story without fear of recrimination from other board members, and to be have your story scrutinised and dissected by a complete stranger going off on a little ego trip of there own.

Anyway to finish I'll just have to accept your apology. Hopefully you too will one day be able enjoy the same pride in a dog that you have owned and have trained yourself, and not pretend to have experienced it with someone's else dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Sounds like your springer is turning into a beauty. I always enjoy your pictures, keep it up fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Possibly the biggest waste of a post i've seen.
    The man came on full of joy & rightfully out for a boast & to share his story & your only nit picking for the sake of it. Seems like more of a grammer lesson than anything!
    Well done on de-railing a good thread!
    Bad form... :mad:

No need to patronise me locum-motion. I sourced that dog myself from good working lines, bought her, trained her, brought her on, looked after her every day, had ups and downs, went back to basics on more than one occasion and now she has turned a milestone and is finally hunting exactly the way I want her... how you can come onto this thread and say that you too 'know that feeling of pride when the dog performs well' when its someone else's dog your talking about and not yours at all...:rolleyes:

As for you accusation/insinuation that I was poaching, I have permission to shoot in those fields I hadn't realised until yesterday that there was beet in them this year.:P

This is a hunting forum where board members should feel free to post their experiences or questions on hunting topics. What I posted yesterday was a hunting story that I thought was worth sharing with other like minded individuals who could identify with or possibly learn from my experience.

I find it highly unusual for a moderator even though your not a moderator on this section to attempt to derail/troll a thread.

How the hell is a hunting forum supposed to function if you can't post a hunting story without fear of recrimination from other board members, and to be have your story scrutinised and dissected by a complete stranger going off on a little ego trip of there own.

Anyway to finish I'll just have to accept your apology. Hopefully you too will one day be able enjoy the same pride in a dog that you have owned and have trained yourself, and not pretend to have experienced it with someone's else dog.

I didn't mean to be patronising, and I apologise for that. For the record I have helped the oul man with the dog, so that's why I like to see her do well; perhaps pride was the wrong word.
    And apologies again for drawing an incorrect conclusion from your post, but in my defence I did say that maybe I was reading too much into it.

Possibly the biggest waste of a post i've seen.
    The man came on full of joy & rightfully out for a boast & to share his story & your only nit picking for the sake of it. Seems like more of a grammer lesson than anything!
    Well done on de-railing a good thread!
    Bad form... :mad:

Wasn't my intention at all. All I can do is apologise again.

Since I was wrong, if the mods wish to delete my post and those following, I have no objection. I withdraw the implication that Deeks was poaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Wasn't my intention at all. All I can do is apologise again.

Since I was wrong, if the mods wish to delete my post and those following, I have no objection. I withdraw the implication that Deeks was poaching.

In my opinion, hats off for a genuine apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

I went out on sunday with my mate went into second field my little bitch was mad to go,we hunted up along the second field she went into the ditch beside me out comes a nice cock I let him out and shot him just before he hit the top of the treelinehe fell into the ditch and i sent bonnie in to retrieve him,she duly obliged and we had one in the bag ,then she flushed a woodcock he went into the bag as well ,hunted on then for about two hours and she flushed another cock out to my mate ,who was lighting up a fag at the time and he missed it ,she then flushed a second woodcock which my mate shot and redeemed himself.We hunted then till nearly dark when my mate spotted a cock at the bottom of the field we walked down the dog went into th ditch out comes a hen followed closely by a cock i had too much time and missed him with the first but just as he cleared the hedge i fired the second barrell he hit the ground a strong runner i sent bonnie to retrieve and we watched her put the head down and took off down the field ,i jumped the ditch and scrambled up a bank she ran three hundred yards and jumped into a small plantation and came out with the cock pure class man nothing can beat the feeling of watching your dog pull off a top class retrieve.,