Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

things i dont like about tna

• 13-11-2009 10:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

it looks way too fake-did anyone see the lashley steiner hotel room thing on the tna just gone? absolutely cringeworthy. i mean steiner hit lashley with a lamp, i mean he didnt even smash it over him just chucked it at him.
    just not very polished unlike wwe.

the crowd-they don't mark out at all and their chants are gay.

the arena-looks bad, especially backstage. need to get out of impact zone.

in tna they love their friendships in angles, seriously does anybody care about the daniels and styles 'friendship'? they used to hate each others guts and will again, friendship only works with veterans or with certain charachters(eddie and benoit)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Crazy matches on house shows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Sirsok

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Crazy matches on house shows!
    You dont like this?cen fath?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

[quote=irishultra;62999282]it looks way too fake-did anyone see the lashley steiner hotel room thing on the tna just gone? absolutely cringeworthy. i mean steiner hit lashley with a lamp, i mean he didnt even smash it over him just chucked it at him.

in tna they love their friendships in angles, seriously does anybody care about the daniels and styles 'friendship'? they used to hate each others guts and will again, friendship only works with veterans or with certain charachters(eddie and benoit)[/quote]

ok what about WWE

so when triple H turned up at Ortons house that looked real?

the fact that everyone loves people like

the Undertaker who cant wrestle/walk and for some reason unknown to man he obviously is good on his knees to get "the Wrestlemania streak". i mean whats the point having anyone credible facing the Undertaker at Wrestlemania when we know the outcome. he was great back in the day but the dead man persona sucks in the non-gimmick age.

CM Punk............. come on his little straight edge crap is just a twist on Kurt Angles "i like milk" image. he is always missing his marks and came close to ending a couple of wrsetlers careers by being too late with some of his marks. this guy is ridiculous and should be kicked from tv until he learns to wrestle.

Batista this guy has grown to become able with cutting a promo but still takes too long and has a very rehearsed feel to all of his promos. the promos against rey for example. and come on 2 or 3 weeks before this story started they where always shown together and talked about as friend(really over the top). it was obvious where this was going

Miz and Morrison. to be honest i like the miz but did you see their promo on smackdown a couple weeks back. i mean did ANYONE actually think that was real??????????

WWE is gone way too childish. they get angry instead of pissed off now. PG has killed and will finish of Vince. i wouldnt be suprised if Shane wasnt thinking about going to TNA or looking at ROH.

WWE does have alot of top young talent coming through doh. i really like Seamus, Drew Macintyre and Dolph Ziggler. think they are pretty good personas and have potential. they can act aswell which helps for ACTORS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Paulegend wrote: »
    ok what about WWE

What about them? You denied 80,000+ crowds in England 20,000+ crowds in Dublin?

I find it funny you start your post with "facts" yet when you are called into question you say feck all,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

ok what about WWE

this is the bitching about tna thread, wanna bitch about wwe open a new thread and i will be more than happy to contribute :D

Wrestling_fake_kick.gif

proof-wrestling-is-not-fake.gif

davrho wrote: »
    What about them? You denied 80,000+ crowds in England 20,000+ crowds in Dublin?

I find it funny you start your post with "facts" yet when you are called into question you say feck all,

actually i denied a house show in england with a crowd of 80,000+

i still deny a crowd of 20,000+ in dublin.

i asked you what year the show in dublin was but you never answered. i dont know myself. what i do know is that pre 2007 the biggest crowd that could have been at the RDS is 13,500. it has been increased to 18,500 to accomadate the rugby BUT the WWE Smackdown house show was only CLOSE to a sell out. when there are gigs or even wrestling shows the capacity never EVER goes above the actual capacity. the space gained on a pitch is lost with in the stands with equipment and what not.

So kid...... check your facts.

do you not agree with my assesment of WWEs cast???

actually i denied a house show in england with a crowd of 80,000+

i asked you what year the show in dublin was but you never answered. i dont know myself. what i do know is that pre 2007 the biggest crowd that could have been at the RDS is 13,500. it has been increased to 18,500 to accomadate the rugby BUT the WWE Smackdown house show was only CLOSE to a sell out. when there are gigs or even wrestling shows the capacity never EVER goes above the actual capacity. the space gained on a pitch is lost with in the stands with equipment and what not.

do you not agree with my assesment of WWEs cast???

lol . just keep keep in denial. This kid is 40 soon...........

rossie1977 wrote: »
    this is the bitching about tna thread, wanna bitch about wwe open a new thread and i will be more than happy to contribute :D

Wrestling_fake_kick.gif

good point:D but had to make the point that its not just TNA but WWE has been this bad also and still is.

ECW was the best. ROH is pretty good and they try to hit eachother hard enough to make it seem real

love the vids:D

huess i just wanted to really say that i just hate CM Punk:D

Wrestling_fake_kick.gif

The guy that started the thread brought tna in comparison with wwe so he was only throwing in his own 2cents.....

i asked you what year the show in dublin was but you never answered

june 18th 2005. now check your facts kid.......

I suppose summerslam 1992 never happened either?

lol . just keep keep in denial. This kid is 40 soon...........

you still havent answered my question. what year was this dublin event held:D

its a FACT that im right about the capacity

it is also a FACT the yes I WAS WRONG about the WWE show in wembly in 1992 bacause honestly i didnt start watching wrestling til about 95 and didnt know that that PPV was held in london. it was the second highest attendence at a PPV for a wrestling event. i was wrong because i assumed if it was in england it was just a house show and i dont believe a house show will ever sell 80,000+

but even doh im prob right about dublin have about 10,000 at most i still think its an impresive attendence but still dont think that would convince vince to have a tv show here. (not enough demand)

now can we please put this stupid pissing contest behind us as all you seem to want to do is mock my credibility rather than prove me wrong

you still havent answered my question. what year was this dublin event held:D

its a FACT that im right about the capacity

it is also a FACT the yes I WAS WRONG about the WWE show in wembly in 1992 bacause honestly i didnt start watching wrestling til about 95 and didnt know that that PPV was held in london. it was the second highest attendence at a PPV for a wrestling event. i was wrong because i assumed if it was in england it was just a house show and i dont believe a house show will ever sell 80,000+

but even doh im prob right about dublin have about 10,000 at most i still think its an impresive attendence but still dont think that would convince vince to have a tv show here. (not enough demand)

now can we please put this stupid pissing contest behind us as all you seem to want to do is mock my credibility rather than prove me wrong

18th june 2005? Prove me wrong.

18th june 2005?

as i said the rds was expanded to 18,500 in 2007. prior to that the capacity was 13,000. it was said that it was almost sold out. so that a big drop from 20,000+

How may fans on the pitch on the 13,000 capacity? Talk here of 6,000. I said 16,000and was rounded on by my mates

No offenense but you claimed 7000 so why now would you argue 13,000?

Why dont you just admitt you fecked up again?

Or, better idea, why dont everyone talk about the thing the thread was originally created for?

How may fans on the pitch on the 13,000 capacity? Talk here of 6,000. I said 16,000and was rounded on by my mates

No offenense but you claimed 7000 so why now would you argue 13,000?

im arguing that there is no way in hell that ireland has 20,000 people to go to a wrestling gig

getting bored of repeating myself.

13,000 was capacity (often lowered everywhere not just the RDS to sell out)

ALMOST SOLD OUT

SPACE GAINED ON THE PITCH IS LOST IN THE STANDS

i would guess 10,000 the very very very very very most

there was not 6,000 on the pitch and 13,000 in the stands. i mean do you know anything. come on if you really are almost 40 youd have half a brain and have been to gigs before(yes its treated like a gig in most arenas). sounds to me like you are young.

ok lets get the thread back on track:D so what does everyone else think of TNA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

im arguing that there is no way in hell that ireland has 20,000 people to go to a wrestling gig

i don't know if i agree, wwe had the raw house show last week that sold out and sd tomorrow night is also a sell out, thats basically 20k, the fact that wwe can sell out a 10k seater venue not once but twice in a week for a house show charging upwards of 80euro+ (twice the price of a live ringside seat for raw in the states) in this economy is stunning

regarding the rds show, like i said on the other thread, that show was actually overbooked, me and my 9 friends had no seats that night even, there was 10 people sitting in our seats with the same number tickets from TM, and try as security did they couldn't find us seats that night so we ended up at the barrier crouching down :mad:

i don't know if i agree, wwe had the raw house show last week that sold out and sd tomorrow night is also a sell out, thats basically 20k

regarding the rds show, like i said on the other thread, that show was actually overbooked, me and my 9 friends had no seats that night even, there was 10 people sitting in our seats with the same number tickets from TM, and try as security did they couldn't find us seats that night so we ended up at the barrier crouching down :mad:

that doesnt mean the capacity was surpassed. in alot of gigs(events) the capacity is lowered to sell out and gain media attentiom. this is how there are always more tickets released.

example westlife had a gig couple years back in wembley but not the stadium the other place across the road with 10,000 or something(but not my point). they only released half the tickets so it would sell out. it didnt.........................

wwe almost always release more tickets when a house show sells out. it doesnt mean they expanded or changed venue. they just dont release the tickets(also to clamp down onn touters).

as for raw selling out in dubling yes i believe it did. all 9,500 tickets where sold. but smackdown isnt sold out yet. in fact you can still go through ticketmaster now if you wanna check(just tried to buy 9 tickets and it was leaving me. not going doh). you might not be able to in the morning doh because they cant take bookings the day of the show(which i assume is tommorow................

i am sorry however ye had to stand after paying for those seats. that genuinely sucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Jesus Christ lads,
    ARGUE ABOUT TNA OR MAKE A NEW THREAD ABOUT WWE!
    DON'T HIJACK THIS THREAD!

BTW, CHANGING THE TOPIC DOES NOT SUPPORT/COUNTER AN ARGUMENT!

Oh, here's a piece I wrote on TNA about 6 weeks ago when this shill on TWF started bashing anyone who had anything not completely complimentary to say about TNA. I could update it with "Foley/Abyss fighting over a picture etc etc" but you get the idea. This is why I hate TNA...more accurately, this is why I'm so disappointed in TNA :

Here's a list of things off the top of my head that are wrong with TNA. Please address each of these problems without comparing it to WWE as a means of condoning poor booking/company-wide decisions :

- Samoa Joe's Character. It's terrible and inferior to his ROH/initial TNA character
    - The amount of in-ring wrestling on iMPACT
    - The amount of backstage segments and puff-pieces (video packages, repeats of kayfabe-breaking interviews)
    - Samoa Joe getting the belt at least a year too late, when his hot streak had died out
    - Pairing Samoa Joe with mentors (Starting with Nash) while champion.
    - AJ Styles being hot from his stuff with Christian, through to Angle and his medals, and having the trigger-pulled on his first "TNA World Title" a year too late
    - Having Kong work injured and keep the KO belt instead of giving to ODB when she was hot (she was the most over face when Kim left) ....no, how about pulling the trigger when she's far less hot

- TNA trying to solve their KO talent woes (in a popular-face sense) by adding title belts

- Letting amazing talents like Sonjay Dutt and Petey Williams go
    - For not using NJPW/DG etc talent exchange well, or at all (Speed Muscle/Muscle Outlaw'z are an amazing tag team)
    - For letting Gail Kim go and refusing to give her the $200,000 she asked for, but gave Jenna Morasca, that common, ugly whore, $300,000 for her appearances in TNA.
    - For not sorting out Angelina Love's work visa and letting a valuable talent out of her contract
    - Booking Sting in the God-Damn main event so many times despite his inability to work or even pull off a passable match (this year has been atrocious)
    - Having the X-Division belt and it's 'roster' so devalued.
    - Having Kevin Nash wrestle full-time despite his obvious physical impairments
    - Having Mick Foley wrestle. And pitting him against Kevin Nash
    - On PPV, having the faces win in the undercard, and the heels win in the main event (in general) all the time
    - Booking stupid ****ing gimmick matches like The Fish Market Brawl, Last Rites, "Scramble-into-the-ring, 2nd place gets their head shaved", Electrified Steel Cage match (all of which never happened in TNA before Russo arrived)
    - Booking crazy stipulation gimmick matches on free TV with no buildup or reason to do so
    - Hiring Ex-Name WWE guys ahead of talented indy or ROH guys, and even overlooked WWE guys (although Hiring Burke is great, there's plenty of useless WWE talent there too)

- Not giving a **** about Angle's health and having him wrestle full-time instead of sorting out his personal and physical life.
    - Feast or Fired's 4 Briefcases -- a pathetic rip-off of WWE -- and having them "stolen" counts as actually having them.

- The biggest ****ing travesty is how TNA have treated the MotorCity Machine Guns, who are over despite nearly 2 years of being buried/de-pushed. Despite being good enough to be given NJPW's Junior IWGP tag titles, TNA have never put the TNA tag belts on them, and don't look to be anytime soon.

- Not explaining Jarrett's absence in Kayfabe terms. He was an integral part of the show, you can't just drop him without an explanation.
    - "Promoting" Don West to an off-screen position despite him doing his best work in TNA in the last few months.

- Booking practises like how Tazz entered the company, and having his entrance over-shadowed by a video-package of Bobby Lashley's radio interview confirming he's signed with TNA -- and that MMA is his main concern. WTF was that!?

- Changing EY from comedy face to serious face to serious heel/leader of a heel faction -- despite TNA ALREADY having a ****ing heel faction -- in a matter of weeks

Anyway, my main gripe about TNA is 1) storylines don't make sense, or twist needlessly or 2) They can't make me care about a match and 3) They have severely reduced their in-ring work and replaced it with backstage vignettes. It is a damn crime that they have the best single-show roster in American Wrestling today but despite that, they put on a mediocre show that only attracts 8,000 PPV buys/month this year.

I will say that iMPACT has gotten better this year, but the PPVs have gotten much worse. They have a long way to go to becoming a good show and IMO, Vince Russo and Ed Ferrara are not the men to do it.

===============================================

LOL! I hope you enjoyed that rant. Honestly, I can't watch iMPACT any more, because it makes me sad/annoyed of how the show doesn't make sense, or is poor logic, or just runs through GOOD storylines... But if you enjoy it, good for you man! I wish I could turn my brain off and enjoy Russo's car-crash "entertaining nonsense" ...but I can't. It's my loss :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

jaykhunter wrote: »
    LOL! I hope you enjoyed that rant. Honestly, I can't watch iMPACT any more, because it makes me sad/annoyed of how the show doesn't make sense, or is poor logic, or just runs through GOOD storylines... But if you enjoy it, good for you man! I wish I could turn my brain off and enjoy Russo's car-crash "entertaining nonsense" ...but I can't. It's my loss

I had to stop reading your rant about half way through- not because I disagree, but because It made me remember far too many things that drive me nuts about TNA. I think the biggest point is how you said "it makes me sad/annoyed" which is completely right. TNA fans get really defensive about "their" show, but the fact is, the majority of us would love to see them grow, and become a genuine alternative to WWE, however they are clearly their own worst enemies. It's frustrating stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

irishultra wrote: »
    it looks way too fake-did anyone see the lashley steiner hotel room thing on the tna just gone? absolutely cringeworthy. i mean steiner hit lashley with a lamp, i mean he didnt even smash it over him just chucked it at him.
    Like when Stone Cold beat up Booker T in a supermarket with milk and eggs? (which, in fairness, totally reeked of awesomeness)
    I dont fully understand wrestling parlance, but if your problem is that they don't cheer enough, watch them go crazy for AJ Styles.
    How is a backstage area supposed to look? Sounds extremely nitpicky to me. I could understand if you gave out about the six sided ring, but not about a corridor.
    in tna they love their friendships in angles, seriously does anybody care about the daniels and styles 'friendship'? they used to hate each others guts and will again, friendship only works with veterans or with certain charachters(eddie and benoit)
    I actually agree with this point, but its something that bothers me about the WWE as well. I mean, I couldn't care less about Rey vs Batista. Even Matt vs Jeff didn't grab me, even though I enjoy watching the both of those guys wrestle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I had to stop reading your rant about half way through- not because I disagree, but because It made me remember far too many things that drive me nuts about TNA. I think the biggest point is how you said "it makes me sad/annoyed" which is completely right. TNA fans get really defensive about "their" show, but the fact is, the majority of us would love to see them grow, and become a genuine alternative to WWE, however they are clearly their own worst enemies. It's frustrating stuff.

Completely agree, that's exactly right! Thanks, I needed to hear that. It means I'm not going mad! :confused::):)

Gotta mention some good things about TNA....

Although it's not being done the best, TNA's pushes of AJ/Morgan/Hernandez/EY is a welcome sight. I realise Hogan will come in and job out AJ/Morgan/Joe etc but at least Russo'll get the boot - and the show will slow down to a normal/WWE-ish pace. And, Hogan can't last forever - I'd say even just having sporadic matches, he'd be gone from being an active wrestler in 2 years tops. So the youth talent have to suck it up for a little longer....In that time, TNA will become much more well known, maybe move to monday nights... which is a step in the right direction.

I actually like the 6-sided ring, although I think the canvas should be bigger, the ring looks/is really small. I think it makes TNA look different, because different = good! I think they need to lose the cables though, cables look awful on TV. Taped ropes look so much better IMO.

Do you think to progress, TNA should change it's name? I know it's 7 years into the brand, and it's easy to change, but it isn't very "official/serious-sounding" for a wrestling company. I don't think it's "right" to have a wrestling federation's name without a "W" in it...It's just a bit gimmicky sounding.

On a non-serious note, it would be AWESOME if TNA were to buy the rights to the acronym from World Wildlife Fund, and be called WWF. Wouldn't that be the bomb!! Or maybe UUWF; pronounced "double-u, W, F)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Sirsok wrote: »
    You dont like this?cen fath?

Why?

I don't want to see a guy getting hurt and the use of crazy matches increase your chance of getting hurt. Its entertaining to watch those matches but unless its on a PPV or the odd time on tv I don't see the need to take the risk.

Another thing I hate is that Lauren one, she spends the whole time looking scared or shocked/appaled by the interviews she does. Her over reactions take away form the people she is meant to be interviewing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The thing I dislike most about TNA is that SO much of what they do doesn't make any sense at even the most basic level. I know its just wrestling and I'm not looking for Sopranos-level storylines, but some of it is just horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

What I don't like about TNA is the length of TV matches, the fact that nearly all TV matches are just a backdrop to an angle and the amount of segments on iMPACT!. I was going to argue some points made earlier in the thread but I just couldn't be bothered. At least Turning Point looks great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Having stayed in that hotel the lamp Steiner used is part of the room decor so it wasn't gimmicked or anything also it was metal and would not have smashed,secondly the rugged look is better for those types of segments because if it is polished it looks fake and set up, like when WWE have multiple angles of "spontaneous" moments

As for crowds, given how old the wrestling business is it is extremely hard to get crowds to pop for much these days in any company without something over the top or dangerous,that's how things go when people have seen things over and over and it doesn't help that some of TNAs crowd are tourists but they are getting a steady full time crowd

As for their arena it's a soundstage it's nothing special but I wouldn't consider that a factor

On the point of friends in wrestling having a love hate relationship,that is really what the entire wrestling industry is based on it gives you an emotional level to get involved in during the match and I think the Styles/Daniels angle with Joe driving the wedge has been done quite well, AJ has been wrestling 11 years and Daniels for 16 so both are well upto veteran status

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

I really don't like the ring. It doesn't look like there's much spring off of the ropes and it indeed looks tiny. It also reminds me a bit of the WCW ring in that it's smaller than WWF and the ropes look much tighter - of course WCW's wasn't 6-sided. That TNA is resembling the sinking ship that was WCW isn't a likeable trait their product offers.

im just hoping that with the changes been implimented that they will make it alot better.

i dont understand how awsome kong moves so fast:confused: she not very small

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Paulegend, you are trying your best to annoy people in this thread it seems. Stay on topic, or there will be bans handed out.

does anyone else find it kinda coincidental that TNA is going down the WCW route with signing ex WWE stars and now trying to move to monday nights. i know its a move forward to taking over from WWE but i do think they are on the right track trying to do their own "attitude era". i know its affecting the wrestling but it is bringing in bigger audiences. i think they need to make the story lines a bit more acceptable as in not as ridiculous and they need to improve the wrestling as i think most of us agree that alot of the matchs are a bit fake looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

There are a number of thing's I don't like in TNA. The overall quality of the product seems a little poor, they give away PPV quality matches on iMPACT! and the matches go on for waaayyyy too long

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Just cleaned up pg2 of this thread (lets please keep it on topic and not get personal in a negative way with posters).

What i dont like about TNA is that whenever i am tempted to watch their shows, usually because I read about an upcoming PPV which sounds really good and well booked, the show itself (Impact not the PPV) is such a mess that i dont even get through 1 episode and never end up actually watching the PPV. There always seems to be far too much happening and what is happening doesent always make sense is the most obvious thing that stands out for why i find the shows to be such a mess. Maybe it being like that gets them to a position where they have a really good PPV booked but by the time it rolls around im not watching anymore.

like said above it dissapoints/saddens me because even though id consider myself a bit of a WWE fan, its not cos i love the WWE and only want it to succeed its because I really like pro wrestling even for all its faults and although at times the WWE is booked horribly its something i can sit through and simply enough dispite the fact that id like to be able to say the same about TNA (b'cos if i could itd mean that they must be doing something right) that has never really been the case for me personally. Maybe i just always catch bad episodes of Impact but thats been my experience of the promotion and one which unfortunatley ive heard echoed by many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Just cleaned up pg2 of this thread (lets please keep it on topic and not get personal in a negative way with posters).

What i dont like about TNA is that whenever i am tempted to watch their shows, usually because I read about an upcoming PPV which sounds really good and well booked, the show itself (Impact not the PPV) is such a mess that i dont even get through 1 episode and never end up actually watching the PPV. There always seems to be far too much happening and what is happening doesent always make sense is the most obvious thing that stands out for why i find the shows to be such a mess. Maybe it being like that gets them to a position where they have a really good PPV booked but by the time it rolls around im not watching anymore.

like said above it dissapoints/saddens me because even though id consider myself a bit of a WWE fan, its not cos i love the WWE and only want it to succeed its because I really like pro wrestling even for all its faults and although at times the WWE is booked horribly its something i can sit through and simply enough dispite the fact that id like to be able to say the same about TNA (b'cos if i could itd mean that they must be doing something right) that has never really been the case for me personally. Maybe i just always catch bad episodes of Impact but thats been my experience of the promotion and one which unfortunatley ive heard echoed by many others.

Thanks for cleaning up the thread BH :)

Agree with the fact the iMPACT! going into a PPV is all over the place. There's too much happening and the way it's presented is awful. They can still put on a good PPV though.

I'm on the same boat as you in the fact that I can tolerate a terribly booked WWE show but if it's TNA, I turn it off.

i think its kinda annoying aswell that alot of the fueds in TNA are friends fighting with friends. i do like the idea of TNA because its big competition for WWE and that can only be good for business. the biggest thing TNA has going for it is its not pg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭irishultra

ye like did anyone see the x division guys last week i think, so lame they were all high fiving each oither. thats ok for roh and in japan but in a big american complany no no no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭digital pimp

There are a number of thing's I don't like in TNA. The overall quality of the product seems a little poor, they give away PPV quality matches on iMPACT! and the matches go on for waaayyyy too long

the longer the better i say, i wish more guys could go an hour, like the old days.

i feel they should have less matches per PPV
    sometimes theyre too many matches, and often some will be only 5-10 mintues long. why not just less matches, that go that bit longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

It has some great matches (not nearly enough relative to the toe curling interview segments) but Impact by and large seems like an absolute shambles. The people put in front of the camera can't act for buttons, the 'beautiful people' look like trailer trash, the promos go on sooooooo long - and did you notice they're talking so much about what they've done in the past, not what they're going to do in the future?

Combine that with storylines that frequently don't make sense or are abandoned mid-way through, and you have a hugely talented roster of wrestlers being killed by chaotic booking.

unless your following storylines in it theres no real point to keep watching til january. seems like they want "the new era" to begin then. kinda sounds like theyt are hitting the reset button like eric bicshoff did at wcw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Woah, deja vu!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

they push old geriatrics way too much and not the younger better talent

you cant just push someone because they're younger
    they have to get over.

and this always been the case, pre Monday night war,
    wrestlers would work for years and pay their dues, no one should become a star over night,
    the trick is to use veterans and rookies together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

I've only recently started watching iMPACT regularly in the past few months (having tried and failed to get into it when first Christian joined and then Angle) and I have to say I'm not seeing too much wrong with it. I haven't noticed any angles being dropped, I haven't noticed the young talent being buried, and I haven't noticed the promos being terrible (Booker and D'von excepted).

The interviewing could be better. Whatsherface and JB seem to be trying to get their own character over more than facilitating the wrestlers. Although, whatsherface's interviews with Big Sexy where she started off disgusted with him only to be easily bought with a class of wine, and then tossed aside for a midget or a portly lady, were brilliant.

Things that I don't like about TNA:
    The 6 sided ring. I'll never get used to it. For some reason it looks like people have less momentum when they run the ropes.

The line between face and heel seems blurred. In the segment with Team 3D, Rhino, Hernandez, Morgan and Pope, everyone sounded like a heel. Simple lines like "everything we've got in TNA, we've took" could easily be 'faced up' by replacing "took" with "earned". Its like they've just thrown away the book on doing promos.

Using things like company policies as part of angles. I don't care about the corporate side of thing, I don't care about employee unrest, I don't care about TNA as a company. I care about their show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭irishultra

the ring is the elephant in the room, perhaps we should have a poll on whether tna should scrap or keep the ring? tbh i wouldnt care.

i think the ring makes tna more distinct though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

you cant just push someone because they're younger
    they have to get over.

and this always been the case, pre Monday night war,
    wrestlers would work for years and pay their dues, no one should become a star over night,
    the trick is to use veterans and rookies together

Look at the MEM (thank god thats gone now hopefully) how many of those guys were willing to put anyone over except maybe Angle or Sting or even work a decent match

I like TNA and am a fan some of their matches and PPV outshine WWE but at one stage MEM held all the titles which was pointless tbh imo

the ring is the elephant in the room, perhaps we should have a poll on whether tna should scrap or keep the ring? tbh i wouldnt care.

i think the ring makes tna more distinct though.

I love the ring, to me it just makes more sense than the square rings,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

JP Liz wrote: »
    Look at the MEM (thank god thats gone now hopefully) how many of those guys were willing to put anyone over except maybe Angle or Sting or even work a decent match

I like TNA and am a fan some of their matches and PPV outshine WWE but at one stage MEM held all the titles which was pointless tbh imo

Pointless how. it started as a good angle, but was over done a bit. That angle did not lead to its logical conclusion, and that was getting over some new talent. Some will argue AJ did, but he was always over anyway. A few more from "the Frontline" should now be in higher positions.

On your first point, as has been pointed out already, that is how wrestling goes, and it is a repetitive cycle. The guys holding the spots now are the same guys who were held back 15years ago, and they guys now will be the same guys holding the new talent back in 15 years time. TNA is no different from any othwer promotion in that regard.