Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CELTIC POKER TOUR :Portlaoise Sun 15th @ 4 pm

• 12-11-2009 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭

Who is Running : |CELTIC POKER TOUR :
    The porpose : Commercial
    Dates and Venues: FRIDAYS AND SUNDAYS see Web Site for Details www.celticpokertour.com
    Registration and Start times : Fridays reg 7 start 8 Sundays reg 3 start 4 unless stated 4 for 5
    Any prerequisites: No
    How can tickets be purchases : Tickets on the night , no limit to numbers
    Type of tournament : NLT Hold`em
    Cost of Entry : €100 with €50 rebuy or top-up
    Cost of Reg L: €20
    % of Entry fee / rebuys / top-ups going into prize pool : 100%
    Any money held for future tournaments : Yes grand final ticket €1000 min guaranteed €100,000 also players league €150 from a 5k game €200 from a 7k game
    Any guaranteed prize pool :€7000 unless stated as a €5000 game
    Number of rebuys / top-ups : 1 only rebuy or top-up €50 during the first 5 levels
    Starting Chips : 10,000
    Rebuy and top-up : 15000
    Blind Levels : See below
    Blind timeframe : 25 minutes
    Places being payed : 10% of field
    Prizes other than Cash : yes Spot prizes Last lady , high hand etc , est € 300 or less depending on field
    Are there going to be dealers: Yes High skill level
    Will there be documented list of rules : Yes 2009 T D A : Also Clarifications on the Rulings forum here .
    Is there a T D : Yes
    How are disputes handled : T D has final say
    Are there going to be cash games offered : Yes Raked 4% capped @ 15 , no rake on split pots

Blinds Click attached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭dream.

Just to let Omaha players know , there `l be either a round of each or an omaha table available at all our games .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

Best of luck with this Liam, i hope to play a Friday game in a few weeks. Just one thing (it might just be me so please feel free to ignore:o) but why is there a prize for last lady, is this just not ridiculous now. I'm more in favour of keeping any spot prizes to a minimum or not at all anyway.

There is no game tomorrow night is there?

Hey Ghostface ste: cheers no game tomoro but most fri s after that .
    As for spots etc , i understand people will wonder about that , but they are part of the "fun" side of a night playing poker with us , its a serious nights poker but people are out to enjoy themselves too. So we wont spend huge money on them but i recon they stay .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Not a bad structure, a big improvement over the old one but I do have one complaint, those ante's are completely pointless. They are far too small in relation to the blinds to achieve anything apart from reducing the number of hands that are played per level.

An ante is usually somewhere between 8-12% of the big blind, in some cases in yours are as low as 2% when the blinds are 12k-25k the ante is 500, that means at at a full table of 10 the pot goes from being 37k to 42k an increase of only 13.5% compare that to the standard level of 12k-24k-2k the pot without ante's is 36k and with ante's is 56k a 55% increase.

I honestly suggest either making the ante's more standard values or dropping them altogether.

Although I wont be in portlaoise if your back around the wicklow/wexford area I will go along.

Best of luck with the new venture
    Regards
    Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭super182

all looks good liam best a luck to you with it wont make this weeks game but ill be there for the next one :D

also i agree with the man above about the ante's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

super182 wrote: »
    all looks good liam best a luck to you with it wont make this weeks game but ill be there for the next one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

good luck with this liam i always enjoyed the celtic nights

one question, what is your position on the cash games side action with the change of ownership , will i be able to play if i dont play the main tournament

ill def play tournament if possible but i may be to late due to other commitments and id like to go along anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

hi guys best of luck with your new venture first of all .
    i take ye be running touries all over ireland like before just a few question

1/ the 1000 euro grand final ticket i take that going with bigslick clonmel tourie posted here few months ago or is this different .

2 / the league is that just starting from now or still part of the old one

3/ do ye not feel this last women standing prize and high hand is part of the old days and not with the real world poker

all these prizes are taking over 20% from your prize pool do ye not think this is a lot .

starchild wrote: »
    good luck with this liam i always enjoyed the celtic nights

one question, what is your position on the cash games side action with the change of ownership , will i be able to play if i dont play the main tournament

ill def play tournament if possible but i may be to late due to other commitments and id like to go along anyway
    Cheers starchild , i guess we will be happy to see all players who come along and play ,got to be flexable these days. We can blind out players until the break tho ,

corkie123 wrote: »
    hi guys best of luck with your new venture first of all .
    i take ye be running touries all over ireland like before just a few question

1/ the 1000 euro grand final ticket i take that going with bigslick clonmel tourie posted here few months ago or is this different .

2 / the league is that just starting from now or still part of the old one

3/ do ye not feel this last women standing prize and high hand is part of the old days and not with the real world poker

all these prizes are taking over 20% from your prize pool do ye not think this is a lot .
    Cheers Corkie yes were all over the country .
    The Grand Final tickets : this has changed a new Clonmel post is on the way and an announcement is on the way regarding Grand final .

THE PLAYERS LEAGUE is carrying on in terms of points and standings .We will be announcing details here shortly also re prize pool and dates etc.

Spot Prizes : I know what your saying and to be honest its me, I feel they are part of the special athmosphere we have at our games , however if fields are smaller we may need to look again at them and we will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Looks decent ! Would consider playing when more local. This last lady and high hand make me cry tho ! If ye want to put them in why not add to prize pool ! Why punish a good player by taking away a % of his prize.

Not a bad structure, a big improvement over the old one but I do have one complaint, those ante's are completely pointless. They are far too small in relation to the blinds to achieve anything apart from reducing the number of hands that are played per level.

An ante is usually somewhere between 8-12% of the big blind, in some cases in yours are as low as 2% when the blinds are 12k-25k the ante is 500, that means at at a full table of 10 the pot goes from being 37k to 42k an increase of only 13.5% compare that to the standard level of 12k-24k-2k the pot without ante's is 36k and with ante's is 56k a 55% increase.

I honestly suggest either making the ante's more standard values or dropping them altogether.

Although I wont be in portlaoise if your back around the wicklow/wexford area I will go along.

Best of luck with the new venture
    Regards
    Ian
    Hey Ian thanks alot we in Bunclody on the 4 dec might see ya there .RE ante s you are correct we will review them tomorrow and correct them .Cheers

tipp86 wrote: »
    Looks decent ! Would consider playing when more local. This last lady and high hand make me cry tho ! If ye want to put them in why not add to prize pool ! Why punish a good player by taking away a % of his prize.

Hey tipp cheers : I here ya but we like the added athmosphere they give however we wont either over do or over value them.Also we l show them in the prize list , best we can do for now anyway

super182 wrote: »

Hey Dave cheers thanks ,yep lookin at the antes and we ll sort them

CORRECTED BLINDS AND ANTE S FOR TOMORROW

1. 50 -100 N/A
    2. 100-200 N/A
    3. 150-300 N/A
    4. 200-400 N/A
    5. 300-600 N/A BREAK 30 MINS
    6. 400-800 N/A
    7. 500-1000 50
    8. 800-1500 50
    9. 1000-2000 100
    10. 1500-3000 100
    11. 2000-4000 200 BREAK 10 MINS
    12. 2500-5000 200
    13. 3000-6000 300
    14. 4000-8000 400
    15. 5000-10000 500
    16. 8000-15000 500
    17. 10000-20000 1000 BREAK 10 MINS
    18. 12000-25000 1200
    19. 15000-30000 1500
    20. 20000-40000 2000
    ETC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

I was a big hater of CPT, no dealers and prize money being the two big problems. But they definitely got the numbers that others didnt. If this means giving out spot prizes, letting someone go home with a story and a bit of feel-good factor then they are right to do it. OFC to anyone that plays tournies regular in the fitz or similar they look like depleting the final table payouts, but surely this is more than compensated by the amount of dead money that such novelties attract? GL to the new guys anyway, will give one a spin i am sure.

dream. wrote: »
    CORRECTED BLINDS AND ANTE S FOR TOMORROW

1. 50 -100 N/A
    2. 100-200 N/A
    3. 150-300 N/A
    4. 200-400 N/A
    5. 300-600 N/A BREAK 30 MINS
    6. 400-800 N/A
    7. 500-1000 50
    8. 800-1500 50
    9. 1000-2000 100
    10. 1500-3000 100
    11. 2000-4000 200 BREAK 10 MINS
    12. 2500-5000 200
    13. 3000-6000 300
    14. 4000-8000 400
    15. 5000-10000 500
    16. 8000-15000 500
    17. 10000-20000 1000 BREAK 10 MINS
    18. 12000-25000 1200
    19. 15000-30000 1500
    20. 20000-40000 2000
    ETC

Definitely an improvement however still a little low, and some of the ante's are quite silly. Level 18 has a 1200 ante which requires 100's, the 100's haven't been used for blinds since Level 8 and for ante's since level 14. Also the ante of 50 is very low at the 500-1000 level. Here would be my suggestion (starting at 500-1000 as that seems where you want to start)

50-100-0
    100-200-0
    150-300-0
    200-400-0
    300-600-0 Break Take Out 50's
    400-800-0
    500-1000-100
    800-1500-200
    1000-2000-200
    1500-3000-300
    2000-4000-400 Break Take Out 100's
    2500-5000-500
    3000-6000-500
    4000-8000-1000
    5000-10000-1000 Break Take Out 500's
    8000-15000-2000
    10000-20000-2000
    15000-30000-3000
    20000-40000-4000 Break Take Out 1000's
    25000-50000-5000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 pauloc333

Best of luck Liam & co.. think i agree with d above post on ante's. wont b around dis wknd but hopefully get attendin one of d new games soon.. hope all goes well d wknd

thanks Donkey ; will make 18 1500 to solve 100 s issue thank again and we ll see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Hi Liam,
    Good luck with the new venture, I hope to make it tomorrow.
    Just regarding the antes (again) : I've played quite a few CPT events and they never had antes but they still became a bit crapshooty towards the end as most tournaments do.

You are missing a few levels 25/50, 75/150, 600/1200, 1200/2400, 6000/12000, 12000/24000, bearing that in mind unless these few extra levels were added I don't see the need for the antes.

Skipped levels plus antes: I feel this combination lessens the skill factor instead of increasing it.

gorrrr72 wrote: »
    Hi Liam,
    Good luck with the new venture, I hope to make it tomorrow.
    Just regarding the antes (again) : I've played quite a few CPT events and they never had antes but they still became a bit crapshooty towards the end as most tournaments do.

You are missing a few levels 25/50, 75/150, 600/1200, 1200/2400, 6000/12000, 12000/24000, bearing that in mind unless these few extra levels were added I don't see the need for the antes.

Skipped levels plus antes: I feel this combination lessens the skill factor instead of increasing it.

Those level cannot be played unless they buy new chips, the CPT only has 50's, 100's, 500's, 1000's and 5000's (maybe larger not sure).

Also bear in mind your stack is 25k (assuming you take the rebuy/add on), 25-50 with a 25k stack is a bit excessive imho.

Oh and hopefully, Liam you'll give out a few more chips, last time i played it was 2 x 50's, 4 x 100's, 1 x 500'x, and 9 x 1000's. Maybe that was a once off but it'd be nice to get say 6 x 50's, 7 x 100's, 4 x 500's, 7 x 1000's. Particularly if your going to do ante's.

Thanks lads no we have the chips ok but they are one day games and can run up to 12 hours as they are , we l see what effect the ante s have and the structure will evolve over the next while .

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Here's hoping this is a new day for Boards and CPT, it certainly looks more like the interaction we like to promote. I wish you well with your venture mate, I think you have started off the right way.

As for antes.... I would scrap them. I've played, run and directed hundreds of tournies and there are two consistent things about antes in Ireland.

1. No one understands them or uses them correctly... they are supposed to slow down the progression of the big blind so that it doesnt end up with just the two blinds playing, but in many tournies here you see both the big blind AND the antes rising in a single round, effectively making things FASTER and still having the initial problem.

2. They slow the game down considerably, getting fewer hands per how means the game is effectively speeding up.

This is why GJP games dont use antes.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

how many are u expecting for this
    Derek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

originally from de vore
    As for antes.... I would scrap them. I've played, run and directed hundreds of tournies

i have a question
    is this a combined amount of "played-run & directed" ? or have you in fact directed hundreds of tourneys ? does this include online ?

1 per week in 6 years is 300, thats a lot of directing

if this is the case, then why are you not advertising these tourneys here on boards, so we can benefit from your experiences

this is me at my most pedantic, or is there some exaggeration happening, which means am i just being pedantic, not actually my most, coz i could be worse than this and get into spelling errors aswell, but dont they have moderators for that sort of thing

for the 4.7 millionth time, please stop exaggerating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

originally from de vore
    As for antes.... I would scrap them. I've played, run and directed hundreds of tournies

i have a question
    is this a combined amount of "played-run & directed" ? or have you in fact directed hundreds of tourneys ? does this include online ?

if this is the case, then why are you not advertising these tourneys here on boards, so we can benefit from your experiences

this is me at my most pedantic, or is there some exaggeration happening, which means am i just being pedantic, not actually my most, coz i could be worse than this and get into spelling errors aswell, but dont they have moderators for that sort of thing

This post deserves a ban for at least 2 hours imo.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

i have a question

I spent a year and a half working in the Fitz as one of the assistant tournament directors to Luke Ivory. Add to that being in charge of PPP's North West Championships and of course being one of the TD for Green Joker Poker's live tournies and yes, thats hundreds of live tournies of all sizes and I learned from one of the best.

See, its not "pedantry" if you havent a clue what you are talking about. It's just plain "talking out your ass".

Now, did you have something to add to the thread or did you just come here to unsuccessful question my right to comment?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

DeVore wrote: »
    I spent a year and a half working in the Fitz as one of the assistant tournament directors to Luke Ivory. Add to that being in charge of PPP's North West Championships and of course being one of the TD for Green Joker Poker's live tournies and yes, thats hundreds of live tournies of all sizes and I learned from one of the best.

See, its not "pedantry" if you havent a clue what you are talking about. It's just plain "talking out your ass".

Now, did you have something to add to the thread or did you just come here to unsuccessful question my right to comment?

DeV.

I believe you are meant to use the adverb 'unsuccessfully' rather than than the adjective, old boy.

sorry, i have a sickness.

god, i wish my online tourney would hurry up and start...

Hey all just home from the game . had 68 runners ; prize pool €10 200
    €9700 at the final table +€300 in spot prizes
    1. Neil Rogers €3800 inc grand final ticket €1000 + Trophy
    2. Padraic Smith €1900
    3. Kitty Kirwick €1200 + last lady €100 free next time
    4. Stephen Kirwan €800
    5. Paul Bray €600
    6. Derek Murphy €500 + High hand €100 free next time
    7. Albert Rotherham €400
    8. Adrian Quinn €300
    9. David Fennelly( €200 Bubbble off the top)
    Players League €200

Thanks to all the players on the night .Antes worked fairly well , will be adjusting them a little but they made for a good game

Nenagh on Friday @ 8pm . Monaghan Sunday @ 4pm See ya there:)

Hey Derek ;Sorry did nt see your Q re no s until now.See you soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 OasisKid

Hi just wondering how this game went from anyone that went.

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FRECKLES68

I agree that there shouldn't be a prize for last lady. Call me a women's libber, but it gives the impression that the women aren't as good as the men players and therefore should be awarded for even be able to play at all! I'm one of those "ladies" by the way!

On an other note, I was in Portlaoise last Sunday evening and really enjoyed the game. And the fact that the cash tables were 50 euro a buy in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FRECKLES68

OasisKid wrote: »
    Hi just wondering how this game went from anyone that went.

thanks.

Very enjoyable evening. Well run, good food, cash tables for 50 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Hot-Rod

Good to see you started off with decent numbers Liam. I will be down sunday in the 4 seasons. The earlier start suits me better than other local games on a sunday with work.

Just one point, I wish you would get rid of the Last lady prize, from my experience, it always went to the same 3 women when you played up near the border, Sue, Annette or Philomeana. All good players in there own right. Dont think women should get treated any differently, they cried for equal rights and the vote for long enough :D so the poker world should be no different.

Maybe you should have a prize for the last ginger instead!! :D You been a fellow ginger Liam you should understand how hard our life is, plus it is my best chance of winning something :D

LOL LOL LOL Mine`s strawberry blonde actually :):):). I hear ya !! just good that this is the height of our problems this week

Game in The Abbey Court Nenagh this Fri night reg 7 start 8
    This Sunday in The Four Seasons Monaghan reg 3 start 4 . See ye there .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 mr hansen

:cool:well i have to just say that i was at the cpt portlaoise game on sunday and had a great night although i didnt get into the cash but came very close.Cash games were good also so just want to say well done to liam and fionn and hope all goes well in the future.Over €10,000 was payed out on the night.see yiz in nenagh for more player points:cool:

Cheers Mr Hansen see ya tomorrow best of luck :cool:

Hey folks rough night last night .We had 42 runners in Nenagh with a €5k guarantee the prize pool came in at €6200

Placings
    1. John Mc Mahon €2600 inc grand final ticket
    2. Trevor Moran €1400
    3. Terry Loughnane€800
    4. Billy Woods€500
    5. Mike Allen €400
    6. Derek Mulcahy bubble €200
    €150 players League
    €150 " spots "
    Thanks to all for coming out on such a rough night .