Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is mw2 worth it with no online play??

• 11-11-2009 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭

hey,
    i am reading through the threads here and was looking forward to getting mw2,but a lot of people seem to be saying that the single player part is way to short,
    i cant go online,i only have the 3 modem,i understand that this can be connected to a ps3 but i doubt it would be fast enough for online gaming,

so what im asking basically,without any online gaming is mw2 worth the cash??

edit: i have got uncharted 2 and nfs shift recently and have found them to be good games without online multiplayer,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Qs

The 1up is short but its pretty good and there are special ops challenge sort of missions too. You might be as well off just renting it though as I'm sure you'd finish the campaign within a week no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

1 player/special ops is fantastic and well worth getting the game for. I'd agree with the above though regarding renting it, sucks that you can't play it online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

If ya got two controllers ya can have good craic with a split screen game or even a extra tv and a get a mate to bring his xbox over.Have a lan game:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

without online id have sold my ps3 2 years ago...thread over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

bladebrew wrote: »
    hey,
    i am reading through the threads here and was looking forward to getting mw2,but a lot of people seem to be saying that the single player part is way to short,
    i cant go online,i only have the 3 modem,i understand that this can be connected to a ps3 but i doubt it would be fast enough for online gaming,

so what im asking basically,without any online gaming is mw2 worth the cash??

edit: i have got uncharted 2 and nfs shift recently and have found them to be good games without online multiplayer,

You could rent it. I find the single player more enjoyable this time round.

Btw all i use for multiplayer is the 3 dongle. Its not ideal, you cannot host for instance but it is playable 90% of the time.

Tonight i did find it hard to get a game which i never had with mw1 but i am hoping that it is just server issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

I cleared the SP in about 3 hours. Very short campaign, so not worth full price. Rent it for a day and move on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

i thought the story was amazing well worth buying to replay it on harder settings and the spec ops is good also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

You could go on the safe side and just rent it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Rent it for the week sure, no harm done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Believe it or not you might be able to play online. I have a 3G O2 broadband modem & and X360, and i regularly play Halo/Battlefield BC online with very little lag. I tried MW2 online and it seemed fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'd say rent it as well. The SP is short enough to finish in a night and you'll be able to check to see if it can work with your dongle (is it bad that that word makes me giggle?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

cheers for all the replies lads!!,

i might rent it so,one of the lads in work cleared it in 5 hours gameplay,he couldnt believe it was so short,
    if i had online play it would be a different story though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

i have the 02 dogle for bband and its fine for online it all depends on your location can u post your dowload speeds uwill know from that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

It's easy to set it up with the ps3, and speed really does only play a small part in it.

Obviously before you jump ahead, see how 3 is like with your computer. More specifically, what time is it before there is no one else using it? That's the only time I can really use it to play online without it being all ****. That time is about now for me, but I am quite a nocturnal person.. :D

All you need is an ethernet cable, the "colour" doesn't matter afaik, I have a green one. Just got mine in Maplins.

Plugged it from the computer to the PS3 (Cannot plug modem into PS3) went to connection settings and enabled internet sharing (you can find out how to do this from a quick google)

Ethernet cable cost about a tenner, has worked fine.

The game isn't worth it for just single player. Extremely short, can't believe someone suggested a week! Lol! They obviously haven't played it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 327 ✭✭zoom!

Ye. Multiplayers is much as it was in COD4, it's still pretty good but nothing amazing has changed. Campaign is pretty good though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭New.White.Socks

zoom! wrote: »
    Ye. Multiplayers is much as it was in COD4, it's still pretty good but nothing amazing has changed. Campaign is pretty good though.

Spec ops really adds to the multiplayer though... good fun with a friend.

And on topic, as most people are saying I would def only rent without online play.