Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Problem- Need Help or Advice Please

• 11-11-2009 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭

Right lads and ladies ive got a 01 Corsa with about 90,000 on the clock.It was just serviced in July this year

Over the past few weeeks its started to cut out on me while im stopped.When i go to try start it again it wont start.I could be waiting a few minutes to get it started again.Not very good when you have a pile of traffic backed up behind you.

When i get it started again the Rev clock doesnt move.But if i knock the car off again and start it it works out.Nothing comes up on the dash board when it cuts off.The battery is grand as the lights and radio still works when this happens.There is oil and petrol in the car..

Any suggestions or help folks please..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

i dunno. Petrol pump maybe. Only a guess though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Ok lads ive done abit of research and it seem to be the crank sensor thats causing the problem..

My next question is how much roughly do people think it will cost to get this replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭eyesofvenus

bigron2109 wrote: »
    Ok lads ive done abit of research and it seem to be the crank sensor thats causing the problem..

My next question is how much roughly do people think it will cost to get this replaced.
    It does indeed sound like crank sensor. not a big job.
    You can buy the part on ebay for £18(€22). Should only take no less than half hour to replace so 35-40 quid in labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Was just going to mention that but you beat me too it!!

P.S Are you the person "EYESOFVENUS" that had the problem with your avensis?If so how did you get on with her? Sorry off the topic:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

It does indeed sound like crank sensor. not a big job.
    You can buy the part on ebay for £18(€22). Should only take no less than half hour to replace so 35-40 quid in labour

And if you were to go to a garage what kind of money do you think they will charge??

jimmyw wrote: »
    Was just going to mention that but you beat me too it!!

P.S Are you the person "EYESOFVENUS" that had the problem with your avensis?If so how did you get on with her? Sorry off the topic:o
    lol was me, and it was the almera.
    unfortunately her timing chain strecthed to the tune of 21mm, so shes parked up for a bit til i get the cash together to fix it

And if you were to go to a garage what kind of money do you think they will charge??
    shouldnt be any more than €80 otherwise get part yourself and have a local mechanic fit it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

lol was me, and it was the almera.
    unfortunately her timing chain strecthed to the tune of 21mm, so shes parked up for a bit til i get the cash together to fix it

Jaysus! I am always mixing up avensis with almera:oOh right, thanks.