Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Allowances Thread

• 11-11-2009 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭

For those of you who may be interested, there is a completely mis-educated, mindless rant going on in After Hours regarding AGS pay & allowances. I've rowed in with my 0.02c...some of you may be so inclined to do so too. Don't expect any intelligent responses though! :D

Linky here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

coolmoose wrote: »
    For those of you who may be interested, there is a completely mis-educated, mindless rant going on in After Hours regarding AGS pay & allowances. I've rowed in with my 0.02c...some of you may be so inclined to do so too. Don't expect any intelligent responses though! :D

Linky here

Let them at it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

I agree...but it's nice to upset them sometimes... :pac: I'm done with replying on that thread, just thought I'd share it with everyone on the ES forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

im done replying to it too. Some people will believe anything as long as it suits their argument. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

I put in a quick rant.....not that it'll mean much. Well done to those who did post. I wont be posting again though....its like talking to a wall.

Frontline alliance.....I hope member support it and get out there!! Espically younger members!!!

I put in a quick rant.....not that it'll mean much. Well done to those who did post. I wont be posting again though....its like talking to a wall.

Thats a cop out, I`d love a reply to my question :D
    TBH I wouldnt worry about cuts too much though, crime is no doubt going to increase over the next few years and whoever is in government will need a motivated police force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Was gonna reply but thought "what a waste of time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Good post NGA.
    Unfortunately, people like to have someone to blame and to take out their frustrations.
    The government is doing a good job of turning people against the frontline workers and the press are are taking any scrap of info thry get and twisting it against us.

brayblue24 wrote: »
    Was gonna reply but thought "what a waste of time"

traffic corp to the end :rolleyes:

Nah, me Compol;)

brayblue24 wrote: »
    Nah, me Compol;)

same difference, neither ever answer the radios ;)
    ah thats a dirty dig unwarranted too :P

Can you not see the benefit to putting motor tax on the fuel? Changing to the Western Australian/New Zealand system? Free up the courts of all the Road traffic crap.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57006361&postcount=25
    ^^
    What about the nonsense where if you get so many summonses a month your a great guy but if you spend the month investigating two or three assaults and have only 5 or 6 assault summons your useless?

Total and utter mismanagement lads its bull**** and Im telling ye now while tens of thousands are currently behind in mortgage arrears and the numbers increasing that there will be a hell of alot of people going around with no tax. And the types of people going around with no tax will change from your scumbag in a 10 year old car to a typical family.

Does nobody else give a damn? Does nobody else see outside of the AGS bubble?

OK so now I've posted on it but I refuse hence, no matter what is flung at me, to further acknowledge the above poster, and his narrow minded ranting, other than to state that I hereby sincerely apologise for personally bringing this country from a position of prosperity to one of wrack and ruin in about 18 months. I am now off on a well earned break. I just wish I could decide between my hideaway on the Cayman Islands or Mauritius (which I bought on ebay after a couple of years of creaming off the alleged 157 allowances a week I am apparently raking in!).

BTW IMO Troll^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Thats a cop out, I`d love a reply to my question :D
    TBH I wouldnt worry about cuts too much though, crime is no doubt going to increase over the next few years and whoever is in government will need a motivated police force.

One warning blindjustice....same as everyone else only one. ANY trolling will result in a ban....a permanant one.

Of course you can comment and post but if you post drivell as you have in after hours you will be infracted. Dont like it....take it to feedback. We run a tight ship in the ES forum for both outsiders and ES personel......trolling by either is punished severly.

Post ****e at you peril.
    NGA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Can you not see the benefit to putting motor tax on the fuel? Changing to the Western Australian/New Zealand system? Free up the courts of all the Road traffic crap.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57006361&postcount=25

Yes of course we can see the benefit but you are talking about something which is outside of our control. We do not make policy or laws, we enforce them.

What about the nonsense where if you get so many summonses a month your a great guy but if you spend the month investigating two or three assaults and have only 5 or 6 assault summons your useless?

You are right, it is nonsense. I've never heard of these quotas you are talking about.
    Total and utter mismanagement lads its bull**** and Im telling ye now while tens of thousands are currently behind in mortgage arrears and the numbers increasing that there will be a hell of alot of people going around with no tax. And the types of people going around with no tax will change from your scumbag in a 10 year old car to a typical family.

Does nobody else give a damn? Does nobody else see outside of the AGS bubble?

Have you not thought that the majority of young Gardai (which is 60% of the force) are within those tens of thousands of people struggling to pay their mortgage???

C'mon man there is no AGS bubble. Just the bubble you seem to live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Theres no point even replying to blindjustice, like talking to the wall.
    His posts here and in ah show that
    Another one for my ignore list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Nothing new in that thread, so.

I've said this before, though: why do we always feel the need to justify our wages and spending to everyone, whether in the pub or on the net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Sitric

If you're really justifying you wages to mates in the pubs you should drink with people who are not w#&5ers. Or ask them to explain exactly how their salary is justified. And don't accept market forces as an answer. Ask them to explain what value they add to society, perhaps just making money for a bunch of shareholders they have never met is not the noblest position to argue from. I don't want to denigrate what anyone does for a living but half the country seem to feel they can do exactly that to public servants.

Nothing wrong with discussing efficiencies or waste in the public service, that's a matter for public debate. But focusing on an individuals salary and allowances is just rude. And misses the point.