Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CPT events allowed on boards again

• 10-11-2009 10:15pm
    Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭

After some discussions with the new people behind CPT it has been decided to allow them to post regarding their events again. While I know the reasons behind their previous barring, I feel it would be unfair to hold this against the new people behind the name. While I am not satisfied that the previous abuses of customers was explained in any way, given the change in management we believe that a second chance is warranted.

Assurances have been given that 100% transparency is now the policy for CPT events, and the new people behind it will be posting in this thread to provide their commitment to running tournaments in a way that is open and fair.

I expect people to have 1 of 3 opinions about this.

1. Don't care whatsoever.
    2. Annoyed that previous failings are not answered and think new management should answer gripes from years ago.
    3. Happy to be provided with details of more tournaments on here that conform to the highest standards of transparency.

If your opinion is the second one, then I don't think it is really possible that this will happen if the only thing the same is the name. You are of course entitled to express your opinion, but not if it is done in an abusive manner.

As with all organisers who post here, we expect the full details to be posted as per the charter, and if those details turn out to be false and cannot be explained then we reserve the right to revoke privileges again. We hope and expect that this will not be the case as far as this goes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Irish open buyins for the mods obv:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

father-ted-careful-now.jpg

Couldnt resist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Liam & Fionn are both sound and i`m sure they'll be a million times better that the previous fcukers that ran the CPT.

By the way ive no afiliation wit any of the above either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Best of luck in your new venture Liam. I'm sure you'll make it a success.

Matt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭gorrrr72

Best of luck Liam. I hope it goes well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

i most certainly agree wit opinion 2, having played 6 or 7 times a couple of years ago lets jus say it was crazy what was going on ie: pot sizes and payouts!!!!:mad:

but having said that, it really was a great night of poker and very professionally run! tables, chips, staff, food etc were excellent! only thing apart from the obvious was no dealers but that has changed since i believe. :)

i have jus come from their site and looks like the new guys are really gonna make a good honest go of it, so really hope they do cos in our economic climate at the mo ppl wont stand for anything less than the best(and rightly so)

so to sum up i agree with opinion 3 also, and the best of luck to the new guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭dream.

Hey Liam here (dream.) Would first like to thank all involved in Boards . ie for their assistance re Posting for Celtic Poker Tour ( No irish open tickets tho i m affraid ) lol .Secondly to all boardies can i say that on behalf of Fionn and I we appreciate being able to post here and will be making every effort to run a clear and transparrent tour with professional staff geared to providing a friendly "night out " and a good tournamet structure,

.Sorry meant to include my phone number in that post . Call liam @ 085 1104484. We are working on the CPT post at the minute , hopfully should get it up in the morning .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 scungey

nice one liam congrats on ur new venture. i see u in cork on the 29th . let me know if u want me to deal that day for u sanj.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

dream. wrote: »
    Hey Liam here (dream.) Would first like to thank all involved in Boards . ie for their assistance re Posting for Celtic Poker Tour ( No irish open tickets tho i m affraid ) lol .Secondly to all boardies can i say that on behalf of Fionn and I we appreciate being able to post here and will be making every effort to run a clear and transparrent tour with professional staff geared to providing a friendly "night out " and a good tournamet structure,

Just allow non tournie players to play the side cash games at your events and I'd be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Best of luck with this, Fionn & Liam are two sound lads and I know they will deliver a professional and enjoyable tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭wad events

Best of luck Liam And Fionn. Always enjoyed the Celtic games myself. See yis on the road:D
    Tommy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Mr. Wolf

Best of luck lads. Hopefully see yis for the Monaghan game on the 22nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Kimba

Best of Luck Liam! Hope it all goes well for you.

Dani

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Good luck with this Liam.

If you need any help drop me a line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 fish25

best of luck lads from the wex crew see you in portlaoise :cool: and what about grand final

Hey Fish , well will have news for a the grandfinalists soon , up to our eyes but we will shortly have it sorted , thanks for patience on it.
    See ye on Sunday looks like it might be a big one .

ollyk1 wrote: »
    Just allow non tournie players to play the side cash games at your events and I'd be happy.

Lord what`l we do if everyone skips the tournie Aaagghhh see ya soon ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 fish25

:cool:best of luck lads good game last night could bring in anty a bit later maby level 10 or so but the done me no harm .will win one soon :confused:

Hey fish cheers yep will tweek them a bit for friday and see how they go best of luck next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

Agree with 3

i only ever attended 1 CPT game and knew what i was going to get for my money
    they targeted a different audience than most tourneys, mainly a pub crowd and in fairness to them they had quite a following, the advertised thier events very professionally, swamping an entire county and maybe even the adjoiining counties with flyers and posters, running up high attendancy at their events, which i admired
    my opinion of their events is not important, as far as i was always concerned they werent competing with me as i was after a different clientelle

happy to see that they are back up and running, i hope it goes well for the guys, Lord knows it aint easy pickings and the market is a smaller and smaller cake to be looking for a slice of, only the strong will survive, only those that operate a decent event in an open and transparent manner will be trusted otherwise players just wont turn up, particularly while the likes of JP, Larry Szanto, Fintan G and Neil Kelly etc. to mention but a few, are running open book honest decent events, players are being treated too well to be interested in taking any crap in the future,

best of luck Liam and co, hope this works out for ye

Derek w

draw a line in the sand, move onwards and upwards
    may the wind be always at your back, especially when taking a pee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ironman1

Seeing as everything is transparent now and above board .
    Who and how many of the original Celtic Poker crew are still involved with the the new takeover ?? ie: Is Mike/ Dennis/ Brendan still involved in the running of your events. Also the best of luck to you and fion for the future

Hi ironman no Mike and Denis are no longer involved , Brendan stopped working on the tour a good while ago but i do hope he may deal for us in the future . Fionn and I have put our money where our mouths were . thanks for good wishes see ya soon .