Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm Walking in the rain

• 10-11-2009 10:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭

So there I was last night, big yellow high viz jacket, waterproof/snow boarder trousers, waterproof boots, goretex gloves and being from yorkshire, me flat cap, two dogs with me, waiting to cross the main road where I live (village in Co Cork) and along came a van, straight through a puddle in the road at high speed, soaking the dogs (even more) the spray came about 5 feet into the air, then two seconds later and a car did the exact same thing - didn't bother me too much as i had my dog walking rain gear on, but the poor dogs where wet enough - I know if this happened in the UK they could get points on the licence for driving without due care and attention - is it the same here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Moved from API

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭GigaByte

Points for driving through a puddle! LOL Not surprised you left the uk, you can't get points for driving through a puddle here.

Sounds like you where prepared for the weather, get rain coats for your dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

Welcome to Ireland, This happens to me all the time:rolleyes:
    Although I'm not as well kitted out as you:D
    Not sure about the points, but I know one day it happened a guarda car was behind the offending vehicle and pulled them over for a chat, as I passed the guy got out and apologized(I'm sure with a prompt from said guard), in the pouring rain in just his shirt no coat. By the time he got back in the car he was soaked.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Paul91 wrote: »
    being from yorkshire, me flat cap, two dogs with me,

Whippets by any chance?
    flatcapnwhippetsmn.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Paul91

R.O.R wrote: »
    Whippets by any chance?
    flat-cap-n-whippet-sm.jpg
    nope German Shepherd and Box/Lab - whippets too fast for me :D

GigaByte wrote: »
    Points for driving through a puddle! LOL Not surprised you left the uk, you can't get points for driving through a puddle here.

Sounds like you where prepared for the weather, get rain coats for your dogs

no, points for driving without due care and attention,

http://www.cmsolicitors.co.uk/road-traffic/driving-without-due-care.html
    Inconsiderate driving is another charge which relates to careless driving. Inconsiderate driving is road traffic behaviour which can be proven to have inconvenienced other drivers. Tailgating, flashing your headlights or beeping your horn in order to intimidate another driver into speeding up or changing lanes, speeding up through puddles and splashing pedestrians and failure to move out of the overtaking lane are all examples of inconsiderate driving or driving without reasonable consideration for other road-users.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/pm/2009/10/splashing_a_bus_stop.shtml
    Charges of careless or even dangerous driving could be brought for this type of offence, the force said.

http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=447325&page=7
    Driving drunk means that you're driving without full control of your car. Driving at speed through a puddle means the same thing. It's very dangerous. She could have aquaplaned very easily, or it was very possible that there would have been a pothole concealed in the puddle. The force of the water could have wrenched the wheel from her grasp, and sent the fast-moving vehicle anywhere.

http://community.babycentre.co.uk/post/a4674805/this_driver_filming_herself_splashing_kids_with_a_massive_puddle
    it is illegal, the offence is driving without due care and attention. you can loose you license

http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/FH/free/320676262412946.php
    The court heard that on 6th May this year, the defendant was driving a black Honda Civic car along the Irvinestown road when the car struck a puddle and the defendant lost control of the vehicle.
    The car left the road and hit a garden fence and hedge before spinning and ending up on the other side of the road.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Motoring/DriverLicensing/EndorsementsAndDisqualifications/DG_10022425
    CodeOffencePenalty pointsCD10Driving without due care and attention3-9CD20Driving without reasonable consideration for other road users3-9CD30Driving without due care and attention or without reasonable consideration for other road users3-9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I believe it does fall under driving without due care and consideration here so the driver could be done for it. I'm not sure that points would be applied though and of course without evidence it would just be a warning at the most anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

I think the hi-vis jacket just made you a big target :P

GStormcrow wrote: »
    I think the hi-vis jacket just made you a big target :P

maybe that or the fact i'm 6' 4" and 21 stone - can't really miss me, don't worry i took note of the van and car - FYI I posted this in the animal forum as i was wondering if any of the folks over there found the same thing but the mod's shifted the post to here - so apologise for disturbing you petorl heads :D

no, points for driving without due care and attention,

http://www.cmsolicitors.co.uk/road-traffic/driving-without-due-care.html

Yes almost any kind of driving could be charged with driving without due care and attention, even if you avoided the puddle you could be charge with driving without due care and attention for crashing into the car coming the other way. ;)

Big puddles often can completely cover a road, you will not get done for driving through it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Yes almost any kind of driving could be charged with driving without due care and attention, even if you avoided the puddle you could be charge with driving without due care and attention for crashing into the car coming the other way. ;)

Big puddles often can completely cover a road, you will not get done for driving through it :pac:
    There is always the option to slow down. As has been said before, you never know what's under the surface of the water.

Anan1 wrote: »
    There is always the option to slow down.

It's obvious the driver took option 2. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

LOL, I soaked some woman yesterday coming back by The Ashleaf Shopping Centre. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I was in a taxi late at night going past Grand Canal Quay and taximan soaked two girls by flying thru a big puddle.

cop car going the other way seen it, turned around and pulled him and hit him with fine and points.

He kinda stopped laughing after that, I had to listen to the "why don't they catch the real criminals" all the way home

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Hammertime wrote: »
    I was in a taxi late at night going past Grand Canal Quay and taximan soaked two girls by flying thru a big puddle.

cop car going the other way seen it, turned around and pulled him and hit him with fine and points.

He kinda stopped laughing after that, I had to listen to the "why don't they catch the real criminals" all the way home

Wet girls by the canal? Giggidy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ejvilla

I think I did this to someone last night... in the village I live in.... in Cork!

But it wasn't on the main road, the pedestrian wasn't in high viz clothing and I didn't see any dogs. Anyway, I felt terrible after and, although it wasn't at all intentional (oncoming driver failed to yield, pushing me to the side of the road and had his full lights on so it was hard to see the pedestrian or the puddle), I'd like to apologise to the person I soaked.

I've had it happen to me before and it sucks ( especially when you have to get on a bus right after and sit there sopping wet & freezing cold for a couple of hours :mad: ).

PM me the town name and we'll make sure I wasn't the one who soaked you! :o

So there I was last night, big yellow high viz jacket, waterproof/snow boarder trousers, waterproof boots, goretex gloves and being from yorkshire, me flat cap, two dogs with me, waiting to cross the main road where I live (village in Co Cork) and along came a van, straight through a puddle in the road at high speed, soaking the dogs (even more) the spray came about 5 feet into the air, then two seconds later and a car did the exact same thing - didn't bother me too much as i had my dog walking rain gear on, but the poor dogs where wet enough - I know if this happened in the UK they could get points on the licence for driving without due care and attention - is it the same here?

ejvilla wrote: »
    I think I did this to someone last night... in the village I live in.... in Cork!

Be honest it was you, even if it wasn't you someone got hit by you. He may have taken your number down and right now every cop is out there looking for you! Get your ass down to the police station and hand yourself in, be prepared for the worst! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

I remember when I was a young lad getting my first few driving lessons, back when I know it all ;), the instructor told me to slow as I was approaching a puddle as there were pedestrians nearby...I said something like "That's sound of you, I would have soaked them"...he gave a long speil about how it was my responsability, could fail the test for it, etc, etc.

In fairness the lesson stuck, it's not just common decency you could get done for it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was the meter running whilst the garda was giving the taxi driver his points?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

In fairness folks, we all give out about pedestrians who go out in stealth/ninja mode, wearing the darkest clothing they possess, while we benighted motorists appear to get all the blame if one of them gets hit whilst walking against the direction of traffic on a dark country road in the rain.
    In this instance though, the OP was wearing a high-vis jacket (which I'm presuming OP, also had reflective stripes on it?), and was in "the village", so I'm also surmising there was probably street lighting too.

In my opinion, neither the van driver nor the following motorist had any excuse for drowning the OP and his dogs.

Again in my opinion, had a Garda been there to witness the incident, both would have at least merited a good bollocking, and maybe even a charge of careless driving.

Rovi wrote: »
    In fairness folks, we all give out about pedestrians who go out is stealth/ninja mode, wearing the darkest clothing they possess, while we benighted motorists appear to get all the blame if one of them gets hit whilst walking against the direction of traffic on a dark country road in the rain.
    In this instance though, the OP was wearing a high-vis jacket (which I'm presuming OP, also had reflective stripes on it?), and was in "the village", so I'm also surmising there was probably street lighting too.

In my opinion, neither the van driver nor the following motorist had any excuse for drowning the OP and his dogs.

Again in my opinion, had a Garda been there to witness the incident, both would have at least merited a good bollocking, and maybe even a charge of careless driving.

yup high viz markings, the type you get on building sites, made by "Mascot" bought especially because i do walk down unlit streets as i have no option being in the sticks, but the place i was stood was well lit, street lights, and i was back from the edge of the path as far as i could be.

No worries, i'm a big believer in Karma.

And to all of those whom find it funny, that's grand, just remember it's folk like me whom walk down those dark roads where the branch's and debris have fallen in the high winds and rain, maybe next time i won't move them out the road, but that won't matter to those who do drive with due care and attention, only the others whom will plough into them.

Jaysus get over it! :rolleyes:

PM me the town name and we'll make sure I wasn't the one who soaked you! :o

i was in Whitegate, if it was you in the car at least i think you slowed down after, with guilt i assume (like i say was in full wet gear was more worried about the dogs as they could have had any kind of debris thrown at them from the puddle), the van didn't care - but he had a name on the side so we'll wait and see :D

Jaysus get over it! :rolleyes:

if you have nothing constructive to add you don't need to reply

if you find the thread borring you have no need to read

if you have nothing constructive to add you don't need to reply

if you find the thread borring you have no need to read

I find it interesting, I just found your grumpiness in your last post childish

But I did manage to find this on youtube and with your help we can get the drivers all put behind bars where they belong! Are you with me! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxJQnH7Whi8&feature=related

EDIT: It's in the UK too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ejvilla

I was in Midleton, so I'm not your man. Still feel bad about it so I'll say sorry to you & your dogs in their place for now! I'll be extra vigilant going forward :)
    i was in Whitegate, if it was you in the car at least i think you slowed down after, with guilt i assume (like i say was in full wet gear was more worried about the dogs as they could have had any kind of debris thrown at them from the puddle), the van didn't care - but he had a name on the side so we'll wait and see :D

I was in Midleton, so I'm not your man. Still feel bad about it so I'll say sorry to you & your dogs in their place for now! I'll be extra vigilant going forward :)

thanks a million - feel all better now

I find it interesting, I just found your grumpiness in your last post childish

But I did manage to find this on youtube and with your help we can get the drivers all put behind bars where they belong! Are you with me! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxJQnH7Whi8&feature=related

EDIT: It's in the UK too..

can't see the youtube, blocked in work i'm afraid, sorry for being grumpy and childish, but being a male over thirty the two things are inherent :D as i say this was meant for the animal area to see what other fellow dog walkers had come across in the world of the car, my other favourite one is the "i don't need to dip my headlights for pedestrians" goes along well with "i don't need to indicate for pedestrians"

No worries, wait till you hit 35, I'm always grumpy! :D

ye that happened last August i'm afraid, looking forward to that 40 now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

28756388889116148675.jpg

Magnus wrote: »
    28756388889116148675.jpg

bloody audi drivers - ahem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ah I remember working as a barman in college.
    For graduation/debs we could not serve spirits, hey the school sets the rules not me
    Wow, the abuse I took that night, called every name going.
    And sure how were they going to enjoy their night without shots??

Took abuse before the meal, during the meal and for the rest of the night.

So when I drove home after cleaning up the ballroom (and vomit in the toilets :p) what I suprise to see two lovely couples who passed comments when I served them food and embarressed me in front of a table of ten.

I sure hope the deposits on the tuxedo and the gown weren't excessive and they sure lost them after they got soaked!

I've never splashed anyone else, honest

On a side note I'm interested to know how much he was fined and what the points were actually for. Whats the on the spot fine for driving through puddles?

EDIT: Up to £2,500 in the uk
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/driving/article3080454.ece

On a side note I'm interested to know how much he was fined and what the points were actually for. Whats the on the spot fine for driving through puddles?

"driving without due care and attention" at a guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

There was a case for this recently in the UK, a woman did it on purpose while video-ing it and posted it on youtube. She handed herself in when the police said they were looking for her.

It sucks getting splashed but if it didnt happen then funny pictures like the one above would never exist... every cloud etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Magnus wrote: »
    28756388889116148675.jpg

Audi driver too. What are the odds on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Audi driver too. What are the odds on that.

About 9/12 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

Years ago was cycling through a flood, was 3/4 way through and a car coming otherway drove quite quickly into the flood and drenched me bike and all.:eek: Think it was an elederly person or someone who did not realise the implications from their own point of view even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Years ago was cycling through a flood, was 3/4 way through and a car coming otherway drove quite quickly into the flood and drenched me bike and all.:eek: Think it was an elederly person or someone who did not realise the implications from their own point of view even
    Please read the charter and don't resurrect old threads.