Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what do you do with your car keys?

• 09-11-2009 1:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭

I've done a grand total 5 events so far.
    For the 2 duathlons and 1 Tri event I just left my car keys in my bag in transition.
    For my first running race I left my car keys hidden on the car.
    Yesterday I left them in a zipper pocket in a jacket discarded at the start line.

What to do, what to do?

Nearing the end of the race at the weekend I got passed out by this guy wearing his car keys on a cord which he was wearing like a necklace (keys hanging between his shoulder blades).

So, maybe if ye could fire in a few suggestions then we could see what works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

DustyBin wrote: »
    For the 2 duathlons and 1 Tri event I just left my car keys in my bag in transition.
    Yesterday I left them in a zipper pocket in a jacket discarded at the start line.

What to do, what to do?

Nearing the end of the race at the weekend I got passed out by this guy wearing his car keys on a cord which he was wearing like a necklace (keys hanging between his shoulder blades).

Not telling - you might be trying to steal my car :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I gained a set of car keys that were not mine for the race on Saturday. Price I paid for being expected to finish first of those of us with kit in the car meant I had to carry the keys. Just stuck them in a zipped pocket of my shorts, and a safety pin just to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

That's a great idea, gonna try that, thank you :)

I tend to stuff them in those little interior pockets in my shorts, but it looks right dodgy putting them in and getting them out :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I leave them in some long grass never to be seen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

I have always had the same problem - even when training. So when buying shorts I ensure that there is always a pocket in the back. Take the key off the keyring and off I go. I do the same when training (even from home) leave house keys in the car and carry the car keys. My big problem is when I'm on call for work - gotta carry the phone with me as well :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

RoyMcC wrote: »
    I tend to stuff them in those little interior pockets in my shorts, but it looks right dodgy putting them in and getting them out :o

LOL...I often wonder how I must look doing this outside my house. Mr and Mrs Neighbour out for a pleasant evening stroll and there's that weird running neighbour standing on his doorstep again with his hands rummaging around down the front of his shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

For tri's I leave them in the little bag on my bike. Neither bike nor car are posh enough to warrant "six months in Spike Island" - to steal a Cork phrase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

I was in the phoneix park last year looking at the aware 10km, I was walking back home noticed about six cars with there keys at the back wheels, one was a new range rover clearly visable, total clowns to do things like this....joyroders would have a field day....I got a spare car key and put it in my shorts pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭flying_scotsman

What to do, what to do?

That's funny, I checked out this thread to see if I could get some ideas of what to do with the keys after Saturday's limited success wearing them as a necklace! I started off with the keys on my chest but they were bouncing about a good bit so threw them to the back and they fitted kinda neatly between my shoulder blades!

I heard afterwards about someone pinning them inside their shorts. I then spotted the little pouch people are talking about inside most running shorts. A little bit more experimenting required...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Peckham wrote: »
    LOL...I often wonder how I must look doing this outside my house. Mr and Mrs Neighbour out for a pleasant evening stroll and there's that weird running neighbour standing on his doorstep again with his hands rummaging around down the front of his shorts.

...with a safty pin in hand:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

I take the car key off, tie it to my shoelaces and leave the rest of the keys hidden in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

I got a key cut with no electronics in it, it just locks & unlocks the door. Leave the keys in the car and take the key with me.

This works for all sorts of sports, including surfing or diving where you have a key pocket in your wetsuit.

There was a thread on here before warning of the dangers of those pockets if they develop a hole while you're running, hence why some people pin them to their shorts just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭chez-moi

just get one of those Hilly wrist or upper arm pouches. Take the car key off and pt in the pouch and leave rest of keys in glove compartment. You can also get a pouch that fits one key that attaches to the lases of your shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭chez-moi

It's not the key thats my problem I have an awful habit of leaving the car open. One time at training I came back and found the car unlocked. Someone had taken a coin from the ashtray box and left it balanced on the steering wheel. Nothing was touched. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

There was a thread on here before warning of the dangers of those pockets if they develop a hole while you're running, hence why some people pin them to their shorts just in case.

Yes indeed. I can't imagine the horror of finishing a two-hour run only to discover you've got to set off to cover the ground again in the hope of finding your keys :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

Blueskye wrote: »
    I take the car key off, tie it to my shoelaces and leave the rest of the keys hidden in the car.

undo the top eye of your shoes and lace it up again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Runonewon

The easiest way is to tie your car key in your shoe laces or get a shoe pod to contain your key which you then attach to your shoe laces,the most important thing is keep running!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

heffsarmy wrote: »
    I was in the phoneix park last year looking at the aware 10km, I was walking back home noticed about six cars with there keys at the back wheels, one was a new range rover clearly visable, total clowns to do things like this....joyroders would have a field day....I got a spare car key and put it in my shorts pocket.

Sheer stupidity that. Insurer wouldnt pay out if stolen either on that basis :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭limericklion

I put them in a small pouch that I wear inside my running glove there is no chance of losing the keys and if you form is correct you do not notice or feel the keys in your hand. Only works in Winter and Spring though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Thanks for the replies
    So far the laces thing looks like a runner, and also some kind of a pouch for my arm.
    I'll try give them both a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

You mean no one else wears their Kangaroo runners from the 80s :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Ham Slicer

Car key on string of shorts and rest of keys in car. I thought everyone did this. Best option for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

hilly an nike both sell shoe wallets,they just go under your laces and have zip or velcro to keep the keys secure.

Otherwise buy shorts with a zip pocket!!!
    if you wear gloves slip them on the inside !!!
    Carry them in your hand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

you can buy a small magnetic box that holds 1-2 keys that you can leave on the underside of the car in a wheel arch,exhaust anywhere metal I suppose, these only cost a few quid from a locksmiths, great for occasional use or even keep a spare key on the car for those moments, beats carrying one around a race .
    It can get upsetting when somene spots the key and steals magnetic box but leaves the car and key behind but thats part of surving in recession and driving your 12 year old car into the ground.