Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesday Evening Spin

• 09-11-2009 1:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭

Any takers for an after work spin on Wednesday evening?

Weather permitting of course.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

haha i actually had a new tab open wanting to do exactly the same post. I am up for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

Beat you to it :)

I was thinking something around 60k, wicklow direction, if that suited??

Conversation will be about who has the best lights, of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭morninwood

what speeds are you guys going on them spins? i am seriously unfit and don't wanna tag along only to get left behind after the first mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I'm in! Just give us a time and place :)

morninwood wrote: »
    what speeds are you guys going on them spins? i am seriously unfit and don't wanna tag along only to get left behind after the first mile.

We go so fast that we do not need lights, we create light as we go.

On a more serious note, if you are that unfit i would leave a night spin and come on a saturday morning one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I should be on for this if it is not raining heavily. On that note though the forecast is currently for clear tomorrow, rain on Wednesday. Could all change of course.

Suggestion (60km): http://bit.ly/4cEAIK

blorg wrote: »
    I should be on for this if it is not raining heavily. On that note though the forecast is currently for clear tomorrow, rain on Wednesday. Could all change of course.

Suggestion (60km): http://bit.ly/4cEAIK

Enter blorg...enter the mountains :) that looks good. I could be at lambs cross at 6ish?? We can always reconsider if it's raining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

... We can always reconsider if it's raining.

Soft.

Soft.
    Are you coming?

Soft.

I meant that if it's raining we'll run the route instead, obviously.

Yeah, in our cycling shoes. Take that.

Seriously though, no point bringing on illness and injury, there is enough opportunity to get on the bike when it is not raining.

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Are you coming?

Oh I would but in the middle of my 45 mile run training. 3/4 Weeks to go -- In Deciember I hope to be back in the saddle for the boards Satursday rides.

Thanks -- you could also swim the lake at the bottom as well.
    Yeah, in our cycling shoes. Take that.

Seriously though, no point bringing on illness and injury, there is enough opportunity to get on the bike when it is not raining.

Blorg, Is that you? Surely not. Someone has stolen your login.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Blorg, Is that you? Surely not. Someone has stolen your login.

Sounds a bit like Dirk if you ask me.

Oh I would but in the middle of my 45 mile run training. 3/4 Weeks to go

Scotty, the bar was recently raised, unless ur doing it without training you got nothing....

I saw that ... very comical... I'll take training any day. I mean where's the extra benefit of having free time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Weather looks good for morning, not so much so for the evening.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Weather is looking very good today by contrast.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'm fecking stuck at work though plus I have a soccer match this evening :( Off tomorrow so want to head out for a spin, eh, I'll go anyway.

Weather is looking very good today by contrast.

at the moment.....it looked ok at this time yesterday too :rolleyes:

Forecast is also for it to remain clear though. Reckon I will be heading out this evening. Will do tomorrow as well- in the unlikely event of it not raining.

Trying to make arrangements to make it up tomorrow. Would love to go somewhere else for a change.

The bike and myself will be in Dublin tomorrow :)

good man jersey :)

(don't forget your runners too) ;)

good man jersey :)

(don't forget your runners too) ;)

Why the runners, to run after the knackers trying to knick me bike?

Time & place please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

jerseyeire wrote: »
    Why the runners, to run after the knackers trying to knick me bike?

Oh right, sorry. If the jibe was a bit far I'm sorry

18:00 at Lamb's Cross (Enniskerry Road) I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

I'd recommend wrapping up well. I was up there today and it was bloody freezing. Some nasty wet leaves in places as well (which you won't see in the dark!).

Incidentally, anyone got any tips on how to keep cool enough going up without freezing coming down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

When descending after large climbs throw on a gilet and buff around neck.

I was out up Johnny Foxes-Viewpoint-Stocking Lane this evening and really didn't find it cold at all. Was some wet on the road though. Looks like the rain might hold off until 9 or so tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

I was out up Johnny Foxes-Viewpoint-Stocking Lane this evening and really didn't find it cold at all.

Perhaps there was a sudden warm snap :rolleyes:
    Was some wet on the road though.

I thought stretch from Viewpoint down was very slippy with leaves. Also from Johnny Foxes down to Kilternan. I'd already fallen off, was numb with cold, so was maybe a bit more timid than usual :o

Where do we meet?

18:00 at Lamb's Cross (Enniskerry Road) I believe.

Looks good outside. (And now that i said it will be raining in a while, typical).

I might be late 5 minutes, please don't leave me :p

Forecast is for rain to start again this evening, from around the 6pm mark. Probable downpour later. I was up by Johnny Foxes at lunchtime and the cloud looked like it was around the 380m mark, you could see the mountain rising up into it. Not raining (much) but road was damp with puddles. I don't think the original full route over Sally Gap would be a great idea given the circumstances, maybe something shorter via the viewpoint?

Don't really mind on the route, i just want to cycle!

I am quite tired and seriously considering a trip to the wimp list....what about johnny foxes, pine forest rd and then the viewpoint....that way there's an option to bailout early??

Would make more sense, it raining lightly here in Sandyford and the mountains are shrouded in mist.

Sounds like a night for the pub if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

Raam wrote: »
    Sounds like a night on the turbo if you ask me.

I agree.

I agree.

You're that angel on my shoulder who keeps me honest. I must dig the rollers outta the shed.

Well that was horrible. AstraMonti and myself just missed JerseyEire and went on a short spin up to Johnny Foxes and then home by Kilternan. Honestly it's just not worth it going for night cycles in the rain. Visibility was next to nothing up in Glencree. Never again. I was out yesterday and it was lovely, honestly there are enough days when it isn't raining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

Well that was horrible. AstraMonti and myself just missed JerseyEire and went on a short spin up to Johnny Foxes and then home by Kilternan. Honestly it's just not worth it going for night cycles in the rain. Visibility was next to nothing up in Glencree. Never again.

Who are you and what have you done with Blorg?

The_Claw wrote: »
    Who are you and what have you done with Blorg?
    I am happy to do the Wicklow 200 on a weekday night, if it is dry. Honestly wet and dark do not mix, anyone commenting otherwise merely lacks direct experience of this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I had scheduled this evening to get out for a decent spin, have to agree with blorg it was manky out there! And seeing this was only the 4th spin on my new road bike which I'm still getting used to, it was more than a little dangerous in places.

Never again in conditions like that, but it's just so hard when you've set a time to go out for a spin to hold back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭csb1989

went over Sally Gap today and can confirm it was not fun- fog meant visibility was 6-7metres, because of the rain I couldnt see a thing through my glasses, it was bloody freezing, and, as always at Sally Gap, it was windy as hell

I was back home before 5 tho so it wasnt even dark yet at the time- wouldnt want to have added darkness to the lovely concoction mentioned above..

Weather on Slievemann and Glenmalure was much better :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

Honestly wet and dark do not mix, anyone commenting otherwise merely lacks direct experience of this...

+1. Its Lethal!