Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You Just Bought a DSLR - Where to Start

Options
  • 07-11-2009 12:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 14,966 ✭✭✭✭

When I bought my DSLR back in early 2008 I had just graduated from a compact camera and I really didn’t know what I had to do to start taking better photos with my DSLR. I thought a short guide for newbies from someone who is still very much a newbie to this whole thing might be useful for some. I’m not saying I’m a great photographer but I’m happy with what I’ve achieved so far and perhaps this might be useful for some wondering what direction they should now take.

If you think of something useful for a newbie why not add it in. Just try to be relatively detailed so they can follow what’s being said.

The Kit Lens

The lens that comes with your camera is called a kit lens. It’s a jack of all trades and a master of none. To help you take better photographs you’ll need to invest in some new lenses. As good as your new camera may be it’s only as good as the glass that you stick on the end of it. Initially buying a good quality new lens doesn’t have to be expensive. One lens that always comes highly recommended is the humble 50mm F1.4 or F1.8. This lens has a fixed focal length of 50mm (it doesn’t zoom) and it can be used in very low light situations. Because it doesn’t zoom it’s known as a ‘Prime’ lens and these lenses are usually very sharp. The 50mm (also known as a nifty fifty) also generally has excellent ‘Depth of Field’ where the foreground and background objects are out of focus with your subject in focus.