Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tadhg Kennelly to return to Oz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

dont think he had much of a choice - he wasnt welcome in Cork/Kerry after the book revalations.... I dont think he'll be able to play in Ireland for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

ya I'd say that was the reason alright:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I say good riddance to him. He won't be a loss to us here in TheKingdom in 2010 and being honest I never understood how he even got an all-star. Over-rated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'm devastated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Burgerman55

a terrible shame, i believe he would have been the most powerful player in the gaa next year and for a few years to come
    kerry co board must be rocked, considering all they have done for him over the last 12 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

I agree that he didn't deserve the all-star but the book sh1t was a major over reaction. I'm glad he's going back. He was brilliant in Oz. A good ambassador for Ireland. Shame on the Kerry folk that turn on him.

mal1 wrote: »
    I agree that he didn't deserve the all-star but the book sh1t was a major over reaction. I'm glad he's going back. He was brilliant in Oz. A good ambassador for Ireland. Shame on the Kerry folk that turn on him.

why shame? Seriously, just because he played for Kerry does not mean everyone should bow to his politics. He was always going back, even the dogs on the back streets of Listowel knew that! I never took to him and won't now either, and you know what, I don't actually have to, not will I feel shamed for admitting such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

I like him because of his achievements in Oz and not his involvement with Kerry. I'm from Louth and I would be proud of any fellow Louth man that has achieved what Tadhg has. I'm talking about his sporting achievements and no more. Maybe there's a saturation of talent down there in Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Orizio wrote: »
    I'm devestated.

so shook you forgot how to spell :p

don't know how i will sleep tonight.....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

Oh the shock. He came home for an AI medal. He got it at the first time of asking. A deserving AI medal winner, a deserving all star (speaks volumes for the competition he faced), now back to make a living from playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Anyone else p*ssed off that we dont get 2 see Cork kick the sh*t out of him in the league next year??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Must be the weather :pac:

He got the medal he deserved at the first hurdle after coming back. Hope is is successful in Australia again.

The wheels have come off the Kerry wagon before the league even starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Must be the weather :pac:

He got the medal he deserved at the first hurdle after coming back. Hope is is successful in Australia again.

The wheels have come off the Kerry wagon before the league even starts.

Yeah, and wagon will stumble and rock from side to side all year.
    Then the passengers will get off it and have a fight. Some of them will probably head to the pub. But come September dem Kerry whores will have traded in their wagon for a bulldozer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I say good riddance to him. He won't be a loss to us here in TheKingdom in 2010 and being honest I never understood how he even got an all-star. Over-rated!

expected better from you to be honest. poor attitude to a man who worked his socks off all year. he was definately in the top 15 players in the country this year, making him far from over rated.

he will be a massive loss, a massive loss. with him and 2 other lads possibly heading down under and talk to both darragh and thomas packing it in, we could be about to enter a period of famine again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Ian_K wrote: »
    Anyone else p*ssed off that we dont get 2 see Cork kick the sh*t out of him in the league next year??

I will give you the benefit of the doubt as you only have a few posts, but consider this a friendly warning. Posts that can be seen to be inciting violence against players are not welcome, please read the charter before posting in the GAA forum again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Well he got what he wanted so there is no point in him staying now.He fulfilled the legacy of achievements his father achieved and now it is time to go back to the AFL in Oz.The AFL coaches fully supported him in his decision so it is natural that he will return to Aussie Rules and make his living there playing in a warm country.

The book wouldn't have helped matters but I don't think it would feature much in how he is perceived.You just have to look at Jack O Connor to see that.

Personally,I am mildly happy he is gone.He is a good player but I don't think it will affect Kerry so much the way their fans think it will.We all know that there is an assembly line of talent breaking into team and if Darragh O Se is gone,he will be replaced by Tommy Griffin to partner Scanlon.Meanwhile Kerry still have Gooch,Declan O Sullivan,Kieran Donaghy,Paul Galvin,Marc and Tomas O Se and Darren Sullivan.So based on these names alone,I don't think Kerry are in a terribly bad position.

Galway,Dublin,Armagh and Mayo are all gone back while the likes of Meath,Derry and Monaghan look to be improving.It is hard to predict how Cork will react next year and also Tyrone with that Sean Cavanagh-Mickey Harte affair.

Kennelly's departure won't be as massive as made out.I'd be more concerned with the departure of Tommy Walsh and the Kerry back line if Tommy Griffin is taken out of there and if McCarthy decides to retire again.

see the thing is, we got an exceptionally bunch of talented players emerging 95-2000 and thp most of those lads are still there, marc, thomas, tom sul, galvin etc etc.....these lads are not getting any younger. we still will have some of the top players in the country like gooch, declan, thomas (i hope) star etc etc around for years yet. however, im slightly worried that 3 players off our panel will hurt our strength in depth. 1-20 i still think we are as good as there is, and we came close to winning last years final without galvin, tadhg and Mike Mccarthy. This year we did it without Donaghy.

Opens the door for Sheehan, Donnacha, Barry John and Paul O connor to take the spots made available in the starting 15, assuming that Star will be the direct replacement for Darragh O Shea. Cork i think will dominate for a few years now until the likes of Murphy, Canty, Lynch pack it in.

Kerry can survive this next year, but if we dont get 2 or 3 underage superstars like cork have got in the past 2 years (o neill, kerrigan, Goulding), we will be left behind. i think there surely is 3 young lads who can come in, have 3 in mind (keeper, center back and corner forward) but i will wait to see their progress next year at minors before pinning my hopes on them!

expected better from you to be honest. poor attitude to a man who worked his socks off all year. he was definately in the top 15 players in the country this year, making him far from over rated.

he will be a massive loss, a massive loss. with him and 2 other lads possibly heading down under and talk to both darragh and thomas packing it in, we could be about to enter a period of famine again.
    blackbelt wrote: »
    Well he got what he wanted so there is no point in him staying now.He fulfilled the legacy of achievements his father achieved and now it is time to go back to the AFL in Oz.The AFL coaches fully supported him in his decision so it is natural that he will return to Aussie Rules and make his living there playing in a warm country.

The book wouldn't have helped matters but I don't think it would feature much in how he is perceived.You just have to look at Jack O Connor to see that.

Personally,I am mildly happy he is gone.He is a good player but I don't think it will affect Kerry so much the way their fans think it will.We all know that there is an assembly line of talent breaking into team and if Darragh O Se is gone,he will be replaced by Tommy Griffin to partner Scanlon.Meanwhile Kerry still have Gooch,Declan O Sullivan,Kieran Donaghy,Paul Galvin,Marc and Tomas O Se and Darren Sullivan.So based on these names alone,I don't think Kerry are in a terribly bad position.
    Kennelly's departure won't be as massive as made out.I'd be more concerned with the departure of Tommy Walsh and the Kerry back line if Tommy Griffin is taken out of there and if McCarthy decides to retire again.

I still stand by what I wrote (quoted again by me here) homerjay. Seriously though he did play the politics of KerryGAA extremely well, I won't deny that but ...
    Ah c'mon, you cannot say without a doubt that he deserved that all-star above the likes of Mike McCarthy or even Darragh O'Se and that is exactly what happened in terms of the Kerry quota of all-stars in my opinion. He did not deserve that all-star.
    I agree with blackbelt : We will however greatly miss Tommy Walsh but Kerry won't be at a loss without Tadgh in 2010, I have no doubts about that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Fair play to any player that can come back and win an All Ireland like that, but the 1 thing that surprises me is that no-one is questioning how a professional sportsman can come here, get a job with the county board and sponsorship from other organisations, win an amateur All Ireland, and then go back to his professional sport again

Clareman wrote: »
    Fair play to any player that can come back and win an All Ireland like that, but the 1 thing that surprises me is that no-one is questioning how a professional sportsman can come here, get a job with the county board and sponsorship from other organisations, win an amateur All Ireland, and then go back to his professional sport again

????? :confused::confused::confused:

tadhg is a born and bred kerryman, who played gaa all his life. what is wrong with him moving to other sports? sure, aint there plenty of examples of lads playing soccer in england and coming back playing and nobody gave a toss about them? only thing, is tadhg is actually wanted back over there and was offered big money to go back. i dont think anybody would have turned it down. i suspect, that he will play for 2 more years there, do his coaching badges, set up a scouting school and set a legacy for his future, before returing to kerry for 1/2 more years and finish his playing career here, before moving back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Got what he wanted. I wouldn't blame him for heading back to a country that isn't in the sh1tter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I still stand by what I wrote (quoted again by me here) homerjay. Seriously though he did play the politics of KerryGAA extremely well, I won't deny that but ...
    Ah c'mon, you cannot say without a doubt that he deserved that all-star above the likes of Mike McCarthy or even Darragh O'Se and that is exactly what happened in terms of the Kerry quota of all-stars in my opinion. He did not deserve that all-star.
    I agree with blackbelt : We will however greatly miss Tommy Walsh but Kerry won't be at a loss without Tadgh in 2010, I have no doubts about that.

The players you mentioned are not half forwards. Kennelly deserved his all star.

In your opinion he deserved that all-star but I still maintain he didn't. If either Darragh or Mike got their all-stars in their relevant positions, then that all-star he received would have gone elsewhere in my opinion. That is why I mentioned the Kerry quota of all-stars.

Anyway all-stars whether deserved or not aside, he is going back to Oz and I for one don't believe he will be missed on the playing pitch in 2010 for Kerry. He did help with the moral in the team but so does every other player including Kieran Donaghy who will be back on the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Kennellys sin was that he told the truth.

Many players, that are feted by the media and the public have deliberately gone to takeout the oppositions key men. There are many examples, but there is always deniability.

Kennelly is hated by many now because he showed us an uncomfortable truth, he has stated baldly what everyone knows but refuses to confront.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭powerfade

Best of luck to Tadgh, I honestly don't think Kerry would have won an All-Ireland this year without him. He brought a fresh attitude and personality to the Kerry camp which was badly needed, we barely struggled through anyways. He will be a huge loss for us, in his first year back he got stronger and stronger with every game, I was looking forward to him having a few epic tussles with Cavanagh co...

Go mbeidh an tádh leat Tadhg and thanks for a great year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

powerfade wrote: »
    Best of luck to Tadgh, I honestly don't think Kerry would have won an All-Ireland this year without him. He brought a fresh attitude and personality to the Kerry camp which was badly needed, we barely struggled through anyways. He will be a huge loss for us, in his first year back he got stronger and stronger with every game, I was looking forward to him having a few epic tussles with Cavanagh co...

Go mbeidh an tádh leat Tadhg and thanks for a great year.
    Kerry would have won the All Ireland without him, I cann't see the big fuss over him. He's pretty ordinary to me, just because he played professional Aussie rules some people think they have to make a big fuss over him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

with him and 2 other lads possibly heading down under and talk to both darragh and thomas packing it in, we could be about to enter a period of famine again.

Ah would ya feck off! Ya pull this one every year and then 2 or 3 more come in to take over and famine is averted lol. Only messing of course. For the future of Kerry, Walsh, if he stays in Oz will be a massive loss. One of the most promising players in the country. As for Kennelly, while i would be banned for giving my feelings about that challenge at the start of the final, i do have respect for the guy (yes, even as a dub hehe). He said he wanted to come back and win an AI with Kerry and did it. Expected him to stick around longer but at the end of it all, AFL pays so cant judge him too harshly. Also, from what i seen of him he is damn good at AFL!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Whatever about Kerry, I think it's a joke that the Swans took him back. He didn't honour his contract and commitment to them and just fecked off. Now he comes waltzing back in to a cushy new two year deal. I'd be telling him where to go. He's just lucky the Swans are sh*t at the moment and need all the help they can get.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Whatever about Kerry, I think it's a joke that the Swans took him back. He didn't honour his contract and commitment to them and just fecked off. Now he comes waltzing back in to a cushy new two year deal. I'd be telling him where to go. He's just lucky the Swans are sh*t at the moment and need all the help they can get.

There's a lot more to it than that. Firstly, he left on good terms as they understood his motivations, secondly as you say they need all the help they can get, thirdly he's a better AFL player than GAA player so they were falling over themselves to get him back.

he left there in very good terms. they didnt "take him back", they came to him and offered him a new deal.it was clear, the last time he made a contract, that he would go home any time. they also knew his stance that after his dad died, his time in Sydney was coming to an end.

if he broke contract with them or did anything remotely unruley,there is no way that he would have been offered a new deal. He is considered one of their all time greats and has given hi life up for that club. he is well respected there and i feel, will be offered a job at the club for as long as he wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Boca

Whatever about Kerry, I think it's a joke that the Swans took him back. He didn't honour his contract and commitment to them and just fecked off.

Nonsense. He had an agreement with the Swans - it was widely reported when he signed the contract.

Anyway, Kerry's loss, Sydney's gain. Win, win. :cool:

Boca wrote: »
    Nonsense. He had an agreement with the Swans - it was widely reported when he signed the contract.

Exactly.

He had an agreement to leave the Swans when his contract expired, not a year before. He changed his mind and said he wanted to leave a year early, therefore breaking HIS terms.

If it was a club like Geelong or St. Kilda then they would have told him to get fucked, but the Swans are struggling with an aging team and they've just lost two of their biggest players (Darren Jolly and Barry Hall).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Boca

He had an agreement to leave the Swans when his contract expired, not a year before. He changed his mind and said he wanted to leave a year early, therefore breaking HIS terms.
    I have clearly stated my intentions on that. They have never given me a long contract because I have asked them not to. I don't want a four-year contract when I might want to go back after a year.

If it was a club like Geelong or St. Kilda ....
    :confused: You're joking, right?

Boca wrote: »
    :confused: You're joking, right?

Course I'm serious. He broke his contract -
    On the last day of August 2006, Kennelly ended months of speculation by announcing he would be staying on with the Swans for a further three years. Kennelly said that this would be his last AFL contract and that he would be returning to Ireland at the end of the three year contract.

So three years from August 2006 covers the 2007, 2008 and 2009 AFL seasons. He only played the first two of those before changing his mind and deciding to go home early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

When you sit back and analyse what he did he fairly pulled the wool over a lot of peoples eyes. He was, by county standard, a poor player but because of the media hype pushing behind him he was basically going to get on the team.
    Now the issues that I would have are that another player in Kerry missed out this year on getting an All-Ireland medal because he came home to play and then coupled with his book he has admitted to premeditated dangerous play. He certainly took the taint of his brief stint and although I'm sure he's a nice guy and all that he's now going back to Australia so that he can claim his testimonial monies.
    If this had happened in other counties we'd be hearing so much about it - it appears that its alright because he's from Kerry and that his Fathers reputation preceded him.
    Didn't he also get a cushy coaching job? Wonder how long it took him to get child protection, foundation and level 1 coaching courses completed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Kennelly is hated by many now because he showed us an uncomfortable truth, he has stated baldly what everyone knows but refuses to confront.
    Ah now, he's a little thin on top and has a receding hairline but there's no need to make fun of the guy;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭listowel1

Xavi6, you seem to have a very large chip on your shoulder with Tadhg. When he announced that he was returning to listowel and Kerry you were abusing him from the off.Why? Have you got an all ireland medal? Do you know what it is like to play for your county? Do you know what it is like to play against Dublin in Croker? Do you what it is like to play against Cork In ALL ireland final?
    This is what brought him home, a wil to win an all ireland senior football medal...He made sacrifices to go to Australia first( leaving his family etc..) Came home left his gf in sydney, friends he made over there etc.... Now he decides he wants to go back, fair play to him, its his life his choices!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 tominkerry

“If one tells the truth, one is sure, sooner or later, to be found out” Oscar Wilde. Tadgh will be the first to admit he made mistakes, particularly with ‘Unfinished Business’. However, you can’t deny his contribution in bringing Sam back to the Kingdom and in my opinion, paradoxically allowing last year’s villain, Paul Galvin to hunker down and get on with what he does best outside of the media spotlight. Tadgh though will be missed – not just by the media (he is an articulate and photogenic young man) but also by his very young supporters in his home town. Listowel needed a lift and he gave it loads this last year culminating in brining Sam to town in September watched by thousands of young adoring fans. Young people need heroes and Tadgh was right up there. We wish him the best down under and also acknowledge the sacrifices he made in emulating his late father. The voucher he got for free dancing lessons is still valid when he comes back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

mrgaa1 wrote: »
    When you sit back and analyse what he did he fairly pulled the wool over a lot of peoples eyes. He was, by county standard, a poor player but because of the media hype pushing behind him he was basically going to get on the team.
    Now the issues that I would have are that another player in Kerry missed out this year on getting an All-Ireland medal because he came home to play and then coupled with his book he has admitted to premeditated dangerous play. He certainly took the taint of his brief stint and although I'm sure he's a nice guy and all that he's now going back to Australia so that he can claim his testimonial monies.
    If this had happened in other counties we'd be hearing so much about it - it appears that its alright because he's from Kerry and that his Fathers reputation preceded him.
    Didn't he also get a cushy coaching job? Wonder how long it took him to get child protection, foundation and level 1 coaching courses completed?
    Right... you effectivly made you're whole argument void in the first line. "By county standards, a poor player?" He won clean ball at midfield, fought for breaks, distributed effectivly, kept Graham Canty quiet for the All Ireland final. Yes he indeed sounds like a poor player. This is Kerry not London or Letrim (no offence meant at all) we're talking about. A player will not walk on a team because he is publicly liked, or its a good media story! He trained himself into the ground for this All Ireland medel. He brought physical and especially tactical nous to a wavering team. The legecy that he leaves should not be about him catching Nicholas Murphy or about "betraying kerry" it should be left to his points in the All Ireland Final. Or his foot passes over the top of the Dubs defence for Gooch in the QF.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Ah now, he's a little thin on top and has a receding hairline but there's no need to make fun of the guy;)

what has this got to do with football? the humour thread is elsewhere....

i will sum it up with one statement - massive loss to Kerry but good luck to him.

listowel1 wrote: »
    Xavi6, you seem to have a very large chip on your shoulder with Tadhg. When he announced that he was returning to listowel and Kerry you were abusing him from the off.Why? Have you got an all ireland medal? Do you know what it is like to play for your county? Do you know what it is like to play against Dublin in Croker? Do you what it is like to play against Cork In ALL ireland final?
    This is what brought him home, a wil to win an all ireland senior football medal...He made sacrifices to go to Australia first( leaving his family etc..) Came home left his gf in sydney, friends he made over there etc.... Now he decides he wants to go back, fair play to him, its his life his choices!!

Firstly, I never abused him. That would involved name calling or something similar. I'd like you to provide a link to where I did that.

Secondly, he may have had good reasons for going home but the point I have said from the off is that he broke the terms of a contract that HE decided upon, and I disagree with that. Don't agree to something if you're going to change your mind shortly after.

Why couldn't he have seen out the three years like he agreed? Not much difference in returning home in 2009 or 2010, and at least the integrity couldn't be questioned then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Having lived some time in oz while Tadgh was playing there, and following Aussie rules, I can understand why he was so taken a back by the Public reaction towards his hit on Nicholas Murphy.
    Out there, the way they play the game if you admitted after the match you went out to intentionally hit someone they'd probably give you a pat on the back and say fair play. Over here, such a thing as we have seen would cause public outrage. I dont quite know what that is, my theory is the Aussie rules crowd are quite bravado & macho whilst in the GAA has very strong ethics about playing in the ''spirit of the game, tough but fair'' etc.
    It was just something he picked up from Aussie rules and I do feel for him a bit because it would never have been his intention to upset or offend anyone by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

i will sum it up with one statement - massive loss to Kerry but good luck to him.

He won't be a massive loss to Kerry at all. Tommy Walsh will be however.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    He won't be a massive loss to Kerry at all. Tommy Walsh will be however.

Star can take over the Tommy walsh role. we only need one of them.

Tadhg however was the answer to what we are lacking in - a natural athlete who will score, defend, pick up breaks, carry the ball and be a physical presence also.

Eoin Brosnan did it now and then and Declan sullivan and paul galvin, but those 2 lads have other different qualities that are so vital to the team and cannot offer the complete package that tadhg offers. if we had him lining out on the 40 this year, id be happy to see star lead the team from midfield with DOS in at 14. however no, it looks like we will have to play DOS on the 40 and Star then at FF, meaning a gap to fill, if darragh retires, at midfield.

one player i would love to see get another crack at the team is Quill. I hope he has a good Munster club and makes the panel for the league. on his day, one of the best players in ireland, who is not playing intercounty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Without going on too much of a personal attack here- I think he has devalued an all ireland winners medal.
    He deprived another squad member of a medal(such as Kieran Quirke, who was dropped from the final panel having given a few years service to Kerry).
    He showed coming back not to be a personal ambition but yet another thing he would like to tick off his list.
    He played the media perfectly in this country and to be honest a lot of our reporters and media outlets looked like slack-jawed idiots with the amount of time and attention they gave him.
    I think it was just a serious showing of selfishness and vanity on Tadhgs part and it still angers me how he played the media so much(he became the Roy 'mediawhore' Keane of the GAA)
    But best of luck to him- he got what he wanted and so did we.
    Heres hoping that the rebuilding process doesnt take too long and fellas like Maher/ BJ Walsh can step up quickly/

On one last point- if David Moran decides to leave, he will be the biggest loss of the 3 in the long run.
    This guy oozes talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

he is a class player and will be missed.he did play the media a lot but i'd say he intends to pursue a career in the media when he is finished with the games.fair play to him for doing what no other irish player has done and won a premiership afl and an all-ireland medal.im delighted for him and hope that he goes on to further success in australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭PhosphoricAcid

Completely over-rated.Worst Player to get an All-star in recent times. Looks very uncomfortable with ball in hand and poor shot taking ability
    great athelete though shows the difference between pro and amatuer

FFS he's not even the worse player to get an all star this year. Does anyone honestly think that someone like Jack O'Connor would pick anyone who did not improve the quality and balance of his teams play? Think what you will about Kennelly's agenda, his media whoredom, his published drivel, but for people to question the merits of his all ireland medal, his all star, or his overall contribution to his county winning an all ireland is to completely ignore reality. Even in his first game back, where he did look like a duck out of water with the nuances of the game to be fair, you could see an ability to link up, an ability to think one or two steps ahead of the play, and a sense of vision that his career as a professional athlete afforded him.
    Was he Kerry's best player? Not by a long shot. Did he deserve his spot on the final fifteen based on ability and performance? Damn right he did. Did he deserve an all star? Show me the alternatives.