If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ingrid Miley- Short Rant

• 06-11-2009 10:38PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭

After years of EMT/Paramedics fighting for proper recognition, months of fighting to keep the pay cuts at bay, arguing that we are professionals with professional titles ie; EMT, Paramedics, Advanced Paramedics.

Ingrid Miley on RTE News tonight, talking about Wednesday's 24/7 Alliance march, she turned and called us "Ambulance Drivers"..!!!
    Thank you RTE and Ingrid Miley, it took forty years to shake that title, and just when we need our proper professional title of Paramedic to be heard in the news, you go and rubbish it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

So we shouldnt call ye ambulance drivers....no???!!!!:p:p:D:D

*only messing, I fully agree*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Bang Bang wrote: »
    it took forty years to shake that title, and just when we need our proper professional title of Paramedic to be heard in the news, you go and rubbish it:mad:

Yeah, I noticed that myself. Great bit of research there by RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

In fairness to the newsreader, she read it off an auto cue. Your rant should be against the news editor !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Klunk001

You might as well get used to it. RTE still don't know the difference between the Irish Air Corp and the Irish Coast Guard :confused:, and the odd time they do get it right they think the IRCG have one helicopter :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Why don't one of you get the AAP to contact them for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

http://www.rte.ie/news/contacts.html
    There's a contact e-mail for the editorial section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

sgthighway wrote: »
    Why don't one of you get the AAP to contact them for the future.

Ambulance drivers union?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Bang Bang wrote: »
    After years of EMT/Paramedics fighting for proper recognition, months of fighting to keep the pay cuts at bay, arguing that we are professionals with professional titles ie; EMT, Paramedics, Advanced Paramedics.

Ingrid Miley on RTE News tonight, talking about Wednesday's 24/7 Alliance march, she turned and called us "Ambulance Drivers"..!!!
    Thank you RTE and Ingrid Miley, it took forty years to shake that title, and just when we need our proper professional title of Paramedic to be heard in the news, you go and rubbish it:mad:

I suppose this means that when Binmen have a dispute and Ingrid Miley fails to call them ' Sanitation Engineers ' then it's their turn to hassle RTE.
    Honestly guys .... get over it - I'd have thought there were far more important things to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

delancey42 wrote: »
    I suppose this means that when Binmen have a dispute and Ingrid Miley fails to call them ' Sanitation Engineers ' then it's their turn to hassle RTE.
    Honestly guys .... get over it - I'd have thought there were far more important things to worry about.

In fairness to the OP, if a body has earned the right to be referred to a specific title then it should be afforded to them.

In my opinion, the title "Ambulance Driver" does not reflect the advanced multi skills one has studied hard to earn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Where do people actaully see the prehosptial "profession" starting???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Oh come on.

Ambulance driver and paramedic mean completely different things to Joe Public (me!)

Paramedics should be called their correct title.

Op - suggest change your thread title to RTE not Ingrid Miley.... Plus send in complaint to RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,360 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I agree. Ambulance Driver is a bit too close to Ambulance Chaser for comfort. You could get sued! :D

Seriously, I support the OP here.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Bang Bang

I worked and studied damn hard to earn my professional title of Paramedic.
    I gained my qualification and graduated through University College Dublin, not the Irish School of Motoring.

As for far more things to worry about, yes we are trying to protect our salaries and conditions, degrading and destroying our professional title on national television is not helping the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 drill

brayblue24 wrote: »
    Yeah, I noticed that myself. Great bit of research there by RTE

In fairness she mite have read the hompage :http://www.frontlinealliance.ie/

"The 24/7 Frontline Alliance represents workers, including gardai, nurses, fire fighters, prison officers and ambulance drivers, who deliver emergency and other vital services to the public, often at considerable risk to themselves. It is committed to protecting its members’ interests and the services they provide to the public."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

drill wrote: »
    In fairness she mite have read the hompage :http://www.frontlinealliance.ie/

"The 24/7 Frontline Alliance represents workers, including gardai, nurses, fire fighters, prison officers and ambulance drivers, who deliver emergency and other vital services to the public, often at considerable risk to themselves. It is committed to protecting its members’ interests and the services they provide to the public."

Well spotted Drill.

I see the website is managed by INOs technical team so I have sent them the email below
    To whom it may concern,

I am a member of An Garda Siochana and thought you should be made aware of a small indiscretion on your website. It concerns a point raised on a thread on Boards.ie here http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055732545. A long standing member of boards is an EMT and is not particularly happy with a specific comment from Ingrid Miley broadcasted on RTE news on the 6th November who refered to Paramedics as "Ambulance Drivers". On post number 10 of the thread from another poster shows the introduction of the 24/7 Frontline Alliance website which does indeed say "Ambulance Drivers" as opposed to the correct title of "Paramedic". A small mistake but I would appreciate if it could be reviewed and corrected for our fellow emergency services colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You'd quickly know an RTE "newsreader" is a journalist if you dared to make the mistake calling them newsreader...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,897 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

You'd quickly know an RTE "newsreader" is a journalist if you dared to make the mistake calling them newsreader...

True enough. It'll be interesting to see if TheNog gets a reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Got a reply just now below. I have taken out the persons name. Fair play to them.
    Dear ************,

I wish to acknowledge receipt of your email re the wording re Ambulance Drivers, I apologise on behalf of the website team, a change in wording will be made, I have passed your email on to the Public Relations personnel for the 24/7 Alliance.

Regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Quick too, website was updated.
    The 24/7 Frontline Alliance represents workers, including gardai, nurses, fire fighters, prison officers and ambulance personnel, who deliver emergency and other vital services to the public, often at considerable risk to themselves. It is committed to protecting its members’ interests and the services they provide to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

psni wrote: »
    True enough. It'll be interesting to see if TheNog gets a reply.

Well done nog. Good thinking and fair play for stepping up to emailing them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Well doone on getting that clarified.

Now, just one question.

Who the [EMAIL="f#@k"]f#@k[/EMAIL] is driving the ambulances now?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Smokey Bear

Deadwood is it not in your 58th type of allowance to drive ambo :D