Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Panel (5/11)..Just me or was it crap??

• 05-11-2009 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭

So there I was watching The panel tonight on RTE1 with David Mc Williams and it more like Primetime or a Labour political broadcast. Not at all funny and far too serious with McWilliams. Reckon Mairead only spoke 10 words in the whole 40mins and Colin Murphy didn't do much either...Any opinions

Did you enjoy The Panel on RTE1 (5/11/09) 40 votes

Yes it was crap
    0% 0 votes
    No, I enjoyed it
    100% 40 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Was just about to post exact same , was like Prime Time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

that dont impress me much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Lazy feckers, we're chatting about it for hours over on the TV forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Moved from AHs.
    Edit:
    Apologies Mods, only now realising there is already a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭batman2000

Apologies for not posting in Television originally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 suki07

really not liking mcwilliams presenting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Misleading answers to poll are misleading.

They should be:

A) Yes, I enjoyed it
    B) No, it was crap

Oh give over, it had its moments, i've seen worse on RTE

suki07 wrote: »
    really not liking mcwilliams presenting!

True and when Gilmore and McWilliams were talking the other panelist's didnt know what to say and looked bored. Maxwell tried but just looked stupid and not funny

I concede 2nd half was crap, but I did enjoy 1st half

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Misleading answers to poll are misleading.

They should be:

A) Yes, I enjoyed it
    B) No, it was crap

Yes, it's slightly misleading I meant ask the question "Was it crap..?" A)Yes it was; B)No it wasn't
    Apologies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭blueshark22

I actually was really looking forward to the panel tonight , i thought mcwilliams would be a really good host but for me tonight just didn't deliver. it was far too politically/ economically based for me - there didn't seem to be one item outta the papers or anything ...i don't know maybe he'll grow into it , i hope he does cause i used to really love this show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Grainne101

Oh my God, I like DMW but hes not a funny guy, sorry but hes just not, its not his fault, economists aren't exactly known for their comic ability. Was a very poor show, must do better methinks or this will end up being yet another RTE flop and God knows RTE 2 has been full of them this season as it is without RTE 1 joining in too!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

I usually love The Panel, but tonight it was just awful.

Nothing funny on/about it tonight.

David isn't a great host, maybe (hopefully!) he'll grow into it and it will become a better show, though.

Also, was it just me or did anyone else notice, was David a bit slow asking questions to the guests/panelists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

It was just terrible. More like a politics show than a comedy one. Did Murphy get a look in at all, he was totally lost.

The 1st half had its moments, but that 2nd half was painful to watch, it could have been Questions and Answers or any of those political/economic based shows.

Ok we all know its never gonna be as good as when Dara was presenting it, but this was way too serious and totally unfunny.

RIP The Panel for sure after this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭chillin_penguin

They have ruined the panel its now more like questions and answers rather then making fun on everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Surreal moment when McWilliams started going on about apologising to Miriam O'Callaghan.....I can't recall any lead-in that led to it, and I thought I was accidentally watching the out-takes......

REALLY weird! I thought the guy was going to start crying or something.

Fair play to him for having the guts to apologise on national TV, but this definitely wasn't the forum for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

McWilliams' thunderous, robotic laughter at every "comedy" line became distracting after about 5 mins. The first half was pretty bad, but the second half just came across as "Questions and Answers Lite".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭me1724

Terrible.... the first half was supposed to be better, I only saw the second half but we really taught we were watching prime time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Gave up watching after 10-15 mins !! awful tv...

Maxwell draged a joke out to long and the pause afterward was horrible, felt bad for him, only himself and N.D were even trying !

D McW apologising to Mrs Titty for slagging her on a 'comedy' show WTF !! do it on your own time !!

And then forcing a laugh out everytime one of the panel open their mouth with somthing that wasent funny !!

Used to be a great show, wont bother with it again !!

Rant over:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

gaz wac wrote: »
    Gave up watching after 10-15 mins !! awful tv...

Maxwell draged a joke out to long and the pause afterward was horrible, felt bad for him, only himself and N.D were even trying !

D McW apologising to Mrs Titty for slagging her on a 'comedy' show WTF !! do it on your own time !!

And then forcing a laugh out everytime one of the panel open their mouth with somthing that wasent funny !!

Used to be a great show, wont bother with it again !!

Rant over:P

David McWilliams is a great guy IMO and far too good to be on that crock of crap that was on last night. Hate The Panel. These guys sitting around thinking there being really funny and biting about everything really annoy me. The few times I suffered myself to watch that show, I failed to even smirk once; in fact, it was really a painful and embarrasing experience. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 AndyT

Stevecw wrote: »

RIP The Panel for sure after this series.

According to Andrew Maxwell at a recent Galway show, RTE have already axed 'The Panel'.
    This is the last series.
    Hence they probably don't care that DMW is a poor presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭andrew90

me1724 wrote: »
    Terrible.... the first half was supposed to be better, I only saw the second half but we really taught we were watching prime time....
    Brian Cowens interview with Miriam O Callaghan earlier on Prime Time was funnier, enough said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

i mean its as simple a concept as rte could possibly get. just get a funny frontman(brendan o'conor would be perfect if u ask me) and a few good panelists and let them yap away. dont script it just bluff it as you go along and you have a funny show. rte wouldnt know how to do this seemingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Zigmund

batman2000 wrote: »
    So there I was watching The panel tonight on RTE1 with David Mc Williams and it more like Primetime or a Labour political broadcast. Not at all funny and far too serious with McWilliams. Reckon Mairead only spoke 10 words in the whole 40mins and Colin Murphy didn't do much either...Any opinions

The editing crew must've been working overtime...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭onway

Was also very disappointed with The Panel.............it seems to have turned into the David McWillliams show as he really dominated the conversation - rather than facilitating the panel members.Also,the big laughs throughout the show were very annoying.....:(