Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tattoos Acceptance in the Guards or PSNI

• 05-11-2009 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

Hello,

Im looking to know if tattoos may effect being employed as a Guard or PSNI?

Like a silly teen i got myself tattoos but now that im 25 im worried that it may effect me being let in. I have one on my arm but when i wear a shirt you wont see it?Theres no religious/political or any other meaning either, would this matter>

I was just wondering if anyone has heard anything on this?

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Hello,

Im looking to know if tattoos may effect being employed as a Guard or PSNI?

Like a silly teen i got myself tattoos but now that im 25 im worried that it may effect me being let in. I have one on my arm but when i were a shirt you wont see it?Theres no religion/political or any other meaning on the tattoo either would this matter>

I was just wondering if anyone has heard anything on this?

I haven't come across anything in an garda siochana which says that you cannot have tattoos on show. Open to correction though. Anyway, we get long and short sleeve shirts so even if it did show there will be an option to cover up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

One of the lads I work with has tats on his arms, three are which are visible wearing short sleeve shirts and nothing has ever been said to him. They look pretty good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The official line in AGS is that tattoo's cannot be visable while in uniform, so long sleeve shirts only.

As for how much its enforced...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

yeah i think a few in our place have them too, including myself (tsch!). The new 'guidelines' on how to wear the uniform etc... document they printed up says that tattoos must be covered.
    I could be open to correction but the i think psni application form asks straight up if you have any and where and what are they of (At least the old one did anyway).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Here is the PSNI's policy on Tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

The official line in AGS is that tattoo's cannot be visable while in uniform, so long sleeve shirts only.

As for how much its enforced...........

Correct in one. Always has been that tats must be hidden from public view.......as charlie said though, enforcement is a different issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

When I got mine done, the tattoo artist told me he'd tattooed a lot of Gardai from Henry St.. a lot! So they must be fine, and I think most Gardai cover them up anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

eroo wrote: »
    When I got mine done, the tattoo artist told me he'd tattooed a lot of Gardai from Henry St.. a lot! So they must be fine, and I think most Gardai cover them up anyways.

Henry Street Limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

TechnoPool wrote: »
    Henry Street Limerick?
    Is there another henry st Garda station?
    In the good ole days in the depot, Reggie would make life difficult for anyone with visible tattoos.
    And as he was a swimming instructor, amongst other things... lts of members had to resort to tattoos on their ass;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Interesting, would any one - or have you heard of anyone getting AGS or police related/specific tattoos? i.e. guardians of the peace, justice orientated etc... or that a bit too much?! ha! What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

the locust wrote: »
    Interesting, would any one - or have you heard of anyone getting AGS or police related/specific tattoos? i.e. guardians of the peace, justice orientated etc... or that a bit too much?! ha! What do you think?

Ha , I can see it now - The Garda Crest and instead of the words Garda Siochana na hEireann it reads '' Guardians of the Rent Allowance '' :D:D

Is there another henry st Garda station?
    In the good ole days in the depot, Reggie would make life difficult for anyone with visible tattoos.
    And as he was a swimming instructor, amongst other things... lts of members had to resort to tattoos on their ass;)
    The same artist related to me how he had to tattoo a really fat detective many years ago... lets just say the craic was not mighty!!!
    the locust wrote: »
    All depends on personal taste tbh.. a tattoo is very personal. I thought about mine for a year before I got it done. If you were very proud of your organisation and it's history.. why not!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

..lots of members had to resort to tattoos on their ass;)

I trained with a lad who did this, Bernard Butler. Got his own initials on the cheeks of his behind. It was there for all to see in the changing area. He thought he was cool as a cucumber until I asked him who the hell Bob was?!

deadwood wrote: »
    I trained with a lad who did this, Bernard Butler. Got his own initials on the cheeks of his behind. It was there for all to see in the changing area. He thought he was cool as a cucumber until I asked him who the hell Bob was?!

Ha ha ha ha

You always know how to brighten up a Monday:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 inallinanyways

sad but true I know two banners who have their reg numbers tatooe on the sides of their feet??? I am geting tattooed on the inside of my wrist and couldnt care less will cover it with a watch if needs be

sad but true I know two banners who have their reg numbers tatooe on the sides of their feet???

With some of the big girls I go for, I might do the same thing myself!

I am geting tattooed on the inside of my wrist and couldnt care less will cover it with a watch if needs be
    Get a tattoo of a watch.