Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

interclub compitition bandits.

• 05-11-2009 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭

just read on another thread that 15 handicappers shoot 8 and 9 over in interclub compititions . im changeing cluubs this year to a club with a better golf club spirit (take their golf more seriously) as i want to play inter club golf . i play off 10 and im lucky to shoot 8 or 9 over . if they are all bandits then whats the point ? i hope this is not true . cheaters and bandits are the same thing imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

The results of a 12 hole comp in my home club last weekend go as follows:

1st: 34 pts
    2nd: 33 pts
    3rd: 32 pts

So ridiculous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

callaway92 wrote: »
    The results of a 12 hole comp in my home club last weekend go as follows:

1st: 34 pts
    2nd: 33 pts
    3rd: 32 pts

So ridiculous

Yeah this is the classic bandit profile...they can shoot genuine scores as no cuts apply in a 12 hole comp.

Here is the classic bandit profile.

Rarely plays in 18 hole single comps

can work out around hole 12 what is likely to be a winning score and will "apply the brakes" to avoid H/Cap cut.

Is in demand for and plays a lot of team golf...again no H/cap implications.

Is almost impossible for the genuine player to beat in matchplay ...

Handicap committees KNOW who these individuals are but won't cut on observation for fear of disrupting club teams....

There's a lot of it about ...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Handicap committees KNOW who these individuals are but won't cut on observation for fear of disrupting club teams....

Not in my club.
    The handicap secretaries have been going to town on our resident bandits in recent years, thank fook.

Bastards ruin it for everyone.
    I've played plenty of interclub and must admit I haven't come up against that many, although I've been playing in the high single figure bracket. I'd have said that bandits usually hold their handicaps at an artificially high level ie high teens, so I wouldn't really come up against them.

I could name at least 10 in my club who have been taken to task in the last 3 years, and not before time.
    Some even have the nerve to complain for being cut on general observation:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Those scores stated by Callaway are more than ridiculous, there shameful. Surely the aim for any golfer is to reduce their handicap and not play in the high teens all their lives, not exactly something to look back on and say ‘yeah happy with the golf I played when I was younger, playing off 19 was really rewarding!!’.

I wonder and I know it happens in some clubs, they undergo an end of year review of handicaps, say if these bandits did well in the non-qualifying or team events surely this would give the club leg room to cut them???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

They are indeed shameful but the facts remain clear for all to see. The Handicap Sec of Callaways Club has never played off single figures and is one of the most comfortable 14/15 handicaps out there! But this is only the follow on to a coup that took place in that Club a few years back when decent employed and honest men were not voted into the Mens Committee. Instead, a crew of unemployed and unemployable(nothing against being unemployed lads but this was in the boom times!!) bandits formed an allegiance and got the bandits in to preserve the status quo. A water shed in the history of this Club. I have been watching this place for a while now and it finally looks like the members are gonna take no more. It hit home when a few members who were happy to just play the golf and leave the running of the club to who ever were told a few startling facts by other golfers while playing away from home.
    Stories of bandits and skullduggery were aplenty and the club involved was being dragged through the muck and the members with it.
    The Club in question was again brought into the spotlight with a dispicable decision that saw three juniors robbed of some very valuable prizes because individuals on Committee decided to move the posts after the result was known. Hopefully, that matter gets rectified as it is in litigation at the moment and these cronnies are shown the gate:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

They are indeed shameful but the facts remain clear for all to see. The Handicap Sec of Callaways Club has never played off single figures and is one of the most comfortable 14/15 handicaps out there! But this is only the follow on to a coup that took place in that Club a few years back when decent employed and honest men were not voted into the Mens Committee. Instead, a crew of unemployed and unemployable(nothing against being unemployed lads but this was in the boom times!!) bandits formed an allegiance and got the bandits in to preserve the status quo. A water shed in the history of this Club. I have been watching this place for a while now and it finally looks like the members are gonna take no more. It hit home when a few members who were happy to just play the golf and leave the running of the club to who ever were told a few startling facts by other golfers while playing away from home.
    Stories of bandits and skullduggery were aplenty and the club involved was being dragged through the muck and the members with it.
    The Club in question was again brought into the spotlight with a dispicable decision that saw three juniors robbed of some very valuable prizes because individuals on Committee decided to move the posts after the result was known. Hopefully, that matter gets rectified as it is in litigation at the moment and these cronnies are shown the gate:mad::mad::mad:

Absolutely awful Matt. And fair play to those involved for taking action and not just complaining. Do keep us posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I have to say my club is a pleasure in this respect. Sure, you get some mad scores, but they are rare and when they do happen, are celebrated because invariably it's because someone's worked at their game, improved, and reaped the rewards.

The best ever nett score at the club is a 64 (-8), shot by a guy off 11, who had come down from 14, and now plays off 5 two years later. And he's not a kid either!

39-42 will win 95% of stableford competitions, and though the odd 44 comes in, I've also won with 37 and seen 36 win. These are all with full fields of 100-150 golfers. SSS is level par, so you do get the chop when you go low.

I've won the Captain's with two scores of -2, which would be considered very modest anywhere, but there was some wind and the course was, as you'd expect, set up tough.

As a lower h'cap, it's really nice to play in a club where managing h'caps just doesn't really go on.

C'mon Matt, you can't give us all this and not tell us the club!!!!!
    I wanna know, to avoid it.
    I have an idea, but I could be way off the mark.
    C'mon, spill...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

JCDUB wrote: »
    C'mon Matt, you can't give us all this and not tell us the club!!!!!
    I wanna know, to avoid it.
    I have an idea, but I could be way off the mark.
    C'mon, spill...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Would dearly love to guys but I really cant say it until after their AGM. I say this because f it goes to plan there will be a seismic change in personnel and the news will be that the Club is now under different management. This means that I will be reporting good news as opposed to slating the place and will not be upsetting any of he MODS!
    The Junior issue that I spoke f is a simple enough affair. It goes like this.
    The Club had an Open Singles Competition every week for the length of the golf season. Winner, second, third and gross qualified every week for a final that was played in October. The Open Singles is sponsored by a very big local and national business. Prizes in the Final in October varied from fourballs in The K Club with four dinners to fourballs in the local high profile club with four dinners.
    If a placed competitor had qualified already the next best then qualified for the Final ensuring that four competitors qualified each week.
    The Final took place and the winner, second and third happened to be juniors. There was nothing in the advertising that said juniors were unable to win any of the main prizes and there was no difference in the signing in procedure that identified a junior from any other category.
    From what I can make out after communicating with the Juniors involved the Comp Sec took it upon himself to "invent" a specific Junior prize and awarded the valuable prizes to the next three prize winners!
    The Juniors sent in a letter of complaint to the Mens Committee but only received a letter in reply from the Captain. Dubious enough if this occurence was even actually debated at committee level!!

I do know that the AGM is only days away and there are several Full Members that will be looking for an official explanation to this. Hopefully it will set the ball rolling and the club excretes these phonies from positions of power for good..

Sorry, I know its off topic so I must say that Club Handicap banditry is rife in most clubs. They usually stay away from the Club Comps and target the Society prizes and Classic stuff. They have been getting away with it for so long they eventually were going to brazen out the Club Comps. Its no surprise to hear that members are beginning to revolt...

Well Matt, have they had their AGM yet?

Any massive moves made?