Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another few CoD:MW2 PC Bombshells from IW

• 04-11-2009 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭

This article includes the recent best-buy developer interview which includes MORE news that the PC version of MW2 will be even crapper then we first thought.

http://bashandslash.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=775&Itemid=1

* Max players is 9v9
    (The PC version of CoD4 can support up to 26v26!) - this is just plain terrible but its evidence that the lack of dedi servers will have its effect on gamesizes.

* NO command console
    Players will not be unable to adjust their graphics settings / use quick commands to launch,admin or connect to servers - what a joke

* NO /record function
    Players will be unable to record game footage without using clunky resource heavy programs like FRAPs to record live footage - dont expect to see frag videos, or a competitive scene (90% of people wont get why this is a crock of sh1t)

* NO Leaning
    Thats right no left/right leaning - this may seem a miinor concern to most however leaning is a fundament of the CoD series which gives the game a lot of its balance - an unwelcome change imo.

* NO Mod tools at or near launch
    This means no custom maps or modding community - no official confirmation of this yet - not a suprise to anyone id imagine but still fairly ****

* Latency of 100ms on average
    The developers said that when using an AMERICAN broadband connection they play with an average ping of 100ms - this is just ****ing pathetic - Us Irish gamers can look forward to playing MP with higher pings again as our average broadband speeds would be lower then most US cable/adsl broadband variants - not to mention our pathetic upload speeds. This point is an absolute crippler for the game - regardless of what level you are in CoD you are going to notice a degradation in the fluidity of the game - and dont even think about trying to host a server!

- before anyone says "the console version works fine on Irish broadband with no lag" please keep in mind a PC creates up to 5 times the bandwidth overhead of its console counterparts - not to mention other processes which run in the background like vent,xfire and of course steam!

* No ability to kick/ban players from ranked games.
    When the game is plagued by hackers, team-killers,bug abusers and noisy kids you wont be able to remove them from a game - EVEN IF YOU ARE THE HOST. I am actaully gobsmacked at the sheer ignorance of such a situation (and it will be)

All in all, even before this game is released I am encouraging every PC gamer I know to stay away from this game - I am sure the single-player will be an epic enjoyable experience however that does not justify the (inflated price) purchase of what is in essence a heavily stripped down version of one of my most played games. The vast majority of gamers wont understand why this conrcupia of issues effects their game until its too late - I am aware of how much this looks like a nerd-rage rant but forgive me for thinking snowmobiles and fancy new weapons are not a substitute for solid developer support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Thats just depressing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

As a console gamer, I can say...no change there then. However, this is very unwelcome news for PC players!

It's not all new, we had guessed about the lack of map modding etc already but this is staggering!!

The joy of COD has always been that the PC and console versions were so different but this really is making the PC version little more than a console port over...bizarre considering that there will be so much profit made from this game that supporting PC gaming as before would have dented profits only slightly. As it is, they'll be losing profit if PC gamers stick to their guns (pun intended) and refuse to buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 ankh98

This is a joke! The COD series started on the PC and now IW seems to be turning their back on the community that has been with them from the very beginning, just because the console market is where the money is. It was inevitable i suppose, but that doesn't make it any less frustrating.

The small tweaks and mods that you could make to the previous COD games were what kept it a must buy on the PC for me. That and i just can't put up with FPS with a controller (M&KB FTW)

...End Rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

To play Devil’s advocate though – how much is the PC market worth to IW? I’m not asking sarcastically, I genuinely have idea, but I’d imagine that due the rampant piracy levels on the platform, it makes more sense for them to tailor the game to the consoles where they’ll make more money.

Treyarch, come back, all is forgiven!

This is just ugly...
    Mackey-IW: IWNet matches players together based on several factors including ping and skill. After players are matched, the most suitable host is determined. That player hosts until they quit, at which time hosting responsibilities will normally migrate to another player without interrupting the match.

Taken from the chat with IW staff http://paste2.org/p/497887

Does this mean that IWNet doesnt host the game? Will it be like the implementation of hosted servers in the consoles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Giving consideration to buying this for 360 now :/

Does this mean that IWNet doesnt host the game? Will it be like the implementation of hosted servers in the consoles?

Yep, sounds exactly like the 360 set-up. Seems like they just created the game with the 360 as the lead platform and exported it to the PC.

#Moriarte: Ignoring IW.net, is the PC version a direct port of the console version?
    #Mackey-IW: No, PC has custom stuff like mouse control, text chat in game, and graphics settings.

Whoop-de-do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭allen175

yeah i was in the chat last night with them, but i couldn't chat or ask questions, they annoyed me alot by not answering some questions or answering with "we are working on getting the game done" the game has to be done and finished at this stage.

Taking away the console is a huge mistake!! it is such a handy tool in the game!

9v9 is just ridiculous!! and their reason for locking it no higher then 9v9 is for map balance! i bet that there is going to be a big map that will be way too big for even the 9v9.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i dont mind 9v9... but everything else is ridiculous. sometimes i just wish this was one huge joke.

I’m not much of a PC gamer really. WoW, World of Goo and Titan Quest and about the limits of what my laptop can handle but to be honest this whole episode of dickery from Activision are putting me off buying MW2 on any format. I have it pre-ordered on the 360 but might just give it a miss – it’s not like I don’t have a crap load of games to play through anyway – Brutal Legend, Demon Souls, FIFA, PES10 and Risen are all eating up my time as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Hercule

The bigger joke is that these are only the problems they are willing to mention before launch.

I will be surprised if more "features" of the game include

* Several incredibly overpowered weapons and perks that people only use.
    * Several incredibly underpowered weapons and perks that people never use.
    * The vast majority of maps will be nothing more then tech demos that demonstrate fancy graphical features or exotic geographies with no thought of how well they play (e.g Creek, Farmhouse (Downpour). heck over half of the maps in CoD4 simply dont work and arent played on a competitive level.
    * The 44khz sound error that Call of Duty W@W has on some PCs
    * Mouse input lag (mouse acceleration bugs)
    * No support for certain aspect ratios/resolutions without letterboxing
    * NAT ISSUES - may god help us all, with the 1000s of different broadband providers and channels we will prob end up wiht half the community unable to see some servers or host servers their friends can see

Im putting my time/money into another game by another developer that is interested in the PC community - not just money

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Ha, hacking is gonna be great craic in this game. VAC is useless and nobody can even record a demo as proof or kick hackers from servers.

Game on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Jaysus, P.C. gamers, and I was one once upon a time, are awful whingers :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

All in all, even before this game is released I am encouraging every PC gamer I know to stay away from this game

I wouldnt touch the pc version with a barge pole but im certainly getting it on 360.
    Those into competitive gaming and or clans/communities on pc that hoped to be gracing MW2 i feel sorry for them.

Jip wrote: »
    Jaysus, P.C. gamers, and I was one once upon a time, are awful whingers :)

You'd be whinging too if you had to pay more for a game offering less than its predecessor.

I cant stand the constant accusations of "whining","whinging" or "nerd rage"

I am not saying you are one, but there is usually one clown in every single thread that goes "lol, get over it nerds!"

We arent asking for perfection, like any consumer we have expectations which if arent met, we go elsewhere - voicing our concerns prior to launch is a fair warning to sellers in any industry that they should expect a drop in sales if they dont address our concerns - albeit doing it on an Irish message board wont be too effective :D

I could make analogies on this until the end of time, for PC users the functionality is being heavily stripped back from the products predecessor - we are justified to stick to our comments and then go elsewhere with our money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Less chatter about 'whingers', keep it on topic.

This forum is for all COD players across all formats. Everyone who plays the game should feel comfortable to post here without ridicule.

EDIT: Not aimed at you Hercule :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Well I'm gonna buy it anyway, I never played COD multi-player (not my idea of fun), I enjoyed the single-player missions and MW2 looks like it will continue the trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Well I suppose the people that really want to get it, will.... I'm sure IW are just trying to find a way to keep the illegal copies from cropping up. They even found out... i can't remember the exact number, but like 40% of people playing where on illegal copies. If there wern't so many of these copies out there, they wouldn't have to go to these measures. If a good sized chunk of the CoD community didn't use these illegal copies, they wouldn't be in this mess now! :rolleyes:

I wouldn't honestly mind this way if they wern't being such money grabbing whores! The prices they are charging for this game is a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

I just hope that what IW and activision have done doesnt become the norm across PC gaming.One of the best things about pc gaming was the availability of SDK's for free and custom maps.

Only ever played custom maps for snipers on the pc but its a shame that the variety of gameplay you could see is now gonna be serverely stunted.

And as for VAC,fuk off.!!what ever they have left of MW2 will be ruined by fukkin hackers.

Will probably still get it on the xbox though(mind you only because me Graffix card is ****ed and my onboard video can barely run solitare:o)

Piracy has already been proven to be a massive problem amongst the xbox community whereby ppl have been playing the game for days already - its a myth that there is 1000s more people playing pirated multiplayer on PC - the difference is piracy is more visible and accessible (easy) - so it appears that there is more people pirating the game on PC - Vince Zampella the CEO of IW or Bobby Kotick pulled the 40% figure out of their asses. There are around 20,000 cod4 servers in the world - less then 1% of those would allow cracked copies to play - besides morons who cheap out and try play on cracked copies are shunned by 99% of the community.

The statistic I would pull out of my ass is that IW are alienating 60% of the PC community to try get rid of the 2% that are stealing the game

Regardless I dont see how crippling a lot of the features + releasing a sub-standard console port prevents piracy - things like leaning and dedicated servers are not related to piracy - and steam is not a piracy deterrent - just a hindrance - CSS/TF2/Left4dead can all be played illegally and they are part of the same steam portfolio, so the game will be the most pirated game of all time regardless of what they do.

I said this before that "the PC community may have brought this on themselves" - but its a double edged sword - I buy games that are well made (worth buying), by releasing a product which does not meet expectations they are giving people who would steal the game an incentive - there is less "value" in a bought copy (especially considering the inflated price)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Hercule wrote: »
    Piracy has already been proven to be a massive problem amongst the xbox community whereby ppl have been playing the game for days already - its a myth that there is 1000s more people playing pirated multiplayer on PC - the difference is piracy is more visible and accessible (easy) - so it appears that there is more people pirating the game on PC - Vince Zampella the CEO of IW or Bobby Kotick pulled the 40% figure out of their asses. There are around 20,000 cod4 servers in the world - less then 1% of those would allow cracked copies to play - besides morons who cheap out and try play on cracked copies are shunned by 99% of the community.

The statistic I would pull out of my ass is that IW are alienating 60% of the PC community to try get rid of the 2% that are stealing the game

Regardless I dont see how crippling a lot of the features + releasing a sub-standard console port prevents piracy - things like leaning and dedicated servers are not related to piracy - and steam is not a piracy deterrent - just a hindrance - CSS/TF2/Left4dead can all be played illegally and they are part of the same steam portfolio, so the game will be the most pirated game of all time regardless of what they do.

I said this before that "the PC community may have brought this on themselves" - but its a double edged sword - I buy games that are well made (worth buying), by releasing a product which does not meet expectations they are giving people who would steal the game an incentive - there is less "value" in a bought copy (especially considering the inflated price)

I wouldn't quote me on the 40% part ;) I can't remember the exact figure, but I think it was around that high. I'll give a quick look around for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Doomofman

The great thing is... none of this affects me... I want the game for single player only... None of this MP crap... So for me... There's no problems with this game at all :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ooPabsoo

Ye IW did quote like 40% of all people playing the game are using a pirated version,which is complete rubbish. I have never been on a cracked server and wouldnt play with people who havent bought the game as they are the ones most likely to hack....im not going to buy this game at first,if the reviews are good and the whole IWnet system works,i will buy it

i just cant believe infinity ward are doing this to pc gamers. Why change a winning system?cod4 sold very well on pc,the dedi servers have always worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

It's Deja-Vu all over again.. :(

last time it was Deus Ex 2...and look how that turned out...:(
    where are Ion Storm now?:p

• Moderators Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭Azza

Piracy is an issue on Xbox 360 but its far bigger on PC. Check the numbers on the torrent sites.

Actually they where already checked and the numbers indicate its bigger by a factor of around 10.

http://www.tweakguides.com/Piracy_4.html

Still nothing justifies this crappy treatment from Activision/Infinity Ward what ever the scale or piracy as the PC games have always sold well, not as well as the console but more than most other games on the PC. I think they are trying to set several trends and start establishing the console business model on PC as well as up the cost of games in general. Just too disgusting to think about. The pure bullcrap politician speak coming from infinity ward at the moment is downright insulting.