Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Poulter

• 03-11-2009 1:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭

I had changed the thread to be deleted as I didn't want it to a platform for people to vent their anger at Poulter, as I well aware his not liked amongst the general golfing public.. anyway here is the post:

Winner of Singapore open..

Do you think (for anyone who actually watched it) that it was a good performance?

Do you think he is lazy and an underachiever?

And finally is 8 European Tour wins a failure?

Anyone can answer the latter 2, would appreciated if people who respond to question 1 actually watched the event..

Look foward to your reponses
    (PS: if you don't like Poulter which quite a few don't please don't use this as a platform to bash him)

I write this as an article I read today, about Poulter, really got under my skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

It's time. It's time. Time for the big giveaway. Halloween has come. All you lucky kids with Silver Shamrock masks, gather 'round your TV set, put on your masks and watch. All witches, all skeletons, all Jack-O-Lanterns, gather 'round and watch. Watch the magic pumpkin. Watch...
    Wooooooo hooooooooo

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Pity you didn't leave up the original text... could have been an interesting topic :)
    Ho hum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Licksy wrote: »
    Pity you didn't leave up the original text... could have been an interesting topic :)
    Ho hum.

You think so?

Thought it might be, but I didn't really want it to be a bashing thread cause a lot of people do not like Ian Poulter.

I read an article last night from someone who I really admire and was fuming over it and I made a response on their site showcasing my anger/fustration (not rudely I may add) so in turn I wanted to know the general feeling..

Perhaps I will repost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

The guy's a good player who has made a few silly comments but then again who hasn't.

I thought he was a tad lucky winning as he played quite a few wayward shots. However a lot of people seemed to be missing shortish putts (maybe due to the grain).

Is he lazy? I don't think so.

Is 8 European wins a failure.........not on your nelly.

He isn't that well liked here but I wouldn't worry about that. You post your own honest opinions and let others worry about theirs.

The bottom line is "would I want him in the Ryder Cup team"........YES.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

In_tuition wrote: »
    I had changed the thread to be deleted as I didn't want it to a platform for people to vent their anger at Poulter, as I well aware his not liked amongst the general golfing public.. anyway here is the post:

Winner of Singapore open..

Do you think (for anyone who actually watched it) that it was a good performance?

Do you think he is lazy and an underachiever?

And finally is 8 European Tour wins a failure?

Anyone can answer the latter 2, would appreciated if people who respond to question 1 actually watched the event..

Look foward to your reponses
    (PS: if you don't like Poulter which quite a few don't please don't use this as a platform to bash him)

I write this as an article I read today, about Poulter, really got under my skin.

I saw a fair bit of it at the weekend and the quality didn't seem to be great. A lot of mistakes but he still won and it's a big enough win against a decent field.

Why would you call him lazy?

I don't think 8 wins is a failure at all. He's not that long off the tee or that impressive a player. He's won the Volvo Masters but no other big ones as far as I can remember. He's never challenged for the order of merit. 8 wins is a fair return. He's no superstar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Brockagh

Is there a link to the article you read about him. I'd like to read it too.

I can't comment objectively on Poulter, because he's not my kind of person, to put it mildly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I do think it was a solid performance in difficult conditions. There is not a hope he is lazy or an underachiever. He has proven he can win by doing so eight times and will be a Ryder Cup regular for years to come. He has put his foot in his mouth several times especially these comments in Golf World "Don't get me wrong, I really respect every professional golfer, but I know I haven't played to my full potential and when that happens, it will be just me and Tiger."
    I am not a fan but to be in 2 Ryder Cups, 3 World Cups and a decent record in the Majors is a hell of and achievement. He has the ability to be World top ten, time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I follow him on Twitter and must say he comes across a lot differently there to what I had perceived from things like the "It will be just me and Tiger" article. I don't think you could call him lazy from following his Twitter he does a lot of work on his physical conditioning and works hard on his game from what I can gather.

Of course he is prone to the odd stupid remark and probably has a sense of superiority to him based on his talents at golf but I don't begrudge anyone that, you don't get to that level of any field without busting your ass for it.

As a golfer, I think he has a bucketful of talent and ability but is let down at times by his on course decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Brockagh

He is an excellent golfer. I don't like the fact that he portrays himself as some kind of character just because he wears fancy pants. Have you seen his website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I like Poulter, I like his attitude and fair dues to him for coming back from a long layoff (self imposed or not) and adapting to very difficult conditions (ready Colin byrnes article today in the times for an idea of the challenge).

To be honest, the guy has made some mistakes (does anyone remember his strange comments about spending $300 in the pro shop at augusta?) but he's a genuine golf pro. And he's a winner on tours around the world and competing in majors.

Now if we were talking about Anthony Kim and his fist pumps in allenbys face on Saturday.......:mad::mad::mad:

I'm going to the ryder cup next year, I hope Kim isnt.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Do you think (for anyone who actually watched it) that it was a good performance? I watched a bit of it, good or bad performance - he still won!!

Do you think he is lazy and an underachiever? Nope, fair play to him for being there and winning the event.
    As said above "2 Ryder Cups, 3 World Cups and a decent record in the Majors" nothing lazy & underachieved about that in my book

And finally is 8 European Tour wins a failure? On the tour is not a failure, winning a tour event is an achievement, winning 8 is a great achievement.

I only know him as a golfer on TV, not as a person or have never watched too many of his interviews so cannot comment on that.

Thanks to those so far for the responses.

I'll forward the article to you Brockagh via PM. Don't want to post the site on here. Under the article is my response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I'm going to the ryder cup next year, I hope Kim isnt.

I think you will be disapointed, he'll be there and will be one of the most difficult to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭chemicalfred

Grame McDowell once said in an interview in the Sunday Times that to excel at golf you have to be either little bit intelligent or completely stupid.

Which one is Poulter? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

The chap has talent, no doubt about it. His ego, mouth and general brashness rub me up the wrong way. He made it the hard way by starting out as a club pro and working his way up the ranks.

I have warmed to him slightly over the years but every so often he'll do or say something stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

I agree hes not everybodys cup of tea but so what? He is brash and in many ways a typical cockney type but theres no doubt he can play. 8 wins on the tour is very decent and he will add to that before hes finished. The odd comment he makes puts people off but thats the way he is. The Tiger comment was stupid. Its alright him thinking that but saying it in an interview was disrespectful towards the rest of the players.
    Anyway golf is all about confidence, at the top level maybe its the most confident relaxed player who takes the cash home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Ì gotta say I like Poulter. Ok he’s cocky, all players are but he projects it more in interviews than say Harrington or others and gets the flak for it. Admittedly his interview for a golf magazine where he posed with nothing on, just a golf bag covering himself, along with his comments about just him and Tiger could be deemed as stupid but he didn’t mean to offend anyone.

His interviews are at times controversial but that makes things interesting, a lot of golfers although great ambassadors are not always the most interesting of people and when he’s interviewed after a round you never know what he’s going to say next, remember that interview with Shane in the BBC!! No doubt he says the wrong thing at times and wears silly clothes but you got to admit he does make the tour more colourful.

In terms of success he won 8 times on tour which is no mean feat, compare that to Paul McGinley who has won 4, so he’s not doing too badly and at 33 he’s got a lot of years in the tank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Grame McDowell once said in an interview in the Sunday Times that to excel at golf you have to be either little bit intelligent or completely stupid.

Which one is Poulter? ;)

Neither.Another silly comment by GMac who in my opinion comes across as a bigger fool than Poults who i like personally(and no i'm not a gunners fan)
    GMac must have conducted secret iq tests on all past winners.
    Off topic:i think poults has as much chance as any European of winning the next major(for a european)but i think he will win one b4 he finishes.
    We have yet to see the best of him.

While I agree McDowell also spouts endless ****e I definitely think he has a major in him too. Anyone who nicknames themseves gmac needs a serious talking to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

f22 wrote: »
    While I agree McDowell also spouts endless ****e I definitely think he has a major in him too. Anyone who nicknames themseves gmac needs a serious talking to!

He often mentions it in interviews,it makes me cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Atlantic1

I like him. I think anyone who dresses like he does on the course deserves respect. I look out for him like I used to for Payne Stewart.

He has great self belief. I like that. And top scorer in the last Ryder Cup................ That can't be forgotten either. Ask my son. He had €50 on him to be top scorer.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Lads, I've just had to clean up the thread a bit, can we please grow up? I don't want to have to lock yet another Poulter thread because people can't keep it civil. Next abuse of player or random childishness gets a long ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

1. Defo good performance with the win especially after reading Colin Byrne's article on the difficult conditions,heat, humidity jet lag/lack of sleep,weather delays etc......... frying guys brains out there,
    He just finished a little stronger than most

2.Lazy?.....no chance

3.8wins a failure?......this is getting silly

While he used to grate a little I must say I've warmed to him & his golf especially his play under pressure in the last ryder cup after that sad man Faldo telling him he was in as a pick, rather than telling him play the last qualifying event.

His fashion is:confused: different,but you know some guys dig it,especially the juniors i suppose,and it'd be no fun if we were all the same.

I too follow him on twitter and while some of it is for the sponsors benefit it does give an insight to how these guys practice,play,travel & what the venues & courses are like.

One typical Poulter incident was after playing in the biggest win over the us in '04 ryder cup he got the winning score printed on a bunch of tees(US 9.5-18.5 EUR) and mixed them with the ones at each tee box during the pro-am for the next event.......didn't go down well with a lot of yanks,not everyone's type of fun :D:D:D

P.S. athletes are misquoted all the time,sometimes not even at their request;)

Sorry got the tee story a little wrong,here it is
    http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1347&dat=20041006&id=kP4SAAAAIBAJ&sjid=B_4DAAAAIBAJ&pg=5922,5188980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I agree about his ryder cup performance.....remember all the hullaballoo about faldo picking him beforehand, him playing the fedex cup and not playing europe.....there was serious pressure on him to perform. And christ did he deliver, he was brilliant. That changed my view of him - If I remember rightly himself and Karlsson were the two stand out performers from that ryder cup...

Great guy Poulter, wasn't aware he volunteers for this until now

In_tuition wrote: »
    Great guy Poulter, wasn't aware he volunteers for this until now

Fair play to him, although in fairness I think many of the players do their bit for charity.

f22 wrote: »
    Fair play to him, although in fairness I think many of the players do their bit for charity.

Ah they do I know and fair play to them all, just had the thread here on Poulter and only found out about it so decided to post it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Is there anyone on ET hits more shanks than this guy?Hit a beauty on the 5th today.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Please don't dig up zombie threads