Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knee Injury - Physio's recommended?

• 02-11-2009 4:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

first post here but often lurk so hello to everyone finally!

I'm doing a good bit of running (4 nights per week) to try and get fit at the moment mostly on the road. I have recently developed pain just below my kneecap and would appreciate any suggestions on good physio's/treatment clinics people have had experience with.

Dublin area ideally.

Not looking for injury advice, just the treatment recommendations. I think that's within the rules?!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

http://www.physiotherapyclinic.ie/

or

http://www.sportsmedireland.ie/ their site seems to be permanently down these days though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

If you are in South Dublin try Ciaran fitzpatrick, he works from his home in Dundrum/Ballinteer and has worked with a lot of top irish athletes (used to be an international runner himself) he helped me out no end recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭cluelessx2

I can recommend Karen Doyle - physical therapist. She works with the Irish cycling team and does a lot of running, climbing etc herself. http://www.mapleclinic.ie/ I found her to be excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

Blackrock Physio department are very good. Jean in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 ciaran_kdc

Yup, Eileen Murphy Wilson is excellent - it's worth getting her in person, although all her team are good. Perhaps the best physio in Dublin that I've come across, for running.

For shoulders and necks, Marie-Elaine Grant near the Montrose Hotel is unbeatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 middleofpack

Thanks for all the advice guys and sorry for the late response (had feckin flu!).

Will give a few of these guys a call to see iuf I can get appointments.

And will let you know results!

Hi Guys, Just to update you on this.

It turns out that I have IT Band + Patella Tendonitis problems - my lack of therapy over the years has probably not helped them. Tried to call a few of the above suggestions but couldn't get any quick appointments so a friend suggested a guy called Nicky Greene up in Sandyford. Absolutely great treatment given, was impressed. Leg was in bits during and afterwards but completely fine now which is suprising!

For the Tendonitis i've been referred on to a place called Total Laser Health, does anyone know of Laser as a treatment? Is it good?

Update again, the knee is healed!

ItBand was given a good beating by the Physical therapist and I went to the Laser place in the Spawell for the Patella Tendonitis.

It took 3 treatments for the knee to cure which was more than I would have liked but it's completely gone now so I suppose it was worth it. Never had Laser before and was very skeptical but it worked great in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 trihard

Would agree on the Laser Treatment. The guys can be found here and was impressed by the results, picked up a bad strain of the calf during late-August as part of the marathon training and thought i was out for a few weeks but took the recommendation to try the laser treatment and got back to the structured program in five to six days .... but the most impressive thing is that i never heard from my calves from that to marathon day! I think you can only judge such things on experiences and it is a case of whatever works .... for me it is a YES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Tri4life

Hi middle of the Pack, I’m sure you have loads of advice/options and here's another one for you.

I use to have my own sports injury clinic before I moved into sales in orthopedic surgery. I work with a lot of sports surgeons and I have made them aware of Laser treatment for issues in relation to tendonitis and ligament pain.

Up to you but here's the link for the laser clinic http://www.totallaserhealth.com/

When I referred people to this clinic it was mainly for Achilles and patella tendonitis problems but also really worked well for other issues such as tennis and golfers elbow and not forgetting sciatic pain! The surgeons are using laser with many of there clients and seeing great results.

Also here's a little tip but im sure you know it already http://www.physioroom.com/prevention/taping_guide/taping_technique5.php

Best of luck I hope I helped you a little bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Tri4life

Looks like I should read the comments before replying! Read it a while ago and never responded and just thought I’d do it know. Glad to hear you’re doing well.

that's the same place alright Tri4life/trihard, it's all good. didn't really believe in it to be honest at the start but have been turned. It seems to be that Laser is doing it all at the moment - eyes, hair, and now injuries!!!

That site's brilliant thanks Tri4life, those taping methods are great. should hopefully help prevent reoccurence.