Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nintendo Wii what do I need?

• 01-11-2009 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭

Hi
    My 7.5 year old has been asking for a Wii from Santa for months, I know nothing about it except a vague idea of what it is
    can anyone help me so I know what to get ,I know I need to get a console but whats a numchuck? and what do I need to get her started? and where would I buy one at a good price ? would I need to go up North (or have I left it too late at this stage)
    Price is always a factor unfortunately and im thinking around 200 euro but is that too little for what she needs?
    Any ideas on what games are suitable for a 7.5 year old girl ?
    Thanks in advance for any info coz Im way out of my depth with this one :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Okay, well the nunchuck is part of the controller. The other part is the Wii remote. Don't worry theres one set of controls in the box with the wii. All you'll need to get her started is the Wii (which comes with the controls and 1 game which is Wii sports.) and another game or 2. Defintely get another set of controllers when you're buying the Wii so her friends can play too.

I'm not sure about Wii prices at the moment, so can't help you there.

As for games, it depends on what shes into really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Check online for a decent price, and agree with atavan - halen main thing is another wii remote and another nunchuk, dont bother with the clip on plastic tennis racket etc, they really don't add anything to the games.

Wii is seen as a family friendly console so more games will be ok for a 7 year old than not, just check the ratings.
    Couple of recommendations:
    My Sims Secret Agent
    Super Mario Galaxy

Your price of 200 euro should get you all you need on amazon, and I am sure elsewhere too.

The basics without motion plus £143 sterling or you could go for, The basics with motion plus included £166 sterling

Wii Play and Remote £28 sterling

Hopefully all that made some kind of sense. Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The best bundle in ireland appears to be xtravision at the moment, you get the WII plus sports resort plus a game and 20 quid worth of rental vouchers for 219 but buying online will get you a much better deal

You're going to need a second set of controllers which will probably set you back at least 50 quid (for the wiimote and the 2 nunchucks)

and it's a very good idea to buy rechargable batteries and a normal charger if you don't have one already (don't bother with the charging dock, rechargable batteries are better)

As for games, depends on her taste, but the games that come with the system should be more than enough for christmas day and then she can pick out something she likes later.

My GF's 8 year old brother loves super smash brothers, but i don't know if it is as popular amongst girls)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Cheerilee wrote: »
    Hi
    My 7.5 year old has been asking for a Wii from Santa for months, I know nothing about it except a vague idea of what it is
    can anyone help me so I know what to get ,I know I need to get a console but whats a numchuck? and what do I need to get her started? and where would I buy one at a good price ? would I need to go up North (or have I left it too late at this stage)
    Price is always a factor unfortunately and im thinking around 200 euro but is that too little for what she needs?
    Any ideas on what games are suitable for a 7.5 year old girl ?
    Thanks in advance for any info coz Im way out of my depth with this one :confused:

Any game with an age rating of 7 is suitable for a 7.5 year old gamer

One of the best games on the Wii, Zack and Wiki, Super Mario Galaxy was already mentioned and another good game Little Kings Story.
    They'll keep her going for a good while.
    If she has friends who also have a Wii(and internet access), I would recommend Mario Kart Wii.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 cafard

As an indication, my daughter is 7, and here are a few of the games she enjoys a lot on the Wii:

- Wii sports/Wii sports resort, which you'll likely get with the console itself
    - Wii play: a small collection of little games, very cheap, usually sold with a second controller.
    - Mario Kart Wii: fun driving game, with nice plastic wheels in which you slot the controller. That plays a lot in a kid's enjoyment of the game.
    - Super Mario Galaxy, though it's a bit challenging for her at times, so without me around, she'd be stuck much earlier in the game.
    - Super Smash Bros, if only because she can play lots of Nintendo characters like Yoshi or the various Pokemons
    - Endless Ocean: a pacific game of scuba diving. Not much to do apart from swimming under the sea and discover various fish and take pictures of them. She's quite into sealife, so this one is a major hit, especially now that she can read by herself.

Now, by the end of the month the game 'New Super Mario Bros Wii' will come out, and should be a better game for a 7 year old than Super Mario Galaxy difficulty-wise. Plus it can be played with up to four players, so it should prove a nice family game too.

I'm considering 'Animal Crossing' these days, since she's reading well enough to be able to play it. It's a game where you basically do whatever you want with a character that lives in a small town. So it's up to you to explore, fish, collect butterflies, etc... No big monster to kill, no ultimate fight to win. The kind of slow-paced game that girls usually tend to enjoy more than boys.

When you buy the console, make sure that you get as many controllers as you have players (as well as the same amount of 'nunchuks' which are an attachment for the controller). That is two controllers so that you can play with her, and three if daddy is going to play too. That way, everybody will be able to play at the same time. It won't be remotely as fun if she has to play alone, or if she can't have friends to play with her when visiting. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

It's worth considering a USB charging station - these plug into the back of the Wii and come with a couple of battery packs that clip into the WiiMote with a special cover to replace the original battery hatch cover that lets you plug them into the charger.

Wiimotes are battery powered, and every time you press a button on them when the console is off they attempt to connect to a console that isn't there, draining the battery. They have a tendancy to end up in a box or under a cushion with the trigger button jammed in, so when you pick it up to play the batteries are gone.

If you have a charging station attached to the the Wii, it gives you somewhere to put the Wiimotes when you're not playing and they're always charged up and ready to go.

Aside from that it's worth bearing in mind that it's now available in Black but the original is White. There's no functional difference between them but you're dealing with a 7 year old - Picking the wrong colour could be fatal!

MarioKart is very kid-friendly, in that it's extremely intuitive to play. Drive a bunch of cartoony characters around a whole bunch of tracks, firing shells at eachother.

Raving Rabbids and WarioWare are both good mini-game wiggle-the-remote-at-the-screen collections which is a lot of what people want from the Wii.

Band Hero or Lego Rock Band are kiddy / pop oriented versions of Guitar Hero and Rock Band, if she's musically inclined.

Oh yeah - all disney games on the Wii are pretty much rubbish.

Banjo wrote: »
    It's worth considering a USB charging station - these plug into the back of the Wii and come with a couple of battery packs that clip into the WiiMote with a special cover to replace the original battery hatch cover that lets you plug them into the charger.

Wiimotes are battery powered, and every time you press a button on them when the console is off they attempt to connect to a console that isn't there, draining the battery. They have a tendancy to end up in a box or under a cushion with the trigger button jammed in, so when you pick it up to play the batteries are gone.

If you have a charging station attached to the the Wii, it gives you somewhere to put the Wiimotes when you're not playing and they're always charged up and ready to go.
    I disagree with the battery charger, it can lead to tears when the kids forgot to charge the battery and it's dead when they want to play it and they have to wait for a few hours while the battery pack re-charges, a few energiser rechargable batteries are better as you can have a few spare charged and switch them over when the one set runs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Following your logic, you'd be better of just having a set of regular alkaline batteries on standby since they won't lose charge over time like a rechargeable would. Imagine the tears when you forget to charge the Wiimote and your backup rechargeables have been sitting idle for a month and are practically empty. At least with the charging stand it's a defined place to store the WiiMote which can be incorporated into tidying up after play, and lets face it with all of the bits and bobs that go with the Wii there's *always* some tidying up to do; it just happens to dovetail nicely with keeping the remote charged.

I think starting out a charging station is not really a must. Storing the mote in the stand is not as practical if you want to keep the jacket on your wii, or if you have Motion plus on your remote. I would probably stick with a four pack of decent rechargeable batteries and charger, always handy to have a four pack of Alkalines hanging around for those flat battery days.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,392 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Wii play is a waste of money even with the second controller. You are basically paying 10 euros extra for a controller and a collection of awful games.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Wii play is a waste of money even with the second controller. You are basically paying 10 euros extra for a controller and a collection of awful games.

Obviously, your kids don't like it. My 7 year-old likes it a lot though. Shooting, mii-recognition, fishing and cow-riding are among the regular games she wants to play. They have the advantage of being fast, multiplayer, and easy to explain to any older family member she wants to play against.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,392 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well I've no experience with 7 year olds so I suppose you are the expert on it then! I was speaking from my own experiences so I stand corrected. :)

Well, Wii Play clearly isn't a staple of gaming, but it's worth remembering that kids have a different perspective on things than us old farts.

Seriously, i could spend hours playing space invaders back in the days! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Cheerilee

Thanks a million for all the helpful and useful information its been a huge help
    my worst fear being waking up on Christmas morning and finding out that Ive forgotten to get something crucial :eek:

Just one more question whats a motion plus controller? Is that just an additional controller? so if I got this package
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nintendo-Console-Sports-Resort-Controller/dp/B002Q8I13M/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1257157918&sr=8-2 as suggested by dooferoaks I would have everything I needed or would I need to get an additional controller?

Thanks again for taking the time to reply:) life saving!

CHeerilee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

Motion plus is an add-on to the normal controller which makes it more accurate. From what I can see on the packaging this only contains one controller but no nunchuck. (BTW see the linked photo, the nunchuck is on the left and the controller is on the right).

So you would need to buy one nunchuck to match the enclosed controller and then as many controller+nunchuck pairs as you need for additional players. You definitely need a few people playing to make it fun.

I agree that plenty of rechargeable (Ni-Mh) batteries and a recharger are a must.

The Wii is really for kids although it can be fun at parties. Bugger all games for serious gamers.

Cheerilee wrote: »
    Thanks a million for all the helpful and useful information its been a huge help
    my worst fear being waking up on Christmas morning and finding out that Ive forgotten to get something crucial :eek:

Just one more question whats a motion plus controller? Is that just an additional controller? so if I got this package
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nintendo-Console-Sports-Resort-Controller/dp/B002Q8I13M/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1257157918&sr=8-2 as suggested by dooferoaks I would have everything I needed or would I need to get an additional controller?

Thanks again for taking the time to reply:) life saving!

CHeerilee

You get 1 x wii with cables etc. 1 x remote 1 x nunchuk 1 x motionplus add on. 1 x wii sports game 1 x wii sports resort game. The deal also includes 1 x game for £15 (I think disney sing pop hits is only game out ones available that might appeal to your target audience) and another free (probably Up or Wario shake dimension best bet (although not best games!!))

You would still need a second remote and nunchuk (if you wanted 2 players, but if its for one player then you have enough.) Then you would need another motion plus attachment, most games are playable at the mo without one, but wii sports resort needs one to play it.

Hope all that helps.

rcdk1 wrote: »
    The Wii is really for kids although it can be fun at parties. Bugger all games for serious gamers.

OP looking for a 7 year old, so the Wii fits the bill in this instance!

Anyway, NINTENDO FTW!
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

You'd be surprised. Plenty of great games on it if you look hard enough. Also kiddie graphics don't mean it's a kiddie game, look at de blob and mario galaxy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

There are tons of games for the grown up gamer, Resi 4, House of the Dead Overkill/2+3, No More Heroes, Metroid Trilogy, loads more too.
    Mario Galaxy is perfection, Pikmin 1 and 2 are fantastic, MarioKart is wonderful.
    Medal Of Honor Heroes 2 is very very good too, as is COD3.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

There are tons of games for the grown up gamer, Resi 4, House of the Dead Overkill/2+3, No More Heroes, Metroid Trilogy, loads more too.
    Mario Galaxy is perfection, Pikmin 1 and 2 are fantastic, MarioKart is wonderful.

You'd be surprised. Plenty of great games on it if you look hard enough. Also kiddie graphics don't mean it's a kiddie game, look at de blob and mario galaxy.
    CiDeRmAn wrote: »

OT - Good Wii games: Super Mario Galaxy, Zelda, Resident Evil 4, Metroid Prime 3..... Tiger Woods maybe (haven't played it)? Then you're into kids games, virtual console and party games. The other games mentioned pale in comparison to their PS3 and xbox counterparts.

OP - ignore the above debate, it's a good console for kids. You definitely need extra controllers though.

Not the most taught out debate? I'm right therefore you're wrong.

Going OT so Link
    (And you a mod... tut tut!:D)

yep, only played them once, even the duck hunt game is useless because they changed it from the original (which i absolutely loved as a kid myself) and it's no longer about getting as many ducks as you can before you run out of lives, it's about finishing a ridiculously short minigame (something like 5 levels)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Cheerilee

Thanks again for all the updated advice its been a fantastic help :)
    Will def get the extra controllers coz I think her Daddy might end up hogging the console :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

From reading this would I be correct in saying that the most important extras to get are extra controllers for a house where there is more than one kid involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

finbarrk wrote: »
    From reading this would I be correct in saying that the most important extras to get are extra controllers for a house where there is more than one kid involved?

Extra set of controllers (WII Mote, Nun Chuck & Motion Plus) are the essential extra purchase - the games that come with the bundle - WII Sports are best as multiplayer, head to head.

Would bother getting extra motion plus sensors unless you're getting wii sports resort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

What would ye think of this deal lads from Smyths? It's €300.

http://www.toys.ie/Wii--2-Controllers--2-Nunchucks--2-Motion-Plus--4-Games-!D09023-prod.aspx