Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's handy with a spanner and free next Sunday?

• 01-11-2009 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭

There's a boardsie on here (not me) who has a hole that needs filling....

We have the 'filling' assembled and ready to fit, and need about two additional pairs of hands to give us a hand lugging it out from the shed it was built in to the side of the house where the recipient rover is located.

Excuse the photo on its side....we were doing battle with the downpipe studs in the cast iron manifolds....what a donkey.

Location is in Roundwood, Wicklow. Offers by PM - Full Breakfast and a constant supply of coffee will be supplied. You'll need a good back and a sense of humour, and you'll be done in just an hour or two and home in time for your roast :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭ji

Nice best of luck:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

I take it that its a P6?

Looks very good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

It is indeed.... I'm led to believe there will be a full thread in the coming weeks, but we'll hold off on saying any more until we get things up and running ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

Cant wait to see it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Man, from what I remember of my oul fella's P6, you'll need more than a pair of hands! More like 3 or 4! Eveything about the P6 was solid and heavy.

Cant wait to see some pics of it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

V8 FTW :cool:

Good luck with the work dudes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

If I was anywhere near you I'd be more than happy to help but Wicklow is a little bit of a trek for me.

Best of luck with the install.

Manta Mad, Onkle, Spidersonmars & my good self so far. There's enough seats for 2 spectators if any of the other usual suspects are nearby and fancy making coffee and eating all me bacon sunbitches on Sunday morning.

The rest of ye keep your fingers crossed for good weather for us :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭spidersonmars

Gil,

I thought you promised that I was in charge of the coffee:confused:

Gil,

I thought you promised that I was in charge of the coffee:confused:

I thought you might want to, you know, 'man up' next weekend? Get your hands dirty for a change? ;)

Gil_Dub wrote: »
    I thought you might want to, you know, 'man up' next weekend? Get your hands dirty for a change? ;)

Look Gil, your a sound lad......but I not sure I should "man up" for you this weekend. I kinda just like the cars!;)

This coming from the fella who arrived down at my house with 1000 latex examination gloves, 4 tubs of vaseline and a dirty grin last week? I think we'll draw a line under the insinuations now, while your brake lines are still intact. :p

Oh, never mind. Spidersonmars says I'll only ruin the surprise for Sunday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

if anyone drops out gil i can lend a hand..im only in rathdrum...****e at makin tea/coffe though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

what time are we kicking off at ? :D

Breakfast at 9, work at 10.

Chief, come on over lad....you're welcome to stand around and kick tyres anyway.

see ye in the morning lads !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Quite enjoyed spectating the fitting today gents!

Learned a few things about carburetor's too

Hope the rest of the build goes as smoothly as today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭123 man

how did the enging fit go to day . when will she be runing lads;)

Just a quick one to say fair play to MantaMad, Onkle and Grahamo999 for getting out of the scratcher early to come and lend a hand.... And fair play Spiders for putting up with all the coffee requests....again.

123man, we're all keeping schtum on the finer details until it's up and running, and then a full write up with photos and the lot will follow. Conservative expectations are that it'll be running on it's own steam by the Christmas break, as I'm trying to get my own 'build sorted too....and my wifes patience is apparently a finite thing too :D

Will keep y'all posted. Won't we Spiders?

well the sun shone for this fitting this morning :)

gonna be a nice machine when its ready !

nice to meet ye today fellas & hopefully we,ll get to meet again !

thanks for the fry up & the tea today gil :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

manta mad wrote: »
    well the sun shone for this fitting this morning :)

gonna be a nice machine when its ready !

nice to meet ye today fellas & hopefully we,ll get to meet again !

thanks for the fry up & the tea today gil :cool:

I missed the fry :(

god yous are all some men to work i pass by at 230 and it all look over :( im looking forward to the road test:D

We were pretty much done and dusted by 1pm. Twas great to have the extra experienced help in persuading things into place :D

any other cars on the go or just the p6 rover

123 man wrote: »
    any other cars on the go or just the p6 rover

'On the go' it's just the P6. I'm also amassing all the bits I need to convert an old 70's built Range Rover into something a bit special (to me anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

sorry i missed it lads but a very late night combined with some 24 hr bug didnt have me in the best shape sunday morning....next time for sure

Just like to thank everyone so far for all the help. Especially Gil Dub. The plan is that we may use the car for road rallies as I believe that cars are more for go than show.

I haven't got any real skills when it comes to cars....except speeding and making coffee, but if anyone in need just PM as I have been more than lucky with the help I have recieved. The amount of time effort and skill that Gil has put in has been exceptional. Although I would like to think my coffee making abilities are on a par.

TIP: I put the milk, coffee and sugar in first, stir and then add the boiling water. Perfect instant coffee. You just can't learn skills like that without getting your hands dirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

TIP: I put the milk, coffee and sugar in first, stir and then add the boiling water. Perfect instant coffee. You just can't learn skills like that without getting your hands dirty.

If only you could make a decent cup of tea. I don't know what it was you were giving me but it certainly wasn't tea :D

Gil_Dub wrote: »
    'On the go' it's just the P6. I'm also amassing all the bits I need to convert an old 70's built Range Rover into something a bit special (to me anyway).
    what the body like on the rover p6 . i had a 2000 a long time ago i have to say i like them . was yours all ways a v8

It's not mine - Spidersonmars owns it - I'm just doing the engine bit for him. The full write up will reveal all ;) It's a 3500S though and always has been a V8.... We'll hold off on any more until she's rolling again.