Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Car of the Year 2010

• 30-10-2009 5:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭

Who would you award it to?

Did the Opel Insignia not win it last year?
    A field of 30 candidates for tine Continental Irish Car of the Year 2010 awards has been announced by the Irish Motoring Writers' Association.

The Continental Irish Car of the Year and Continental Irish Van of the Year, in
    addition to five car and two van category awards, will be revealed at a gala event in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dublin, on Thursday November 26.

Michael Moroney, chairman of the IMWA, commented: "It has been a tough
    year for the motor industry and certainly the slowdown has impacted on the number of new models coming onto the market in comparison with previous years. However, I am pleased to say that one thing that has not suffered is the quality of the cars in the running for our awards - from really exciting superminis right up to luxury/sport models, they are all there in the 2010 field
    of runners."

The 27 voting members of the Irish Motoring Writers' Association assess
    each vehicle, attributing points on the basis of criteria ranging from innovation
    and safety, to space, comfort,build quality, driving quality, and value for
    money. This year sees a change in sponsorship for the awards. Semperit
    Tyres, which sponsored the awards for the last 20-years, is passing the title to Continental Tyres. Paddy Murphy of Continental Tyres
    Ireland explained.

"The new sponsorship reflects the growing importance of
    Continental within our brand portfolio in Ireland. As one in three cars produced in Europe is now running on Continental tyres, the brand is becoming more and more familiar to Irish motorists. We felt that
    aligning the Continental name with the IMWA's Irish Car of the Year award would be hugely beneficial for both our brand and for the awards themselves. We are sure that the Continental Irish Car of the Year title will become as useful an aid to Irish car-buyers as the Semperit title has been
    for the last 20 years."

The full list of candidates for the Continental Irish Car of the Year 2010 are
    as follows:

Alfa Romeo MiTo, Audi A5 Sportback, Audi Q5, BMW X1 , BMW Z4, BMW 5 Gran Turismo, Dodge Journey, Ford Ka, Honda Jazz, Honda Accord, Hyundai i2O, Kia Soul, Lexus RX45Oh, Lotus Evora, Mazda3, Mazda MXS, Mercedes Benz EClass, Mercedes CLC,Opel Insignia, Peugeot 3008, Porsche Panamera GT,
    Renault Megane, Renault Scenic/ Grand Scenic, Renault Kangoo Passenger,
    Suzuki Alto, Toyota Avensis, Toyota iQ, Toyota Urban Cruiser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

WTF is a Dodge doing in the catagory for car of the year? :confused: A Dodge Journey - something you go on to the jacks after a bad curry.

Nice to see Renault with a few in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Dodge Journey, Merc CLC?

Really??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

-Chris- wrote: »
    Dodge Journey, Merc CLC?

Really??? :rolleyes:

Whats wrong with the CLC ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The Lexus has a big advantage with its low emissions. the upcoming 2WD version will be €156 per year to tax.
    Not bad for a petrol 3.3 automatic

this will probably win it for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Last year it was the C5. This year it's got to be the Insignia that will win hands down. That lot ^^^ is a bunch of losers / unsuitable cars imho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Lotus Evora, Porsche Panamera? Why do they even bother nominating stuff like this? It's going to be a blandmobile that wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

vectra wrote: »

It's a nine year-old car with the face of the current generation C-Class grafted on.

This is the first list in a good while where I'm actually struggling to think of a deserving winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I dont know but there are a lot of them for sale and nobody can shift them. Brown bag stuff to help them sell. :confused:

I also hate this sh*t about awarding/potentially car of the year to cars that have never been road tested or family tested and so on like the BMW X1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

i never felt the CLC or the sports coupe it replaces were very good cars, and they're certainly not good mercs. I wouldn't consider either to be contender for car of the year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

VolvoMan wrote: »
    This is the first list in a good while where I'm actually struggling to think of a deserving winner.

I was thinking the exact same thing. The Insignia isn't even that great a car. But it's a big improvement over the Vectra and it looks great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

A waste of time of a "competition". Car of the year? Why?
    Because it is economical?
    Because it is environmentally friendly?
    Because it is big/small?
    Because it is family friendly?

Seems a bit arbitrary to me.

http://www.roadandtravel.com/awards/criteria.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I can see a Toyota winning this. Why bother with this crap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Alfa Romeo MiTo for the win :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

As EPM said, we are in Ireland - the Avensis has to win.
    Anyway, why bother with the others....Porsche Panamera???? Who the F**K is going to vote for that as Ireland's car of the year, this year of all years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm voting for volvoboys Carina taxi (leanburn presumably so it's got green credentials :) ) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

This sounds like a list John Gormley would draw up. Suzuki Alto, wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The Lexus has a big advantage with its low emissions. the upcoming 2WD version will be €156 per year to tax.
    Not bad for a petrol 3.3 automatic

this will probably win it for them.

Hmm, if that powertrain was in the Insignia then definitely, but the Celtic Tiger is dead and starting to smell, so I can't see a luxury SUV winning...