Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People can't accept "out of the norm" fashion wise

• 30-10-2009 12:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭ella87

hi all,
    a grown woman (if you'd call her that) came up to me in the middle of heatons and insulted me.
    she said "it's abit early for Halloween isn't it?" I just told her she was rude and walked away.
    I don't dress too crazy I was wearing a check black and White dress at the time with a frilly black skirt underneath to add abit of flair plus a clincher belt.
    I have a purple fringe with black hair and I usually have dark eye make up but I don't go too wild.
    I get that Kind of response alot of the time but I know it's just jealousy because alot of people don't have the courage to dress like I do if you get me :p
    I love the way I dress no question.
    I just wonder about peoples view on this because I respect other peoples sense of fashion and feelings of course. I just can't see why other people find it hard to do so.
    Thanks xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Madame Olenska

Sadly, I get it all of the time too. During the week I am in uncover, boring work mode..but at the weekend I like to wear snazzy, put together outfits. Nothing wild, no excessive skin showing at all, just a teeny tiny bit different from what every body else wears. Coloured shoes, big costume jewellery, a bit of a swing and confidence in my step.

People are just frightened of what they percieve to be different. I look at a lot of the people on the street and think they have lovely clothes but I would put them together differently. Also, some silly people don't think before they open their mouths. I just do exactly what my mother used to say to me when I was little - if someone is being mean to you, ignore them. Kill them with a smile and a compliment.

I think your outfit sounds lovely...I am envious as I have no waist to clinch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

Well fair play to you both...
    I think Irish society is so "closed" in some ways.... Its perfectly acceptable to wear skinny jeans (regardless of whether or not they suit you) and big long tops that are miles too big and its totally acceptable for EVERYONE to wear that same outfit, in the name of Fashion. And thats grand but if someone wants to show some personality and not copy the rest of the country they get smart remarks....
    Your Hair sounds brilliant. I would LOVE to get some colour slices or a big white streak of hear on my crown but i have curls so i Dont know if it'd work....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think alot of current styles are just rank at the moment and I would love to find clothes are a bit of the ordinary. If you walk down Grafton or Henry street at the moment anyone under the age of 25 just look like clones. Maybe I am getting old but the 80s/early 90s look that is so prevalent at the moment suits very few people. All those wobbely arses in leggings and big baggy tshirts do the Irish figure no favours at all. OP your outfit sounds lovely, feck saddos like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I think it's a case of close mindedness. I think the more you see of the world the less you care about what other people are wearing etc.

I've noticed it with people in college. Some of the girls are from the country and pass remarks about what everyone is wearing. Me I think, "Fair play, I couldn't do that or get away with it". That's not to say I didn't think the girl who wore silver paint all round her eyes was a bit strange but if that's what you're into fine.

I think Irish people tend not to experiment as much with fashion because of the comments they would receive. I myself wear what I like and knows what suits me (otherwise I feel wrong), some bits in fashion, some bits which are a bit vintage-y. If I like it I buy it.

You are always going to get somebody who has to make a comment though. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

accept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

No matter what you're wearing people will find an excuse to pass remarks on it, whether it be something out of the norm, a tracksuit or a pair of Uggs. People are just so feckin judgey at times. I find the best thing to do is smile nicely at them and say something like 'I'm sorry, I don't know what you mean?' Funny watching people go scarlet and stutter when they have to explain what they thought was going to be an off-the-cuff hilarious rude remark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭wattsusieq

your outfit sounds nice, I like the idea of a skirt under a dress. Might have to try it, I like to experiment with clothes too and get some funny looks at times. Like to try different combinations. I tried shorts over jeggings recently and got some mixed reactions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

ya know what's hilarious though, as soon as the item people mock you about comes into fashion, they'll all be bloody wearing it!!

I used get a lot of stick off randomers for wearing colourdy tights, now half of Dublin is wearing them, the same eejits who were slaggin me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Feck the begrudgers. I remember about 20 years ago (yes, I'm that old :o) getting slagged for buying stuff in Oxfam, at markets and in swap shops. I used to customise stuff too. In other words vintage before vintage was invented! The worst offender was an ex's fashion student sister who used to say I went to those places because I was too poor to buy proper clothes (she bought hers in BTs, paid for by mummy's credit card). Funnily enough she never made it as a fashion designer :rolleyes:

Now people ask me for advice on fashion and the stuff I bought at markets 20 years ago is selling in "posh" vintage shops for about 10 times the price I paid for it. If people think you're different because you make a bit of effort and don't want to follow the herd tough. Your outfit sounds really nice by the way! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭HereticPrincess

You should have told her to fudge off & stop being so ooold fashioned ;)
    Yeah people can be very rude or close minded when it's not the style they like.

I once wore a pair of boots to town, proper platform metal boots from Demonia, they were awesome but even I'll admit ridiculously insane..
    & a tourist stopped me to ask could she photograph my boots :)

& a friend had these fuzzy boot covers, so she got in on the picture too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

A lot of people are scared of anything different. The thing is that anyone who dresses differently from the 'norm' generally have the confidence to do so and also tend not to care what other people think. I have respect for people who wear what they are comfortable in. I may not like what everyone is wearing but we all have different taste. I don't like when people wear clothes that they are not comfortable in just because they are in fashion.

The woman in the shop, well she can comment all she likes but it wont change the fact that you are comfortable in your style choices. I think your outfit sounds great, as do many others here. She sounds a bit obnoxious though!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Was just thinking about this the other day. Ireland is a very close minded cloned society I feel. All you have to do is go into any college and see that most are wearing almost exactely the same thing, except in variations. Males are particularly bad. Take a look at any of the scandanavian fashion blogs for example. This is slowly changing though, especially in Dublin and some cities but will take a very long time, if it fully happens at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I had that kind of reaction the whole time when I lived in Dublin. I used to take it personally but just accepted that people as a whole are horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭tfak85

ever since i wore green croc print calf height doc boots to primary school i've been getting sh1t off people about what i wear, when i turned 18 i moved to london and it all stopped, it was amazing..
    spent a few years there and came back to dublin thinking people would have grown but no, people here will never change.

as with most others here, i don't dress really off the wall, certainly not anymore anyway, but even all those years ago, i never dressed inappropriately, i was just being myself...

what amazes me most is how people feel the NEED to tell you, even if they are on the opposite side of dawson street or whatever!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Filan

Think you sound Fab Ella, I dress fairly creatively as a man, regularily experience strange facial expressions...Believe in yourself and remember your as good as anyone and better than many!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I love to see people with unusual style :) would never comment to a stranger though :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

That is exactly why I won't experiment with different clothes/styles.

I usually always wear the same stuff.

However recently, I wore skinny jeans, a jumper dress and my black ugg boots to town and another day I wore the same jumper dress, the same black ugg boots and my black leggings. I got some nice looks and some as if to say "wtf are you wearing:eek:". I had a few people in the shops say I looked lovely.

I have a small waist, but a bit of a tummy (fizzy drinks:o) and decent-ish legs, so I could carry off different styles, it's just my fear of receiving negative comments that puts me off. I also have no boobs, which makes me very self conscious, that people will notice and slag me because of that.

BTW, I don't mean to sound snobby/smug/stuck-up, so I apologize if my post/comment comes across that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

OP, here's something I always say, it can be applied to this and many other situations: Some people are just f**king idiots.

Ignore them. Best advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Sure in this town if you even wear a denim mini skirt with tights, boots and a jumper you get looks. I have always worn whatever I wanted, couldn't give a shit what other people think. And I dunno, I can pull off most things...I think! I very rarely wear jeans/trousers actually, nearly always skirts and dresses. They just tend to fit better. Jeans irritate me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Hmm but most goths and emos are as boring as the sheep in their uggs and leggings.
    I don't think i've ever seen an individual looking goth or emo in Dublin before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've been getting this since I was 14. people used to laugh at me for wearing sequined stuff and a lot of silver. Now they're all doing it! :mad:

Last year I had a lot of pom pom hats and now they're everywhere as well...

Wearing crazy accessories is fun, I'm not gonna stop just cos some old biddy doesn't like it or some Jegging wearing clones think I'm weird.

-Orlaith- wrote: »
    That is exactly why I won't experiment with different clothes/styles.

I usually always wear the same stuff.

However recently, I wore skinny jeans, a jumper dress and my black ugg boots to town and another day I wore the same jumper dress, the same black ugg boots and my black leggings. I got some nice looks and some as if to say "wtf are you wearing:eek:". I had a few people in the shops say I looked lovely.

I have a small waist, but a bit of a tummy (fizzy drinks:o) and decent-ish legs, so I could carry off different styles, it's just my fear of receiving negative comments that puts me off. I also have no boobs, which makes me very self conscious, that people will notice and slag me because of that.

BTW, I don't mean to sound snobby/smug/stuck-up, so I apologize if my post/comment comes across that way.

You don't sound snobby but I do think it's kinda sad you feel this way. Why does it bother you what complete strangers think of how you look? I know it can be a little intimidating at first to wear what's not the norm, but you'll probably get as many compliments as nasty remarks.

I also think it's very important to dress for your own shape, not just throwing on whatever's in all the shops at the moment. Everyone should emphasise the loveliness of their figure, whatever it is!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

What I'll never understand is why some people feel the need to go outta their way to belittle a random stranger over their fashion choices!? :confused:
    I mean how sad and uneventful can a person's life be!

OP, I'd be thankful you don't look like you've been ass kicked face first through topshop like so many others.

What I'll never understand is why some people feel the need to go outta their way to belittle a random stranger over their fashion choices!? :confused:
    I mean how sad and uneventful can a person's life be!

OP, I'd be thankful you don't look like you've been ass kicked face first through topshop like so many others.

But surely your comment about Topshop is you sort of belittling people for shopping in Topshop. I'm not seeing you are. That's just how it could come across. :)

Here's the thing: Do some of the people who dress 'differently' look down on those who all dress the same? Does it work both ways? A couple of comments (and only a couple) in this thread have led me to believe that this is so.

Can't we all just get along. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

janeybabe wrote: »
    But surely your comment about Topshop is you sort of belittling people for shopping in Topshop. I'm not seeing you are. That's just how it could come across. :)

Here's the thing: Do some of the people who dress 'differently' look down on those who all dress the same? Does it work both ways? A couple of comments (and only a couple) in this thread have led me to believe that this is so.

Can't we all just get along. :D

I think your missing my point. I'm talking about how sad and nasty a person has to be to belittle a total stranger over their clothes.

Just because I think the topshop brigade look like idiots, it doesn't give me the right to insult a complete stranger for dressing in that getup.

I think your missing my point. I'm talking about how sad and nasty a person has to be to belittle a total stranger over their clothes.

Just because I think the topshop brigade look like idiots, it doesn't give me the right to insult a complete stranger for dressing in that getup.

hmmm, I think Janey babe may have a point there, is it ok to belittle someone behind their back , just not to their face?

I'm not trying to single you out or anything, I do think we all(or most of us!) would pass comments on what people are wearing, we wouldn't make fun of someone but we would judge.

I know there's times I'm out, and I'd see someone in an outfit I think is awful, and I'd turn around to a mate and say, the state of your woman!! And I'd say most people do it at some stage or another??? C'mon it's not just me!! :P anyways it's not nice, and I'll be try ro hold my tongue in future :)

dearg lady wrote: »
    I know there's times I'm out, and I'd see someone in an outfit I think is awful, and I'd turn around to a mate and say, the state of your woman!! And I'd say most people do it at some stage or another??? C'mon it's not just me!! :P anyways it's not nice, and I'll be try ro hold my tongue in future :)

We've all done it I'm sure. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

dearg lady wrote: »
    You don't sound snobby but I do think it's kinda sad you feel this way. Why does it bother you what complete strangers think of how you look? I know it can be a little intimidating at first to wear what's not the norm, but you'll probably get as many compliments as nasty remarks.

I also think it's very important to dress for your own shape, not just throwing on whatever's in all the shops at the moment. Everyone should emphasise the loveliness of their figure, whatever it is!! :)
    I suppose it's because I feel like they're laughing at me, and no-one likes being laughed at.

• Insulting someone for wearing Topshop (to their face or otherwise) is as bad as insulting someone for being 'different'. Anyway, I was shocked at what happened to the OP and I can't believe there are so many sad people who would actually comment on a stranger's outfit. I would feel weird even complimenting someone if I liked their clothes. Who cares? The only thing that would offend me is if someone was dressed indecently - buttocks/flab/chest hanging out. Otherwise I couldn't care less what some stranger is wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

ella87 wrote: »
    hi all,
    a grown woman (if you'd call her that) came up to me in the middle of heatons and insulted me.
    she said "it's abit early for Halloween isn't it?" I just told her she was rude and walked away.
    I don't dress too crazy I was wearing a check black and White dress at the time with a frilly black skirt underneath to add abit of flair plus a clincher belt.
    I have a purple fringe with black hair and I usually have dark eye make up but I don't go too wild.
    I get that Kind of response alot of the time but I know it's just jealousy because alot of people don't have the courage to dress like I do if you get me :p
    I love the way I dress no question.
    I just wonder about peoples view on this because I respect other peoples sense of fashion and feelings of course. I just can't see why other people find it hard to do so.
    Thanks xxx

There is a thread here slamming cheryl cole on a particular dress she wore on x factor . I think personally think it's very imaginative

It's the times, people are carrying a lot of internal anger , young people and old people .

OP when someone insults you it's all about them and nothing about you ,just remember that .

There is loads like you,You probably are a right brained person and because of that logical people will not understand where you are coming from. I know this because i experience it quite a lot.

I have friends who dress different and what about lady ga ga.

People have been belittling all through the years it's not just an Irish thing and its not new.

In the words of Jimi hendrix. (if six was nine )

'Cause I've got my own world to live through and uh, huh
    And I ain't gonna copy you.

White collar conservative flashin' down the street
    Pointin' their plastic finger at me, ha !
    They're hopin' soon my kind will drop and die but uh
    I'm gonna wave my freak flag high, high !

'

Be Happy, be the way you want to be, and most importantly have fun.:)