Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Boards League / Challenge

• 29-10-2009 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭

Can I throw this out to y' all,for feedback..... not clear on finer details yet but howabout a boards league / challenge ran next year over x amount of pre-determined sportives throughout the season based on accumalative time over all events or maybe to open it up more a time points system awarded per half hour increments that way more people are in with a chance or does anyone know a better way. Maybe 20 euro ahead to cover the cost a couple of perpetual trophies medals etc....
    I dont know is it feasible...well I know it can be organised ...but would ther be the intrest to make it worth while...????

Well wot ya think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Will there be a style cateogry? I need some area I can challenge for.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'd be up for something. A few different categories would make it interesting.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

DirkVoodoo wrote: »

I assume you're talking about freestyle and not fashion style :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

jerseyeire wrote: »
    I assume you're talking about freestyle and not fashion style :p

No, I was going for fashion. Euroness is very important, more so than the actual cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

more so than the actual cycling.

Pretty much goes without saying in your case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

No, I was going for fashion. Euroness is very important, more so than the actual cycling.

Ah here we go....see this is the start of it ..I knew it ...LOL

To quote our good friend LA '' Its not about the bike''

Look, with my LIDL bike and hairy legs there's no point in having a style section, it's mine already :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

jerseyeire wrote: »
    Look, with my LIDL bike and hairy legs there's no point in having a style section, it's mine already :rolleyes:

iv noticed this ,sun beds ,shaved legs, baby oil . noticed problem .beer bellys .

no point looking fast in the car park !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

I can still be fast with my beer belly, hair legs etc.....DOWNHILL :)

(Need a chair lift to get up the hill though.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

We have run a few boards TTs in Dublin, although that's obviously no use to the country folk. They're good fun because there generally tend to be a couple of proper cyclists who turn up and show us how it's done.

Getting competitive about sportive "results" seems a bit odd, since they're only supposed to be a bit of fun.

That said, I'm currently mulling over my 2010 WW200 target. Sub-8 including stoppages feels quite achievable from my desk, in October.

Doesn't have to be about speed. We could do something like closest to your estimated time as one example.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Lumen wrote: »
    Getting competitive about sportive "results" seems a bit odd, since they're only supposed to be a bit of fun.

Agreed. And it's kind of unworkable too. For example, rider x starts the Wicklow 200 at 7am and falls in with a fast group that drag him around in 7 hours. Rider y starts half an hour later but ends up riding most of it solo since he doesn't find a fast enough group and posts a slower time. Who did better?

How about a Boards league from actual race results?

el tonto wrote: »
    How about a Boards league from actual race results?

I like that idea, the handicapping should even things up.

I am a whole book of excuses for why I haven't started club racing yet, but I somehow managed to turn up to the boards TTs, this could give us "avoiders" the extra push we need.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I like that idea, the handicapping should even things up.

I am a whole book of excuses for why I haven't started club racing yet, but I somehow managed to turn up to the boards TTs, this could give us "avoiders" the extra push we need.

If we were to do it, we should probably weight races. For example an open race result should count more than a club league one.

I expect to see you on the start line in March. You've no excuses now given that you're already far stronger than most noobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

maybe we could add it to the wimp list ... handicaps could be awarded accorfing to Euroness and wimpitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

It is then limited to cyclists in clubs who have races. I'm prob the most serious cyclist in the club I just joined so that tells you a lot it's a club where they meet on a sunday morning and do a social 50km so there are no races etc.

But granted not really sure what other way you could do it!

alfalad wrote: »
    It is then limited to cyclists in clubs who have races. I'm prob the most serious cyclist in the club I just joined so that tells you a lot it's a club where they meet on a sunday morning and do a social 50km so there are no races etc.

But granted not really sure what other way you could do it!

AFAIK, you're allowed be a member of two club, so if you want to join a club with a league you should be able to do so.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

How's about.........

michael_jackson_glove_la201.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

AFAIK, you're allowed be a member of two club, so if you want to join a club with a league you should be able to do so.

Also a lot of club leagues allow for guests from other clubs to participate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Excellent I assumed if you were a member of one you couldn't be a member of another club.

But now I have no excuse to hide behind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Can I throw this out to y' all,for feedback..... not clear on finer details yet but howabout a boards league / challenge ran next year over x amount of pre-determined sportives throughout the season based on accumalative time over all events or maybe to open it up more a time points system awarded per half hour increments that way more people are in with a chance or does anyone know a better way. Maybe 20 euro ahead to cover the cost a couple of perpetual trophies medals etc....
    I dont know is it feasible...well I know it can be organised ...but would ther be the intrest to make it worth while...????

Well wot ya think ?

Maybe, just maybe, it could be based on actual bike races maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

tunney wrote: »
    Maybe, just maybe, it could be based on actual bike races maybe?
    Proper mass start bike races you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Grand, I'll be doing my best in the NPS this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Predicted vs actual in sportives seems like the most inclusive way of doing it as I imagine a lot of boardsies don't race, take the top 10 or 5 results from each person.

Failing that we resolve this in similar fashion to Borat (you will know what I mean if you have seen the movie) and we could all meet up in the summer and have a knockout competition where we smack each others genitals with inner tubes. Last man or woman standing is the champ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I challenge all comers to a cake eating contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

ROK ON wrote: »

it's on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Pastries at dawn.

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Predicted vs actual in sportives seems like the most inclusive way of doing it as I imagine a lot of boardsies don't race, take the top 10 or 5 results from each person.

OK, but if you are competitive enough to enter a boards league, why would you not actually race?

And besides, there is the practical problem that to win I'd just need to make easy estimates and ease off near the finish to hit my target times.

Sportives are about fun group cycling. When boardsies are involved there is an added frisson of turning up late, losing each other, getting irritated by the fact that some people take three bloody hours to eat a sandwich, finishing exhausted to be greeted by Blorg walking around after finishing four hours earlier and popping home for a shower and change, and so on.

I think with people trying to "win it" our boards sportive efforts would come to resemble a really hopelessly organised race.

blorg wrote: »
    Proper mass start bike races you mean?

Of course. Hardly TTs, sure ye lot are would embarrass yourselves at a TT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

tunney wrote: »
    Of course. Hardly TTs, sure ye lot are would embarrass yourselves at a TT.

I can think of one chap who most certainly would not embarrass himself.

ROK ON wrote: »

Is purging allowed?

Raam wrote: »
    I can think of one chap who most certainly would not embarrass himself.

Not me anyways I'd probably crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

OK, but if you are competitive enough to enter a boards league, why would you not actually race?

And besides, there is the practical problem that to win I'd just need to make easy estimates and ease off near the finish to hit my target times.

Perhaps. I couldn't imagine people slowing down just to do well in an internet league, but then again I don't really know I could be wrong, I don't do very many sportives and the ones I do are just for training if I am short of miles, or as a much needed social or family weekend off from the hardship of racing.

I do know that some clubs do predict your time TT's (no clocks allowed) etc... all the time as a way to get all members involved and thought that it might be worth considering here where you have a wide spread of abilities, from a few classy high level riders (you know who you are) and a handful of competent/improving lower grade racers all the way down to the GAA shorts, socks, helmet on backwards and "toe baskets" brigade.

As an aside, maybe take the cycling out of it and have and do it based on helpful or thanked responses on the cycling forum ?

Just a suggestion anyway. Either way, boards will not be a factor in my goals for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

If we were to do it, we should probably weight races. For example an open race result should count more than a club league one.

I dunno, few peops in Swords CC were saying that the poor(ish) open race results this year could have been partly down to the competitiveness of the Club League*. Everyone saving their best legs for Wednesday nights!

* said in jest.