Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was i wrong to do this?

• 29-10-2009 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭

A few years ago i left a job and moved to somewhere much better, I'd been in this place for 14 months, and my manager was a complete and utter gob****e to me for this whole time.

He gave me crap rosters, he refused me holidays even though he knew i'd booked them and HR approved them, He also gave me work that was much harder than anybody else, i received a formal warning for reading porn (Yes, he classed FHM and Nuts as porn) on site!!!

A few months after i left i texted his wife and said that he was having an affair with a girl in the office, and that was why he was home late all the time. I binned the new sim i sent it from, i understand that she binned him over this.

Should i feel guilty over this??

Was i wrong to do this? 29 votes

Yes, you will burn in hell
    0% 0 votes
    Nope, he deserved everything he got
    100% 29 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭daca88

god no, ultimate payback!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

scudzilla wrote: »

He gave me crap rosters, he refused me holidays even though he knew i'd booked them and HR approved them, He also gave me work that was much harder than anybody else, i received a formal warning for reading porn (Yes, he classed FHM and Nuts as porn) on site!!!

Hey, no one said it was gonna be an easy life as a priest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

Sucks to be him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Out of interest OP, how did you have his wife's number?

A nice bit of revenge there by the way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

A few years ago i left a job and moved to somewhere much better, I'd been in this place for 14 months, and my manager was a complete and utter gob****e to me for this whole time.

A few months after i left i texted his wife and said that he was having an affair with a girl in the office, and that was why he was home late all the time. I binned the new sim i sent it from, i understand that she binned him over this.

Yes.

You should have recycled that sim card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

HI ENNISCORTHY HERE WAS HE REALLY HAVING AN AFFAIR OR DID YOU FRABRICATE SUCH A STORY,FROM: ENNISCORTHY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

He could have been having an affair, i dunno, so i may have actually been right :rolleyes::rolleyes:

As for getting his wife's number, we had it in case we needed to get hold of him urgently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Oh thats a very shítty thing you did! Not big or clever.

He made your life hell for a few months but you ruined a marriage and possibly ruined kids lives.

shame on you!

Kiera wrote: »

He made your life hell for a few months but you ruined a marriage and possibly ruined kids lives.

shame on you!

NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD AGREE WITH THIS PERSON THE ABOVE POSTER BEGINNING WITH K BUT NOW I DO IT IS TERRIBLE TYERRIBLE TERRIBLE U SHOULD BE ASHAMED,,,,,GODS CURSE ON YOU CRUEL HARTED MONSTOR YOUR DEEDS THEY WOULD SHAME ALL THE DEVILS IN HELL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

You might have mentioned that he wasn't having the affair.

In that case, you're a right knob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

But surely if the wife was willing to ditch him having received an anonymous text message saying her husband was cheating, the marriage was having other / worse problems?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This story makes me LOL.

It was14 months of hell, not just a few, and he could have been having an affair so i may have been right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Out of interest OP, how did you have his wife's number?

Maybe it's him the manager had an affair with... only started hating him when it ended!

herya wrote: »
    Maybe it's him the manager had an affair with... only started hating him when it ended!

GOOD1

Not a chance, both male and hetro

But surely if the wife was willing to ditch him having received an anonymous text message saying her husband was cheating, the marriage was having other / worse problems?
    This is true pika, but he had no right to be the straw the broke the camels back. He was bang out of order.

He could have thought of a better way to fúck him up without involving his family.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Lots of relationships go through tough patches, this could have happened while they were having trouble and the fights that occurred as a result pushed them over the edge.

Regardless, it's a disgusting, sneaky thing to do

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭mrs moneypenny

A nasty underhand thing to do in my opinion. Life's hard enough. :( But you know what, it'll come back to haunt you one day. :D:D

Not a chance, both male and hetro

Ah sure! I know your type, they're always reading Nuts on the job to show how masculine they are... oh wait...

This is true pika, but he had no right to be the straw the broke the camels back. He was bang out of order.

He could have thought of a better way to fúck him up without involving his family.

Oh, true.

It wasn't a good way of seeking revenge. In fact, I think any form of revenge is petty. If someone wrongs you, don't try to get back at them - it reduces you to their level and makes you an equally bad person.

My point was just that the marriage must have been in trouble anyway, if the wife was willing to end things over an anonymous tip off.

I see a lot of hate coming my way here :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I honestly can't say how bad this guy treated me, he was fine with everybody else, i even put in a complaint to HR and they gave him a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

The great Virgin marketing department was right afterall.....the devil does make work for idle thumbs!

You fecked the wife and kids' life cos you didn't like the fellow, what do you expect, a pat on the back manly man?

I never mentioned kids

What were you expecting, starting a thread entitled "Was I wrong to do this?". Were you hoping everyone would say "nah it's grand, you're great craic"?

Methinks a guilty conscience looking for reassurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

A horrible thing to do. You should be ashamed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

If the story is true, and you're not just trolling:

(I'm attacking the post, not the poster here)

OP, your post is a cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭merlin39

asshole/ what goes around comes around.

Oh, true.

It wasn't a good way of seeking revenge. In fact, I think any form of revenge is petty. If someone wrongs you, don't try to get back at them - it reduces you to their level and makes you an equally bad person.

My point was just that the marriage must have been in trouble anyway, if the wife was willing to end things over an anonymous tip off.
    I totally agree. Revenge or thoughts of takes up to much time and effort so there is absolutely no point.

But I'll repeat, that one text probably sent her over the edge and its all thanks to the OP's stupidity. He's not big or clever.. He posted like he expected a load of thanks or people to tell him "no dont feel guilty man, you're a legend". He's not. He was very foolish doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I never mentioned kids

Can spot these threads a mile off.

I never mentioned kids

OK
    You fecked the wife's and kids' life cos you didn't like the fellow, what do you expect, a pat on the back manly man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I think you took a step too far. He was making your professional life hell you made his private life hell.

Private life > Professional life

If you where going to do something out of spite and hatred then you should have tried to mess up his professional life not effect other innocent parties like his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Whatever happened to just walking in on the last day and telling him to his face, in front of everyone what you thought of him. And if that isn't severe enough then just ram a broomstick up his A55 and slash his tires.

His wife didn't deserve punishment for this jerks A holiness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I hope you're actions were hasty and you regret them - your boss was mean to you, you destroyed his marriage, and possibly his family. If you have a problem with someone professionally, keep it professional - you should've complained, or had a word with your union (if you had one). You went personal, and it's abit cowardly that you did it anonymously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

As a manager in the past I always told staff to approve there hoildays with me. You dont seem to have done this. HR in most companies tell you to approve your hoildays with your manager. So yes i think you were wrong here!

Nuts and FHM is classed under porn in jobs. Just try post a nuts picture here if you want to test the theory. So again yes you were wrong.

You texted his wife..... Interesting here..... If she did not trust him they were destined to brake up. Then again your manager could be a person with short temper due to strain in the job, He might have family. So while he might not been having an affair this might of been the event that tripped his temper causeing a break up of the relationship. Were you wrong.... Most def.....

But what is mostly wrong here is you are writing this on boards for 2 reasons imo

1. Because you think what you done is very funny.
    2. You dont really care about your manager.

So overall I think your wrong..... I am guessing 22 year old, great social life but a little growing up to do yet... Give people a break and meet them half way. There is not many swines in this world. ;)

Although all that said the evil eye in me is laughing.:D

I totally agree. Revenge or thoughts of takes up to much time and effort so there is absolutely no point.

But I'll repeat, that one text probably sent her over the edge and its all thanks to the OP's stupidity. He's not big or clever.. He posted like he expected a load of thanks or people to tell him "no dont feel guilty man, you're a legend". He's not. He was very foolish doing that.

Oh, he was foolish. Do you know what's very sad though? When a person acts foolishly, or makes a mistake, they can usually apologise or mend the damage, in some way. In this case, he can't fix what he's done ... the marriage has ended. If it's true, he has to live with his guilt for the rest of his life.

Everyone in the situation suffers.

All i asked was if i was wrong as it's been wrestling on my conscience

I'm thinking now it may have been a tad extreme but at the time i was so pi55ed off.

Not much i can do about it now is there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Not necessarrily true, I once had a great relationship broken up by an anonymous bebo comment, claiming I cheated on her(when I didn't).

The relationship itself wasn't having any real problems (at that time), but she just had her own trust issues, that had never come up before because there'd never been any reason for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 211 ✭✭MickTipp

terrible thing to do, you will rot in hell:rolleyes:

Oh, he was foolish. Do you know what's very sad though? When a person acts foolishly, or makes a mistake, they can usually apologise or mend the damage, in some way. In this case, he can't fix what he's done ... the marriage has ended. If it's true, he has to live with his guilt for the rest of his life.

Everyone in the situation suffers.
    Ah ha! But i dont think he feels guilty. The fact he asked us should he feel guilty proves he doesnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

For the record, I'm doubtful the OP is real. If you ever did this, posting this on boards is a terrible, terrible idea.
    Secondly, posting it on After Hours is stupid.
    Thirdly, including a nice little funny poll isn't something to make you think the OP seriously wants to know if what he did was ethical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

I would be thinking there he found you a good worker and couldn't be without you and gave you the work he didn't think others could do.And was showing belief in your abilities.Otherwise he would have gave you holidays to get rid of you and the simple work because he thought you were thick.

Yes you should feel very guilty:D

jumpguy wrote: »
    For the record, I'm doubtful the OP is real. If you ever did this, posting this on boards is a terrible, terrible idea.
    Yep, just takes one anonymous email

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Yes.

Should I feel guilty doing this?

Thread closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

OP, wrong forum.
    If you are serious try here.