Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To everyone who wants to "do something" about the state of this country...

• 27-10-2009 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭

Thread after thread people complain about the state of the economy, the corrupt officials, the rip off republic, the taxes.

It's not a bad thing. I think it's fully justified.

I got this letter through my door this morning. It's basically a movement about those issues. So if you're really interested in creating a ripple, get involved.

It'd be nice to see how many keyboard warriors actually get up off their ass (myself included)

inb4:

1) Nobody will turn up
    2) This is pointless
    3) It'll be too cold
    5) You guys got it covered? cool!...off to play cod
    6) I'll definitely be there...no i won't
    7) It's too far away
    8) Sarcastic joke from thankswhore followed by :rolleyes:
    9) Sarcastic joke about sarcastic jokes from thankswhores
    10) Smug nonchalant post followed by 3 :rolleyes:'s
    11) Yore ma
    12) Atari Jaguar
    13) OP is racist
    14) Grammar police
    15) OP is gay
    16) Someone listing all of the above (if it's not the first reply, you fail hard)

Let'd do something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

tl;dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Why do they schedule all these rallys when most of us are in work? Yea, I hate the state of the country but I need my job and cant go arsing round dundalk at half 2 on a friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

this thread looked promising until i seen who had signed the scanned letter which the op has on thi post................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

The country is fine, I have a decent job, hot girlfriend, nice car, loving family and regular sex. What should I be protesting.

You Racist :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Unless the rally is walking into Dail Eireann, physically removing every sitting member of government by force, then instating an interim government while we toss a coin between FG & Lab, then it will do nothing. Its just angry people on the streets.

And our current government doesn't give a **** about protests or poll results, they have a "mandate" don't you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I don't see how a protest or petition will change a single thing. It's still people just complaining and not doing much to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Smyth wrote: »
    Thread after thread people complain about the state of the economy, the corrupt officials, the rip off republic, the taxes.
    I got this letter through my door this morning. It's basically a movement about those issues.
    The movement is nothing to do with those issues. It's about union workers feeling like somehow they should be protected from reductions in wages and redundancies when their employer's income has fallen drastically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

2:30 on a Friday afternoon in Dundalk. Are they trying to attract as little people to this as possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

It's not a bad thing. I think it's fully justified.

I got this letter through my door this morning. It's basically a movement about those issues. So if you're really interested in creating a ripple, get involved.

It'd be nice to see how many keyboard warriors actually get up off their ass (myself included)

inb4:

1) Nobody will turn up
    2) This is pointless
    3) It'll be too cold
    5) You guys got it covered? cool!...off to play cod
    6) I'll definitely be there...no i won't
    7) It's too far away
    8) Sarcastic joke from thankswhore followed by :rolleyes:
    9) Sarcastic joke about sarcastic jokes from thankswhores
    10) Smug nonchalant post followed by 3 :rolleyes:'s
    11) Yore ma
    12) Atari Jaguar
    13) OP is racist
    14) Grammar police
    15) OP is gay
    16) Someone listing all of the above (if it's not the first reply, you fail hard)

Let'd do something

I'll take a 1) and a 7) please Bob...

...Oh, and it looks like I've taken an 8) in the process :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

I'm not saying it tackles each of those individually, no. But it does deal with issues that are important to people.

Yeah, it's not gonna change the world, I know that - but you have to start somewhere. Something to get the people of the country moving.

If you feel the only way to change things to storm the Dail, then we'll never have change. People of this country won't go from sitting at home to full on revolution in one move.

Things like this are here in order to build support and gain movement. They're not meant as a one stop permanent fix. That's just not realistic.

@seamus yeah, I got a little carried away there. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 The Monkey Pump

Dear David,

Give your dear workers who are struggling so badly, back some of the €155,000 salary you draw from their subs, then we can talk.

Yours etc

The 'ordinary wurkers'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

To those who didn't read the signature of the letter, it's signed David Begg and he is the head of the ICTU: Irish Congress of trade unions.

The trade unions currently have their own agenda at the moment and are not representative of the majority of workers in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Trade unions are part of what got us into this mess.

This is essentially a protest trying to keep the excessive amount of cash funding an inefficient, overspent public sector which is a massive part of the problem as I see it-along with all the other country's wrongs you mentioned. People need to cop on this fact first.

Yours etc,
    Keyboard warrior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

vinylmesh wrote: »
    tl;dr

If that's too long for you then..... well not much we can say about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I got this letter through my door this morning. It's basically a movement about those issues.

Not it's not, it's all about unions looking after their own selfish interests, they couldn't give a crap about non union workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

I'm not one to hold a dying point...so I won't.

I guess I just got excited at the idea of some sort of movement.

Whatever happened to that boards political party we talked about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

TheZohan wrote: »
    To those who didn't read the signature of the letter, it's signed David Begg and he is the head of the ICTU: Irish Congress of trade unions.

The trade unions currently have their own agenda at the moment and are not representative of the majority of workers in this country.

Couldn't agree more.

David Begg was also on the board of the regulators of the Central Bank since 1995. He blames the bailing out of the banks but should have seen this coming long before it hit the fan. Furthermore he earns €137,400 in ICTU wages, also gets €40k + from Aer Lingus and another fat pay check from the Central Bank job.

Source: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1024/1224257392087.html

Wake up people, this is just another party with vested interest, not some protest for the greater good of the people and the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

segaBOY wrote: »
    Trade unions are part of what got us into this mess.

This is essentially a protest trying to keep the excessive amount of cash funding an inefficient overspent public sector which is massive part of the problem as I see it along with all the other country's wrongs you mentioned. People need to cop on the this fact first.

Yours etc,
    Keyboard warrior.

+1,000,000

Ireland is like a train heading for a brick wall at the moment, and what these beardy union idiots are trying to do is akin to squeezing the throttle down further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I had a pretty big movement this morning, I should have posted it here.

That would have prevented you attempting to get backing for one of the main groups in the country that have ran it into the ground.

I'm not one to hold a dying point...so I won't.

Whatever happened to that boards political party we talked about?

Be wary of what you see on TV and what comes through your letterbox, a lot of vested interest out there!

Understand why you got excited though, a lot could be done to improve things. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

i thought it was a great idea and wanted to go until i read it was in Dundalk. How pointless. Louth - a place we all wish didn't exist...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

2:30 on a Friday afternoon in Dundalk. Are they trying to attract as little people to this as possible?

Having it during Jim Corrs lunchbreak from the chem-trails factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

shower of bearded cnuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    i thought it was a great idea and wanted to go until i read it was in Dundalk. How pointless. Louth - a place we all wish didn't exist...

I think theres more than one demonstration taking place on Nov 6th, the letter that I got through my door this morning says its in Tullamore, so each letter must just mention whichever demonstration is taking place nearest to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Looking at their website, there are eight demonstrations on November 6th at 14:30

The starting points for each are:

Dublin - Parnell Square
    Waterford - The Glen
    Tullamore - County Hall
    Cork - Connolly Hall
    Limerick - Mechanics Institute
    Galway - The Cathedral
    Sligo - The Blue Lagoon
    Dundalk - The Fairgreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Was this from my long lost rich uncle from Nigeria ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

louth is one of the wealthiest counties in the country , great place to live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Kess73 wrote: »
    Looking at their website, there are eight demonstrations on November 6th at 14:30

The starting points for each are:

Dublin - Parnell Square
    Waterford - The Glen
    Tullamore - County Hall
    Cork - Connolly Hall
    Limerick - Mechanics Institute
    Galway - The Cathedral
    Sligo - The Blue Lagoon
    Dundalk - The Fairgreen
    I want one in Leixlip.
    I still get letters about my dues from the union I was a member of in 1992. Apparently I'm still a member despite only paying in from Sept. - Dec. of '92. It was my first job and I was forced to join.

I have no intention of going, even if they start at my house.
    I just want my area represented.
    It's all about representation anyway, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

david begg is, quite simply, a cunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Our Key Demands Of Government are:

1. Tackle The Jobs' (sic) Crisis
    2. Stop cuts to peoples' incomes
    3. Protect vital services
    4. Safeguard peoples' homes
    5. Make the wealthy pay their fair share

1. The solution is reduce pay to reduce payroll costs to businesses. That will improve profitability and increase competiveness.
    2. Incomes were benchmarked to the skies in the public service. Private pay although lower is too high to be competitive. Both must be scaled back. Cue "race to the bottom" cliche posts.
    3. Protect vital services = keep the high pay and numbers in public service.
    He is not trying to protect poorly paid office contract cleaning services.
    4. If people took mortgages it was their decision.
    5. Standard socialist call. Define wealthy. Are you talking assets or income?

The five points are a mix of mutually exclusive aspirations. You can't save jobs and keep pay high, then borrow millions and not tax the people to pay for the borrowing. It is time to pay the bill.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Terry wrote: »
    I want one in Leixlip.
    I still get letters about my dues from the union I was a member of in 1992. Apparently I'm still a member despite only paying in from Sept. - Dec. of '92. It was my first job and I was forced to join.

I have no intention of going, even if they start at my house.
    I just want my area represented.
    It's all about representation anyway, isn't it?

we'll start at the EBS and end at the courtyard

Wait, i'm in the private sector, let the overpaid feckers "strike"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

irish_bob wrote: »
    louth is one of the wealthiest counties in the country , great place to live

based on what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

segaBOY wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more.

David Begg was also on the board of the regulators of the Central Bank since 1995. He blames the bailing out of the banks but should have seen this coming long before it hit the fan. Furthermore he earns €137,400 in ICTU wages, also gets €40k + from Aer Lingus and another fat pay check from the Central Bank job.

Source: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1024/1224257392087.html

Wake up people, this is just another party with vested interest, not some protest for the greater good of the people and the economy.

Totally agree, surely people with sense will see through this bloke. Pensions for pen-pushers etc.......