Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM - Heres one for the people who cheer!!*

• 27-10-2009 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

Marathons are tough and the support from the crowd really does make a difference to how you feel!!

Just wondering at what point on the course other people noticed great support or something that helped them keep on moving yesterday during the marathon?

For me it was just at mile 21 when I though the wheels were coming off!

Some guy shouted the right words at me and helped me to snap out of it and keep my pace going!

Well done to the supporters!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

I was cheering for you guys in Terenure!!!!

You were all awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

I though the crowd at dolphins barn was great. So many people.
    Also the people with their own water tables set up. Heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

Did anybody else think Spar did a great job.... You could hear that you were coming up to one a mile off. I really think that whoever came up with that cheering zone idea deserves a medal. It was great for the kids who were out watching the race too, face painting, clappers, ballons... All simple ideas that really make there day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭goofygirl

Crowds were amazing. My favourite was a guy in the Phoenix Park who was clapping and going "Marathon running! Unbelievable! Absolutely amazing! Running marathons! Just great", shaking his head with disbelief.

THANK YOU SO MUCH to anyone who came out to cheer, you really made the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I just laughed at the kids in Crumlin who were reaching their hands out for a high-five, then quickly pulling it away and shouting "Psych!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭ogriofa

I was on the hill at Fosters Ave. It was like something out of a movie (I had some Ambient music on the headphones) There was a kid cheering on his Dad, a real normal looking Dad - caught in my throat to be honest. There was a wheelchair guy that was struggling half way up, I couldn't help but blurt out "you're nearly at the top".
    Amazing to look at.
    There was such a good feeling about the place.
    Really impressed.

Did feel a little silly near the end, I clapped so much that I started thinking about it too much and kinda lost my rythum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

nomadic wrote: »
    Also the people with their own water tables set up. Heroes.

+1 I caught a drink at mile 15 and mile 24/25 from tables. The second one was like champagne! Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

I was at Walkinstown Roundabout yesterday, cheering people on (I plan on doing two marathons next year, with Dublin being the second) and I was amazed by everyone running and was proud of the support that was given there, I've been there for many marathons and yesterday was without a doubt the biggest crowd I've ever seen there. There were many many inspirational moments there for me which I will carry with me for the next year and beyond!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

I follow runner gave me a real boost when I was struggling up that hill before Fosters Ave. As for the crowds they were fantastic the whole way but from Beggars Bush to the end was really special.
    Neil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

This was my first marathon and I can honestly say it was an amazing experience for me from start to finish:

1) The organisers did a great job handling all the logistics, the marshalls, gardai, st.johns ambulance, the physio's etc.

2) I simply cannot get over the encouragment from the people of Dublin and there amazing support. They made a real difference (anyone see the DJ?)

3) The freindliness\comraderie and craic that went on no matter what group you ran with help to eat the miles up

When I got to the finish line and got my goody bag I turned around and it actually hit me what I just put myself through and I shed a tear or two. The whole day made the sore limbs and the bruised toe nails very worth while!

My personal thanks to Jim Aughney and his team. Cant wait for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

As I had to bow out of the marathon this year :( I decided to give some support especially as my OH was running.

I was at the bottom of Upper Glen Road in the Park and then at Grafton St/Nassau St.

It was great craic when we shouted out the name of a runner who had their name printed on their t-shirt. Their faces just lit up but it was brilliant at Nassau St when some runners were almost on their hands and knees and the crowd would start cheering them and shouting 'almost there, keep going'. It really got them going and they'd start running again. As visa would say, priceless.

My hands were still sore last night from all the clapping but it was worth it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I posted this in my log so sorry if you read it already but seeing my wife and son at mile 23 when I thought they were home in Wexford got me running again, I didn't cry but that was the closest I came.

Other high points was the poor woman at mile 15 who couldn't fill the cups fast enough, fair play to ya. And on the same road, the p.a. System pumping out music in the front garden, fuppin legendary. I'm getting the heeby jeebies thinking about it. And just a quick mention to the smiling foxes en route, fair foxiness to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭weebelly

I mentioned this on another thread, but, I'd ran a big chunk (of my first marathon) with headphones in as that was how I'd trained. Somewhere around 20 miles with the motivation slipping I decided to change things around and ditched the music. I'd been aware (and appreciative) of the crowds all the way round but was concentrating on doing my thing (on a strategy to finish in 4.30). I ran the next mile or so close to the two guys pushing their friend in a wheelchair - the crowd really reacted fantastically to them. I'd ran in the relay in the Belfast Marathon, but you just don't appreciate how much the crowd help until you're 3-4 miles from home on dead heavy legs. There was a group of guys a couple of miles from the end who were shouting that we were doing great and would finish in 4.30 - to make sure (and since for some reason I didn't want 4.31) I ended up running the last two miles faster than any of the other 24, gritting my teeth and hammering past other runners along Nassau St like I was going to finish in the medals. Don't know how but I finished in 4.30.27. All the people out around the course and particularly those who hung about for the, eh, ahem, non-elite field around the finish surely got a good few people home quicker than might have otherwise happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

weebelly wrote: »
    I mentioned this on another thread, but, I'd ran a big chunk (of my first marathon) with headphones in as that was how I'd trained. Somewhere around 20 miles with the motivation slipping I decided to change things around and ditched the music.
    I'm one of the biggest iPod junkies out there, but I left it in my bag yesterday and I am SO glad I did. Being able to hear the crowd properly, and to be more aware of everything around me, was absolutely fantastic :)