Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another "to report or not"

• 27-10-2009 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Going unreg for this.. for obvious reasons!

I know of someone, driving around with no insurance. He lives at home, his mother knows he is doing it, and encourages it - it's convenient for her to have him go out and get her something when she can't be arsed to go out herself.

Would you report him??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

How is this an actual personal issue for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP here, because he's a member of my extended family. He has his own car, with no tax or insurance that he drives until he uses the excuse of no petrol, and then takes his mams car.

I hate the fact that he is driving around - feckless because he "can't afford" tax, insurance, and sometimes petrol (can always afford clothes and visits to the hairdresser though!)

The only thing stopping me reporting him is th fact that he's family, and I don't know if I'd be able to hide my reaction when they tell us that someone reported him?

But aside from all that the question is still... would YOU report this?
    Or maybe more to the point - why SHOULDN'T I report this???

(That's why it's a personal issue for me!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

OP - Do what you believe is right. it's a tricky one, but if he is persistently driving with no insurance, then I would probably report him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Imagine a kid ran out in the middle of the road after a ball or something and straight into the front of your relatives car. Imagine they survive but are left severely injured and in desperate need of expensive medical/long term care. How's it going to sit with you when they don't get the money for their care yet you KNEW the b@stard is driving around insurance free. Insurance isn't primarily for him - it's for the other people that are put at risk by him.

This **** makes me angry :mad: Report the fecker and get him off the roads. He deserves jail time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

Imagine a kid ran out in the middle of the road after a ball or something and straight into the front of your relatives car. Imagine they survive but are left severely injured and in desperate need of expensive medical/long term care. How's it going to sit with you when they don't get the money for their care yet you KNEW the b@stard is driving around insurance free. Insurance isn't primarily for him - it's for the other people that are put at risk by him.

This **** makes me angry :mad: Report the fecker and get him off the roads. He deserves jail time.

^^^that^^^

also, if he fails to be concerned about one area of motoring law, the evidence suggests that he's liable to be lax about other bits - speeding, bad driving, dodgy tyres/brakes etc...

one could suggest that driving without road tax is a 'harmless' offence, but the other stuff has potentially very serious consequences for other people.

report him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

I am always short of disposable income for clothes and hairdos because I pay for my tax and insurance (same as most people I expect). I'd be very happy for you to report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

I was a child knocked down many years ago and if the person who hit me did not have insurance I would have had a medical bill of around 40k waiting for me when I turned 18 meaning a life of debt due to someone elses reckless driving. Report him. Might make him take it more serious. Also might get his mother to get up off her arse. sound like a pair of wasters who need a wake up call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

2 grand a year sounds like a lot until you go off and total your 5 grand vehicle and another guy's 20 grand SUV: uninsured. And kill people. Then you have financial problems. I think youd be doing him a favor by reporting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

daithimac wrote: »
    Also might get his mother to get up off her arse. sound like a pair of wasters who need a wake up call.

Daithi, you have no idea how bang on the button you are!

You have all just told me what I've known myself. All his family and friends now about it - how come nobody else seems bothered by it?

Does anyone know what happens when you report something like this? Do I have to give my name? (I'd really rather not) I don't know the registrations of the cars, but I know their address - and I know what type of car he has, but I'm not sure about his mothers.

Will the guards call to the house? Is there anything they can realistically do if they don't actually "catch" him driving uninsured? They are hardly going to sit outside his house waiting for him to drive out. If his car is parked up, he just has to lie and tell them it's off the road. The mother is insured, so there is a policy (and a disc) on that car, so if he's ever stopped at a checkpoint, it would appear like he's insured?

I'm not making excuses by the way - I'm going to do it - I just want to be prepared for what'll happen afterwards... and I'll also have to practice my poker face for when they retell us the story and are so pissed off..Would they not go out and catch the REAL criminals?" etc. I'm a terrible liar. I might just have to avoid completely until it dies down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

and I'll also have to practice my poker face for when they retell us the story and are so pissed off..Would they not go out and catch the REAL criminals?" etc. I'm a terrible liar. I might just have to avoid completely until it dies down.

Alternatively you could just say that it was bound to happen at some point and they should have been insured...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Every insured driver pays a levy to the MIBI for drivers like this. So you are paying for this already

Report the person.
    If you don't want to, pm the details and I'll do it for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

this stuff really doesn't bother me. obsessing over 'what ifs' like injuring a child is nonsense because there is a 'pot' out of which such claims are paid and all insurers pay into this 'pot'.

he manages to evade some of the pervasive regulation present everywhere in modern society because he doesn't drive around that much. fair play to him i'd say. he isn't doing the "right" thing and paying through the nose to some huge private company somewhere who *might* but will do everything to avoid paying out in the unlikely situation where he does knock someone down.

by reporting him you are just playing into the hands of some company who are now pushing up their premiums because their parent companies made bad investments before the recession. not the kind of crowd you really want to support

this is not about the children. the children will be grand, they will be looked after. these insurance companies are really no better than the feckless fecker you want to report. they get away with ripping everyone off because a long time ago they persuaded the government it would be best if everyone driving a car bought their product and also because there are very few companies with the amount of cash required to sell insurance.

i have insurance for my own car but I really can't blame anyone who tries to get away with it. not having it is a minor bureaucratic issue and hardly the crime of the century.
    if you are worried about if someone else has insurance on their car then you really need to find something else to do. go play football or something, anything to keep your mind off other people's business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Dankoozy wrote: »

by reporting him you are just playing into the hands of some company who are now pushing up their premiums because their parent companies made bad investments before the recession. not the kind of crowd you really want to support

This is true. Insurance companies make their money by investing the premiums they recieve. With the low interest rates affecting may bonds and disastorous performance of many equities, insurance companies are hiking the premiums to maintain their profits......if they can
    Dankoozy wrote: »
    this is not about the children. the children will be grand, they will be looked after. these insurance companies are really no better than the feckless fecker you want to report. they get away with ripping everyone off because a long time ago they persuaded the government it would be best if everyone driving a car bought their product and also because there are very few companies with the amount of cash required to sell insurance.

Well, I'd prefer if the state and me as a taxpayer wasn't paying millions to a poor disabled child due to some tight fecker who didn't think insurance was worth paying.
    And if it was a member of your family and you have to go to court to get money to pay for a carer then would you rather a settlement from an insurance company or legal fees and hassle with going to court?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

mikemac wrote: »
    This is true. Insurance companies make their money by investing the premiums they recieve. With the low interest rates affecting may bonds and disastorous performance of many equities, insurance companies are hiking the premiums to maintain their profits......if they can

Well, I'd prefer if the state and me as a taxpayer wasn't paying millions to a poor disabled child due to some tight fecker who didn't think insurance was worth paying.
    And if it was a member of your family and you have to go to court to get money to pay for a carer then would you rather a settlement from an insurance company or legal fees and hassle with going to court?

whether it comes from the insurance or the government you will still end up paying for it one way or another. at the end of the day the hypothetical million euro carer will still have to be paid for and it won't be this guy without insurance paying for it because he will never have that kind of money.

i cant speak for the guy driving around without insurance but i know i would drive around a lot more careful if i was open to the possibility of being bankrupted for life if i knocked anyone down