Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well done to the DCM organisers

• 26-10-2009 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

This was my first DCM and think the organisation on the day was great. Well done guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

The support on the streets was fantastic. Thanks all.

The organisation was better than ever. Kudos to the organisers who have a difficult job to do and thanks to all the volunteers out there. You were great!

The changes to the start IMO have improved things and certainly its safer - no sharp turns with the initial crowds.

The pacing was a positive addition. If there were teething issues thats a learning experience for the future. Felt sorry for the pacers having to haul those large baloons, one of which escaped for the sky before the race even started!

Its nice to have the finish line as a direct continuous line from Nassau St.

A slight negative for me, was having to walk quite a long way at the end to get to the bag pickup. Not a long walk ordinarily, but when your muscles have seized up its quite a long walk.

In years gone the physio tent was a must. Not sure the transformation to a 'stretching' zone is an improvement :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭ct_roy

as a first time marathon finisher I thought the event was amazingly well organised.

for one - it started on time!

it's very obvious that every detail of the event is meticulously planned.

a huge congratulations to the organisers and volunteers on an exceptional day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

My only crtiticism was the lack of toilets on the starting line despite being told by a steward that they were there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

and don't forget Harry who was at the finish spotting people who needed assistance and then letting the ambulance people know, now he also ruined alot of my shots but I suppose safety first :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 RRSC

having run last year and stewarded on the course and the finish line this year, I take my hat off to the organisers and all the volunteers. Its a massive event run mostly on voluntary effort from runners for runners. And if it wan't perfect for you, let them know by email, as they work every year to make next year even better.

well done to all the runners too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

RRSC wrote: »
    ...... And if it wan't perfect for you, let them know by email, as they work every year to make next year even better....

I found i brilliant except trying to get out at the end to find the family. I think I'd recommend a series of number of letters you could prearrange to meet your family at.... Saying that I found my wife and child after 5 minutes of hobbling about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Paddyontherun

menoscemo wrote: »
    My only crtiticism was the lack of toilets on the starting line despite being told by a steward that they were there.
    I have to agree with this post. There were signs on the way down asking us to respect residents property and that there was more than sufficient toilet facilities at the starting areas. However when we got there, none. Apart form this the organisation crowd course etc all brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

I found i brilliant except trying to get out at the end to find the family. I think I'd recommend a series of number of letters you could prearrange to meet your family at.... Saying that I found my wife and child after 5 minutes of hobbling about.

In Berlin there was a meeting place and all different letters marked out. you could meet at your family name which was very handy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

And a big thanks to the St. Johns Ambulance. Thankfully I did'nt need them but they were kept busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Jenfer

a well organised perfect day! fair play to each and every volunteer who gave up their time. If i dont run next year will defo do some stewarding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Enii wrote: »
    In Berlin there was a meeting place and all different letters marked out. you could meet at your family name which was very handy!
    Yes, this worked very well. It would need to be up the street though, away from the main exit. When I left the bag area, I still had my pacing balloon which made it handy to find my family. Others started using my balloon as a landmark too (until we had to leave:))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I arrived late enough at the 25 mile mark when I looked down towards the Canal and saw a big gang of people together and I was wondering what the hell that was all about. Then I noticed it was the 4 hour pacers and their gang of followers, I have to say it looked like good craic and imo a great idea, you could see some people hanging on for dear life at the back. There was a really good vibe around the city yesterday, nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭aviendha

first marathon but fantastically organised... especially to St.Johns ambulance who were on the 20+ route with vaseline and deep heat, brilliant! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 garret doherty

yes ok but no massage after,more expensive to enter but less facilites given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Yes definitely a big thank you to St. Johns Ambulance - dedicated people that I'm I didn't have to encounter personally yesterday, but were constantly reassuring with the dollops of vasaline and deep heat.

Thanks too to the woman with the deep heat spray at the bottom of Milltown hill.

And well done to Jim Aughney and all the DCM crew - no quibbles about the organisation of the event - they even got the weather perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭ct_roy

no quibbles about the organisation of the event - they even got the weather perfect.
    there must have been a few novenas said for the fine weather we got.
    it's been pissing rain and windy non-stop outside of the 18 hour period of the marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭grasscutter

DCM was my first marathon. The whole event from start to finish was very well organised and I would like to add a big thanks to all the volunteers who helped out on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Yes, this worked very well. It would need to be up the street though, away from the main exit. When I left the bag area, I still had my pacing balloon which made it handy to find my family. Others started using my balloon as a landmark too (until we had to leave:))

Krusty - you can take the balloon off now :D