Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alternative Types

• 24-10-2009 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

- People with long hair
    - People with tattoos
    - People with strange piercings

Is it just me, or has anyone else noticed that these people seem to have the most politically correct attitudes of anyone.

When you hear them talking it is usually about what type of charity work they have been doing lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm friends with pierced, tattooed, long haired people and they are usually talking about what gig they were recently at/ how drunk they got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

KimHawkins wrote: »
    - People with long hair
    - People with tattoos

Is it just me, or has anyone else noticed that these people seem to have the most politically correct attitudes of anyone.

When you hear them talking it is usually about what type of charity work they have been doing lately.

Fo serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Yeah, so.

Bikers, including alot of 1 percenters, do a helluva lotta charity work, bike runs for kids and stuff.

Alot of people in all walks of life like to help people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Those people scare me

http://www.presseye.com/img2/port_prt2.jpg

Politically correct alright

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

All generalisations are inaccurate, including this one

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

People with long hair

Women?
    People with tattoos

People with tattoos are not alternative, it the ones without tattoos that are now alternative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Some of the nicest, smartest most sensible people I have ever met have been bikers. They get some seriously bad rep, but I grew up around a lot of them and they're absolute sweethearts.

Either way though, it comes down to the individual person, not how they dress or look. Perhaps you just notice it more with alternative types because you don't expect it as much. I reckon I noticed it more with bikers because you just don't expect a guy covered in leather and tattoos with a giant beard and long hair to be the type of guy who cries at the end of Marley & Me.

Anyone of any "type" has just as much chance of being a dipwad as being a darling.

Just goes to show you can't judge a book by its cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 KimHawkins

mikom wrote: »
    People with tattoos are not alternative, it the ones without tattoos that are now alternative.

Brilliant point.

Ask any 18 year old burd if she has a tat.

The answer: NOT YET.

My favourite has to be Irish people with chinke letters on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Brilliant point.

I'm an 18 year old "Burd" and I'm never having a tattoo.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Brilliant point.

Most 18 year old girls have two tats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Banned for racism.

It's not big and it's not clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

phasers wrote: »
    I'm friends with pierced, tattooed, long haired people and they are usually talking about what gig they were recently at/ how drunk they got

Pretty much the same as that. They're sound to talk to, even though the lads think they're all gay.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭WeWillBeReborn

liah wrote: »
    Anyone of any "type" has just as much chance of being a dipwad as being a darling
    This

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Alternative types are just SO unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Preconceptions are a bad thing etc. and I'm not generally amazed that people don't conform to their stereotypes. I generally just assume everybody is like everybody else regardless of the way they dress.

That's probably because in school while I had longer hair, people just assumed I was into music when the truth was I just didn't like going to the barber and really did not give two ****s about music. I have never once gone to a gig. :pac:

Of course I still can't look at piercings without feeling a bit sick. I just could never understand people who got them.

Though I do tend to think people who do that whole 'alternative' thing for the sake of trying to be different are a bit stupid. It always seemed like they were trying to compensate with their look because their personality wasn't all that distinguishable from anybody else's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

o.0

long hair - nope
    tattoos - yup
    strange piercings - yup

I know plenty of nice and caring people with tattoos, and an equal amount who are complete tossers. Same for those without tattoos, piercings or even long hair. The way you look generally has no impact on what type of person you are behind it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Most 18 year old girls have two tats.
    And one twat :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Jaeger 90

TheZohan wrote: »
    Banned for racism.

You should look up racism in the dictionary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I find a lot of people with long hair / tattoos / piercings can be very open minded, and generally humble and nice / friendly to people.

Then there are some "elitist" types who think that being "alternative" makes them cooler and above anyone that doesn't conform to alternative-ness.

But the same can be said for any group. Black people, white people, men, women, blonde people, people who enjoy wearing hats, every category of people has both nice people and dicks!

But I'm one of the "alternative" types so I'm clearly much much cooler than all of you!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Jaeger 90 wrote: »

From Websters.

Main Entry: rac·ism
    Pronunciation: \ˈrā-ˌsi-zəm also -ˌshi-\
    Function: noun
    Date: 1933

1 : a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race
    2 : racial prejudice or discrimination

— rac·ist \-sist also -shist\ noun or adjective

The word the OP was banned for would fall under the category of a racially prejudiced term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Sofaspud wrote: »
    I find a lot of people with long hair / tattoos / piercings can be very open minded, and generally humble and nice / friendly to people.

Then there are some "elitist" types who think that being "alternative" makes them cooler and above anyone that doesn't conform to alternative-ness.

But the same can be said for any group. Black people, white people, men, women, blonde people, people who enjoy wearing hats, every category of people has both nice people and dicks!

But I'm one of the "alternative" types so I'm clearly much much cooler than all of you!

You aren't cool, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

The word the OP was banned for would fall under the category of a racially prejudiced term.

Oh yes, because referring to a letter, and not a person, as "chink" is just sooooooo racist :rolleyes:

Piste wrote: »
    Oh yes, because referring to a letter, and not a person, as "chink" is just sooooooo racist :rolleyes:

So of I refer to rap music as n****r music, it's not racist because I'm not referring to a person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Jaeger 90 wrote: »

If you have a problem with his modding, send him a PM or take it to Help Desk.
    So of I refer to rap music as n****r music, it's not racist because I'm not referring to a person?

That's enough of that. Any more racial slurs, ironic or otherwise, in this thread will lead to an infaction or ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Piste wrote: »

Its a racial slur for a group of people so yes, it is racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

oh hey listen dont even try for 1 second to get me started on ALTERNATIVE TYPES heheh prob athiests as wel hahaha p.c. athiests the lot of them hahaha well thats white people for u hahahaheeh us irish on the other hand we have a sense of humour,we will welcome any peaceful soul onto our island for a few jars and a bit of a sing song

phasers wrote: »
    I'm an 18 year old "Burd"

hiya mate hubba hubba hehehehehahahahahaha:P:P:P:P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

oh hey listen dont even try for 1 second to get me started on ALTERNATIVE TYPES heheh prob athiests as wel hahaha p.c. athiests the lot of them hahaha well thats white people for u hahahaheeh us irish on the other hand we have a sense of humour,we will welcome any peaceful soul onto our island for a few jars and a bit of a sing song

Begorrah you're some craic boss, I bet you get all the women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

The triumphant return.

We've missed you, Enniscorthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Alternative is often just the next wave of mainstream on its way in.
    It's the fecker with the monacle and the tartan trousers you need to watch out for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

rarnes1 wrote: »
    http://www.presseye.com/img2/port_prt2.jpg

Politically correct alright

Does he really count as an alternative type though? Somehow, I can`t see Jonny Adair sipping on herbal tea, after a session of pilates and planning his next tantric sex session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

kowloon wrote: »
    Alternative is often just the next wave of mainstream on its way in.
    It's the fecker with the monacle and the tartan trousers you need to watch out for.

I don't see it as being "alternative" at all though.

I have dreadlocks, a beard, piercings, tattoos, but when I'm out, I don't feel any different to anyone else, I don't have any stupid notion that I'm "unique", I just look the way I want to look, the same as everyone else in the world does.
    Most people have different hairstyles, wear different clothes etc, very few people dress to look like other people, so I don't see how any one person can think they're more unique than the next person.

Altogether now,
    "We're all individuals"

This guy is a proper individual, unlike you sheeple.

Will wrote: »
    o.0

long hair - nope
    tattoos - yup
    strange piercings - yup

I know plenty of nice and caring people with tattoos, and an equal amount who are complete tossers. Same for those without tattoos, piercings or even long hair. The way you look generally has no impact on what type of person you are behind it all.

Amen to that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

My nut brown bollocks!!!

Imagine any cnut with that kind of face paraphernalia holding down any kind of responsible job.

Cleaning out kennels in a dog's home is the best that geezer could hope to attain.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

TheZohan wrote: »
    Banned for racism.

You banned her for the perceived misspelling, admit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Where I live at the moment I'm perceived as a skin head scumbag. I get followed around stores and no one sits beside me on the train.

Perception is one tenth of reality. I'm a computer engineer and I dress as I choose , it doesn't effect my job and I'm quite a normal respectable guy.

During the week my piercings come out and I wear a shirt and slacks to work and no one bats an eyelid.

Just today I was in the local motor store and I was constantly being watched. I was just buying some fuses for my bike, but two members of staff passed by to check up on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Piercings are pretty rank tbh. Chunks of metal handing out of small holes in your skin.

The sight of a heavily pierced person make me a bit queasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Talking about people now being conformist for having tattoos, how many women are there around these days with something tattooed on their lower back?

Sheeple indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I have tattoos and piercings and i dont see myself alternative its just a choice i made. A lot of my friends are the same, its just something we like and a way to express ourselves. It may alter our appearence but it doesnt change us as people. We're all really nice :D

Schism wrote: »
    Talking about people now being conformist for having tattoos, how many women are there around these days with something tattooed on their lower back?
    Tramp stamp :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

- People with long hair
    - People with tattoos

What you have there are hippies.
    They are full of all these good ideas and ideals, then they finish college, get a partner, chick gets poled, they get a house and all of a sudden all of those ideas and ideals are forgotten about.

Look up former students from your local college for reference. Dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Sofaspud wrote: »
    I don't see it as being "alternative" at all though.

I have dreadlocks, a beard, piercings, tattoos, but when I'm out, I don't feel any different to anyone else, I don't have any stupid notion that I'm "unique", I just look the way I want to look, the same as everyone else in the world does.
    Most people have different hairstyles, wear different clothes etc, very few people dress to look like other people, so I don't see how any one person can think they're more unique than the next person.

Altogether now,
    "We're all individuals"

Sort of what I meant. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

My favourite has to be Irish people with chinke chinese letters on them.

ive always wondered thattoo (see what i did)
    like why would you want somthing that everyone who sees it has to ask....."whas tha mean"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ok, i can relate personally to the long hair, tattoos, strange piercings and charity things...

and in a way, i do tend to see myself as somewhat 'alternative', having never quite 'fit in' in most places, and never quite relating to 'mainstream' music/clothes, ideals etc.

most people i know and am friends with could be considered 'alternative' too, i guess, and while there's one or two who love to say non PC things for a reaction factor (which gets very old, very fast), for the most part, the people i know tend to be quite idealist, and quite open minded and often just want to see the best in people. *shrugs*

i think that there's a lot of the OP noticing it because it doesnt fit into the stereotype, but people from all walks of life and with all sorts of ideas, ideals, and means of expressing themselves can be nice, or assholes. just hte nature of life really.