Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Big Bad Irish Winter - play or break?

• 21-10-2009 10:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭

This was mentioned in the "last round" thread. I thought it was worth a new topic.

I've done both myself over the years - hacked away in all sorts of weather right through the winter months, practicing and getting to the range in the dark evenings. Last year, I played much less, and took a rest, then put some work in at the early season. So the discussion is, which is the way to go?

Obviously, you have to take into account what you're looking for. If someone plays just to get out of the house, then there's an obvious choice there. But I'm more talking about which is best for your game.

I was once a believer that the winter was a valuable time to get lessons, make swing changes etc. But I now feel I know better, for two reasons. 1) Courses are often closed and this can result in lessons and practice with very little play - IMO some play is needed along with lessons and practice for effective improvement. A lot of range work in this way can leave you very technical in mind, and we all know the detriments of that. I think Harrington & co have a lot to do with people's ideas here. They are playing the game in short sleeves 12 months of the year. "Making swing changes in the off-season" means an entirely different thing on tour and, IMO is not applicable to the general amateur golfer.
    2) Enthusiasm, confidence and attitude are crucial factors as we know. I can only speak for myself, but I have found that months of play in awful conditions can leave me frustrated and frankly p*ssed off with golf. I remember feeling almost worn out by the time the season-proper rolled around.

So what do I do? I drink. I get a lie in. I watch sport on TV, and shout advice at the skilled professionals from my couch. I play the odd round when a clear day happens along. When I do play, I don't give a fiddlers what my game is like, or what I score. I actually find this is a good help to your attitude, because even when your game is in shape, this kind of acceptance comes in handy.

Along with the above, of course, you do miss the game. I think this is a great way of building enthusiasm for the early season, by which time you're dying to get out just to play. And you enjoy it. And the weather's better. And you get some tune-up lessons. Work on some short game. Play the last couple of rounds of winter league maybe. In truth, 6-8 weeks ahead of Qualifying Comps & Barton Cup is heaps of time I find to get going.

It's a very personal thing, so I'm interested in others' approach. But I think this suits me best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Last Winter I actually played a bit for the first time in years, mainly links golf. Had a really good start to the season which is unusual for me so I guess it did me some good. I also played some of the worst **** in my life this Summer so really I just reversed my usual form.

I don't mind the wind and cold but hate rain. it's the only chance I get some time to myself theses days so I guess i'll take it if the weather permits. Titleist series in Portmarnock Links early on a Tuesay morning and perhaps a round at the weekend too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Are Irish winters really that bad? The past couple have been pretty tame if i remember rightly.

As i said in the other thread, i've did both - last year i didn't play at all for much of the winter and the result was that i came back and struggled badly for 3-4 months.

This year i hope to just keep playing as much as i can. Competitions are generally only 12-14 holes and non-qualifying so it's some nice no pressure golf with the chance of winning a few quid for 2s or prizes and you can be home and back in your comfies by 11 o'clock on a Sunday morning.

Weather call offs will ensure i still get a few Sundays off too i'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭G1032

I never used to play much in the winter but have done more so in the last few years. I never pay any attention to how i'm scoring because more often than not the course/greens will be in poor condition and not conducive to good scoring. It's only the Saturday or Sunday you can play anyway and it's nice to get out for the 12 or 15 holes if the weather is ok. Wniter and Spring leagues give a small element of competition but they're not serious and at the end of the day are just a bit of craic to pass the winter months. So to sum it up - 12 or 15 holes on a Sunday if it's not p1ssing rain!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Tom Ghostwood

I plan on getting some lessons. I already visit the range at least once a week so Il keep that up & Im going to play a mid week & weekend round too weather permitting of course. I reckon if I stopped playing totally for the winter it would take me too long to get my feel back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭'scorthy

For about 15 years I never played winter golf...once the leafs were off the trees I wouldn't be seen until the bird came back from Capastrano! Memebrs would even comment that the fine weather was here at last when they met me after the break. But for the past few years it has n't bothered me playing in the rain and cold. Once I had my flask (:rolleyes:) and kept warm it didn't matter - golf is never the best anyway. But this winter I'm reluctant to venture out for fear of running my system low and contracting the Swine Flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭G1032

Nearly forgot - you've gotta win the turkey and ham before the Christmas!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭minstrel_boy

Hi All,

Do competitions generally run right throughout the winter. Can you still move you handicap up or down through the winter period?
    This is my first year playing comps. I have a handicap of 22, but over the last 4 weeks I have been getting between 35 and 38 point. I think i could knock a couple of points off my haandicap if I stick at it for the next few weeks.

Not usually but I remember people being cut during the winter at my club. Cant remember their scores though. 9 years ago haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

don't know what the resy of you guy's think but there is nothing like a round of golf on a winters day.
    One of those chilly one's where it's almost too cold for rain.
    It's also good because it gives you a good idea of how far you can actually carry the ball.
    I know this past summer was bad but you would still genrally get a bit of run.
    Get the thermals on and you're sorted.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Hi All,

Do competitions generally run right throughout the winter. Can you still move you handicap up or down through the winter period?
    This is my first year playing comps. I have a handicap of 22, but over the last 4 weeks I have been getting between 35 and 38 point. I think i could knock a couple of points off my haandicap if I stick at it for the next few weeks.
    Once winter rules set in (the club instigates a local rule allowing you to lift, clean and drop in the rough) then competitions become non-qualifying. This means that your handicap won't be adjusted either up or down. Not strictly based on the calendar but usually the case from Nov 1st to Mar 31st.

Yeah actually, those crisp mornings are special. Makes you feel alive :)

I have wound down to an extent already. Found it hard to get motivated for golf after the BC win.... didn't play at the weekend and we have a winter 8 person competition starting on Sunday next so a nice fourball.. nothing overly competitive.
    Going to Saint Andrews in 14 days, 22 hours, 52 minutes, 18 seconds time (who's counting) so this will be a natural end to the season again.
    I'll play the team competition again at the end of November and it finishes with a round just before Christmas.
    St. Stephens day is usually a game in Mount Juliet and I'll play a few times over the holidays with friends if the weather behaves.

So probably 10 more rounds this year... a bit around the turn of the year but very little until March I guess. Oh, and no practice as usual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

I have always played through the winter except on days where it rained heavily. This year will be different for reasons beyond my control as some of you already know.:rolleyes:
    I have to confess I love playing on those cold crisp mornings when its sunny but chilly at the same time. We tend to play fairways and greens against each other through the winter and dont worry about scores to much. I take the point though that a rest and battery recharging might be a good way to whet your appetite for the new season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I'll will hopefully continue on through the winter. I have never done so before, but then again this is my first year of playing more than very casual golf.

To be honest, I hold the belief that for the majority of the off-season it rains less than the on-season anyway. I love those cold crisp mornings, but the cold wind might be the main problem for where I play.... so we'll see how that goes.

Licksy wrote: »
    Once winter rules set in (the club instigates a local rule allowing you to lift, clean and drop in the rough) then competitions become non-qualifying. This means that your handicap won't be adjusted either up or down. Not strictly based on the calendar but usually the case from Nov 1st to Mar 31st.

Must say, I never knew this and it's very disappointing.
    I will be finishing the season on 18 handicap*; I didn't manage to reach my goal for the year.

I started at 22 in April. Had promised myself that I would get down to 15. I still reckon I could have if I just played more competitions and open events around the place.

I am going to practice a lot this winter, hopefully come back with a bang next year and get down to about 12 or so.

*unless I get cut for that v-par tournament...I still haven't found out if it was a qualifying competition or not. Thinking back on it now, the winter rules were in for it... so that likely means it was not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭minstrel_boy

Thanks for the info lads. thats a bit disappointing alright. my mates think im gone mad playing golf lately and they'll get a good laugh out of me making no progress. I'm generally getting up on 40pts in practice rounds. I had 42 in ballina at the weekend, but when it comes to the weekly comp, i generally hit a couple out of bounds and the short game costs me loads of shots, which brings me back down to the 36 odd point.. im living in the buffer zone

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I have all my wet gear so will be playing on through the winter, just not as often as i used to (haven't missed a week since about april or so!!)

Am actually going out in half an hour and its raining here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Gailf

Play!

I've been out for a couple of week through injury and I'm desperate to get back. The legs recovered nicely so I'm defoheading out to the course over the weekend.

Winter is all about perfecting for me and it'll be no differant this year. Plenty of work on the chipping/putting green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Always up for winning the oul Turkey before Christmas, but 9 holes of temporary greens in nasty weather does nothing for your game.
    Links golf is the only option for Irish winters imo. Greens rarely see frost after 9am when the sea-sand sees it off, and on a nice crisp morning, theres no better place to be! Alliance in Portmarnock is worth the odd pop, or if you're really feeling good about your game, give the Wednesday alliance in the European Club a go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Reckon I'll play during the winter. Might take a little break in early January or stick to the range if possible, but than again there'll be a few days when the course is closed so that'll take care of that.

I was kind of taken aback when Sheet said he was going to be hanging up the clubs this early in the year. October hasn't been that bad, the past few days have been terrible but last Saturday was a glorious day and hopefully a few more of them to come. Than again I can understand what Licksy said about not having the motivation to play after his team event, sometimes after a big event or in most peoples case when winter rules coming into play, its difficult to gear yourself up for the normal Sunday 12 hole stableford competition. In a way I’ll look forward to it, in that you can just go out and enjoy your golf and not care about scoring to an extend. Being the competitive type, golf recently has been about play well and getting that handicap down, I suppose sometimes I’m guilty of putting a little too much pressure on myself to score well so obviously I wont be able to do that in the winter, when winter rules come in and handicaps are frozen, so I’ll look forward to that in a way. However within saying that I do love the feeling of walking off the course when I’ve beaten CSS knowing my handicap will be cut, so time will tell.

I do want to keep the swing going and even in the cold and wet its still a hell of a lot better than being stuck in the office listening to talk about pay cuts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

I'll continue playing throughout the Winter as normal. Like last year, a group of us (25) have organised a Winter League where we'll play courses within an hour's drive of Lucan (Killeen, New Forest, Carton, etc.) for attractive prices (one of our group has the Midas touch when negotiating rates). Will pick and choose my courses for that and will play 9 holes on my home course when I'm not playing in the league. Nothing like 9 holes on a Winter's day and spending the afternoon in the bar watching rugby/footy on the box enjoying good food, pints, and the craic! Well, until she who must be obeyed summons you home.

madds wrote: »
    a group of us (25) have organised a Winter League where we'll play courses within an hour's drive of Lucan (Killeen, New Forest, Carton, etc.) for attractive prices (one of our group has the Midas touch when negotiating rates).

Great idea.

Playing different courses is always a good way to keep things fresh and interesting and the courses named above are all crackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I havent played winter golf in 10 years as i usually go shooting for the winter. This year i am been told i have to play if our club is to win anything next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

I will continue to play through the winter ,will try to play once every ten days if feasible.
    Considering how bad our summers have been over the last few years I dont mind playing in Winter time at all.
    As long as its a dry day and > 6 degrees C ,I will go out.
    A good old windbreaker and wooly hat keeps me nice and warm.
    Only thing I dont like about Winter golf is playing off rubber fecking mats,I hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Sammo13

Always put the clubs away from Mid November to late Feb. I would never really practice, but this year I will do some winter practice on my Irons, hit balls one evening a week and will probably play most weekends...

I'd like to see if a winters practice will improve my ball striking come April..

But I will have a rest over christmas, it'll be all about Santa in our house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

jimbling wrote: »
    I'll will hopefully continue on through the winter.

haha, well that's a laugh. Not played a single game since I typed that. Although I am due to play Fota next Monday, if it's playable.
    jimbling wrote: »
    To be honest, I hold the belief that for the majority of the off-season it rains less than the on-season anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

garrytodd wrote: »
    I have decided to go abroad to the Algarve and do some golf in my shorts and a tee shirt.
    I am also saving alot of money as flights are cheaper now than they have ever been and I have found some great deals for discount golf at http://shill up to 40% saving on green fees and alot more.
    If you look hard enough you can find alot of great deals available on the internet and if you book all the aspecs yourself ie flight, acomm, car hire it really works out alot cheaper than you think.

Nice plug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I generally hit a couple out of bounds and the short game costs me loads of shots, which brings me back down to the 36 odd point.. im living in the buffer zone

Off topic but this means your handicap is too high :)

I play every week the course is open. Missed the last two weeks due to closure and its still annoying me. Havent been to the range in nearly a year as spent all my free/golf time practicing on the course (with far better results btw!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭boksmashoffice

the driving range is the place in the winter or go abroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Have always tried playing through the winter every year, but played two weeks ago and my hands were so cold i had to stop after 9 holes no feeling or sensation in my hands and could not go through another two hours of it,when i came in off the course i could not even tie my shoelaces.I have diabetes and circulation in my hands is a problem since being diagnosed with it two years ago, i was even wearing a pair of all weather gloves made no difference to me.

We had a thread a little while ago here about winter gloves. Go to TK Maxx and get yourself a pair of ski mittens for around 20 quid. I got a great pair of Reusch Mittens in the Kilkenny store a few weeks ago. Use them between shots... they have finger dividers inside and you'll be very snug... You'll only take them off to play a shot so you won't get cold for those few moments.
    Impossible to play or enjoy the game with cold hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Had every intention of playing over the Winter but alas between one thing and another I haven't played in 6 weeks. Not looking like I'll play between now and Jan 10th either. Not missing it as much as I thought I would tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Haven't played in 3 weeks and I can't say I've missed it. Was due to play this morning but the counse was closed due to the frost. Blessing in disguise.

Don't like winter golf (well parkland winter golf). On the good days you get the horrible low blinding sun in your eyes, on the bad days you get mucky fairways, droping off the side of fairways, just not enjoyable conditions.

Golf is a summer game where parkland courses are concerned anyway.

I'll get back properly into it from March onwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Played Druids Glen on Saturday. Almost perfect weather. Course was in great condition. Fabulous place. Not as difficult as I thought. Well-placed bunkers and difficult to read greens. Some great shots over water too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Played Druids Glen on Saturday. Almost perfect weather. Course was in great condition. Fabulous place. Not as difficult as I thought. Well-placed bunkers and difficult to read greens. Some great shots over water too.

I played it myself on Saturday for the first time as was given a free round with mate.

Would agree with your points but that might have changed if did not have my hand warmers thats for sure.

Very nice course and one the best I have played would love to play it in nice summers day say it would be much better and little bit easier on the teeth.

With this hard frost we’re getting I can’t see myself playing too much over the Christmas period anyway, but that might be a blessing in disguise, as its bloody well freezing out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

€80 to stick the clubs on the plane... shame there's about 5 inches of snow lying on every course within 100 miles!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Seeing as someone else dug this topic back up... did anyone else notice Harrington fully advocated the "break" idea for winter, to the tune of 8 weeks in his case.

In terms of managing performance levels I find breaks a must, but only took about 5 weeks there back on Oct/Nov and have been back practicing lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

I had planned on playing through the winter but I havent hit a ball in over 2 months due to the horrific weather conditions.
    Either
    a)Course was closed due to flooding
    b)Course was open but it was a wet day
    c)Course was closed due to frost
    I cant see myself getting out on the course for a few more weeks and by then the annual sub is due.
    I'm seriously wondering if its worth paying over 1000 euro considering the woeful weather we have had the last 3 years.

jimjo wrote: »
    Reckon I'll play during the winter. Might take a little break in early January or stick to the range if possible, but than again there'll be a few days when the course is closed so that'll take care of that.

I've tried to get out most weekends since i made the above post. Although recently I haven't been able to get out, pity as I wanted to get out for just a few during xmas as I have a good bit of free time.
    Zardoz wrote: »
    I had planned on playing through the winter but I havent hit a ball in over 2 months due to the horrific weather conditions.
    Either
    a)Course was closed due to flooding
    b)Course was open but it was a wet day
    c)Course was closed due to frost
    I cant see myself getting out on the course for a few more weeks and by then the annual sub is due.
    I'm seriously wondering if its worth paying over 1000 euro considering the woeful weather we have had the last 3 years.

Many people up and down the country are thinking the same. Many i've spoken to are finding it difficult to justify paying yearly membership when they cant even get out. Consider if someone only plays 10-15 times a year due to work or lack off, or simply have a young family and dont have the time, it works out far better with good value midweek green fees - (eg 10 rounds for €250) than paying well over €1,000 for membership of which they wouldn't get good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

Zardoz wrote: »

I am in this boat. I can't see me rejoining my club next year

Can't justify the cash with the number of times I got out this year.

Haven't played in several months and don't miss it