Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New shoes! - cycling shoes 101

• 20-10-2009 3:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for new cycling shoes and more importantly where to get them?

A had a set of Diadora that were really comfortable but they've come to the end of the road and I'm finding it pretty tricky to get another set. Most of the bike shops have quite limited selections!

To compensate for my speed I was looking for some pretty flash ones max about €150 / €160.

Thanks for your help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Sidi:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Sidi:D

Cycling Shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

DMT i love mine best shoe i have ever worn

And just so you know what I'm on about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Do you want road or mtb shoes?

Your safest bet would be to go to a local bike store and get them there, you can try on different styles and ask stuff.

If you're feeling lucky, buy them online. I bought new shoes online recently without ever trying them on, and they fit me very well. Did a good bit of research though. And I didn't mind having to send them back if the fit was off.

For road shoes, at that price point, there's lots to choose from, Sidi Genius 6.6 carbons are in the right range, as are Gaerne G.Myst Carbons, handcrafted in Italy by 7th generation artisans, as worn by Cadel Evans and Bert Grabsch.

I also like some of the DMT and Mavic shoes. I kinda like the Specialized S-Works too, out of your range perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Def shop around in bricks and mortar shops first, try on pairs for sizing etc then see if the interweb shops are much cheaper... I have sidi's and I cant say a thing against them, the shape fits my feet better than shimano or others. best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Similar to the OP I'm also on the market for a pair of road cycling shoes although these will be my first cycling shoes. A question though, are black or dark shoes not Euro? White seems to be the colour of choice and while they might look cool, is dirt and grime not a problem?
    Any opinion on the below shoes and does anyone know where it might be possible to buy them in a bricks and mortar store in order to try them for size first.
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/dhb_RC_Carbon_Road_Shoes/5360041918/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

White shoes, like regular white runners, stay clean if you look after them. You won't be doing as much walking in them so as long as you aren't cycling through too many dirty puddles, they are easy to keep clean. A pair of overshoes or cover socks will help with this.

DHB are sold through wiggle unfortunately.

Sorry, that should read exclusively sold.

There are some great prices on 09 SIDI stock here.

As you can also see from the parts listing, their shoes are nearly completely rebuildable; heel pads, buckles, straps, inserts, etc. can all be swapped out meaning a well looked after pair of shoes could last forever.

My SIDI Genius 5s are approaching 2 years old (in january I think) and the only reason I could justify an upgrade at the moment is for a lighter shoe, carbon/magnesium alloy sole or (highest on my list) yellow. They are almost like new, really well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

SIDI are the most Euro, I don't know that anything else matters much really.

I have them myself, in titanium colour to match my bike and helmet, they took a while to break in but have been decent since. They are good shoes but like Assos I am not sure there are not very good shoes from other manufacturers also.

Black is very non-Euro, very Lance, very frowned upon. Black SIDIs are an abomination.

Specialized are also good and they come in white varieties but are acceptable in black.

Shoes like saddles are a personal thing, whatever fits best is likely to work best for you. I do like a stiff sole and a ratcheting strap.

Ratchet is very important. Can adjust the shoe under an overshoe and while on the bike with ease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Ledgecubed

Wow, that's a lot more replies than I expected. Thanks!

White was always going to be the option preferably with go faster red racing stripes. I was actually looking at these SIDI ones below and I think I might go ahead with it:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Sidi_Genius_66_Carbon_Road_Cycling_Shoe_2008/5360042404/

I saw your link lukester to chainreactions where they're €40 cheaper so thanks for that!

That would mean for possibly the first time ever I will come in at my budget for cycling gear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,234 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    White shoes, like regular white runners, stay clean if you look after them.

Well they're fine if you don't cycle in the wet without overshoes. Otherwise they get filthy.

Just as well we have 365 days of unbroken sunshine in this country.

Lumen wrote: »
    Well they're fine if you don't cycle in the wet without overshoes. Otherwise they get filthy.

Just as well we have 365 days of unbroken sunshine in this country.

More buyer's regret on your Ergo 2s?

lukester wrote: »
    More buyer's regret on your Ergo 2s?

Lumen: I'll swap you the Ergo 2s for my Shimano winter boots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

See now those black Sidi Genius with the red stripes look nice in the pictures at least, certainly nicer than the white ones with the green heel. With white shoes then do you also use white overshoes to keep everything Euro?
    What's the general difference between the different types of Sidi shoes, ie Genius, Ergo etc besides the price as both types seem to have the all carbon sole.

See now those black Sidi Genius with the red stripes look nice in the pictures at least, certainly nicer than the white ones with the green heel. With white shoes then do you also use white overshoes to keep everything Euro?
    What's the general difference between the different types of Sidi shoes, ie Genius, Ergo etc besides the price as both types seem to have the all carbon sole.

Black overshoes are the spawn of Satan, but sometimes you simply have to use them.

Raam wrote: »
    Lumen: I'll swap you the Ergo 2s for my Shimano winter boots!

I'm almost tempted, though I think they might be a little large for me.

@lukester, I've reached a truce with my Sidis. I find my Spesh MTB shoes more comfortable, but can't pull up in them the same way I can with the Sidis. My toes go numb in the Sidis if I forget to wiggle them, but otherwise they're bearable.

The moral of the story is: be careful when plonking €200+ down over the internet on a pair of shoes. Would you buy any other sort of shoe over the internet? Not sure I would.

Unfortunate. I took a punt on some over the Internet too. They fit like a glove when I tried them on standing, and after a few minutes on the bike I forgot I was wearing them- very happy.

I was willing to send them back if necessary- ended up sending back a different pair of shoes.

The price differential is big enough that I was willing to buy this way.

You can send them back anywhere, if you buy from CRC it is quite cheap to boot as the whole island of Ireland has the same (lower) postal rate.

To be honest to an extent I think it is difficult to get a feel for whether a cycling shoe really fits you until you actually go out and ride it anyway. I went from thinking size 45 SIDIs fit me perfectly (from trying on Tiny's), to thinking (only after 50km in to a ride) they were much too narrow and putting pressure in the wrong places, to 500-1000km later thinking in fact they fit fine.

On the flip side I've bought stuff in a shop which seemed fine trying it on in the shop but ended up a disaster on the bike...

blorg wrote: »
    You can send them back anywhere, if you buy from CRC it is quite cheap to boot as the whole island of Ireland has the same (lower) postal rate.

To be honest to an extent I think it is difficult to get a feel for whether a cycling shoe really fits you until you actually go out and ride it anyway. I went from thinking size 45 SIDIs fit me perfectly (from trying on Tiny's), to thinking (only after 50km in to a ride) they were much too narrow and putting pressure in the wrong places, to 500-1000km later thinking in fact they fit fine.

On the flip side I've bought stuff in a shop which seemed fine trying it on in the shop but ended up a disaster on the bike...

Yes, well this is exactly what happened with me. I tried some in a shop, then bought the same size off the internet, then discovered that they were uncomfortable on the bike, then got used to them (sort of).

If it takes a few rides to work out whether they fit, it doesn't matter where you bought them - they won't take them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Yes, well this is exactly what happened with me. I tried some in a shop, then bought the same size off the internet, then discovered that they were uncomfortable on the bike, then got used to them (sort of).

If it takes a few rides to work out whether they fit, it doesn't matter where you bought them - they won't take them back.

Jaysus lads, just buy the pretty shoes, HTFU, and wear them with pride... who cares if they hurt, you're euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

I know a lot of folks really like the Specialized S-Works Road shoes and I noticed Cycleways have the 2009 models (in normal sizes) onsale downstairs for €150.

I got my first pair of the road ones in 2008 (used the MTB ones from 2007) - raced on them all that season, raced/trained on them for 2009 and am still training on the same pair now - I love them. I have used various Sidi and Shimano shoes before but these work best for me.

(Disclaimer - Cycleways and Specialized do help me out with some kit)

Might check that out, I have Specialized MTB shoes that fit very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

I know a lot of folks really like the Specialized S-Works Road shoes and I noticed Cycleways have the 2009 models (in normal sizes) onsale downstairs for €150.

I got my first pair of the road ones in 2008 (used the MTB ones from 2007) - raced on them all that season, raced/trained on them for 2009 and am still training on the same pair now - I love them. I have used various Sidi and Shimano shoes before but these work best for me.

(Disclaimer - Cycleways and Specialized do help me out with some kit)

You say normal sizes, would 12-13 be considered normal you reckon?

I saw (in EU sizes) 40-46 stacked up - there was about 10-12 pairs in total. Expert level MTB shoes going cheap (similar to the S-Works just with a ratchet) and a pair of MTB Defroster shoes for €55 (size 42 - otherwise I would have bought them)

There is a mega amount of good gear for sale in XL-XXL sizes... That used to be my size (during my basketball days) - now I'm usually an M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Sidi Genius 6.6's going pretty reasonably on CRC at the moment (nice pressie from the OH if you're lucky!)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Have to say Specialized road and MTB shoes are by far the most comfortable I've used (diadora, sidi, carnac, adidias and many more)

(Disclaimer - No-one help's me out with any kit :()

Actually (sitting next to me - I forgot about them) I have a brand new pair of Sidi - Zephyr Carbon (black) 44.5 shoes for sale. (These: http://www.rei.com/product/780175)

€80.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Tuppence worth.

I have Spesh MTB Sport. Very comfy. Use almost everyday.

Northwave Aerator. Exceedingly uncomfortable. Nearly always get pins and needles. Way too many vents mean unsuitable for irish temperatures.

Sidi Genius - bought recently from tonto. Warm and very very comfy. Like a lot would get a more ventilated version for the summer.
    The fit my wide feet very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

... girls

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

... girls
    Yes please....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

I saw (in EU sizes) 40-46 stacked up - there was about 10-12 pairs in total. Expert level MTB shoes going cheap (similar to the S-Works just with a ratchet) and a pair of MTB Defroster shoes for €55 (size 42 - otherwise I would have bought them)

There is a mega amount of good gear for sale in XL-XXL sizes... That used to be my size (during my basketball days) - now I'm usually an M.

Thanks for that I might try the 46 but doubt it would be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

ROK ON wrote: »
    Sidi Genius - bought recently from tonto. Warm and very very comfy. Like a lot would get a more ventilated version for the summer.
    The fit my wide feet very well.

I recently changes to the Genius 5 shoes. They are very airy compared to my old DHB shoes. Do you have the winter version or something?