Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prostitution / Dissertation

• 20-10-2009 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

Hi Lads, I am currently completing a dissertation on prostitution and need the name of a garda to interview, i know of one but i think he has retired as cant locate him on the internal mail, need one who would have some expierence in dealing with the current day stuff,
    pm me no need to be sending out names over the forum
    many thanks for the help
    n

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

noel32 wrote: »
    Hi Lads, I am currently completing a dissertation on prostitution and need the name of a garda to interview, i know of one but i think he has retired as cant locate him on the internal mail, need one who would have some expierence in dealing with the current day stuff,
    pm me no need to be sending out names over the forum
    many thanks for the help
    n
    Were in the world are you? And prostitution isnt something that majority of gardai deal with to often to be honest!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭noel32

Were in the world are you? And prostitution isnt something that majority of gardai deal with to often to be honest!!

i'm a member in ireland!
    i know they dont deal with it as they seem to be turning a little blind eye to the whole thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

I'm sure some of the senior lads in the Bridewell/Pearse Street could point you in the right direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Blind eye my ar*e. I know of many people that have boxes comin out the doors of their offices doin investigation files on the things. Maybe the guard/d.o. in the station turns a blind eye. But there are loads of units in other branches i.e GNIB,CAB,NBCI doin investigations on it (was big article on it only recently in paper). Ask around and you'll find plenty of people to talk to about it or alternatively ring one of those units and see if someone there is willing to talk to you about it.

Don't forget that prostitution goes hand in hand with human trafficking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

i'm a member in ireland!
    i know they dont deal with it as they seem to be turning a little blind eye to the whole thing
    Yes i no you are in Ireland, if you are anywere outside the major citys the chances of members coming across prostitution gets less and less and i dont mean that members turn a blind eye, i meant that the majority of gardai have not come accross cases of open prostitution, such as dolls standing at the side of the road type shenanigans, its all done behind closed doors and thats the job of specialist units to track and seek the "wh#*es" out literally, you catching me?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

The ones on the street corners are only feeding drug habits. Everything they earn gets injected into their arms, groins and even feet.

The preofeesional ones, the ones listed on all the escort websites are earning serious amounts of tax free money and leading very happy rich lives.

Human trafficking does come into it aswell but alot of irish girls chose to become escorts/hookers becuase of the serious amount of money that can be earned.

Chief--- wrote: »
    The ones on the street corners are only feeding drug habits. Everything they earn gets injected into their arms, groins and even feet.

The preofeesional ones, the ones listed on all the escort websites are earning serious amounts of tax free money and leading very happy rich lives.

Human trafficking does come into it aswell but alot of irish girls chose to become escorts/hookers becuase of the serious amount of money that can be earned.

its unreal, from the amount of work i have done on it the money they are making is frightening, and these touring ones from england and that are making savage money as well,
    trafficking seems to be a big part of it, ruhama and the migrant council of ireland did a massive report on it there recently, interesting stuff in the report

Yes i no you are in Ireland, if you are anywere outside the major citys the chances of members coming across prostitution gets less and less and i dont mean that members turn a blind eye, i meant that the majority of gardai have not come accross cases of open prostitution, such as dolls standing at the side of the road type shenanigans, its all done behind closed doors and thats the job of specialist units to track and seek the "wh#*es" out literally, you catching me?

true, sorry blind eye is prob the wrong expression, not being in dublin i would'nt know much bout the nbci and gnib doing the work into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BrandonFlowers

good suggestions there to try specalist units but to get the guard on the grounds view you can't go far wrong from Pearse st where i believe there's a lot of it around the leeson street/canal are or the bridewell whish has benburb st etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

good suggestions there to try specalist units but to get the guard on the grounds view you can't go far wrong from Pearse st where i believe there's a lot of it around the leeson street/canal are or the bridewell whish has benburb st etc...

leeson street falls outside pearse streets area, it could be harcourt terrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Nice operation running in Wexford town till recently. Literally within yards of Garda Station, house made available to mobile hookers on short term lease basis. I presume Gardai were on top of situation (pardon pun), but local journo broke the story with pics and directions. You can almost see that British based retail icon reflected in the windows. Employees interviewed were doing it to support their families...very sad to be honest.

This particular trade is not restricted to urban centres, victim of human trafficking being primed for prostitution presented herself to rural Gardai of late, the location of her detention/potential employment being extremely rural. They can be "employed" as fruit pickers etc., without any level of suspicion locally. You will see them accommodated in caravans, outhouses or other suitably degrading premises.

Having never visited one of these ladies personally, I do know people that have. Make no mistake, this is not a victimless crime, the clients are responsible not only for the spread of STD's and infections, but also the drug trade, human trafficking, gang culture, general disrespect for the human race etc. This is a crime that permeates civilisation and always has done, and if it was entirely the choice of the "ladies of the night", it might well be acceptable or permissible. The simple fact is that it serves no-one in a positive manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

i'm a member in ireland!

For a probationer, saying what you just said doesn't inspire much confidence in your attitude towards your colleagues.

To say AGS is 'turning a little blind eye to the whole thing' is ridiculous imo. There have been countless raids on, and successful prosecutions against brothels.. recent case being in Limerick city centre during the summer. As dj pointed out, AGS take the issue very seriously as it is intertwined with organised crime, terrorism etc. The Gardai on here wouldn't say otherwise I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Prostituation / Dissertation

For a minute there, i thought this was just an interesting offer to someone to do your dissertation for you!

Eroo, dont go lecturing on his "attitude towards his colleagues".

How long you got left to finish it noel, hows it going for you??????
    Thats a interesting topic you picked, its good to see new topics though, makes a change from the usual topics that are written to death every single phase.

ah have till the dec 28 going ok have the intro and chaps one and two done and also some of three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

There is an operation in Store Street Garda Station that deal specifically with it. Just ring Store Street Garda Station (01) 6668000 and they will send you in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

@ Noel32: If I may just ask a brief question in your thread re:dissertion :confused:

@djtechnics: Can I ask you briefly, what other topics have students covered over the years that you are aware of, just out of curiosity :confused:

@Mods: feel free to delete this question if I'm unable to hijack this thread for this brief / semi-related question :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

I think the human trafficking thing is overblown. Ruhama are some mad catholic group arent they? Cant think of a single conviction/court case over trafficking . Some of the girls found working as prostitutes claim trafficking hoping for leniency and favourable immigration treatment.

there was recently a case prosecuted in romania involving a human trafficking ring sending females into ireland for the sex trade. it was in the papers. was a couple of weeks ago now. it involved gnib and customs

kerry4sam wrote: »

@djtechnics: Can I ask you briefly, what other topics have students covered over the years that you are aware of, just out of curiosity :confused:

suicide, should an garda siochana be armed, domestic violence, drug trafficking, cctv, garda transport, public order, community policing to name a few