Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

garda speed gun calibrate

• 19-10-2009 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭

hi regarding the garda mobile speed detectors when they calibrate them are they supposed to have the calibrating cert with them to show the motorist or is it if you deceide to go to court that they show it then reason being i was caught over the limit she showed me 79kmh on the gun but i wasnt going that fast i asked her for the cert but she said she doesnt have to have it on her that if i contest it in court then il see, is she right thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I think she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

karl75 wrote: »
    hi regarding the garda mobile speed detectors when they calibrate them are they supposed to have the calibrating cert with them to show the motorist or is it if you deceide to go to court that they show it then reason being i was caught over the limit she showed me 79kmh on the gun but i wasnt going that fast i asked her for the cert but she said she doesnt have to have it on her that if i contest it in court then il see, is she right thanks

Garda speed guns are always calibrated correctly according to our laws, can't find the links as search is down. Too many people where winning cases when the gun wasn't correctly calibrated so they changed the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Law states that the device is correct until proven otherwise.

In regard to the cert it is kept in the station by the Supt for the regular unit or Sergeant in charge for Traffic units. It does not have to be shown at the side of the road. You ma request to see the cert in court but that is generally a remand to a new date for hearing to allow AGS to provide the cert......so another day in court.

Hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

Law states that the device is correct until proven otherwise.

In regard to the cert it is kept in the station by the Supt for the regular unit or Sergeant in charge for Traffic units. It does not have to be shown at the side of the road. You ma request to see the cert in court but that is generally a remand to a new date for hearing to allow AGS to provide the cert......so another day in court.

Hope this helps.

A calibration cert is meaningless unless it can be shown that it is the cert belonging to the device that was used in your offence. You would need to get the device serial number from the Garda @ the roadside & they would need to show the corresponding cert to prove the device was calibrated, IMO.

suck it up & pay the fine is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

I agree. Unless OP you have a lot of spare time, money and patience I wouldnt be advising going down this road.

€80 and two points. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭karl75

ok cheers thanks for that lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 jimmylive

you should try this bad boy called the Valentine 2001. if a cop is on your ass this thing will give you 15seconds to react and bring your speed down provided theyr not using laser gun. If they are,you need a jammer that can be adjusted by you in the way that you can turn it off once your speed is normal in order to remove suspicion from cops. I would recommend the "Blinder". You will find any of these on a uk website http://www.ukspeedtraps.co.uk/btst.htm

happy motoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

But (a) that is illegal (b) they can detect your jammer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

jimmylive wrote: »
    you should try this bad boy called the Valentine 2001. if a cop is on your ass this thing will give you 15seconds to react and bring your speed down provided theyr not using laser gun. If they are,you need a jammer that can be adjusted by you in the way that you can turn it off once your speed is normal in order to remove suspicion from cops. I would recommend the "Blinder". You will find any of these on a uk website http://www.ukspeedtraps.co.uk/btst.htm

happy motoring

Gardai dont use Radar.

The laser gun can detect a jammer and gives a jammer detected signal when pointed at a car with one in it.

Ease off the pedal in all the usual spots and you should be grand.