Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Business ideas

• 19-10-2009 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭

Hi everyone, i need your guys help ye see in my school there is a competition where you pitch an idea to our business teachers, the winner gets 500 euro, i need this money to pay off debts and i need it for a current project i am under taking that is low on funds, so any ideas you may had or have would be very appreciated. im oviously not going to steel your idea and make millions on your behalf as im only 14. so please any random ideas would be very helpful, needs to be original and make loads of money, helping the enviroment would be a plus. thanks again

Rory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 ZumGirl

Golfanatic wrote: »
    Hi everyone, i need your guys help ye see in my school there is a competition where you pitch an idea to our business teachers, the winner gets 500 euro, i need this money to pay off debts and i need it for a current project i am under taking that is low on funds, so any ideas you may had or have would be very appreciated. im oviously not going to steel your idea and make millions on your behalf as im only 14. so please any random ideas would be very helpful, needs to be original and make loads of money, helping the enviroment would be a plus. thanks again

Rory

Hi Rory - although you at 14 may not be interesteed in stealing the idea, can we trust your teachers not to? (I hear that things are getting a little tight in the public service ;))

Rory

You're really in your fourties and desperate aren't you ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Rory

You lost me right there. What "debts" would a 14 yr old have? FFS :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

give him a chance - lets see if we can come up with a decent idea that can be implemented by a 14 year old and see if he wins.

as for debts of a 14 year old - mobile phone, decent clothes (borrow money from sister), chasing girls, internet sub etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Rory

In America when someone doesn't pay thier mortgage and gets kicked out, the bank will sell the house for whatever it can get,and the homeowners debt is written off.

So, here's the plan. Go to the States, buy houses at Foreclosure Auctions for about 25% of mortgage value. Add 50% to that price and sell the house to the guy who's getting thrown out. As it's America, they'll get a loan from someone. So you buy the $400K house for about $100K and sell it for $150K. So everyone's happy. Except the bank. Waaayhaaay ... BONUS !!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Mr Biz

Rory

Hows about launching a new board game for schools called "BOOM or BUST" or "BEAT THE RECESSION"
    The objective of the game is to travel through the board of time, it's financial obstacles and through the gates of prosperity!

Fianna Fail members attending the Late Late Toy Show could receive one each for the Christmas family get together!!

Mr Biz ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Insurance Broker

An idea or an original idea?
    The above survives whether there is a recession or not so surely it's a good one....

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

How about a book "14 and in debt, my experiences" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Cabinteely

yop wrote: »
    How about a book "14 and in debt, my experiences" :)

good one

Rory

A handheld device that scans receipts. Once the receipt is scanned it is automatically emailed to a central computer.

All government ministers are given one of these to track their expenses and think twice before getting a 3000euro hotel!

If youve been reading the papers and hearing the news over the last few weeks, this has been a major talking point. Its topical and also a bit humorous. Might get you your 500euro!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

My dad always says " if sh*it was pudding, we would all be rich" ....there has to be idea in there somewhere !!! ...dig deep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭kenbrady

needs to be original and make loads of money, helping the enviroment would be a plus. thanks again
    No one who has one of these would share it with you.

Here's how you do this, find a problems and solve it. You're in school so find a problems that affects school kids and think of a solution. Then build a business around that solution.

Try a carpooling website for parents driving their kids to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭random.stranger

Hi OP,
    How about a service that matches golfers up with people that are available to caddy? You take a fee out of every caddy you supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Spinnaker

This might lead you to an answer and that nice prize....

All GOOD business ideas come from solving a CUSTOMER PROBLEM. So ...maybe focus less on business ideas and more on problems that say your friends / family need solved. Of course any solution you think of must be one that they are willing to pay for. From this discussion may come your winner business idea.

Try asking many of them about their day-to-day problems see what comes out. . .

Good luck !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

Spinnaker wrote: »

All GOOD business ideas come from solving a CUSTOMER PROBLEM. So ...maybe focus less on business ideas and more on problems that say your friends / family need solved. Of course any solution you think of must be one that they are willing to pay for. From this discussion may come your winner business idea.

Good luck !

Probably the best answer to date.

Also in the current times, look for an idea that has a good bit of labour involved in it - thus it will be a job creation idea rather than just a money making idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Golfanatic

thanks everyone for all your help its agreat turn out of ideas, liked alot of them. dead lines on friday so if you have any more keep them coming. thanks again

ok .. real quick rough and simple example:

your parents may pay e8 (tag) per bin lift 50 times per year = e400.

source and resell a small device(*) to efficiently compress rubbish by hand to reduce number of lifts by say 20 -37% i.e saving e80 to e150 each year.

sell it for maybe e40 and so on and so on .....

(*) remember those things for turning wet newspaper into fuel blocks

thanks everyone for all your help its agreat turn out of ideas, liked alot of them. dead lines on friday so if you have any more keep them coming. thanks again
    have you no brain yourself, if this is the effort and enthusiasm you put into projects you won't go far. Apart from posting on the internet what have you actually done for this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭flash harry

kenbrady wrote: »
    have you no brain yourself, if this is the effort and enthusiasm you put into projects you won't go far. Apart from posting on the internet what have you actually done for this ?

classy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

:rolleyes: FFS he's a 14yr old kid give him a break.

kenbrady i have been working on this for a good solid month actually, and have some ideas but im still trying to think of better ones for your information ive done alot of work on this and i put alot of work and effort into every project i undertake

cheers dean09

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Maybe post some of your ideas and what sort of research you have done so that people dont think you are coming on here looking for us to do your homework for you and can see you are making an effort too..

kenbrady i have been working on this for a good solid month actually, and have some ideas but im still trying to think of better ones for your information ive done alot of work on this and i put alot of work and effort into every project i undertake

cheers dean09

Golfanatic, when you come across negative people dont let them get to you, just use it as fuel to spur you on to do better. Fair play to you for trying to get some ideas together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭w123

Everybody knows that you can make money by doing something, but that you can only make real money by getting others to do the work for you.

OP is to be praised for getting others to do his thinking, shows true entrepreneurial spirit.

Go into work and ask your co-workers to do your work for you.
    Running your own business ask your competitors to come up with new ideas for you.
    You'll get a swift get lost.

Entrepreneurship is not about thinking up ideas, it's about turning those ideas into a successful, profitable business. The ideas are the easy part.

He's being lazy, he's showed not work ethic, got suggestion on how to find the answer for himself but didn't work on it, instead all he does is post asking for more handouts.

It's a competition he's entering, the winner should be the one who came up the idea and put the work in, not someone who presented someone else work.

If you get handed everything for no effort, you never develop or improve yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Mod note: Please keep this on track, Ken if you don't want to offer the kid advice thats ok, but please don't try and derail the thread by saying others don't. Plenty of successfull business' have been started on the foot of someone getting someone elses idea and running with it.

As for OP, in these type of competitions, judges are looking for ideas which the competitor is really behind, try and think of something around your hobbies or interests.
    Eg. I see you are interested in golf? Perhaps there is a gadget or gizmo that you think would be cool to have as a golfer. Maybe a new type of golf trolley or a new type of training aid.

OP It might be beneficial now to demonstrate some of your past ideas, effort and work here. This may serve to keep the goodwill going.

BTW one poster to this BIZ forum has a small golf gizmo/gadget that he needs someone to sell. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭MB74

egan007 wrote: »
    Insurance Broker

An idea or an original idea?
    The above survives whether there is a recession or not so surely it's a good one....

Glad you think it all rosey, maybe website development:D:D

Okay, run a competition in the school for the best business idea with a prize fund of €750 (€250 better than the teachers), with an entry fee of €10, take the best idea and present it to the teacher, if it's actually any good keep it and enter the second best. All you need is 25 entries to break even and the rest is profit!

Obviously you change the prize level entry fee depending on the number in your school!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

Go into work and ask your co-workers to do your work for you.
    Running your own business ask your competitors to come up with new ideas for you.
    You'll get a swift get lost.

Entrepreneurship is not about thinking up ideas, it's about turning those ideas into a successful, profitable business. The ideas are the easy part.

He's being lazy, he's showed not work ethic, got suggestion on how to find the answer for himself but didn't work on it, instead all he does is post asking for more handouts.

It's a competition he's entering, the winner should be the one who came up the idea and put the work in, not someone who presented someone else work.

If you get handed everything for no effort, you never develop or improve yourself.
    if you spent as much time thinking of something encouraging to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭antog86

Spinnaker wrote: »

Good luck !

Definitely the best answer yet. Solid advise!

hi everyone id just like to say thanks to everyone im handing in the idea tomorrow i got three from here, carpooling website by kembrady thanks very much, a waste compactor by spinnaker and the american house selling from eviction by Dubtony, thanks to everyone who helped thanks. i also put in an electric car company, you make a cheap car but well built like nissan, that looks good for the younger generation, it would save them money and the enviroment and i thought of a hiv dating website. still open to more ideas i had some more but there written down somwhere else thanks again really grateful ill tell you how it gets on results are after the midterm. it ends tomorrow friday so dont post any after that thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭tombull82

hiv dating site? I would hate to see the bad publicity on that one... :)

ye i know i just thought of that i havent given it in but i thought it was a good idea tnx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Sparkx

Hi Rory,
    I have on average 10 new ideas a week some could be worth millions some could lose me everything, not a wiz or antin , just have an over active imagination .

Ive drafted this up in me head in the last 5 mins.

You get a copy of your schools last 2 or 3 energy bills id go with Electricity or find out what they spent on electricity last year.
    Find out how many people are in your School.
    Pick 4 other schools in your area and get the same data.
    Work out how many units of electricity per head that each school uses.

Then present the results to your teachers explianing which school regardless of its buildings has the highest electricity costs per head.
    Your business is going around working out all this data for every school in the country and trying to encourage the schools to reduce thier electricity usage.You plan to run a competition nationwide of which school has the most efficient students.You will have a website that will allow each school to upload the data so you wont have to go anywhere to survey etc.

You also intend to get Air Tricity on board to sponser the project.
    Win Win.Teaching students about efficiency this way will help save the planet.

What you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Mr Biz

Hi Rory,
    I have on average 10 new ideas a week some could be worth millions some could lose me everything, not a wiz or antin , just have an over active imagination .

Ive drafted this up in me head in the last 5 mins.

You get a copy of your schools last 2 or 3 energy bills id go with Electricity or find out what they spent on electricity last year.
    Find out how many people are in your School.
    Pick 4 other schools in your area and get the same data.
    Work out how many units of electricity per head that each school uses.

Then present the results to your teachers explianing which school regardless of its buildings has the highest electricity costs per head.
    Your business is going around working out all this data for every school in the country and trying to encourage the schools to reduce thier electricity usage.You plan to run a competition nationwide of which school has the most efficient students.You will have a website that will allow each school to upload the data so you wont have to go anywhere to survey etc.

You also intend to get Air Tricity on board to sponser the project.
    Win Win.Teaching students about efficiency this way will help save the planet.

What you think?
    Clap! Clap! Clap!
    ...and an active imagination it is!! Very good idea..

How times and technology have changed.. I remember being awarded coloured stars for the best swept classroom!! ;)