Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

guns

• 19-10-2009 12:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

the best bit about a zombie-tastic end to the world is all the guns and last-in-ur-life-sex, but here in ireland we have so few guns and tramps that get-it! we have ****ty options

how do you plan to deal with the zombie onslaught, my dahs a shotgun and i own a sword so ive plans but most dont... think about it ya'll

do you have a plan?, dont come to my house, ill shoot you dead and i kno to aim for your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

oblivian wrote: »
    the best bit about a zombie-tastic end to the world is all the guns and last-in-ur-life-sex, but here in ireland we have so few guns and tramps that get-it! we have ****ty options

how do you plan to deal with the zombie onslaught, my dahs a shotgun and i own a sword so ive plans but most dont... think about it ya'll

do you have a plan?, dont come to my house, ill shoot you dead and i kno to aim for your head

There's **** loads of guns in Ireland, loads down the country, pretty much every farmer has at least one. Many 'well to do' people also have selections of rifles to go hunting/clay pigeon shooting.
    Also, there's every army barracks and cop shop.
    Many people think guns are illegal here, not all are you can easily have a semi-automatic rifle if you can get a license.

Guns are not the issue as they require ammunitions and maintenance, not too mention they are also loud and attract attention.

I also very much doubt your Da has a shotgun. There are no farms in Phibsboro.

Also, what do you mean by "and tramps that get-it!"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

Also, what do you mean by "and tramps that get-it!"?

he's trying [badly] to rhyme, i think.

+1 on the guns issue.

1. find occupied army barracks
    2. exchange any female companions for a rifle
    3. ?????
    4. PROFIT!

lul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

not all are you can easily have a semi-automatic rifle if you can get a license.

I couldn't understand what you were saying here? Anyway, semi automatic centrefire rifles cannot be acquired in Ireland through any legitimate means.

Valmont wrote: »
    I couldn't understand what you were saying here? Anyway, semi automatic centrefire rifles cannot be acquired in Ireland through any legitimate means.

Whoops, grammar fail. I should have put a ',' after 'are'

I'm pretty sure you can, well I've seen em up at a clay pigeon yoke in Lusk, general public (guests) aren't allowed to use em.

EDIT: Asked me mate that brought me up there, they're not semi-auto, they're bolt action.
    My bad.

There's still f*ck loads of guns in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Whoops, grammar fail. I should have put a ',' after 'are'

I'm pretty sure you can, well I've seen em up at a clay pigeon yoke in Lusk, general public (guests) aren't allowed to use em.

EDIT: Asked me mate that brought me up there, they're not semi-auto, they're bolt action.
    My bad.

There's still f*ck loads of guns in Ireland.
    I wouldn't say there's loads of guns in Ireland. It's very difficult to get a gun license in Ireland as you have to show that you have a need for them or be part of a gun club. If you live in a city or town the guards won't see any reason for you to have a gun. The vast majority of guns will be double barrelled shotguns and those that own them will have limited ammo for them.

What about (as I said above) the army barracks and cop shops.

Anyway, feck guns, I'll be happy enough with my crossbow and axe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The guards aren't particularly well stocked or armed and you can be guaranteed the guards themselves will loot the armoury when it becomes obvious whats happening. The army won't be giving up their guns either. Barracks will probably go on lock down if they don't they'll be overrun. I'm working under the assumption that going anywhere near an army barracks during the outbreak will get you shot or eaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

IIRC, legally anybody that owns a gun cannot have a certain amount of ammounatiuon,I guess incase the gun gets robbed , I am not sure of the quota you are allowed, but I think it varies from gun to gun e.g Calibre and Gauge.

I personally do not have any guns, but my dad is part of a gun club and owns a 6.5 calibre for Deer hunting, well enough to stop a Z and also a 12gauge Berretta shotgun.

Two guns are always better then one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭_SONIC_

my da has 2 or 3 so my familys protected!!

then well try venture over 2 my friends gaf where his da has 2!!!

thats me pretty sorted then well find a secure are and hold out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

ScumLord wrote: »
    I wouldn't say there's loads of guns in Ireland. It's very difficult to get a gun license in Ireland as you have to show that you have a need for them or be part of a gun club. If you live in a city or town the guards won't see any reason for you to have a gun. The vast majority of guns will be double barrelled shotguns and those that own them will have limited ammo for them.

Although you are right about living in the city, more people have guns than you would think, I once thought the same as you did but I've recently been looking into acquiring one myself. Pop over to the shooting forum and have a gander.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

Valmont wrote: »

www.shoot.ie my friend. I know the shop owner. All the guns he sells ARE legal.

http://www.shoot.ie/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_24&products_id=170

There is a legal, semi auto, .308 centrefire :D

Now for ya? lol

I will hopefully acquire a SIG Mosquito .22LR semiauto Target Pistol in a years time, as I love target shooting.

Perhaps the next step then is a (legal) USP or Glock. Or a bigger SIG - for longer range and greater accuracy, of course.

My advice is to play airsoft to train. Tis epic training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

shop's gonna be added to my 'raid' list. course we'll have to find out if the owner is home first!

*Grin* My first 'raid' is me neighbour! Then a rush in the car to that shop, steal everything I can lay me hands on, and then raid the other firearm store - Corrib Tackle - on my way home :P

I actually already have safe houses chosen, they are bloody hard for a fit young human to access, let alone a zomb.

Soon... Soon... I actually HOPE there is a Zomb outbreak. My bow will get some use :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

ScumLord wrote: »
    The guards aren't particularly well stocked or armed and you can be guaranteed the guards themselves will loot the armoury when it becomes obvious whats happening.
    Didn't they confiscate the guns of everyone in the country back in 1972 and have to keep them maintained for inspection by their owners? I seem to remember something like that. Ammunition would be a different story of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭combat5

Phractal wrote: »
    www.shoot.ie my friend. I know the shop owner. All the guns he sells ARE legal.

http://www.shoot.ie/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_24&products_id=170

There is a legal, semi auto, .308 centrefire :D

Now for ya? lol

I will hopefully acquire a SIG Mosquito .22LR semiauto Target Pistol in a years time, as I love target shooting.

Perhaps the next step then is a (legal) USP or Glock. Or a bigger SIG - for longer range and greater accuracy, of course.

My advice is to play airsoft to train. Tis epic training.
    ha my brother works the his there fat one:D the have a new shop just for guns out in dunishga by the NCT center

Yo combat. Ill have an ould chat with him one of the days - probably when buying a gun or something. I found a NICE gunsafe for cheap - I may invest...