Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tikka T3

• 16-10-2009 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭

One of my mates bought a T3 in 25-06 this evening,any thoughts on this rifle or calibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

One of my mates bought a T3 in 25-06 this evening,any thoughts on this rifle or calibre.

Hard to fault the choice. I've a Sako 75 coming in the same calibre. The Tikka is a great gun and I was going to buy one until I stumbled across a deal on the Sako. The calibre is excellent, if difficult to source ammo for. If your dealer is good enough to get stuff in for you however, you're sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭rob308

shot a steyr in 25-06 for 10 year before changing to 308. would've never changed only for a hunting trip. Simply the best deer calibre out there. I personally never found a shortage or a lack of available ammo. I hope your mate enjoys it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

from what i hear.....it hits hards and shoots straight....for irish deer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Best with a 24+" barrel, The 25.06 is overbore meaning it has a lot more powder than the cartridge can burn in a short barrel, the longer the better for velocity.
    It will be a toss-up between barrel length for handiness and velocity.
    Very good choice for Irish conditions.
    You could also consider the 7mm-08 which will be better for a shorter barrel and is a short action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Deer Hunter DL

don`t know anything about a 25.06 , but as for Tikka i really like them love the very smooth bolt action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Best with a 24+" barrel, The 25.06 is overbore meaning it has a lot more powder than the cartridge can burn in a short barrel, the longer the better for velocity.
    It will be a toss-up between barrel length for handiness and velocity.
    Very good choice for Irish conditions.
    You could also consider the 7mm-08 which will be better for a shorter barrel and is a short action.

standard sako ,tikka barrel lengths are fine .22.5",iv shot 100s of deer with the cal.

a extra 100 fps at over 3,000 fps is not going to make any difference.

25,06 . 270 shoot very ever well and flat in a 20" barrel .

iv a 22" on my custom sako and have no complaints yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Hard to fault the choice. I've a Sako 75 coming in the same calibre. The Tikka is a great gun and I was going to buy one until I stumbled across a deal on the Sako. The calibre is excellent, if difficult to source ammo for. If your dealer is good enough to get stuff in for you however, you're sorted.

Bought it from J.Lamber in Camolin,if the ammo is to be got ,John i'll get it,very decent guy to deal with,and very very keen on price also.

He does have a lovely selection, and at the best prices I've found. Pity he's a fair trek from me for ammo, but I've a feeling I'll be making trips anyway. Not many others carry it. You get a lot of funny looks when you say you use a .25-06.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

He does have a lovely selection, and at the best prices I've found. Pity he's a fair trek from me for ammo, but I've a feeling I'll be making trips anyway. Not many others carry it. You get a lot of funny looks when you say you use a .25-06.

only from the uneducated.

jwshooter wrote: »
    only from the uneducated.

Aye, but they're the ones stocking ammo. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Aye, but they're the ones stocking ammo. :p

Are you in Galway by any chance?:D

Glensman wrote: »
    Are you in Galway by any chance?:D

Nope, north-west Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

I bought a tikka t3 lite in .223 yesterday with a t8 moderator. I cant wait to get it if i get the license:rolleyes:. Anyone have one in .223?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 itsjonboyok

Yes I have the tactical in .223,nice gun,Picky with ammo but with federal Im shooting milk cartons at 300m.
    A friend of mine came up yesterday not a shooter at all - 2nd shot at a 6" carton at 300m.
    Hot round and needs plenty of cleaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

greenpeter wrote: »
    I bought a tikka t3 lite in .223 yesterday with a t8 moderator. I cant wait to get it if i get the license:rolleyes:. Anyone have one in .223?

I have the t3 lite myself and love it, one of the smoothest actions iv seen on a rifle. Grand and light rifle, it like the heavier grain rounds as it is a 1-8 twist rate. Hope your application works out for you RH77.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055563071&highlight=tikka+lite

s8001064q.jpg

Got it already lads and love it, cant wait to get out after the foxes when i get the hang of it:D.
    Is that a cheek riser on yours rh77 ?
    What scope is on yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

which twist rate in a .223 would be the most suitable for shootin vermin here in ireland i was lookin up tikka and sako and seen that they do both 1 in 8" and 1 in 12" or which do ye have or which is more popular, i presume the cheaper ammo would be lighter and therefore prefer the 1 in 12" barrell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

ormondprop wrote: »
    which twist rate in a .223 would be the most suitable for shootin vermin here in ireland i was lookin up tikka and sako and seen that they do both 1 in 8" and 1 in 12" or which do ye have or which is more popular, i presume the cheaper ammo would be lighter and therefore prefer the 1 in 12" barrell

All the Tikkas and Sakos I've seen are 1-8. I know that it says 1-12 also on the website.

TBH the twist rate does not really concern me. I've got a tactical T3. I find that it will shoot all ammo around 1" at 100m, and at the end of the day if you are using cheap ammo, you are using cheap ammo and don't expect it to perform similarly to match ammo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

What length barrel is your T3 Jonty?

Do you use a moderator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

24" barrel with a T8. Its fairly unwieldy for lamping, but she gets the job done

congrats, I have a tactical on the way, can't wait!

Looking at a PES moderator for it aswell!

murph226 wrote: »
    congrats, I have a tactical on the way, can't wait!

Looking at a PES moderator for it aswell!
    Went with the new T8 reflex, its a bit of a pig of a yoke hanging of the end of the barrel. If i didn't use the bi pod it would nearly lift my feet off the ground:D

What kinda scope you putting on it Peter?

I got a hawke varmint II 6-24x44. Didn't use it a night yet so will see what its like in a few weeks when the the hang of it first. I would love a really good scope but just couldn't get the ball & chain to allow me:o
    What about you?

Looking at a Nightforce at the moment, gonna take my time and have a good look around though, waiting on paperwork at the moment and I don't see it arriving any time soon:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Got it already lads and love it, cant wait to get out after the foxes when i get the hang of it:D.
    Is that a cheek riser on yours rh77 ?
    What scope is on yours?

Its is indeed a cheek piece from http://www.aimfieldsports.com/DragbagsandMats.htm

The scope is a Bushnell Elite 6500 series 4-30x50.

All the details of my setup are here,

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055563071&highlight=tikka+lite