Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going out vs Staying in

• 16-10-2009 3:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭

What do you do more of and why? Im finding myself going out more than last year despite the R cos of all the 2 euro drink specials in town.

Do you find yourself going out more than staying in on Friday and Saturday nights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I didn't read the post, is this about homosexuality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

What do you do more of and why? Im finding myself going out more than last year despite the R cos of all the 2 euro drink specials in town.

Do you find yourself going out more than staying in on Friday and Saturday nights?

Where the F are these D specials that you S of? I'm sure as S that the only T you'd get a €2 D is mid week which makes an A of you as you are referring to W drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Where the F are these D specials that you S of? I'm sure as S that the only T you'd get a €2 D is mid week which makes an A of you as you are referring to W drinking.

What???

Stay in more than last year, saving money for insurance, moving house, etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Drinking in, then going out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

I fcuking hate going out in Dublin, I mean properly hate it. Orange faced yokes in heels bigger than their own bodies, falling around the place roaring, tight supposedly witty t-shirt and supposedly dirty jean that actually cost €80 to look that way wearing shítes taking advantage of said drunk, orange faced yokes, failing that pretentious cnuts staring at people for not looking a certain way, charging in to everythng even though it's all fcuking useless, or maybe the stag night type groups of lads who invariably take the piss out of you despite possessing one brain cell- between them. you know the type, think they're sex gods at 3am but in the cold light of day have nothing but their own aforementioned shít sense of humour. Oh and the godawful screeech of the oft-spotted hen night slag.

And if it's not that it's a group of these newly formed unnecessarily wearing square glasses torn jeans kings of leon festival attending twáts. bringing ghd's to campsites.

So yeah I stay in with a bag of weed most nights- it hasn't affected me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Give me staying in any nite. Pubs are still ripping people off and dont even get me started on niteclubs. Much prefer staying in with my ladyfriend, some popcorn, a good dvd and a good ride afterwards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

grenache wrote: »
    Give me staying in any nite. Pubs are still ripping people off and dont even get me started on niteclubs. Much prefer staying in with my ladyfriend, some popcorn, a good dvd and a good ride afterwards :)

So romantic... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't like drinking so I don't really go out much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

It depends on my mood. I like getting dressed up and heading out on a friday and having a chill out evening with a take away on a Saturday.

If I was to pick one it would be going out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Col MCFC wrote: »
    I fcuking hate going out in Dublin, I mean properly hate it. Orange faced yokes in heels bigger than their own bodies, falling around the place roaring, tight supposedly witty t-shirt and supposedly dirty jean that actually cost €80 to look that way wearing shítes taking advantage of said drunk, orange faced yokes, failing that pretentious cnuts staring at people for not looking a certain way, charging in to everythng even though it's all fcuking useless, or maybe the stag night type groups of lads who invariably take the piss out of you despite possessing one brain cell- between them. you know the type, think they're sex gods at 3am but in the cold light of day have nothing but their own aforementioned shít sense of humour. Oh and the godawful screeech of the oft-spotted hen night slag.

And if it's not that it's a group of these newly formed unnecessarily wearing square glasses torn jeans kings of leon festival attending twáts. bringing ghd's to campsites.

Sounds to me like your doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

grenache wrote: »
    On another bulletin board that you didn't even know your girlfriend posted on is a message which reads
    "Give me going out any night. The popcorn and DVD's are a rip off and don't even get me started on grenache's riding techniques.:( Much prefer going to a pub followed by a good nightclub afterwards."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Hypocrisy much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

A mate of mine had the roids and was way to embarrased about the cushion so just stayed in all the time

I'm not a big fan of drinking at home at all its quite boring. The pub is the place for drinking. I sit in my living room most nights so I dont get much craic out of sitting there on a "night out" as well. I would say more than 90% of my drinking is done in pubs/clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

Im staying in a lot more than what i used to. Trying to save for a deposit at the moment. If i am going out, I tend to have a couple of drinks at home and be already tipsey and that way i would only need a couple more out in the pub and im drunk :)

I have been know to bring some vodka in my bag too (ashamed):( but it does save ya a fortune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I prefer nights in with my friends. I don't have to deal with drunk imbeciles, there's no hassle getting home, only music played is stuff I like and Idon't get ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

It depends. I am single at the moment so I prefer to be out meeting new people but if I am seeing someone I would maybe stay in more or go his for a few drinks. I am really bored with the clubs/pubs in Dublin though so over the last couple of weeks I have been going for a few drinks during the day on a Saturday and grabbing a couple of bottles of wine on the way to a mates and watching X Factor. I don't think I can do that for much longer. I am going to a comedy night and a gig next weekend so that should hopefully be less boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Staying in.

You can invite your friends who you get on with and if two of them bumped in to each other whilst imbibed one won't turn to the other and go. "Hey a-hole! What did you do that for?". "You looking at me?" and all the other precursory fight clichés.

Plus you can actually have a decent chin wag as you can hear each other. Spend twenty quid on drink AND put your own tunes on.

I hate getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Hypocrisy much?

If I knew where a sense of humour could be purchased, I'd drive you there myself. I don't. Let's try and work with what we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Da Funky Munky

I prefer nights in with my friends. I don't have to deal with drunk imbeciles, there's no hassle getting home, only music played is stuff I like and Idon't get ripped off.

But with all the 2 euro specials happening mid-week surely you'd a) get out of the house and b) get great value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

If I knew where a sense of humour could be purchased, I'd drive you there myself. I don't. Let's try and work with what we have.

wp. I guess I didn't catch the hint of sarcasm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Typical saturdays, get ready , be at my mates house at 8... drink there for a good while and then go out, save so much money drinking before going out, and another plus side is all the kips off pubs/clubs look more appealing so win all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'm trying to figure out where the fcuk you got the idea for this posts?!:confused:

Btw, I go out 2-4 times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Stay In, more, purely because there's 5 weekdays and 1 weekend every week.. I can't go getting pissed on schoolnights now can I?

Tonights the first Friday for a while I haven't been out at all, that's because I'm skint and looking after the little brothers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

i prefer the start at home finish at someones home and have an adventure in between. Some people call it drinking before going out, i'm not much of an organiser when it comes to nights and neither or my friends so it usually becomes an adventure for us. Loads more craic to be had that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

What town?Carlow?Clonmel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

staying in with the OH is definitly the best imho;)
    but drunkity nights out in brux/fibs with him are the best type of couple bonding too methinks! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭ElectroJazz

I totally f*cking agree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i stay in mainly because im broke if i had money i would be out for the weekend right now enjoying my boring saturday nights in watching the x factor:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭mehmeh12

My house has food, internet and tv. I choose who can come over. Im relativity safe from having my head kicked in by some low life. Why on earth would i choose to be ripped off in some dublin dive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I like going out, personally.
    Getting dressed up with some friends and then heading to a bar.
    It's fun, meeting new people and dancing.
    Nice to go out after a week of work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Going out is way more fun for me. Unfortunately I'm not in a position to right now financially. For the past few weeks its been all about the Tuborg and Bavaria house sessions!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

phasers wrote: »
    I don't like drinking so I don't really go out much
    Ditto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Butter Ears

If someone put a gun to my head and said I had to choose going out or staying in, I'd be very surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

I prefer staying in so I can sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Going out during the week + stay in at weekends = win

My nights out have been destroyed thanks to the good oul long-term relationship.

Typical Friday night with the girlfriend now consists of a Chinese take-away ate in silence, The Late Late Show watched in silence, 1 half glass of dry white wine each drank in silence, then we go to bed and have Howler Monkey loud anal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

My nights out have been destroyed thanks to the good oul long-term relationship.

Typical Friday night with the girlfriend now consists of a Chinese take-away ate in silence, The Late Late Show watched in silence, 1 half glass of dry white wine each drank in silence, then we go to bed and have Howler Monkey loud anal.

:cool: - Well except the LLS bit obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sounds like a pain in the ass.

Not for me ;)