Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

06 Passat HID/Xenon Upgrades?

• 15-10-2009 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭

Right.. I've had enough :)

With winter now setting in, the standard halogen headlights in my 06 Passat just aren't up to it (my older 02 version wasn't great either).

I've tried changing the bulbs for Halfords/Osram/Philips "high performance" versions but the end result (although somewhat better) just isn't what I'd consider to be adequate on dark country N-roads. Plus I'm tired of getting my hands cut to shreds while trying to fit them because some genius decided a great place for the water bottle would be right behind the driver's side headlight array.

So I'm thinking of changing them for a HID/Xenon set, but I'd rather not spend a couple of grand on headlights (few hundred I could live with though), soo..

- Any recommendations on what to get?
    - Where?
    - Ideally I'm looking for a place that'll supply and fit but won't charge the earth to do so. (Dublin/Meath/Cavan/Louth areas)

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

You can get HID sets off eBay, just make sure you get a good brand.

I got mine for 150 (go for 4300K) and any decent auto electrician should fit them for around 50-60 notes.

If you're current headlamps do not have bulb guards then they will not work as well and possibly blind other road users, they work best in projector lamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Illegal HID Conversion kits explained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ta for the replies lads. Of course I'm looking for something that'll do what it says rather than blind people.

What about something like these on eBay?

Not mad about the very blue light, but it's very hard to tell whats a decent kit with eBay. Any tips/brands to search for?

eBay wrote:
    This auction is by default to include the 8000K (White with Bluish) Xenon HID, if you want 6000K (Pure White) Xenon HID, please let us know, same price.

Go for the 6000k for a white light rather than the one with the blue tint

Cant comment on the quality but they come with projector lenses so in theory they should be fine and wont blind others as projector lenses can handle the HID's

Only problem with that kit is the seller is based in the US (so could be caught for customs charges and expensive shipping).

Does anyone know of any Irish/UK outfits that would supply these (a quick Google doesn't help), or that would order them in? (The above eBay seller seems to be sourcing them from Germany)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Only problem with that kit is the seller is based in the US (so could be caught for customs charges and expensive shipping).

Does anyone know of any Irish/UK outfits that would supply these (a quick Google doesn't help), or that would order them in? (The above eBay seller seems to be sourcing them from Germany)

www.hidirl.com

1 year guarantee too iirc

Update...

After trying to souce an Irish/UK supplier for the above headlamp unit (for right-hand drive cars), I gave up and got an after-market "Ultra" xenon kit installed during the week.

... unfortunately though it's to go back as the bulbs are 8000k and TOO blue. The crowd that installed it (based off the Naas Road) seem to be well-regarded but don't seem to have much of a clue when it comes to these - even though they supplied/fitted it!

The guy told me today that he hasn't any other bulbs than these 8000s, and that the Passat will have problems with these kits anyway? I was of the impression that projector-style headlights (which mine has as far as I'm aware?) are the best type to have??

So back to square one... anyone recommend a place to supply and install a WHITE (not blue - unless just a slight tint) bulb xenon kit for a 06 Passat? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 custom motion

is it the 04-06 model or 06 onwards?

Are you looking for just the dipped beam, to do Hi and Lo you will require 2 kits, also in these cars you require a canbus interface per set, as in this link;

So that is an additional €30 per kit.

JP

is it the 04-06 model or 06 onwards?

Are you looking for just the dipped beam, to do Hi and Lo you will require 2 kits, also in these cars you require a canbus interface per set, as in this link;

So that is an additional €30 per kit.

JP

It's the new/current B6 model (mid-05 onwards). I was going to go with just the dipped beam? I had a look at your site in your link - you wouldn't have any sources for a kit like the one in my 2nd post at the top (from ebay?)

Cheers for the reply

that listing has ended sorry, was it for actual headlight units? these are just conversion kits that i am doing.

JP

yea it was a headlight unit for my B6 Passat with the BMW "angel eyes"/halo ring on them, complete with a set of 6000k Xenon/HID bulbs

Where are you based?

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    yea it was a headlight unit for my B6 Passat with the BMW "angel eyes"/halo ring on them, complete with a set of 6000k Xenon/HID bulbs

Where are you based?
    Pnline store only, do local business in Limerick.

please keep any dealings off thread and in pm's lads