Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Citylink Galway Dublin €1

• 01-10-2009 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭

In the galway advertiser today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

It's not on their website, still €5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

trad wrote: »
    It's not on their website, still €5

Dont shoot the messenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

It's not on their home page, but I tried booking Galway-Dublin, 3:30am on 12 October, and was offered the choice of either single (e13) or super-single(e1).

(I'm not actually making the journey, just wanted to see if the fare was on-line.)

Their ad says they've got a new type of service called "multi-stop" too, which I suspect is just the existing service. I'd guess some times will be non-stop, and some "multi-stop".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

Non-stop ... no such thing when it comes to citylink, bus eireann, gobus

they always stop along they way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

I got it to work for me. If you book it it will appear as an option. 1 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Their website never works tho. You can only go as far as putting your details in and then stops. i have rang numerous times about this and they take the booking over the phone or tell you to go to the booth where they give the cheap prices too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

I have to agree their website sucks in a big way. They need a new web company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 fatleomessi

It's alright by me.. sure how can they afford to pay for proper web design if they're prepared to practically give fares away?

Slightly confused by the timetable which appears when you go to book though. It appears they will now have a bus every 1/2 hr with the ones on the 1/2 hr non-stop (03:00 duration) and on the hour ones multi-stop, but there's no sign of these new bus times on the actual timetable..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭jayoo

Ya saw this earlier in the advertiser.

City link has brought out a new bus service to dublin, its a non stop to the city and to the airport.

On all city link services, shannon/clifden dublin etc they offer a limited aount of 1 euro tickets. So pretty much BOOK IN ADVANCE, realllly in advance.

city links new non stop service galway-dublin city-dublin airport leaves on the half hour now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭absolutegroove

Nice one OP.

I booked myself a return from Dublin for the Coors Light Gig in Galway all for the crazy price of €2.00.

Lovin it. Keep these deals a comin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Their website never works tho. You can only go as far as putting your details in and then stops. i have rang numerous times about this and they take the booking over the phone or tell you to go to the booth where they give the cheap prices too.

I booked tix to Cork earlier this week, and it played nicely for me. Maybe you gotta talk nicely to your PC ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

For 1 euro id be tempted to buy up the entire bus for myself, or at the very least 1 extra seat for my feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

I would also be of the opinion that the Citylink site is fairly c*ap!
    I tried to book to see, and it slugged along, finally giving me an €8 fare(???) and not telling me whether I was getting the 'new' express (which I would have tried) or the zombie bus, as I call it. Great for towns on the way, but neeever again going to Dublin.

Got the usual gobus in the end today, PACKED, then looked out and saw a huge queue for the Citylink. Forgot it was Friday!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Emileee

iv gone onto the website every week since this offer came out and everytime i go to book the 1euro fare it doesnt come up!! Its the same for my friend aswell. whats wrong with it??!:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Emileee wrote: »
    iv gone onto the website every week since this offer came out and everytime i go to book the 1euro fare it doesnt come up!! Its the same for my friend aswell. whats wrong with it??!:(:(

This happens a lot. Ring them up, but there is a chance they will say their system is affected too so they'll tell you to buy tickets at the hatch on forster street...they charge the 1euro too as their website is rubbish and people can't use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

so I can get €1 trips from the forster street hatch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Emileee

This happens a lot. Ring them up, but there is a chance they will say their system is affected too so they'll tell you to buy tickets at the hatch on forster street...they charge the 1euro too as their website is rubbish and people can't use it

Thanks, but its just I live in Dublin and am looking to go to Galway.... would you know where abouts i shud go in Dublin to try get it??

Tue 13th October 2009
    'Commuter thieves' caught by Gardai on Dublin-bound buses

GARDAÍ are hoping that a clampdown on ‘commuter thieves’ – arriving down from Dublin on buses – can help reduce the number of burglaries being carried out in the city over recent weeks.

A series of roadside checkpoints has resulted in bus passengers being ‘checked out’ by Gardaí, after their investigations revealed that thieves were making ‘day trips’ down from Dublin to commit burglaries in the city.

The thieves were availing of the cheaper bus fares to make a quick commute from Dublin to Galway –Gardaí believe that the criminals generally targeted houses and premises on the East side of the city.

Over recent weeks, Gardai have made a special appeal to householders and the owners of business premises to renew their efforts to properly secure their properties following a spate of burglaries.

The thieves mainly targeted houses left unsecured and business premises where external doors could be forced without too much trouble.

“We know that criminal elements were making ‘quick trips’ to Galway to carry out crimes – mainly burglaries on houses and business premises.

“Over recent weeks we have...
    http://www.galwaynews.ie/9145-clampdown-day-tripper-burglars
    Shame on ye all.

"shame on ye" - har har.

Seriously though, HOW does such a checkpoint work.."can I see your Jackeen papers please" "And for how long do you plan on staying in the Peoples' Republic of Galway Comrade?"

They must get tip-offs, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭liam12989

I heard about this €1 fare but cant seem 2 work it! does anyone else now how its dont im lookin for any bus today for a €1...i must be booking it in wromng place in website..help appreciated asap!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think you have to book in advance. I just checked for Sat and the option is there

30325757942571317362.jpg

Good for you! It seems to be hit and miss, as the ones I tried for were in advance too recently. They need to be clearer about which one is the non-stop.
    I DID try ringing them when the site kept crashing and they wouldn't do the 1 euro fare over the phone, even though she said it was available on the site:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Curvepro

Be careful!
    as per Keith Finnegan show Tuesday (http://www.galwaybayfm.ie/radio/weekdays/tue.php 30min 30 sec in) City Link are running an unlicenced service & you are not insured on these. He has got a letter from department of transport to say they are not licenced to run a non stop service between Galway & Dublin. They have been ordered to stop it immediately by the department.
    Reps from City Link & Go bus on also.
    PS: Nothing to do with any bus company just thought people should be aware of this.

Curvepro wrote: »
    PS: Nothing to do with any bus company just thought people should be aware of this.
    I can't think of any post I made where I wanted to put this proviso in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 AdamN

haw the book tickiet for 1 euro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Everywhere only say Galway to Dublin, but does it work as well starting from Dublin? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

alibabba wrote: »
    Non-stop ... no such thing when it comes to citylink, bus eireann, gobus

they always stop along they way
    It's not all that bad, a true non stop service would cause all kinds of problems as they ran red lights, ploughed through parked cars and crashed through the front entrance of Dublin airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This thread is a year old.
    Feel free to start a fresh one if offer still stands.